How well is M'sia catching up with console gaming?, Em...not so well.

juniorpop
post May 1 2008, 05:56 PM

20 posts

Apala..
mingdynasty
post May 1 2008, 06:02 PM

656 posts

to me look like some poor guy letting go frustration
juniorpop
post May 1 2008, 09:13 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(mingdynasty @ May 1 2008, 06:02 PM)
to me look like some poor guy letting go frustration
??
cRazYee
post May 2 2008, 02:00 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Nov 15 2007, 10:37 PM)
AND WITH ALL DUE RESPECT,

We console gamers get enough shafting by the PC gamers...

+ Local tournaments: PC oriented
+ Original games sold by legal distributors: PC gamer oriented

i know i may sound...for the lack of a better word...territorial...i have all 3 current gen consoles. You may think of me as some sort of rich guy who has all the games, but bro Parrot i like everybody in this thread work for our games, either we perform well on our exams or we get allowances, it still boils down that a considerable amount of funds go to our console games.

I agree its a LUXURY HOBBY, but saying that console gaming in Malaysia is struggling is kinda of cold.

Ask yourself this....How many "kampung folk" play Crysis?
                          How many have the latest nvidia graphics card?
                          How many have Hellgate subscription?
As far as I know, in the village areas of Malaysia, gaming there is dominated by old but very reliable game consoles like the PS1 Or microgeniuses tongue.gif ...
strongly agree!

PC is so call luxury gaming console, A desktop gaming machine can shot up to 5k easily... but the performance is just yet satisfied.
great mobo cost Rm600 above, great processor cost RM 700 above, GPU, sound card, cooling, monitor, razar gaming keyboard mouse........

console is the way too cheap! compare to last time, when first ps2 came in, it also cost Rm2000 +-

Malaysian console players should change their mind, in stead of getting pirated 1, try to afford original.

juniorpop
post May 2 2008, 04:36 PM

20 posts

LOL I don't think anybody could TRY to afford something.
If they can't afford it, they can't afford it.
It's that simple.

But yeah maybe Malaysians should start changing their mindsets.
Then we will international markets paying some attention to these side of the globe.
nwk
post May 2 2008, 07:47 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ May 2 2008, 02:00 PM)
strongly agree!

PC is so call luxury gaming console, A desktop gaming machine can shot up to 5k easily... but the performance is just yet satisfied.
great mobo cost Rm600 above, great processor cost RM 700 above, GPU, sound card, cooling, monitor, razar gaming keyboard mouse........

console is the way too cheap! compare to last time, when first ps2 came in, it also cost Rm2000 +-

Malaysian console players should change their mind, in stead of getting pirated 1, try to afford original.
I just want to add that a bloody PC gaming rig will become obsolete in 2 years time and you will have to fork out another 5K to get the latest PC accessories. Compare that to a console like PS3, it won't go out of date for at least 5-10 years. That's why I prefer console. You don't have to waste your money upgrading parts like a bloody PC.
cRazYee
post May 2 2008, 09:51 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ May 2 2008, 07:47 PM)
I just want to add that a bloody PC gaming rig will become obsolete in 2 years time and you will have to fork out another 5K to get the latest PC accessories. Compare that to a console like PS3, it won't go out of date for at least 5-10 years. That's why I prefer console. You don't have to waste your money upgrading parts like a bloody PC.
yeah!
dont say console last for 5-10years, 5 years is enough

PC, get outdated in 2 years time, maximum
SHOfrE3zE
post May 2 2008, 09:56 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

if you can't afford 2 buy consoles then there's always other hobbies such as collecting stamps and playing chess..
BlueBerry~
post May 2 2008, 11:11 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ May 2 2008, 07:47 PM)
This i so damn true. Thats y i have opted to go console gaming now. Ditch the computers.
GamersFamilia
post May 3 2008, 09:11 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,875 posts

console gaming is the best....
post May 4 2008, 02:29 AM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

You may have been living at the wrong side of town.My place here got alot of shops selling all types of seventh gen console be it XBOX 360 with or without 3ROD,PS3,wii etc.

P.S:I live in a small former mining town and it currently holds Perak main admin building.(Guess the answer and you win)

This post has been edited by 779364: May 4 2008, 02:29 AM
satriakid
post May 4 2008, 02:10 PM

426 posts

Not everyone lives in a big city. Not to mention not all towns will have next gen consoles.
BlueBerry~
post May 4 2008, 07:04 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

Like where i am. The gaming shops are monopolise by a few shops only. Last count was 2. Their price are like killer.
slickz
post May 4 2008, 07:22 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ May 2 2008, 11:11 PM)
This i so damn true. Thats y i have opted to go console gaming now. Ditch the computers.
chalk one up for me too. Fully agreed and endorsed and this is the very reason I saved up my funds for my next pc upgrade, for a console. I felt shafted after just 2 months upgrading my 9600XT to 7800GT they announced the release of the damn directx10 cards, how oh so great it would look like and stuff. All this happening while we had to wait for years for the good games from console such as GTA or final fantasy, if they ever came.

