Does loyalty to a company really paid off?

SUSUkeke
post Nov 19 2025, 09:58 AM, updated 2w ago

91 posts

Today i got news that a mid 40s lady in my company got laid off. For whatever reason, im not so sure, i just heard she is not in good terms with HR or some high female executive that is being backed by boss.

She has been in company for 20+ years, first company since diploma until now. She seldom took MC and sometimes got her leave forfeited. She has been here since the company was just established till the size it is now

She never thought this is how she will end her career in the company. Boss never show sympathy or compassion towards her as old staff.

Guys, do u think loyalty is important to a company? Or boss simply doesnt care at all?

Do u think ur company value loyalty?

hotdayum
post Nov 19 2025, 09:58 AM

195 posts

First!

And the answer is no. Company only cares about how useful you are.

This post has been edited by hotdayum: Nov 19 2025, 10:00 AM
hiyyl
post Nov 19 2025, 09:58 AM

Flying panda~
691 posts

1st!!!

Knn hav to settle with 2nd vmad.gif

This post has been edited by hiyyl: Nov 19 2025, 09:59 AM
awol
post Nov 19 2025, 10:00 AM

910 posts

1st page
metalslug

410 posts

Ukeke thread no more sexism post? Im out of here
hotdayum

195 posts

QUOTE(hiyyl @ Nov 19 2025, 09:58 AM)
1st!!!

Knn hav to settle with 2nd vmad.gif
Knnbuccb
post Nov 19 2025, 10:03 AM

118 posts

I loyal to boss if she is milf
Treepex
post Nov 19 2025, 10:03 AM

-
1,704 posts

work for money
SUStatabun
post Nov 19 2025, 10:04 AM

59 posts

sadly, NO atleast from my POV
yes u got some certain shares, gold coins, certs for being long serving staffs etc.. but yearly increaments are low compared to jumpers unless u really can climb up their ranks. but what are the chances right?

some companies-not-gonna-mention are more worried and ever ready to please their union staffs while neglecting their own junior mgmt staffs. so understand la all the budget allocation goes where

ive seen cases where company staffs with outstanding rating gets lower increament vs union staff with fixed yearly increament as per their contract with strong rating
Rusty Nail
post Nov 19 2025, 10:04 AM

Why am I still here?
4,881 posts

Lel I had old staff that die die don't want to follow ISO when company implement it. Reason, last time no ISO also ok what. So, have to fire after repeated NC and memo.

Stay long time doesn't mean good employee
cytyler
post Nov 19 2025, 10:05 AM

399 posts

quick answer: NO

long answer: your boss will think you stupid
SUSUkeke
post Nov 19 2025, 10:06 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Nov 19 2025, 10:04 AM)
Lel I had old staff that die die don't want to follow ISO when company implement it. Reason, last time no ISO also ok what. So, have to fire after repeated NC and memo.

In contrast she is a good employee and the replacement lady actually did way worse.

It's just office politics that laid her off
MR_alien
post Nov 19 2025, 10:07 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

ze2
post Nov 19 2025, 10:07 AM

315 posts

No one is indispensable.
ShadowR1
post Nov 19 2025, 10:08 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,880 posts

NO.
vhs
post Nov 19 2025, 10:09 AM

90 posts

Does not look like her boss like her so any loyalty would be useless.
ihm11
post Nov 19 2025, 10:10 AM

62 posts

work hard so ur boss can get obscenely rich
lkyoong
post Nov 19 2025, 10:12 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ Nov 19 2025, 09:58 AM)
Today i got news that a mid 40s lady in my company got laid off. For whatever reason, im not so sure, i just heard she is not in good terms with HR or some high female executive that is being backed by boss.

She has been in company for 20+ years, first company since diploma until now. She seldom took MC and sometimes got her leave forfeited. She has been here since the company was just established till the size it is now

She never thought this is how she will end her career in the company. Boss never show sympathy or compassion towards her as old staff.

Guys, do u think loyalty is important to a company? Or boss simply doesnt care at all?

Sorry to say, no such thing as loyalty to company anymore. Loyalty only to yourself.

You are paid for service and expertise, that is all to it.

No use to come early and go back late. No use dun take MC and work yourself to the bone.

End of the day u need to remember HR works for management and management only see everyone below them as a resource number in a spreadsheet.

