need help with skyworth gn630v, unable to connect with xiaomi router

TSaccordvtec
post Sep 12 2025, 04:35 PM, updated 4 months ago

107 posts

Hi all,
all these while im having a reliable LAN but after the unifi change my plan and "upgrade" my router to this skyworth GN630V, everything went haywired.

xiaomi router doesnt have VLAN setting, thus in my previous setup, i use TM router for pppoe then connect LAN2 to WAN of xiaomi and set to obtain internet via DHCP IP. it has been working well but not with this skyworth box.

i connect the skyworth's LAN1/WAN to WAN of xiaomi but it just wont get any IP from the skyworth. i tried connecting LAN1/WAN to laptop and it can get DHCP IP.
i also tried connecting LAN2/3/4 to WAN of xiaomi but none work.

Any idea what went wrong? hopefully any sifu can give me some guidance.
QuantumEdge
post Sep 12 2025, 08:28 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(accordvtec @ Sep 12 2025, 04:35 PM)
Hi all,
all these while im having a reliable LAN but after the unifi change my plan and "upgrade" my router to this skyworth GN630V, everything went haywired.

xiaomi router doesnt have VLAN setting, thus in my previous setup, i use TM router for pppoe then connect LAN2 to WAN of xiaomi and set to obtain internet via DHCP IP. it has been working well but not with this skyworth box.

i connect the skyworth's LAN1/WAN to WAN of xiaomi but it just wont get any IP from the skyworth. i tried connecting LAN1/WAN to laptop and it can get DHCP IP.
i also tried connecting LAN2/3/4 to WAN of xiaomi but none work.

Any idea what went wrong? hopefully any sifu can give me some guidance.
Give this a try, then do the PPPOE dialup in the Xiaomi router because Skyworth supports VLAN tagging under bridge mode
Make sure you are plugged into LAN1 of the Skyworth
You can turn off the wifi of the combo box after setting it as bridge
*Remember to backup the config of your Skywoth box before applying the settings

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Sep 12 2025, 08:30 PM
TSaccordvtec
post Sep 13 2025, 12:03 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Sep 12 2025, 08:28 PM)
Give this a try, then do the PPPOE dialup in the Xiaomi router because Skyworth supports VLAN tagging under bridge mode
thank you sir. will try to next week when back into office
TSaccordvtec
post Sep 19 2025, 01:12 PM

107 posts

hi, just for update, yes i manage to setup using this setting. actually the problem lies on the xiaomi router because after i reset then can already
JJzaii96
post Oct 11 2025, 09:39 PM

Hi, I planned to get a new router as Im currently also using the combobox GN630V. Is it I just need to switch the mode from router to bridge in the setting and then connect my new router to LAN1, and setup PPPOE on my new router? Is there any extra configuration needed? Thank you

This post has been edited by JJzaii96: Oct 11 2025, 09:41 PM
QuantumEdge
post Oct 11 2025, 09:43 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(JJzaii96 @ Oct 11 2025, 09:39 PM)
Hi, I planned to get a new router as Im currently also using the combobox GN630V. Is it I just need to switch the mode from router to bridge in the setting and then connect my new router to LAN1, and setup PPPOE on my new router? Is there any extra configuration needed? Thank you
Remember to turn off CN630V's wifi, that is the extra step
JJzaii96
post Oct 11 2025, 09:50 PM

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Oct 11 2025, 09:43 PM)
Remember to turn off CN630V's wifi, that is the extra step
Thanks for the info. Actually I did reach out to TM via live chat -> technical assistance. But they replied that they do not provide any assistance on the configuration/settings. Btw, is it I just leave the Bridge setting (7th) as PPPoE_Bridged or it will automatically changed to PPPoE_Bridged once I changed the mode to Bridge
QuantumEdge
post Oct 11 2025, 09:59 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(JJzaii96 @ Oct 11 2025, 09:50 PM)
Thanks for the info. Actually I did reach out to TM via live chat -> technical assistance. But they replied that they do not provide any assistance on the configuration/settings. Btw, is it I just leave the Bridge setting (7th) as PPPoE_Bridged or it will automatically changed to PPPoE_Bridged once I changed the mode to Bridge
Not sure, been a while since I touch that router
But should be automatic
JJzaii96
post Oct 15 2025, 08:29 PM

I have the issue where the Internet light is not lighted up after I changed to bridge mode and restart the router
JJzaii96
post Oct 15 2025, 08:37 PM

OK, no need to switch the mode, click on quick setup on top left corner, then choose bridge mode will do

0.0168sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:57 AM