That being said, before I kill off my pc gaming habit completely I still have teamfortress 2 and starcraft II (coming). Those few titles will be the last remaining candles that light up my pc gaming era.

This post has been edited by slickz: May 4 2008, 07:24 PM
BlueBerry~
post May 4 2008, 09:21 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ May 4 2008, 07:22 PM)
chalk one up for me too. Fully agreed and endorsed and this is the very reason I saved up my funds for my next pc upgrade, for a console. I felt shafted after just 2 months upgrading my 9600XT to 7800GT they announced the release of the damn directx10 cards, how oh so great it would look like and stuff. All this happening while we had to wait for years for the good games from console such as GTA or final fantasy, if they ever came.

That being said, before I kill off my pc gaming habit completely I still have teamfortress 2 and starcraft II (coming). Those few titles will be the last remaining candles that light up my pc gaming era.
Yeah. Only thing i do with my comp now is download movies and on9. If not. I would have thrown it away liao. Hehe.
satriakid
post May 4 2008, 09:43 PM

426 posts

I still keep my pc. Still quite in a condition to play latest games, but at a small scarifice la. 4 years and still going strong!

Well, I hope I can save up enough for my coming console this year.
TSParrot
post May 6 2008, 12:49 PM

422 posts

First and foremost, the argument is in favour of the fact that we as M'sians are pressured by internal and external forces to choose PCs over consoles, not whether or not consoles are better than PCs.

QUOTE(cRazYee @ May 2 2008, 01:00 AM)
In the eyes of a typical household (not the gamer in the household), PCs are more practical than a console given the FACT that is still does more than simply run multimedia software and Internet browsers. Even if the hardware of a new PC is not capable of running games, it's still updated enough to acceptably play new games in at least minimal settings. Which describes state of new PCs used by most PC gamers in M'sia. PC upgrades are almost usually secondary, and personal customisation and construction of computers are still nothing more than a minority practice in the more developed areas of the country. All that is moot, that is, if you are financially stable enough to afford fulfilling your own gaming needs.

For a piece of hardware than merely functions like an entertainment centre, any amount above M$1,200 is too much, especially when they begin to reach the age of 1 or 2.

Console depreciation now is slower than it was as far as the PS2 is concerned. While the PS2 first came out with a M$2,000 price tag back in 2000, it dropped to M$1,200 in late 2001 before dipping below $1,000 in 2003, the reason being the M'sian market was supplied with plentiful supplies of PS2s and Microsoft and Nintendo either entered the competition late or failed to grab a good market share in the console market, resulting in the PS2 dominating the M'sian console market. Marketing of current-gen consoles now suffer from much more limited supplies due to stiffer competition, problematic geographics, a late entry of the PlayStation 3 and a weak M$. Even after the Xbox 360 has been in the SEA market for more than two years, why is it still costing around M$1,500?

Ask someone on the street if he's/she's willing to spend M$100-250 on an original console game or M$20 on a pirated console game. Our current economical health does not encourage the former.

This post has been edited by Parrot: May 6 2008, 12:54 PM
PrivateJohn
post May 6 2008, 09:40 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

I agree, eventhough the console has multimedia capabilities but we still need a pc because its alot more convenient and more or less console will only act as a multimedia extender. That being said, we still need to pay more if we were to play games on it like you said...secondary option. Thing is if you are able to pay for a full blown gaming rig then why is it you can't afford a console which can last you for at least 4 years?

On the matter of original games, that's just people mindset because we are so used to buying games at Rm10-Rm20. The sudden increase to Rm160-Rm210 just seems outrageous, value wise. The irony part is when they are shelling out Rm1000-Rm2000 for graphic card upgrade every 1 or 2 years or paying Rm5000-RM10,000 for a HDTV, suddenly everything seems justified.

With the minimum Rm500 of gaming fund i can at least recycle the games for one full year, if not...longer. Unless people still want to buy 30 pirated games, i myself already have problem coping with more than 3 games at the same time.

Reason why xbox 360 price didn't drop too much until recently because it has one of the largest console user-base (after Wii) with the highest software attach rate. For the very same reason, ps2 are much more expensive than xbox 1 eventhough xbox 1 spec is far superior.
Now that the ps3 is picking up alot of momentum, you see Microsoft slowly cutting its price across the globe. It was just announce recently for the Singapore and other Asian region.

Just be glad you aren't living in Denmark because the cost of GTA IV in Denmark runs $125.25 and $114.79. Also, European countries and the Australian get their games alot more expensive than the US counterparts. It's only acceptable because of their stronger economy, but not all European are as rich as you think especially Eastern Europe.

If we don't support original game, how can we expect the market to adjust accordingly to our economy strength when the foreign investor doesn't take us seriously? We don't have the luxury of 1.3 billion population so they can turn a blind eye to it.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0161sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:05 AM