Have worked long enough to know that all those HR surveys and feedback sessions are all bull crap. Nothing but traps so better just no comment or neutral comment and work for money.
kons
post Nov 19 2025, 10:13 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

only if the company reward u well.

so far my company is paying my salary higher than any similar position job u can find in malaysia. no point i downgrade myself to jump to another job.
skloda
post Nov 19 2025, 10:15 AM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

old boss maybe yes , new gen take over no .

they only care monehhhh
post Nov 19 2025, 10:16 AM

269 posts

A big NO

I stayed in a company for 14 years and when I leave the company, my salary jumped 50%. After jumping several times, my salary today is probably 5 times of what I earn if I stayed in the same company
SUSUkeke
post Nov 19 2025, 10:17 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Nov 19 2025, 10:16 AM)
A big NO

I stayed in a company for 14 years and when I leave the company, my salary jumped 50%. After jumping several times, my salary today is probably 5 times of what I earn if I stayed in the same company
5 times? U 50k celery ah, too exaggerate
Rusty Nail
post Nov 19 2025, 10:18 AM

Why am I still here?
4,881 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ Nov 19 2025, 10:06 AM)
In contrast she is a good employee and the replacement lady actually did way worse.

It's just office politics that laid her off
new lady let boss zhut zhut is it? brows.gif
nonnon
post Nov 19 2025, 10:19 AM

86 posts

lu mati hari ini, semalam keluar advert hire new saff
cakoilembutgebu
post Nov 19 2025, 10:21 AM

149 posts

Efficiency = Cake
Loyalty = Icing

People love to eat cake with icing. But if no icing, makan cake saja pun ok jugak. Tapi cake yang tak ada cake, hanya ada icing saja, no one would want to eat it, ppl throw it away.
afoka
post Nov 19 2025, 10:22 AM

313 posts

Age 40 in companies is the right target to be laid off coz already ripe and need to pluck out from organizations.

Dont offer vsp meh? 20 years working compensations is kinda worth it
SUSUkeke

91 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Nov 19 2025, 10:18 AM)
new lady let boss zhut zhut is it? brows.gif
I think u guess right. One of our ex colleague mentioned he somehow say boss and new lady piap in nearby hotel. Both are already married some more. I do not know how true. Maybe u guessed right.
Baconateer

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Sei sohai hamkaling datang lagi
lorrydriverrocks
post Nov 19 2025, 10:23 AM

268 posts

only sohai loyal to company, dun be a dog
once u leave the company, they will find someone to replace you.
it's a business transaction
vin6
post Nov 19 2025, 10:26 AM

202 posts

20 years in company - so act great even new hire higher position surely tunjuk muka because 20 years. i know these kinda ppl many in my organization . Nowdays they dont care they will kick off only if langsi.
Skylinestar
post Nov 19 2025, 10:26 AM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

no. they replace you like how you replace your toothbrush.
Ichibanichi
post Nov 19 2025, 10:27 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ Nov 19 2025, 10:17 AM)
Starting 2k
after jumping few times with average 3years stay with latest salary 10k
thats 5times

My BIL can be said cream of the crop
after dip 1st celery 1.8k
Now C exec celery 40k++ (If I not mistaken current is his 8th company jump)
so...40k/1.8k berapa???
kamenkid
post Nov 19 2025, 10:30 AM

At the end of the day, the company only see employee as number/resources.
post Nov 19 2025, 10:31 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ Nov 19 2025, 11:17 AM)
When I left after 14 years, my salary is really pathetic
ryujin0x
post Nov 19 2025, 10:36 AM

This is a people problem not a company problem. If you know your management is like that which you can definitely figure out if you are 20 years in the company, then you should know your boss doesnt value your loyalty.

SUSUkeke
post Nov 19 2025, 10:37 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Nov 19 2025, 10:27 AM)
Starting 2k
after jumping few times with average 3years stay with latest salary 10k
thats 5times

My BIL can be said cream of the crop
after dip 1st celery 1.8k
Now C exec celery 40k++ (If I not mistaken current is his 8th company jump)
so...40k/1.8k berapa???
What the f? What field and cert ur bil have? 40k?? He zhut the boss?
hcmalaya
post Nov 19 2025, 10:42 AM

61 posts

Big NO
Ayam work more than 10 years
Looking to climb to COO
But sohai HQ hired a new GM blocking way
Kekwa
Commander Shinzo
post Nov 19 2025, 10:43 AM

