7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

How to earn more & invest the very lil money u had, at least can become M40 lar

TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 09:03 AM, updated 4 months ago

1,788 posts

Unker wants to change my current situation so now unker ady quit wasting time watching drama, instead using the time to learn figma thanks to kidmad and masboleh's suggestion. Unker want to ask ktards sekalian how do you earn more or invest when you were still B40? I believe nobody starts at T20 unless you born in rich family.

So far unker only put money in TNG for daily interest only, unker dunno how to grow more money so hope ktard sifus can advise how to manage own financial. I believe this can help other B40 ktards too. Sila advise and bincangkan, tenkiu

Strictly no gambling advice (previously 90% gambling troll in /k so close and open it in serious /k)

This post has been edited by heinlein: Aug 21 2025, 09:07 AM
MegaCanonF
post Aug 21 2025, 09:20 AM

861 posts

I know this is easier said than done, but .

to earn more - upgrade your skillset, certs, 2nd jobs, etc . tiktok/ editing video skills is good too .

be frugal and cut spending

avoid MLM/ get rich quick scheme . invest in relatively safe n low risk if you are still learning . anything promise >11-15% annual return yearly is a scam .

Gold- publicgold / kwsp /EPF / asb / TH

skip those high risk /medium risk first if you don't know what you are doing like stock market /etc . those can be learned with time. Even stuff like public mutual, avoid it since the agent commision fee is too high . learn to trade yourself .

avoid property investment like a plague. very hard to get it right .

Hope the best for you .

This post has been edited by MegaCanonF: Aug 21 2025, 09:23 AM
WongTheThief
post Aug 21 2025, 09:22 AM

215 posts

I don't know much about figma and web design with how much time you will be spending per day -

if you are willing to go for side hustles with extra time you have
Capt. Marble
post Aug 21 2025, 09:23 AM

220 posts

If you are around 20-30+, you can actually start putting self contribution into EPF to locked the money away. Sometimes it helps to discipline yourself on money management when you force the money to be locked away. Even as little as it is, you can still see it grow. Once you get the habit of doing it, it's always a win for you.
ListenToTheWind
post Aug 21 2025, 09:27 AM

453 posts

1. Spend lesser than income

2. Invest the excess cash

3. Don't touch the money investment no matter what

Rinse and repeat
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 09:34 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 21 2025, 09:20 AM)
I know this is easier said than done, but .

to earn more - upgrade your skillset, certs, 2nd jobs, etc . tiktok/ editing video skills is good too .

be frugal and cut spending

avoid MLM/ get rich quick scheme  . invest in relatively safe n low risk if you are still learning  . anything promise >11-15% annual return yearly is a scam . 

Gold- publicgold / kwsp /EPF / asb / TH

skip those high risk /medium risk first if you don't know what you are doing like stock market /etc . those can be learned with time. Even stuff like public mutual, avoid it since the agent commision fee is too high . learn to trade yourself .

avoid property investment like a plague. very hard to get it right .

Hope the best for you .
Currently is doing the figma learning after work, have to rewatch it cuz first time I follow it blindly, rewatch to understand the logic behind it. Video editing is super stagnant like graphic design, too many designers too little demand.

I dun even know how to invest in low risk investment in tng. Btw, what is publicgold and TH? My cousin last time do public mutual and my mum super supportive promote non stop til all the siblings bought it. Few years later, i tok about it to my lil sister, she sigh and say dun talk about it liao in disappointment. Didnt want to tell me but the reaction, I stay away from it.

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Aug 21 2025, 09:22 AM)
I don't know much about figma and web design with how much time you will be spending per day -

if you are willing to go for side hustles with extra time you have
I only can learn after work until I totally exhaust, I cant say Im learning fast and need to rewatch it a few times and making notes.

