Where to buy a belt that will last

TScontestchris
post Aug 20 2025, 08:28 AM, updated 4 months ago

5,519 posts

My belts tend to start peeling rather fast. I even bought a Polo belt from Parkson, cost nearly rm200, and that shit started peeling after a week.

Please help. I just want something that can last years.

Mainly for office wear
miromiro
post Aug 20 2025, 08:30 AM

560 posts

Buy real leather Levi's takde?
kausar
post Aug 20 2025, 08:30 AM

608 posts

u should use leather conditioner to maintain
soul_star
post Aug 20 2025, 08:34 AM

541 posts

Uniqlo belt. Some leather reviewer on TikTok said they are good leather and cheap for the quality
dwks
post Aug 20 2025, 08:34 AM

414 posts

Can try find leather maker from nearby shop or marketplace , inspect the leather hide before proceed and after belt done, satisfy baru pay.
em_on
post Aug 20 2025, 08:37 AM

On My Way
612 posts

what's your budget??
braun buffel is good
TScontestchris
post Aug 20 2025, 08:39 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ Aug 20 2025, 08:37 AM)
what's your budget??
braun buffel is good
RM200, or need to go higher?
WongTheThief
post Aug 20 2025, 08:52 AM

215 posts

I don't know what material was made for belts that are used for PLKN (definitely not leather), but I have been using it for the past 10 years (and still using it now) and didn't bother buying any other belts
andyng38
post Aug 20 2025, 08:53 AM

2,398 posts

Your belts that peeled are probably veneer leather/bonded leather. Some such belts may even just consist of a cardboard core with thin leather bonded to it.

Belts that last are made of FULL GRAIN leather. I have such a belt from Kickers bought in 2009, and it's still good. Unfortunately I believe it's not suitable for dress pants, which require a thinner more genteel style.
johnnycp
post Aug 20 2025, 08:56 AM

599 posts

Nylon belt cheapest and bestest, never look back to leather belt anymore.
whtrader
post Aug 20 2025, 08:57 AM

297 posts

Shoppe u won't believe the price and quality
KenM
post Aug 20 2025, 09:00 AM

185 posts

go to Aeon and get camel belts.. good and reasonable prices..
jojolicia
post Aug 20 2025, 09:04 AM

1,908 posts

Peeling? Buy genuine full leather you won’t have this problem

Those black smooth shinny belt is not.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 20 2025, 09:05 AM
TScontestchris
post Aug 20 2025, 09:05 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Aug 20 2025, 09:04 AM)
Peeling? Buy genuine leather you won’t have this problem

Those black smooth shinny belt is not.
Yes what is genuine leather? Polo, Crocodile being sold at Parkson, Aeon etc is not genuine leather?
jojolicia
post Aug 20 2025, 09:16 AM

1,908 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 20 2025, 09:05 AM)
Yes what is genuine leather? Polo, Crocodile being sold at Parkson, Aeon etc is not genuine leather?
Genuine as in the whole belt is made of full leather, not composite synthetic not veneered over or ‘balut outer’ type.

I have 2 anvil hide leather belts, way over 15-20 years still in good condition.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 20 2025, 09:32 AM
Prometric
post Aug 20 2025, 09:20 AM

434 posts

I bought a LV belt, wear everyday to work for close to 15 years still in good condition
dudester
post Aug 20 2025, 09:28 AM

1,222 posts

uniqlo.. you have to choose the leather type with most basic design
skloda
post Aug 20 2025, 09:35 AM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

Ferragamo / LV
hunt2sp
post Aug 20 2025, 09:39 AM

Always Somewhere
772 posts

Kickers is da best....i got 2 of them

1 since 2011 & still a daily beater, looks seasoned but no problem
another 1 is a gift since 2015, keep for travel or special occasions
em_on
post Aug 20 2025, 09:44 AM

On My Way
612 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 20 2025, 08:39 AM)
RM200, or need to go higher?
BB min is 600 iinm, you may be able to get cheaper if they are on sales though
Joe1997
post Aug 20 2025, 09:45 AM

158 posts

uniqlo belt is the way to go. made from italian leather. some guy did the full review of it on tiktok : https://www.tiktok.com/@tanner.leatherstein...5764142?lang=en
failed.hashcheck
post Aug 20 2025, 09:48 AM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,090 posts

Whats wrong with rm2 belt that last years and can be replaced without much drama?
Autocountstick
post Aug 20 2025, 09:53 AM