Based on what I’ve observed in my company, the answer is no. A company will appreciate you only as long as you benefit them, and they will always prioritize cost over loyalty.
Ichibanichi
post Nov 19 2025, 10:43 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ Nov 19 2025, 10:37 AM)
What the f? What field and cert ur bil have? 40k?? He zhut the boss?
Specialist in niche field
He is just in correct time and the world hunger his skills
His current boss like him coz he managed to bring in alot of sales

Technically what I look is his boss zhut him
nearlee
post Nov 19 2025, 10:52 AM

105 posts

>GTFO la bodo ukeke topkek
Nearlee

LDP
post Nov 19 2025, 10:53 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Nov 19 2025, 10:43 AM)
Specialist in niche field
He is just in correct time and the world hunger his skills
His current boss like him coz he managed to bring in alot of sales

Technically what I look is his boss zhut him
Regardless whether its 40K, 50K or 70K, at the end of the day u r just a number...

Satori 14118a
post Nov 19 2025, 10:55 AM

1,005 posts

might as well be honest here regardless of what HR folks spin

u work for company for pay and benefits

best if you just think of it that way.
pgsiemkia
post Nov 19 2025, 10:59 AM

472 posts

U working for cinapek company? No need feel indebted to such company. Can’t grow or get training to improve skills, better jump ship when get better offer
Ichibanichi
post Nov 19 2025, 11:04 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Nov 19 2025, 10:53 AM)
Regardless whether its 40K, 50K or 70K, at the end of the day u r just a number...
millionaire ke...
billionaire ke..
they don't tell you the numbers
that is the difference between poorfag and superrich

buying few mills properties or tanah kubur sound norm to them

Even my BIL offered me a loan just to book a spot in an exclusive burial park. I rejected coz I want to break my kids burden with this ancestral burial practise
haturaya
post Nov 19 2025, 11:08 AM

2,553 posts

Loyalty is a made-up word to soothe the employee to stay.

Money talks. Just follow the money. No such thing as loyal to a company.

If company want loyalty, tell them, get a chihuahua. A doggo can be very loyal.
Napalm_man
post Nov 19 2025, 11:10 AM

723 posts

Nope, those "We all family here" are all BS just for sugar coat. You resigned today, after few days they found your replacement.
sykz
post Nov 19 2025, 11:16 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(tatabun @ Nov 19 2025, 11:04 AM)
sadly, NO atleast from my POV
yes u got some certain shares, gold coins, certs for being long serving staffs etc.. but yearly increaments are low compared to jumpers unless u really can climb up their ranks. but what are the chances right?

some companies-not-gonna-mention are more worried and ever ready to please their union staffs while neglecting their own junior mgmt staffs. so understand la all the budget allocation goes where

ive seen cases where company staffs with outstanding rating gets lower increament vs union staff with fixed yearly increament as per their contract with strong rating
Macam N company je.
poooky
post Nov 19 2025, 11:17 AM

829 posts

For few people who got very good boss it can be worthwhile, but as someone who got burnt hard, unker is full of ragrets didn't jump ship earlier. For the most people they will be better off jumping ship for guarantee raise.

The only people who keep push loyalty concept are the taukeys who own the business. Got quite a few of these in /k. They think foreign workers are more loyal than local doing the deadend job so they give a bit increment think they are so generous, but don't realize is because they holding them hostage with visa.
bengang15
post Nov 19 2025, 11:18 AM

420 posts

Why so free ahh you. Thought you going to AUS
LDP
post Nov 19 2025, 11:22 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Nov 19 2025, 11:04 AM)
millionaire ke...
billionaire ke..
they don't tell you the numbers
that is the difference between poorfag and superrich

buying few mills properties or tanah kubur sound norm to them

Even my BIL offered me a loan just to book a spot in an exclusive burial park. I rejected coz I want to break my kids burden with this ancestral burial practise
Smart move...

Yr kids will appreciate it...

I oso going for cremation....
ltl170692
post Nov 19 2025, 11:24 AM

111 posts

If only job candidates can be so candid & honest about salary like /k/ to HR & interviewers during job interviews lmao
"Why do you want to work here?" - because for higher pay
"Why did you leave your previous job?" - because the pay sucks

Inb4 HR dulan candidates who talk about $$$ during interview laugh.gif
LegendLee
post Nov 19 2025, 11:40 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

andrewhtf
post Nov 19 2025, 11:40 AM

1,583 posts

No never

But people willing for a sense of familiarity
SUSUkeke
post Nov 19 2025, 02:01 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Nov 19 2025, 11:18 AM)
Why so free ahh you. Thought you going to AUS
Now applying job
BL98
post Nov 19 2025, 02:56 PM

743 posts

yes. loyalty is good. I asked my boss and he said this.

