Portable aircond or fixed for cabin?

TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 01:22 PM, updated 3 months ago

773 posts

Anyone uses portable aircond? how the compressor and unwanted air are suck out from the room?

Should I install portable aircond or fixed one is a cabin which is for temporary?

1HP will be more than enough.
g5sim
post Sep 1 2025, 01:38 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Sep 1 2025, 01:22 PM)
Anyone uses portable aircond? how the compressor and unwanted air are suck out from the room?

Should I install portable aircond or fixed one is a cabin which is for temporary?

Your cabin dalam hutan ah?, if not install normal AC only.

The mobile ac got one huge ass a air vent that you need to direct hot air out of the room. The normally come with door or windows bracket for this purpose
lj0000
post Sep 1 2025, 01:39 PM

2,197 posts

How big is your cabin?
Any window? Any roof?
Side any trees?

If shipping container 40" in the open field under sun you will need 2hp x2 at least

Evaluate passive cooling first like putting roof with air space, plant trees, aluclad the sides with air gap
Even consider reorient the cabin short side east west

This post has been edited by lj0000: Sep 1 2025, 01:41 PM
mini orchard
post Sep 1 2025, 01:52 PM

14,511 posts

Both also need to make a hole on the wall. Just a matter of size nia 😅
TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 01:55 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 1 2025, 01:38 PM)
Your cabin dalam hutan ah?, if not install normal AC only.

The mobile ac got one huge ass a air vent that you need to direct hot air out of the room. The normally come with door or windows bracket for this purpose
Inside my oil palm estate.

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 1 2025, 01:39 PM)
How big is your cabin?
Any window? Any roof?
Side any trees?

If shipping container 40" in the open field under sun you will need 2hp x2 at least

Evaluate passive cooling first like putting roof with air space, plant trees, aluclad the sides with air gap
Even consider reorient the cabin short side east west
just 10ft x 8ft only. Yes, with windows but roof is the cabin itself, no extra roof. Side no tree. Open. Only 3pm onwards no more sunlight because other trees sudah x nampak sun
aziratul
post Sep 1 2025, 02:04 PM

136 posts

Portable aircond is so noisy.. if u can bear the machine sound, then its ok..

And if u just use it for a while like 4-6 hour i think it is ok

If more than that, its not good because the hot air produce by the device itself even though u got airvent cant cover much the hot air produce..

I got one of these device

And u need to have long tube to get the water that flow out from the portable aircond somewhere..

Hole or something..

Waste my money only buy this thing.. hehe

KenM
post Sep 1 2025, 02:07 PM

185 posts

1hp good enough for 10x8...but door constantly open/close...protect the outdoor unit from the sun n rain... split unit will be ideal and keep the outdoor unit away from the walk ( minimise vibrations)..
g5sim
post Sep 1 2025, 02:08 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Sep 1 2025, 01:55 PM)
just 10ft x 8ft only. Yes, with windows but roof is the cabin itself, no extra roof. Side no tree. Open. Only 3pm onwards no more sunlight because other trees sudah x nampak sun
Oil palm estate. Generator power of cable electricity? Changes of it getting stolen high or not? If high, u only have the be option. Porta one. You keluar estate, a C comes with you 😅😂
TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 02:09 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(aziratul @ Sep 1 2025, 02:04 PM)

If more than that, its not good because the hot air produce by the device itself even though u got airvent cant cover much the hot air produce..

And u need to have long tube to get the water that flow out from the portable aircond somewhere..

Hole or something..

hmmm. you got it and I did consider this. It seems fixed one will be my option. Now to think which brand to buy rclxub.gif

QUOTE(KenM @ Sep 1 2025, 02:07 PM)
1hp good enough for 10x8...but door constantly open/close...protect the outdoor unit from the sun n rain... split unit will be ideal and keep the outdoor unit away from the walk ( minimise vibrations)..
I think fixed one is a better choice

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 1 2025, 02:08 PM)
Oil palm estate. Generator power of cable electricity? Changes of it getting stolen high or not? If high, u only have the be option. Porta one. You keluar estate, a C comes with you 😅😂
Got electricity tarik from outside de.

Wont be stolen since it is fenced
g5sim
post Sep 1 2025, 02:11 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Sep 1 2025, 02:09 PM)
hmmm. you got it and I did consider this. It seems fixed one will be my option. Now to think which brand to buy  rclxub.gif
I think fixed one is a better choice
Got electricity tarik from outside de.

Wont be stolen since it is fenced
Selamat bershopping got another thread AC Panasonic or midea. Inside is midea lol😂😂
Stirmling
post Sep 1 2025, 02:12 PM

291 posts

Just install fixed one better. More efficient. Cabin offices will be hot you will want to get fixed AC as opposed to portable AC that's probably not going to cool you enough. Still need to run hose to exhaust the hot air outside anyway. Later when no longer using the cabin can take off the AC.
TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 02:25 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 1 2025, 02:11 PM)
Selamat bershopping got another thread AC Panasonic or midea. Inside is midea lol😂😂
ya, many claimed Midea is good. Will shopping shopping n see see first.

QUOTE(Stirmling @ Sep 1 2025, 02:12 PM)
Just install fixed one better. More efficient. Cabin offices will be hot you will want to get fixed AC as opposed to portable AC that's probably not going to cool you enough. Still need to run hose to exhaust the hot air outside anyway. Later when no longer using the cabin can take off the AC.
yaya... fixed one is the choice now
netflix2019
post Sep 1 2025, 02:50 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(aziratul @ Sep 1 2025, 02:04 PM)

Hole or something..

This. Lol. Why would anyone consider portable aircon is beyond me.

I go insane if sleep beside the humming noise for long hours.

g5sim
post Sep 1 2025, 02:50 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Sep 1 2025, 02:25 PM)
ya, many claimed Midea is good. Will shopping shopping n see see first.
yaya... fixed one is the choice now
My kpg house ones are MidEa. Okay only. Much more cheaper than other brands. Got people use Daikin also.

my KL one samsung 15y no service, no refill still cold. I used once or twice a year only.
enduser
post Sep 1 2025, 02:58 PM

1,280 posts

Put another layer of awning, make ur cabin more cooler
TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 03:00 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Sep 1 2025, 02:58 PM)
Put another layer of awning, make ur cabin more cooler
it won't help much. Even now is not hot but need aircond so can sleep better in the noon
lj0000
post Sep 1 2025, 03:38 PM

2,197 posts

1hp will do.
Just get the cheapest unit. Learn diy installation while you at this. Remember put the outdoor unit at north or south.

Consider add a roof. Better just add solar panel on it
Plant some trees on the west side

This post has been edited by lj0000: Sep 1 2025, 03:42 PM
empire
post Sep 1 2025, 03:45 PM

2,549 posts

Portable Air Con makan electric like hell! This is something most people do not realise. You buy 1hp air con but you will pay for 2 hp air con electric bill! Thats how power hungry a Portable air con is.

Also the hot air TUBE gets damn hot....and the heat from this TUBE will expel heat inside the cabin making it hard for the air con to cool the place down. Dont waste your money on this. Install a permanent air con is the smart choice.
BOTAK_WAI
post Sep 1 2025, 04:45 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,129 posts

how about midea window aircond?
TSGalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 04:54 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 1 2025, 04:45 PM)
how about midea window aircond?
ya, midea is in my list.