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Aug 21 2025, 09:23 AM)
If you are around 20-30+, you can actually start putting self contribution into EPF to locked the money away. Sometimes it helps to discipline yourself on money management when you force the money to be locked away. Even as little as it is, you can still see it grow. Once you get the habit of doing it, it's always a win for you.
Now already 40s+, I'm consider to self contribute epf although it kind of late now, I was thinking to put RM100 every month apart from those contributed by work salary
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 09:35 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Aug 21 2025, 09:27 AM)
1. Spend lesser than income

2. Invest the excess cash

3. Don't touch the money investment no matter what

Rinse and repeat
The invest part is the knowledge I lack of, only know tng Go+, FD and EPF
mariberbaikbaik P
post Aug 21 2025, 09:39 AM

Probation

Step by step

1. Start with RM1000 saving (in bank enough)
2. Then go with 6month net salary saving (save somewhere like asb, fd, tabung haji, make sure you can still make withdrawal)

If you manage pass step 2, most probably you already in m40 class.

3. Start saving in somewhere when can get tax refund (SSPN, PRS)
4. Then start learning medium risk investment. Personally recommend Public gold.

Further than that, no advise as i not yet pass the step 4.

ListenToTheWind
post Aug 21 2025, 09:39 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:35 AM)
The invest part is the knowledge I lack of, only know tng Go+, FD and EPF
Currently I just put some $ in EPF & S&P500 (You can learn all about throwing money into S&P500 here)
galkelly
post Aug 21 2025, 09:43 AM

751 posts

My retired uncle told me why he gamble ..
He say after deduct everything he left about 500-700.
500-600 can do what ?! Lama lama jadi bukit ah ??
So he take it to gamble in Genting..
Sometime lucky win few k...if not lose all 500...

Capt. Marble
post Aug 21 2025, 09:43 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:34 AM)
Now already 40s+, I'm consider to self contribute epf although it kind of late now, I was thinking to put RM100 every month apart from those contributed by work salary
Still not too late actually. Remember every RM 100 you put in your can actually take out RM 10 as it goes to flexible account, so it's not 100% locked. But the good thing is you currently still get the same dividend rate as the other accounts. At 40++, you just need to treat it as a long FD as the funds will be assessible when you reach retirement.
Remember you can offset your income tax with these.

This post has been edited by Capt. Marble: Aug 21 2025, 09:45 AM
MegaCanonF
post Aug 21 2025, 09:54 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:34 AM)
Currently is doing the figma learning after work, have to rewatch it cuz first time I follow it blindly, rewatch to understand the logic behind it. Video editing is super stagnant like graphic design, too many designers too little demand.

I dun even know how to invest in low risk investment in tng. Btw, what is publicgold and TH? My cousin last time do public mutual and my mum super supportive promote non stop til all the siblings bought it. Few years later, i tok about it to my lil sister, she sigh and say dun talk about it liao in disappointment. Didnt want to tell me but the reaction, I stay away from it.
I only can learn after work until I totally exhaust, I cant say Im learning fast and need to rewatch it a few times and making notes.
publicgold - gold saving n buying account . had it since 2015, just park money there, they have GAP (gold accumulation program), can buy slowly the gold.

just consistent every month and let the money be there .

TH is tabung haji

TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 10:14 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(mariberbaikbaik @ Aug 21 2025, 09:39 AM)
Step by step

1. Start with RM1000 saving (in bank enough)
2. Then go with 6month net salary saving (save somewhere like asb, fd, tabung haji, make sure you can still make withdrawal)

If you manage pass step 2, most probably you already in m40 class.

3. Start saving in somewhere when can get tax refund (SSPN, PRS)
4. Then start learning medium risk investment. Personally recommend Public gold.

Further than that, no advise as i not yet pass the step 4.
The only safest I can redraw prolly is FD, I keep my expenses minimum and save as much as I can to meet the target, and also self contribute extra for my epf too. Never know what gonna happen when Im getting old

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Aug 21 2025, 09:39 AM)
Currently I just put some $ in EPF & S&P500 (You can learn all about throwing money into S&P500 here)
I give a good read at S&P500, really appreciate your advice

QUOTE(galkelly @ Aug 21 2025, 09:43 AM)
My retired uncle told me why he gamble ..
He say after deduct everything he left about 500-700.
500-600 can do what ?! Lama lama jadi bukit ah ??
So he take it to gamble in Genting..
Sometime lucky win few k...if not lose all 500...
To me gamble is 95% lose so I not touching that. Too dangerous and risky

