Barista or Coffee Lovers please come in v2, Coffee Bean Brands & Roasteries

TSRubMyGenie_
post Oct 15 2025, 03:34 PM, updated 2 months ago

20 posts

Since @HumanExtinction’s thread already covers the best milk for coffee with lots of helpful responses, I didn’t want to take that discussion off track.
All About Milk Here

So, I’m starting a separate thread here to talk about coffee bean brands and roasteries instead. There are countless options available, but I’m curious... Which ones do you think stand out as the top 3 in value? And which is top 3 in quality?

I've tried the following:
- 103 Coffee
- Forest Cloud
- Ghostbird
- Bean Brothers
- Toothless

I'm interested in trying:
- SOL Coffee > Very cheap, but I'm not sure of the quality
- Perk Coffee > Seems like its subscription service?
- Mister Coffee
TSRubMyGenie_
post Oct 16 2025, 03:50 PM

20 posts

How about for any single origin coffee beans, anyone have any recommendation on any particular roastery?

Any specific brands for Budget? And any specific brands for Quality?
TSRubMyGenie_
post Oct 17 2025, 06:25 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Oct 17 2025, 07:23 AM)
I use SOL coffee. I always go for single origin. My go to usually Colombia Supremo, Guatemala Single Origin. Sometime I buy Brazil Santos or Ethiopia Single Origin. Yes its very cheap, and the quality not bad too. Cant say much if compared to other coffee brand, but definitely better than those coffee chain coffee. Better than SB, CBTF, Zus, Fam Mart, McD, Kenangan. In fact, I really seldom drink from those coffee chain once I tried SOL.

But the main reason im sticking with SOL is because its cheap, taste not bad, easy to acquire.

But I'm open to try new beans too, as long as I can order it online. Too lazy to go out shopping.
Ya I'm interested to try SOL as well, but I'm not sure of their quality since its so cheap.

Anyone else tried SOL comparing with brands like Pulp or Perk?
TSRubMyGenie_
post Oct 22 2025, 03:20 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Oct 20 2025, 10:15 AM)
is this thread only for espresso beans? if yes, then i share my experience with each accordingly. I do both espresso and filter.

- 103 Coffee: bean quality ok but overpriced
- Forest Cloud: forget which one liao but beans ok
- Ghostbird: Milkway for white
- Bean Brothers: stay away. low quality and overpriced
- SOL: cheap, fuss free, darker roast. personal preference is El-Salvador blend. Used to use this when I was starting coffee and needed practice.
- the hub: good
- pulp/perk: usually avoid all these heavy marketing vendors

i also tried a few overseas roasters like SG, Korea, Taiwan for espresso.

Filter is seasonal so kinda no point to setup a list because we won't be able to get the same once season ends. I usually buy when I travel or buy from SG. Local filters so far haven't found any particular good ones. Maybe can intro if there's any.
Thanks for this, its really helpful. smile.gif

Which brand is your personal favourite?

Alot of you guys have been recommending for SOL, will be ordering some from them tonight thumbsup.gif

Buy from SG? From which site? Any particular roastery you can intro for filter?

0.0121sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:51 PM