Late renewal of insurance + road tax

TSHybrified
post Nov 15 2007, 11:19 AM, updated 19y ago

1,071 posts

Hi ...

May i know what consequences if i late to renew my road tax and car insurance ? both going to expiry this week and i totally not enuf cash to renew due to some personal finance problem ... sad.gif

I know road block is the issue, but i seldom to kena road block usually .... or even i can by road tax just rm100 onli.

insurance is about rm700+ tht the issue ...

If i dont buy insurance+road tax, are they going to coem over my house to pull my car ?? rclxub.gif

i just need delay a bit
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 15 2007, 11:21 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Hybrified @ Nov 15 2007, 11:19 AM)
Hi ...

May i know what consequences if i late to renew my road tax and car insurance ? both going to expiry this week and i totally not enuf cash to renew due to some personal finance problem ... sad.gif
I know road block is the issue, but i seldom to kena road block usually .... or even i can by road tax just rm100 onli.

If i dont buy insurance+road tax, are they going to coem over my house to pull my car ??  rclxub.gif

i just need delay a bit
U cant renew road tax without buying insurance..

They wont come pull ur car..
Btw wat car u driving? my 1.5 only around rm100 3rd-party insurance only...

TSHybrified
post Nov 15 2007, 11:24 AM

1,071 posts

The thing is, my loan havent finish so must buy 1st party ....

I just called commerce assurance ... he say renew insurance at their side, and road tax at jpj wor ...

even with runner also cannot get road tax only ??

so if i delay renew both also nothing rite ? just road block only ?
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 15 2007, 11:28 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Hybrified @ Nov 15 2007, 11:24 AM)
The thing is, my loan havent finish so must buy 1st party ....

I just called commerce assurance ... he say renew insurance at their side, and road tax at jpj wor ...

even with runner also cannot get road tax only ??

so if i delay renew both also nothing rite ? just road block only ?
OIC....

Yes u renew insurance at the insurance or agent there..
And they will somehow update to JPJ (i guess) else u cant renew road tax..

That day i renew insurance on the last day but found out cant renew road tax coz blacklisted got saman..
So i paid saman and renew road tax on the next day, and the road tax date is the day b4....
Maybe follow the insurance date...
kcng
post Nov 15 2007, 11:28 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

sure u can still drive around...
but if u kena any accident (touch wood) you hailat.com.my...

you cannot do anything or claim anything....
all have to fix from your own pocket and also u might/need to pay for the other party damage too even if they langgar you...
se7en
post Nov 15 2007, 11:30 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

you can delay renewing the road tax + insurance as long as you don't drive the car la. no penalties whatsoever.

you can't get a roadtax without renewing your insurance, you need to submit an insurance slip together when doing your license renewal.

If you drive without roadtax + insurance, and you're stopped, its a RM300 fine if i'm not mistaken. But the bigger problem would be the insurance. If your car is stolen or you're involved in an accident and you don't have any insurance, you won't get any compensation. You'll have to pay for your own repairs, or in the event it is stolen, well, you won't get back anything - and you'll have to continue paying the bank for the loan even if you no longer have the car.

DannGun
post Nov 15 2007, 11:43 AM

688 posts

You can delay paying the insurance road tax! I also always delay up to a month!! Avoid driving at night, because got police/JPJ roadblocks! JPJ is the worse as they are not negotiable... You won't get any penalty for expired insurance and road tax.. no need to worry about that...

Avoid accidents! You can pay insurance at the office, and pay the road tax at post office and they will print it for u. No need to go JPJ to get road tax. They got online system... once u pay ur insurance, they will automatically update......

This post has been edited by DannGun: Nov 15 2007, 11:44 AM
billytong
post Nov 15 2007, 11:59 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

believe me or not one of my dad's weekend antique car,which drive just around the Taman , road tax expired Jan 2007. brows.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Nov 15 2007, 12:00 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 15 2007, 11:21 AM)
U cant renew road tax without buying insurance..

They wont come pull ur car..
Btw wat car u driving? my 1.5 only around rm100 3rd-party insurance only...
wow....RM100? How come so cheap??

