Used car owner eager to sell car. Scam?

mini orchard
post Sep 3 2025, 10:21 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Sep 3 2025, 10:19 AM)
So there is one car I like, direct owner but I doubt it

I ask for his ownership details pay him deposit, after few days I travel outstation to test drive the car. He declined.

After knowing I will pay cash instead of loan, he agreed to lower price,

At this stage I was worry of scam, because he's no providing much information to prove he is the owner, I also kiamsiap to buy scrut report

So I worry later I kena scam by him, transfer money to him,  because he will hire JPJ runner for ownership transfer.
But ownership transfer won't happen. How?

Anyone can help me check owner details based on plate number? I give small token like 5 ringgit.
MyJPJ seller app

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 5 2025, 06:43 PM
mini orchard
post Sep 3 2025, 12:26 PM

14,511 posts

When buying subsale, whether is property or motor vehicles, is onus on the seller to prove ownership.

Doing title search with Pejabat Tanah or JPJ is buyer's peace of mind to confirm the ownership.

If buyer is desperate, then he do the search without the owner providing the details.
mini orchard
post Sep 5 2025, 06:41 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Sep 5 2025, 02:31 PM)
First thing you should ask is to see the geran of the car. And if the seller is the real owner then cross check the name on the car geran and name on ic.  No geran just walk away, no need further talk
After that , go jpj with the number plate and find out e-batal done or not, it means bank already release the asset to the owner after finish loan payment.
QUOTE(Virlution @ Sep 5 2025, 03:35 PM)
thumbup.gif

this one
MyJPJ App from seller easier kan.

0.0138sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:11 PM