654 posts

shopee look for some cow below 100
heinlein
post Aug 20 2025, 10:17 AM

1,788 posts

Unker use canva mr diy belt and last me 15 years and still using
BL98
post Aug 20 2025, 10:22 AM

741 posts

RM200 belt and start to peel only after 1 week?

either tyre quality got problem or user problem
SUSXploit Machine
post Aug 20 2025, 10:30 AM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,247 posts

RM200 for a week? .. my pasar malam edition still goes strong after 5 years ..
TScontestchris
post Aug 20 2025, 10:35 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Aug 20 2025, 10:22 AM)
RM200 belt and start to peel only after 1 week?

either tyre quality got problem or user problem
Yes mine is a Polo slide belt, bought from Parkson. The edges flake off after a week, gettijg worse over time. Can't use it when need to tuck in anymore
poweredbydiscuz
post Aug 20 2025, 10:39 AM

3,832 posts

Personally I won't buy any leather goods from Parkson Metrojaya etc. They don't take care of it and most of them are old stocks.
heinlein
post Aug 20 2025, 10:47 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 20 2025, 10:35 AM)
Yes mine is a Polo slide belt, bought from Parkson. The edges flake off after a week, gettijg worse over time. Can't use it when need to tuck in anymore
prolly super old stock and synthetic leather
Baconateer
post Aug 20 2025, 10:51 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

i stop buying leather belt

i just use belt like this

nylon fabric
jerm57
post Aug 20 2025, 10:53 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Aug 20 2025, 08:56 AM)
Nylon belt cheapest and bestest,  never look back to leather belt anymore.
This. I bought one like 5 years ago and I wear it everyday. All the previous belts I used always tend to fall apart because of sweat. The leather is fine, but the stitchings gone case.
poweredbydiscuz
post Aug 20 2025, 10:56 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Aug 20 2025, 10:51 AM)

nylon fabric
Even with formal attire?
Baconateer
post Aug 20 2025, 11:02 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Aug 20 2025, 10:56 AM)
Even with formal attire?
my office wear is more like semi casual

just get a black one to blend in with the outfit
heinlein
post Aug 20 2025, 11:03 AM

1,788 posts

nylon fabric
Unker also use this, just the buckle still use the traditional hole and pin to secure, that buckle unker dun like, always loose and need adjust back
Baconateer
post Aug 20 2025, 11:06 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 20 2025, 11:03 AM)
Unker also use this, just the buckle still use the traditional hole and pin to secure, that buckle unker dun like, always loose and need adjust back
mine is okay

maybe cuz is still relatively new
megadisc
post Aug 20 2025, 11:08 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 20 2025, 08:28 AM)
My belts tend to start peeling rather fast. I even bought a Polo belt from Parkson, cost nearly rm200, and that shit started peeling after a week.

Mainly for office wear
i just go mr diy get those fake belts for rm20 and chase every year .

lol cool2.gif
Zot
post Aug 20 2025, 11:12 AM

7,934 posts

Mainly for office wear
Huh shocking.gif

I bought from Shopee probably around RM16 and until now no peeling. It is genuine leather China made. It has been a year or more perhaps laugh.gif
heinlein
post Aug 20 2025, 11:12 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Aug 20 2025, 11:06 AM)
mine is okay

maybe cuz is still relatively new
Pin and hole can last super damn long, unker like loose pant, if loose pant gonna fall
Baconateer
post Aug 20 2025, 11:18 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 20 2025, 11:12 AM)
Pin and hole can last super damn long, unker like loose pant, if loose pant gonna fall
pin and hole doesnt allow granular adjustment tho
heinlein
post Aug 20 2025, 11:20 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Aug 20 2025, 11:18 AM)
pin and hole doesnt allow granular adjustment tho
either too tight or slight loose abit, unker loose abit when sit down do work, go out will tighten 1 hole
akidos
post Aug 20 2025, 11:22 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 20 2025, 09:28 AM)

Mainly for office wear
braun buffel . but make sure tak kena air
Baconateer
post Aug 20 2025, 11:23 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 20 2025, 11:20 AM)
either too tight or slight loose abit, unker loose abit when sit down do work, go out will tighten 1 hole
maybe i will get a pin and hole belt once mine is no longer usable
panda-man
post Aug 20 2025, 11:23 AM

2,691 posts

dont need to care about the brand or think high price is good. Just go get a genuine leather belt. normally those shiny/glossy looking belts will all peel