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Aug 21 2025, 09:43 AM)
Still not too late actually. Remember every RM 100 you put in your can actually take out RM 10 as it goes to flexible account, so it's not 100% locked. But the good thing is you currently still get the same dividend rate as the other accounts.  At 40++, you just need to treat it as a long FD as the funds will be assessible when you reach retirement.
Remember you can offset your income tax with these.
I wonder how to retrieve the money when Im retired, do you have any idea? I think my dad go to counter to retrieve it?

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 21 2025, 09:54 AM)
publicgold - gold saving n buying account . had it since 2015, just park money there, they have GAP (gold accumulation program), can buy slowly the gold.

just consistent every month and let the money be there .

TH is tabung haji
Tabung Haji is for type M only right? If so, this option is not valid for me sad.gif I need to look into public gold, unker really live under the rock for too long
Le Don
post Aug 21 2025, 10:18 AM

354 posts

Open fundsupermart account, invest in S&P 500 ETF through RSP (minimum rm100 per month)
mini orchard
post Aug 21 2025, 10:48 AM

14,511 posts

Don't leave large amount of money in savings account. It generate no or little interest.

For a start, transfer to fd. It gives something better than savings. Just leave some for emergency.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 21 2025, 10:49 AM
galkelly
post Aug 21 2025, 10:49 AM

751 posts

Worst part getting old is not having a roof over your head and getting squeeze by landlord. Money little nvm, as long body healthy, eat less quality still can survive.
T.Alvin
post Aug 21 2025, 10:56 AM

125 posts

Invest in stock market,
S&P500 for growth,
Maybank or other banking stock for dividend
Medium risk, Tech stock , Nvidia, Apple etc
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 11:10 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Le Don @ Aug 21 2025, 10:18 AM)
Open fundsupermart account, invest in S&P 500 ETF through RSP (minimum rm100 per month)
Any video to learn the basic, unker really dunno anything about this

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Aug 21 2025, 10:48 AM)
Don't leave large amount of money in savings account. It generate no or little interest.

For a start, transfer to fd. It gives something better than savings. Just leave some for emergency.
Unker also thinking of FD after TNG and EPF

QUOTE(galkelly @ Aug 21 2025, 10:49 AM)
Worst part getting old is not having a roof over your head and getting squeeze by landlord. Money little nvm, as long body healthy, eat less quality still can survive.
Maybe ktards foreveralone can rent and live together to support one another

QUOTE(T.Alvin @ Aug 21 2025, 10:56 AM)
Invest in stock market,
S&P500 for growth,
Maybank or other banking stock for dividend
Medium risk, Tech stock , Nvidia, Apple etc
Any video to learn the basic, unker really dunno anything about this. what medium risk actually means? money invest lost?

This post has been edited by heinlein: Aug 21 2025, 11:17 AM
OrganicRepublic
post Aug 21 2025, 11:45 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:03 AM)
Unker wants to change my current situation so now unker ady quit wasting time watching drama, instead using the time to learn figma thanks to kidmad and masboleh's suggestion. Unker want to ask ktards sekalian how do you earn more or invest when you were still B40? I believe nobody starts at T20 unless you born in rich family.

So far unker only put money in TNG for daily interest only, unker dunno how to grow more money so hope ktard sifus can advise how to manage own financial. I believe this can help other B40 ktards too. Sila advise and bincangkan, tenkiu

Strictly no gambling advice (previously 90% gambling troll in /k so close and open it in serious /k)
What skills do you have? TnG daily interest is not meaningful just skip it.

This post has been edited by OrganicRepublic: Aug 21 2025, 11:46 AM
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 11:52 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(OrganicRepublic @ Aug 21 2025, 11:45 AM)
What skills do you have? TnG daily interest is not meaningful just skip it.
All design related skill as graphic designer, illustrator, photoshop and indesign, currently learning figma, also know some artificial intelligence but very limited to hardware (AMD GPU)

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:49 AM