Direct purchase of motor insurance on portal

TSWH4CockcooBird
post Oct 23 2025, 09:32 AM, updated 2 months ago

194 posts

I noticed online portal of insurance companies are not offering all policies or sometimes not offering anything at all for motorcar or motorcycle insurance, but available via their agent.

This wasn't the case last year.

Had insurance company narrowed their direct offering online in order to divert sales to their agents?

Surely feeling it's happening this year.
bismaximus
post Oct 23 2025, 10:08 AM

120 posts

For new car or renewal? If new, can call them up. I did for Etiqa just few weeks back.
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Oct 23 2025, 10:10 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(bismaximus @ Oct 23 2025, 10:08 AM)
For new car or renewal? If new, can call them up. I did for Etiqa just few weeks back.
Renewal but with a different insurance company.

Shopping around.
chelseafanz
post Oct 23 2025, 10:12 AM

398 posts

of course, the insurance company still need the agent hence they still need to protect their business.
Plus, malaysia insurance company customer service still very low level, imagine got doubt claim issue and u need to deal with such customer service, really terrible experience it will be.
bismaximus
post Oct 23 2025, 10:14 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Oct 23 2025, 10:10 AM)
Renewal but with a different insurance company.

Shopping around.
Ohh I feel Etiqa, Kurnia and Takaful all still same from last year via their portal. I guess you can still call the customer service and get a customised quote.
19 Degree South
post Oct 23 2025, 10:18 AM

1,674 posts

same jer. most got optional covers ma.
romuluz777
post Oct 23 2025, 01:04 PM

2,204 posts

I'm using MSIG for car insurance.
Always buy online from their portal. So far so good.
contestchris
post Oct 23 2025, 02:13 PM

5,504 posts

You just need to survey Etiqa or RHB. They are the cheapest, period. And acceptable service quality.
cempedaklife
post Oct 23 2025, 02:28 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

what do you need? if need customize this and that of course la.
but normal one i feel okay what, still same for motortakaful and takaful malaysia.
loui
post Oct 23 2025, 03:43 PM

789 posts

The purposely do that to filter out high risk vehicle.

As those insurance policy yield little to no profit.

For example
1. Commercial vehicle
2. Hilux
3. Car above 15 years old
marvinben
post Oct 23 2025, 03:44 PM

249 posts

Etiqa still same. Shitload of options you can spend on your money on.
GamersFamilia
post Oct 23 2025, 04:03 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,700 posts

Every year change my insurance company, this year i choose takaful ikhlas for my old camry acv30 2.0e, since the company covered a good amount
dudester
post Oct 23 2025, 04:09 PM

1,222 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Oct 23 2025, 09:32 AM)
I noticed online portal of insurance companies are not offering all policies or sometimes not offering anything at all for motorcar or motorcycle insurance, but available via their agent.

Had insurance company narrowed their direct offering online in order to divert sales to their agents?

what you mean not offering all policies?
did they change this year?
have been buying car insurance online for counple of years and couple of cars. like it coz i can custom and get cheapest.
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Oct 23 2025, 04:33 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Oct 23 2025, 03:43 PM)
The purposely do that to filter out high risk vehicle.

As those insurance policy yield little to no profit.

For example
1. Commercial vehicle
2. Hilux
3. Car above 15 years old
I was renewing for my 1 year old scooter, from online website:-

Company A - Offers only all rider policy
Company B - Offers only 3rd party policy
Company C and others - Website error out after entering details.

So I called up bike shop told them renew for me single rider comprehensive cover.
No issue then.

Then, I was renewing for 12 years old car:
Few companies error out saying not taking it.
Finally got it with Etiqa.
hallojohnnycash
post Oct 23 2025, 09:59 PM

13 posts

Every insurer has their own preferred risk..i.e car made/model, age..based on the existing Motor portfolio they have and its loss ratio.
So the Motor underwriters may do adjustments to decide if to restrict/loosen the biz criteria. If Motor portfolio loss hits 70%, means already not making money.
Some companies allow selection by their biz channel...i.e agency and bank's different offering...

ktek
post Oct 23 2025, 10:34 PM

小喇叭
13,183 posts

use the link from jpj website, less choice to pick tapi can accept.
where as from same brand website i tekan tiok reject
pisces88
post Oct 24 2025, 02:35 AM

3,965 posts

Recently renewed with etiqa twice, 2 dif cars from diff insurance company. One of the cars can't get quote online bcos sum insured is high, need to call them
azbro
post Oct 24 2025, 06:29 AM

4,403 posts

I just get my car dealer to do it.

Easy and must easier to claim. At least got phone number to call direct.

Price is also similar if you include the extras.

MGM
post Oct 24 2025, 08:03 AM

18,385 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Oct 23 2025, 09:32 AM)

Pls name those insurance companies that u already have the info.
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Oct 24 2025, 09:53 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 24 2025, 08:03 AM)
Pls name those insurance companies that u already have the info.
Off my head, Allianz and Berjaya Sompo.

There are others but I can't remember exactly what happened that I am unable to even get a quote online.

0.0150sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:42 AM