Cheap Wifi / Home Fibre Options
TSryder_78
Oct 31 2025, 07:47 AM, updated 4w ago
I'm currently looking for cheap options of home wifi. It doesn't really matter if it's router running on SIM card or broadband fibre. Requirement is ideally unlimited data, speed of connection is not so important. Currently the top two are Maxis and Unifi. Are there any other options or alternatives that I may not be aware of? With Unifi cheapest broadband fibre plan is RM89  With Maxis cheapest wifi plan is RM79  Also, I heard from someone that Maxis will offer promotion from time to time with cheap wifi or fibre plans. Does anyone have any information on this? This post has been edited by ryder_78: Oct 31 2025, 07:57 AM
WaCKy-Angel
Oct 31 2025, 07:51 AM
I thought no more 100mbps plan?
TSryder_78
Oct 31 2025, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 31 2025, 07:51 AM) I thought no more 100mbps plan? I don't know, it's on the website.
vince316
Oct 31 2025, 07:55 AM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 31 2025, 07:51 AM) I thought no more 100mbps plan? Is that so ? I am currently on 100. So hopefully they will auto upgrade me after contract expires.
chimpeny
Oct 31 2025, 07:58 AM
How many person using the WiFi?
Can go for 2 person: Yes5G prepaid RM30 per person (RM25 if auto debit). 3 persons+: Yes5G data postpaid RM68 (3years contract) with free 5G modem, RM58 no contract (hotspot from old phone).
Cons if using Yes5G: Coverage and poor reception during heavy thunderstorms (happens for most mobile broadband tech if far away from telco tower.
Else as what you suggested, go for maxis. UNIFI Rm89 can get waiver 6 months if you search thru agent.
This post has been edited by chimpeny: Oct 31 2025, 07:59 AM
TSryder_78
Oct 31 2025, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(chimpeny @ Oct 31 2025, 07:58 AM) How many person using the WiFi? Can go for 2 person: Yes5G prepaid RM30 per person (RM25 if auto debit). 3 persons+: Yes5G data postpaid RM68 (3years contract) with free 5G modem, RM58 no contract (hotspot from old phone). Cons if using Yes5G: Coverage and poor reception during heavy thunderstorms (happens for most mobile broadband tech if far away from telco tower. Else as what you suggested, go for maxis. Thanks. I tried Yes4G long time ago when the Yes wifi device was given as free with a purchase of a car, must be more than 10 years ago. Will explore.
TSryder_78
Oct 31 2025, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(chimpeny @ Oct 31 2025, 07:58 AM) Else as what you suggested, go for maxis. UNIFI Rm89 can get waiver 6 months if you search thru agent. This is something that I am worried if I miss out the details. As what I was informed, sometimes there are offers or discounts with severely slashed prices of home wifi packages that I may not be aware of, the promotion quietly offered and not being made public or posted on the website. I'll need to find out more. If given a choice, it's safer to stay with the big boys ie. Maxis/Unifi. I believe Maxis is running promotion or (quiet) offers from time to time, Unifi may not do that.
YoungMan
Oct 31 2025, 08:16 AM
U Home 5G at Rm68 is also an option. If possible, get your own 5G modem, the provided one isn't great.
QuantumEdge
Oct 31 2025, 08:25 AM
Another option is Allo But you need to be in their coverage lah
TSryder_78
Oct 31 2025, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Oct 31 2025, 08:25 AM) Another option is Allo But you need to be in their coverage lah  Thanks, this is the cheapest so far. Will check. Are you on Allo? IF yes how is the performance of the wifi connection? This post has been edited by ryder_78: Oct 31 2025, 08:57 AM
QuantumEdge
Oct 31 2025, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 31 2025, 08:56 AM) Thanks, this is the cheapest so far. Will check. Are you on Allo? IF yes how is the performance of the wifi connection? Getting mine installed today (hopefully) Will give you an update in a few days But do check for the coverage first https://www.allo.my/coverage/
TSryder_78
Oct 31 2025, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Oct 31 2025, 09:33 AM) Getting mine installed today (hopefully) Will give you an update in a few days But do check for the coverage first https://www.allo.my/coverage/Thanks, though it is unfortunate that there is no Allo coverage at my area after the customer service checked and confirmed. Maxis and Unifi are significantly costlier, almost 2X the price of Allo's RM49.