QUOTE(kcng @ Nov 15 2007, 11:28 AM)
sure u can still drive around...
but if u kena any accident (touch wood) you hailat.com.my...

you cannot do anything or claim anything....
all have to fix from your own pocket and also u might/need to pay for the other party damage too even if they langgar you...
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

btw, ts...what car are you driving? 700 bucks is damnnnn expensive for a fresh grad car. Even my 1985 Ford Lazer without NCD is RM500 - doubled the usual insurance because the car is too old. You dun have NCD?
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 15 2007, 12:03 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Nov 15 2007, 12:00 PM)
wow....RM100? How come so cheap??
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Cheap car
Edi8888
post Nov 15 2007, 01:09 PM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Nov 15 2007, 11:30 AM)
you can delay renewing the road tax + insurance as long as you don't drive the car la. no penalties whatsoever.

you can't get a roadtax without renewing your insurance, you need to submit an insurance slip together when doing your license renewal.

If you drive without roadtax + insurance, and you're stopped, its a RM300 fine if i'm not mistaken. But the bigger problem would be the insurance. If your car is stolen or you're involved in an accident and you don't have any insurance, you won't get any compensation. You'll have to pay for your own repairs, or in the event it is stolen, well, you won't get back anything - and you'll have to continue paying the bank for the loan even if you no longer have the car.
driving without road tax and insurance = rm3k + court

my friend kena
selinix
post Nov 15 2007, 01:13 PM

7,343 posts

my roadtax expired on 7th november... an i have been driving without knowing it for 1 week.. and even go through 2 road blocks... dam so lucky...
Aeon_Clock
post Nov 15 2007, 01:54 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Nov 15 2007, 01:09 PM)
driving without road tax and insurance = rm3k + court
my friend kena
my gawd shocking.gif
ts, you better get that insurance done quick! laugh.gif
Arkaine
post Nov 15 2007, 01:59 PM

Join the Dark Force to embrace true power
1,904 posts

maybe could advance from boss to pay the insurance... then deduct the salary....
kevinlim001
post Nov 15 2007, 02:01 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

dun drive out lo no money then take public transport first lo...
wantutrifor5
post Nov 15 2007, 02:15 PM

1,191 posts

my car 3 month not pay roadtax and ins, hahahhaha.. got another car, y pay? eekekekke
babylabbit
post Nov 15 2007, 03:47 PM

4,339 posts

wah so geng..insurance also dont buy..later car mia jor...u wont hahah..u sob sob tongue.gif
wishb0ne
post Nov 15 2007, 09:43 PM

163 posts

Insurance can pay via credit card. So, apply those instantly.
zacevox
post Nov 16 2007, 12:27 AM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

QUOTE(wantutrifor5 @ Nov 15 2007, 02:15 PM)
my car 3 month not pay roadtax and ins, hahahhaha.. got another car, y pay? eekekekke
then your car need to register for new number.. no more renew roadtax.
scorgio
post Nov 16 2007, 12:28 AM

4,694 posts

U can drive without roadtax. You'll only get fine.

But without insurance, you're exposing yourself to a hell lot of trouble.

Take for instance, ur car met an accident, all repair must come out of your pocket.

Worse still, if you hit someone or somebody's injured in the other car involved in the accident. You damn HAILAT then......

No one's gonna bail you out then. You'll be sued till bankrupt & face jail term.
hypermount
post Nov 16 2007, 12:44 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Ya even with 30% NCD for RM28k value car, kinda hard to pay in one sum that is nearly RM800. Was hoping the car's residue value drops like mad.

Anyway you can pay the insurance premium in installments using credit car with 0% interest from the insurer.

Highly recommended Pan Global for this.

Nowadays the insurance company will do the road tax renewal for you with a small fee or FOC.
Deja Vu
post Nov 16 2007, 09:12 AM

1,863 posts

As far as I can c, u hv only 2 options:
- Dun drive ur car until ur road tax has been renewed. (maximum 1 yr if not mistaken. After tat u need to send2 Puspakom b4 renew)
- Look4 insurance companies tat allow credit payment.