This post has been edited by panda-man: Aug 20 2025, 11:23 AM
heinlein
post Aug 20 2025, 11:24 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Aug 20 2025, 11:23 AM)
maybe i will get a pin and hole belt once mine is no longer usable
You wont regret, can tahan super long even cheap stuff
WongTheThief
post Aug 20 2025, 11:25 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Aug 20 2025, 11:51 AM)

nylon fabric
ahhhhh yes this one, my PLKN belt also the same looking like this except the color is all black, the middle one is metal
Baconateer
post Aug 20 2025, 11:28 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Aug 20 2025, 11:25 AM)
ahhhhh yes this one, my PLKN belt also the same looking like this except the color is all black, the middle one is metal
i dont rmbr how mine looks like

PLKN was such a long time ago
jerm57
post Aug 20 2025, 11:46 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 20 2025, 11:03 AM)
Many nowadays got sliding ratchet design. Just tighten to your desired length and it stays there whole day. Just flip a switch to release.
aLittleMisfit
post Aug 20 2025, 11:54 AM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

https://shopee.com.my/Tali-Pinggang-Lelaki-...092.17265185707

after changing few leather belts. i settled on this. tak payah pening pening
quebix
post Aug 20 2025, 11:57 AM

Gelato Director
1,237 posts

Mainly for office wear
i used real leather Braun Buffel cost me around rm700.
doesnt last as well.

the ones i still use and have? quiksilver fabric type belt.
but not for formal use la.

fullmetalneko
post Aug 20 2025, 12:08 PM

90 posts

Was at MST Golf outlet getting some pants the other day and came across these Under Armor webbing type belt. Nice material and buckle locks pretty easy too. May not be the best for dress pants but I still use them anyways. Only costs RM 99.
ShadowR1
post Aug 20 2025, 01:52 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

nylon fabric
Yes, me too.

Pass security like a boss, just jalan je. If asked, its all plastic.
Everytime pass secu have to take this off, take that off, mahkawlanfan.
Baconateer
post Aug 20 2025, 01:55 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Aug 20 2025, 01:52 PM)
Yes, me too.

Pass security like a boss, just jalan je. If asked, its all plastic.
Everytime pass secu have to take this off, take that off, mahkawlanfan.
tht depends on which one u buy

mine..the buckle is still metal..
ShadowR1
post Aug 20 2025, 02:00 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Aug 20 2025, 01:55 PM)
tht depends on which one u buy

mine..the buckle is still metal..
Jukmo, all plastic ... been using it for the pass 7-8 year.
corad
post Aug 20 2025, 02:07 PM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,401 posts

since you mentioned RM200, this should be within your budget ... been using nearly daily for 3 years no issue, no maintaince / special care. Still look normal.

Harmattan

heinlein
post Aug 20 2025, 02:12 PM

1,788 posts

Seems like ayam not the only unker love nylon fabric belt
romuluz777
post Aug 20 2025, 02:34 PM

2,204 posts

If wanna get a good belt to pakai daily as well as to discipline others, spend a bit more and get a branded one...probably cost RM149++
blek
post Aug 20 2025, 03:26 PM

718 posts

Shoppes 5.99
3 years till now
buffa
post Aug 20 2025, 03:36 PM

458 posts

Uniqlo. Tried cheap, tried barraun buffet. Uniqlo last longest
hwa107
post Aug 20 2025, 03:43 PM

827 posts

I’m using Saddleback Leather Tow Belt, just bought it early this year so not sure how long it’ll last, many people recommend it for Buy It For Life.
farisq
post Aug 20 2025, 03:56 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(aLittleMisfit @ Aug 20 2025, 11:54 AM)
https://shopee.com.my/Tali-Pinggang-Lelaki-...092.17265185707

after changing few leather belts. i settled on this. tak payah pening pening
Nowadays the nylon also got stretchable version, which is useful when your waist occasionally expand
gheyfriend
post Aug 20 2025, 04:08 PM

280 posts

i bought a levis belt like 20 years ago , the leather still looks good today..
the newer from levis 5 years ago, oso looks good as of today..

GravityFi3ld
post Aug 20 2025, 04:33 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Mainly for office wear
can vouch for Braun Buffel, ayam using their holeless/trackline belt - 5years+ , same belt and buckle, sent to 'service' (include polishing) thumbsup.gif

max_cavalera
post Aug 20 2025, 06:19 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

U go kincing vera, wash hand tangan basah kena ur belt. Sure damaged ur belt faster
TScontestchris
post Aug 20 2025, 06:23 PM

5,519 posts

Is crocodile brand okay?
hellothere131495
post Aug 20 2025, 07:55 PM

473 posts

Huh??