This post has been edited by BL98: Nov 19 2025, 02:56 PM
cangkui
post Nov 19 2025, 05:00 PM

217 posts

company doesnt give a shit about you..

dont be loyal. loyal means nothing..

if i can turn back time, i would leave my current company long ago.. its a shame that i am deep rooted into this company that makes me feel scared about jump ship...
h4r8_kIlLeR
post Nov 19 2025, 05:17 PM

89 posts

No. My last company, i even belanja them by coming to work while on leave for free whilst serving my last 2 months.

Didnt get nothing

This post has been edited by h4r8_kIlLeR: Nov 19 2025, 05:17 PM
max_cavalera
post Nov 19 2025, 05:20 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Nov 19 2025, 03:56 PM)
yes. loyalty is good. I asked my boss and he said this.
Bos thanks you gais for being loyal. 👍🏾

Anyway theres pro and cons to both situation lar.

Theres no perfect solution.

xpole
post Nov 19 2025, 05:31 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

Hell no.

I've seen what my previous company had done towards staffs that working long term in the company.

Two staffs that I've known doing their job well without any issues.

Suddenly one day they have disagreement over certain job tasks with higher management, they are being targeted and management making their life complicated.

Company transferred them to other branch that located far from their home. They end up resigned and found better job at other company.

Job loyalty will pay off if you follow whatever shit that company asked you to do.

A lot of companies out there just want a YES MAN instead of making their employees thinks outside box and doing something new.

This post has been edited by xpole: Nov 19 2025, 05:32 PM
Maknusia
post Nov 19 2025, 05:34 PM

997 posts

I don't think we can generalize in that manner, just bcoz, each company culturally different. From my experience, company culture is important. I have moved so many companies in the past, and coming my current workplace, mula mula ingat, cuma singgah 3 tahun aje, lepas tu sure jump!

But ended up been here for such a long time, the culture was good, good welfare, staffs are friendly, great benefits, more like a family within the department. Salary was not great, but it was very conducive to work.

Some time depends what we want and what the company can offer, its more like a marriage, both party need to have that chemistry click
katijar
post Nov 19 2025, 05:37 PM

2,294 posts

Nope
dman
post Nov 19 2025, 05:37 PM

540 posts

IF u are useful or got value to the company then yes.

Else no.
smallcrab
post Nov 19 2025, 05:39 PM

139 posts

Nobody is indispensable

Cold hard truth

So... loyalty doesn't pay
Fantasia
post Nov 19 2025, 05:39 PM

5,476 posts

Loyal or not, make sure u r always marketable so that u always have options.
pronester
post Nov 19 2025, 05:41 PM

59 posts

everyone for himself..just don't be too loyal and dramatic/emotional at the same time
EncikSejati
post Nov 19 2025, 06:35 PM

18 posts

buat company sendiri lah
p4n6
post Nov 19 2025, 06:52 PM

5,968 posts

Company does not value loyalty, company promotes it cause every year your increment merely 5% but hire new person, the rate increases 10-20% … so they hope you do not leave but they dont value you …

NataM
post Nov 19 2025, 07:53 PM

19 posts

Only have 1 lifetime to try. Mine 11 years until company went down. Now start to hop hop
Jedi
post Nov 19 2025, 08:30 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

once ur capability > boss, but u dont get appreciated/recognised, or worse, buttlickers and slanderers get undue credits, u know its time to move on

I dont wanna say its pride, be mindful of arrogance and pride, but u need to know your own value, esp if u are severely underpaid
Boomwick
post Nov 19 2025, 08:33 PM

985 posts

Depends on ur job and skill

If u wash toilet admin, then no diff

If u r top tier programmer, coder... then ok
ahchat
post Nov 19 2025, 08:35 PM

WISE KUCENG
922 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Nov 19 2025, 10:04 AM)

this

back in my old company, guy refuse to adapt to new procedure, new method, new SOP, later kena release by company sweat.gif
Porkycorgi5588
post Nov 19 2025, 08:36 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(hotdayum @ Nov 19 2025, 09:58 AM)
First!

easier for you to say since you are the CEO of Yulek Pembaiki Paip Sdn Bhd mad.gif mad.gif
gogocan
post Nov 19 2025, 08:39 PM

485 posts

been with same Co for 22 yrs..so far really rewarding hehe
lopo90
post Nov 19 2025, 08:41 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(hotdayum @ Nov 19 2025, 09:58 AM)
First!