Bottom line,
no insurance = no road tax
no road tax = very bad when road block

Apis_LuaLua
post Nov 16 2007, 09:34 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

How about my case.. i just purchase a 2nd car last august and then i have to apply a new insurance too.. but the thing is, my roadtax will end on 17/12... is it i have to get the copy from bank or how?

This post has been edited by Apis_LuaLua: Nov 16 2007, 09:34 AM
wantutrifor5
post Nov 16 2007, 12:29 PM

1,191 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Nov 16 2007, 12:28 AM)
U can drive without roadtax. You'll only get fine.

But without insurance, you're exposing yourself to a hell lot of trouble.

Take for instance, ur car met an accident, all repair must come out of your pocket.

Worse still, if you hit someone or somebody's injured in the other car involved in the accident. You damn HAILAT then......

No one's gonna bail you out then. You'll be sued till bankrupt & face jail term.
no lar, that car at garage only, just start and pusing2 taman.. thinking wanna sell, but got debt at bank.. now search ppl who wanna sambung bayar.. only at terengganu area, dont want jauh2.. later sob sob... now drive proton saga, save fuel abit compare with my lantis 1.6.. roadtax and ins just rm400++.. 3rd party.. ekekeke

now, pay rm520 monthly to bank.. hahahaha,but so sad, that car only at garage and cannot show da power, coz no roadtax.. hahahahhaha
flyingteeku
post Nov 16 2007, 03:56 PM

2,008 posts

but what if i delay my payment of insurance and road tax, let's say for 1 month, my car is 3rd party, will the NCD still remain?
Lil'Maine
post Apr 30 2014, 05:28 PM

289 posts

Hey guys, i had to revive this old thread coz i need info from anyone. Situation is..... my car insurance was paid when it expired but i didnt have time to go renew my raod tax. My raod tax expired on 17/4/2014. I went to pos office to renew today 30/4 and they said my roadtax expired more than 1 year?? Where got la.. 2 weeks oni ma. Den the girl said if insurance paid but roadtax not paid within 14 days den my insurance burn? Can anyone clarify this?
Noregrets
post Apr 30 2014, 08:47 PM

1,124 posts

Buy third party insurance and use that to renew your road tax.
Third Party should be about RM 100 depending on cc of your car and NCB.
If you have an accident you pay for damage to your car buy insurance will pay for third party damage as well as bodily injury,
Don't be stupid and drive without insurance.
If you injure someone or kill someone while driving without insurance, you will rot in jail for a very long time.
Plus even when you get out of jail you will spend the rest of your life paying debts.

SUSMamapapamsia
post Feb 5 2015, 12:36 PM

304 posts

My insurance oso need to renew soon. RM2500 after 55% NCD including 300plus roadtax. doh.gif
ffrulz
post Feb 5 2015, 02:49 PM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Nov 16 2007, 09:34 AM)
How about my case.. i just purchase a 2nd car last august and then i have to apply a new insurance too.. but the thing is, my roadtax will end on 17/12... is it i have to get the copy from bank or how?
The current road tax has to be cancelled in order for you to renew the insurance under your name. That was the case for my car which was bought from a direct seller.
qse150
post Dec 4 2015, 09:15 AM

287 posts

guys guys need to ask you all. i forgot to renew my motorbike roadtax last year. Just found out this morning. Any penalties? sad.gif
Pak Chuu
post Dec 4 2015, 10:48 AM

The principle is the same, roadtax expired more than one year, need to send to Puspakom before can renew the road tax.
qse150
post Dec 4 2015, 01:34 PM

287 posts

ADUII ...last time i remember just go in renew again mah okie liao ...
TOMEI-R
post Dec 4 2015, 01:37 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Hybrified @ Nov 15 2007, 11:19 AM)
Hi ...

If i dont buy insurance+road tax, are they going to coem over my house to pull my car ??  rclxub.gif

i just need delay a bit
You can opt to get Third Party insurance coverage and renew your road tax. But do bear in mind, third party only covers the opposing party and not your own damage/losses to your car.. Third party insurance should be Rm300++.

Bear in mind that if your car is still under loan, you are not supposed to take third party insurance.

0.0173sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:05 AM