Portable aircond or fixed for cabin?

SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 1 2025, 05:10 PM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

Portable air conditioner is a scam. It only can blow cool air at you if you sit directly in front of it. It won't cool down the entire room like a normal air conditioner can no matter how many hours you turn it on. I have a portable Sharp air conditioner that is sitting inside my store room after using for few months only.
TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 05:29 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 1 2025, 05:10 PM)
Portable air conditioner is a scam. It only can blow cool air at you if you sit directly in front of it. It won't cool down the entire room like a normal air conditioner can no matter how many hours you turn it on. I have a portable Sharp air conditioner that is sitting inside my store room after using for few months only.
thanks for your sharing.

Luckily I did ask first.
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 1 2025, 05:36 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Sep 1 2025, 05:29 PM)
thanks for your sharing.

Luckily I did ask first.
For your cabin, just install a normal air conditioner & put a standing fan nearby you to extra cool you down during noon temperature heat will do. Last time my work place is also steel cabin. Standing fan + air conditioner combo good enough.
TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 05:37 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 1 2025, 05:36 PM)
For your cabin, just install a normal air conditioner & put a standing fan nearby you to extra cool you down during noon temperature heat will do. Last time my work place is also steel cabin. Standing fan + air conditioner combo good enough.
how large is your cabin and the HP the air cond is?
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 1 2025, 05:39 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Sep 1 2025, 05:37 PM)
how large is your cabin and the HP the air cond is?
About 20 feet long 8 feet wide, 1.5hp + standing fan is a must during noon temperature heat
TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 05:47 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 1 2025, 05:39 PM)
About 20 feet long 8 feet wide, 1.5hp + standing fan is a must during noon temperature heat
Mine is half of your long. Then 1HP would be enough
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 1 2025, 05:49 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Sep 1 2025, 05:47 PM)
Mine is half of your long. Then 1HP would be enough
If you set the air conditioner to 16°C all the time with a standing fan by your side should be enough for you
TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 05:49 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 1 2025, 05:49 PM)
If you set the air conditioner to 16°C all the time with a standing fan by your side should be enough for you
yes, there is one standing fan liao and also Midea brand whistling.gif
AbbyCom
post Sep 1 2025, 05:52 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Sep 1 2025, 02:50 PM)
This. Lol. Why would anyone consider portable aircon is beyond me.

I go insane if sleep beside the humming noise for long hours.
Because it's portable?

I am considering one for a poor man's camper van + pair it with those Ecoflow Delta powerstation
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 1 2025, 05:53 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Sep 1 2025, 05:49 PM)
yes, there is one standing fan liao and also Midea brand  whistling.gif
Steel cabin get seriously hot during noon so air conditioner & standing fan is a must have.
andyng38
post Sep 1 2025, 06:22 PM

2,398 posts

Just a thought...

Dunno if this is a good idea or not...since this is a temporary setup, consider stacking palm fronds on the roof/outer walls of the cabin to cut down on direct sun hitting it. Maybe it can make your aircon work more effectively?

0.0181sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:59 PM