Yup. You're just trading your time and energy for money

But then again, cannot say this directly to the boss

Must say nice flowery words. Must say I wanna die for the company!!!!
toughguy
post Nov 19 2025, 08:42 PM

105 posts

The lesson of the story. If you are useless, don’t be royal. Company exists for making money. If you did not perform, no one can save you.
ameliorate
post Nov 19 2025, 08:43 PM

369 posts

My previous company got 1 staff really useless but never get fired. He is the thick skin type, kena scold like a dog still smile only.

The CEO told me he keep him there because he is nice to diu. So loyalty means you happy and willing to kena diu by boss. Not tenure of work.

heinlein
post Nov 19 2025, 08:52 PM

1,788 posts

loyal to whoever give better money
urnicksux2
post Nov 19 2025, 08:54 PM

77 posts

loyal if no use no point
company priority is to make money
hotdayum
post Nov 20 2025, 08:29 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Nov 19 2025, 08:36 PM)
easier for you to say since you are the CEO of Yulek Pembaiki Paip Sdn Bhd  mad.gif  mad.gif
Tsk tsk tsk suruh u jaga RT u main /k. Potong gaji
danielmckey
post Nov 20 2025, 08:31 AM

1,049 posts

There is starting and also ending. Nothing is last forever and everyday is the benigging.
sadlyfalways
post Nov 20 2025, 08:34 AM

1,185 posts

no. fucking quit. hate my work and my life now haha.

no life also pay like getting fucked in the ass.

weekends or overtime also no pay, just expected to do it and stfu.

shit ass life, meanwhile my european firends do barely any work, WFH 99% of the time, and drink and party daily while making 200x my salary wtfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
SUSUkeke
post Nov 20 2025, 08:35 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Nov 20 2025, 08:34 AM)
no. fucking quit. hate my work and my life now haha.

no life also pay like getting fucked in the ass.

weekends or overtime also no pay, just expected to do it and stfu.

shit ass life, meanwhile my european firends do barely any work, WFH 99% of the time, and drink and party daily while making 200x my salary wtfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
Which country, europe wage quite low except swiss
ye0073
post Nov 20 2025, 09:16 AM

480 posts

Even loyalty to your wife didn't pay off. What makes you think company do?
titanz
post Nov 20 2025, 09:47 AM

40 posts

No, because you are expendable

Loyalty is just fantasy, not reality
Porkycorgi5588
post Nov 20 2025, 04:12 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(hotdayum @ Nov 20 2025, 08:29 AM)
Tsk tsk tsk suruh u jaga RT u main /k. Potong gaji
already tembak until i tear my purple spender and skin turn green...
apa lagi babi mau?
hotdayum
post Nov 20 2025, 05:31 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Nov 20 2025, 04:12 PM)
already tembak until i tear my purple spender and skin turn green...
apa lagi babi mau?
Ayam mau pakai PAUT so your balls don't get fried tapi u tamau
wagie
post Nov 20 2025, 05:44 PM

i stay coz miss my awek coliq. if not already resign long ago blush.gif
GHBZDK
post Nov 20 2025, 05:48 PM

173 posts

nope. you just know if the place is suitable for you or not by the first month and if it is worth your time and expect nothing else.
SUSUkeke
post Nov 20 2025, 06:01 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(wagie @ Nov 20 2025, 05:44 PM)
i stay coz miss my awek coliq. if not already resign long ago blush.gif
The same goes for me. Cause can see amoi koliq and milf superior almost every weekdays. Sometimes can see in between buttons. If not, i already go Australia to work
Porkycorgi5588
post Nov 20 2025, 06:25 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(hotdayum @ Nov 20 2025, 05:31 PM)
Ayam mau pakai PAUT so your balls don't get fried tapi u tamau
u ingat lu Bani prime?

everything pao pao pao.....

Only the Queen's law prevails here
sadlyfalways
post Nov 23 2025, 04:32 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ Nov 20 2025, 08:35 AM)
Which country, europe wage quite low except swiss
Norway and UK.

Whatever it is, convert still high, making me jealous only.

Still so much easier for them to buy things

0.0283sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:35 PM