How you wear?

I buy rm20 one can last for 5 years
bengang15
post Aug 20 2025, 09:15 PM

418 posts

I am using a belt from Coach. lasted me for like what more than 8 years and have not even age.

buy from premium outlet cheaper.
NinG
post Aug 20 2025, 09:31 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

My leather belt lasted more than 10 years until today.. I only got one belt.
RigerZ
post Aug 21 2025, 07:08 PM

On the way on the way
1,012 posts

Stay away from department store belts regardless of the brands you see inside.

Go to proper established brands like Levis and look for Full Grain or Corrected Grain leather.

Bought my Levis at around RM250 8 years ago and still serves well

Or, if you want to try your luck with the pasar malam ones whistling.gif

This post has been edited by RigerZ: Aug 21 2025, 07:10 PM
homerthewhopper
post Aug 21 2025, 09:42 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

Just get this bro. Cheap but been using mine for 3 years without a single peel.
netmatrix
post Aug 21 2025, 11:51 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,723 posts

Haiya TS. Almost all the belt brands selling outside are using cheap leather. Yes CHEAP LEATHER. It is real leather, but it is cheap.

The peeling belt you have is because it is sprayed with a thick layer of PU coating to make it look lit it is high quality. This is done to deceive people into believing that it is fine grain leather. But it is in fact low quality coarse leather. It is also done in shoes and wallets.

And it is so hard to find which belt is really made with good quality REAL LEATHER inside and outside.

I also think it is very stupid to pay RM200 for belt. If real leather cost RM400-700 it does not make sense to buy because it definitely comes from a brand name.

So like most people, go buy under RM 50 PU belt. After 1 year or more and it starts to get out of shape or peeling, then buy another. Unless you are buying the belt from a leather only produce shop, the chances of getting coated leather is rare.

Stop putting trust in RM150-200 belts just because it should be real leather. But it isn't. It is PU coated leather. Its the same with AI enhanced auntie doing tik tok. Its just fake over low quality real life person.

Also if you think i'm shitting on people, you know those RM200-500 Nike leather sneakers people buy? It is also loose grain leather sprayed with PU.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Aug 21 2025, 11:52 PM
TScontestchris
post Aug 22 2025, 12:22 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Aug 21 2025, 11:51 PM)
Haiya TS. Almost all the belt brands selling outside are using cheap leather. Yes CHEAP LEATHER. It is real leather, but it is cheap.

The peeling belt you have is because it is sprayed with a thick layer of PU coating to make it look lit it is high quality. This is done to deceive people into believing that it is fine grain leather. But it is in fact low quality coarse leather. It is also done in shoes and wallets.

And it is so hard to find which belt is really made with good quality REAL LEATHER inside and outside.

I also think it is very stupid to pay RM200 for belt. If real leather cost RM400-700 it does not make sense to buy because it definitely comes from a brand name.

So like most people, go buy under RM 50 PU belt. After 1 year or more and it starts to get out of shape or peeling, then buy another. Unless you are buying the belt from a leather only produce shop, the chances of getting coated leather is rare.

Stop putting trust in RM150-200 belts just because it should be real leather. But it isn't. It is PU coated leather. Its the same with AI enhanced auntie doing tik tok. Its just fake over low quality real life person.

Also if you think i'm shitting on people, you know those RM200-500 Nike leather sneakers people buy? It is also loose grain leather sprayed with PU.

How about split leather? I reached out to Obermain and Crocodile, both said they use split leather, and it is genuine instead of synthetic. Is it also PU coated leather

march173
post Aug 22 2025, 12:33 AM

124 posts

Support local. They using buffalo leather.

Vaska
layzieboy
post Aug 22 2025, 08:07 AM

496 posts

Uniqlo. The ones stamped with saddle leather is full grain and really high quality.
froz3nnoob
post Aug 22 2025, 08:25 AM

Defeat is not the worst of failures. Not to have tried is the tr
837 posts

Polo belt lasted me almost 6-9 good years
nebula87
post Aug 22 2025, 08:31 AM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

Mainly for office wear
I think those leather belts have shelf life too and you just bought one of them which almost.."dying"

Recently I bought a Crocodile belt RM8X, the material more to hard type, the promoter said it was real leather. I think it could last longer than my previous one - Alain Delon leather belt.

0.0239sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:35 AM