Change WhatsApp number without notifying, contacts and existing chat numbers?

TSGalaxyV
post Oct 17 2025, 09:17 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 17 2025, 08:06 PM)
some ppl value their privacy bro.

you may contact someone via fb messenger, doesnt mean you can call them on their hp number right?
i really like the telegram feature which doesn't need to backup and you can subscribe to premium version and if the person is not on your contact list, they can't even message or contact you.

So cool...

My current whatsapp has over 20GB media to be backup up rclxub.gif

so it has taken up my google drive space for 20gb liao.
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 17 2025, 09:30 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Oct 17 2025, 09:17 PM)
i really like the telegram feature which doesn't need to backup and you can subscribe to premium version and if the person is not on your contact list, they can't even message or contact you.

So cool...

My current whatsapp has over 20GB media to be backup up  rclxub.gif

so it has taken up my google drive space for 20gb liao.
might be blessing in disguise. since fami wanna force us to use digitalid and they want the social media to do the ekyc as well, telegram is the way to go
TSGalaxyV
post Oct 17 2025, 09:33 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 17 2025, 09:30 PM)
might be blessing in disguise. since fami wanna force us to use digitalid and they want the social media to do the ekyc as well, telegram is the way to go
hopefully telegram will overtake WA
akira87
post Oct 18 2025, 01:33 AM

Weeeee~
779 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Oct 17 2025, 02:35 PM)
I googled this and found this answer. I have quit all groups. Just don't want individual chat users to contact/message me on my new number.
As far as i know, they wont be notified. But once they opened previous chat with u, there is a notice on the screen...
GamersFamilia
post Oct 18 2025, 04:53 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,726 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 17 2025, 09:30 PM)
It's good for ekyc all the social media cuz too many fake accounts especially facebook
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 18 2025, 08:04 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 18 2025, 04:53 AM)
It's good for ekyc all the social media cuz too many fake accounts especially facebook
Honestly I don't think it's really about protecting minors,thatโ€™s just the excuse theyโ€™re using.remember when Edisi Siasat Telegram got shut down a few months back?

It's more about control and surveillance than anything else.

and how is the government even going to enforce this properly when they donโ€™t own any of these foreign platforms?these companies are half hearted at best.Iโ€™ve reported questionable vape juice sellers on FB Marketplace so many times, nothing ever happens.

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 18 2025, 08:07 AM
failed.hashcheck
post Oct 18 2025, 09:49 AM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,090 posts

You will have option to notify your contacts or not.
I just changed number last month.
TSGalaxyV
post Oct 18 2025, 10:50 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(akira87 @ Oct 18 2025, 01:33 AM)
As far as i know, they wont be notified. But once they opened previous chat with u, there is a notice on the screen...
ya, I did see this notice screen on existing chat. Anyway that the existing chat users won't know this (not contacts - as I have removed all contacts)
GamersFamilia
post Oct 18 2025, 02:52 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,726 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 18 2025, 08:04 AM)
Honestly I don't think it's really about protecting minors,thatโ€™s just the excuse theyโ€™re using.remember when Edisi Siasat Telegram got shut down a few months back?

It's more about control and surveillance than anything else.

and how is the government even going to enforce this properly when they donโ€™t own any of these foreign platforms?these companies are half hearted at best.Iโ€™ve reported questionable vape juice sellers on FB Marketplace so many times, nothing ever happens.
Frankly i dont think it will be implement on social media, they only talk but nothing can be done, just come and go stuff

As you mentioned they don't own any ot the platforms, so just wait and see how it goes later ๐Ÿ˜€
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 18 2025, 06:30 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 18 2025, 02:52 PM)
Frankly i dont think it will be implement on social media, they only talk but nothing can be done, just come and go stuff

As you mentioned they don't own any ot the platforms, so just wait and see how it goes later ๐Ÿ˜€
Gotta see how Australia handle it in few months time

Tech giants Google, YouTube and Microsoft have warned the Australian government that proposed legislation to ban under-16s from social media may not work effectively. The companies told a Senate estimates hearing that the ban would be extremely difficult to enforce and would not fulfil its promise of making children safer online. Officials from Meta, Snapchat and TikTok did not appear at the inquiry.

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 18 2025, 06:34 PM
GamersFamilia
post Oct 20 2025, 03:41 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,726 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 18 2025, 06:30 PM)
Gotta see how Australia handle it in few months time

Tech giants Google, YouTube and Microsoft have warned the Australian government that proposed legislation to ban under-16s from social media may not work effectively. The companies told a Senate estimates hearing that the ban would be extremely difficult to enforce and would not fulfil its promise of making children safer online. Officials from Meta, Snapchat and TikTok did not appear at the inquiry.

Parents the one needs to observe their kids, if they know how to teach their kids using social media correctly, shouldn't be a problem, preventing them not the solution
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Oct 20 2025, 07:13 PM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

I thought WhatsApp is tied to fon number. How TS gonna do what he described?
GamersFamilia
post Oct 20 2025, 09:49 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,726 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Oct 20 2025, 07:13 PM)
I thought WhatsApp is tied to fon number. How TS gonna do what he described?
That's what i tought, tied with the particular number, use different number means new account ๐Ÿค”
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Oct 21 2025, 03:16 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 20 2025, 09:49 PM)
That's what i tought, tied with the particular number, use different number means new account ๐Ÿค”
WhatsApp mobile & WhatsApp PC are both tied to fon number. If change number means becoming new account dy. There's no other ways
GamersFamilia
post Oct 21 2025, 04:09 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,726 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Oct 21 2025, 03:16 AM)
WhatsApp mobile & WhatsApp PC are both tied to fon number. If change number means becoming new account dy. There's no other ways
Yes, agreed with you, thats how whatsapp works from the beginning ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Oct 21 2025, 05:13 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 21 2025, 04:09 AM)
Yes, agreed with you, thats how whatsapp works from the beginning ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘
I get confused a bit reading TS questions. It's impossible to do what he requests right?

0.0143sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:15 PM