Tenant facing noise from upstairs

TSccschua
post Aug 19 2025, 10:55 AM, updated 4 months ago

1,630 posts

i rented the upmarket aprtment to tenant. over the year in 2024 and 2025, the occupant upstairs has children that run around and stomping affected my tenant. if I were the tenant, I will also want to shift out. so we engage the management office (issue warning letter), security guard and even make police report. the building rules has a regulation no excessive noise after 10pm. but each time the owner upstair will just repeat the same problem.

can I know what else should I do as a owner.

below is the chronology of event

Date Time Complaint Details Management Action Outcome
22-Mar-24 Until midnight Children running/shouting nightly Verbal warning + official email Temporary compliance
31-Mar-24 11:45 PM Kids running after prior warnings Security visited; no penalty (no video) Complaint recurrence
4-May-24 1:08 AM Children chasing/shouting; guard refused intervention Warning letter Resident frustration escalated
11-Jul-24 11:55 PM 3 security calls needed; jumping/running 3rd penalty issued No behavioral change
31-Jul-24 12:48 AM Police called after multiple incidents 4th penalty + police warning Tenant identity confusion
13-Aug-24 8:30 PM+ 3 security calls + police threat required Cited "building structure limitations" Resident threatened police action
25-Sep-24 12:30 AM Awakened by noise; 2 guard calls Warning letter to owner Meeting requested
19-Oct-24 Until 4 AM Weekend disturbance until early morning Meeting proposed No meeting scheduled
29-Apr-25 5:30 PM+ Daily disturbances; 2-year history Owner contact (Ms. Goay) finally shared Propose meeting on 18 Aug

GalaxyV
post Aug 19 2025, 10:58 AM

772 posts

Apartment/Condo?

I have this issue too but we can't find out which unit(s) caused the noise.

It heard like upstair but sometimes it is not.
SUSifourtos
post Aug 19 2025, 11:17 AM

2,256 posts

Simple thing want complicated solutions

1. Gather evidence
2. Civil court
g5sim
post Aug 19 2025, 11:43 AM

5,750 posts

Are you sure kids n not loco adults?

Solution but the unit above your neighbor n return the favor. Makese it's on top of the master room at around 2am.buy some machine that has timer to knock the floor sharp n 2am. Just buy the unit fir this one purpose until the neighborhnove iut
GlimmeringGoddess
post Aug 19 2025, 12:34 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Aug 19 2025, 10:55 AM)
i rented the upmarket aprtment to tenant. over the year in 2024 and 2025, the occupant upstairs has children that run around and stomping affected my tenant. if I were the tenant, I will also want to shift out. so we engage the management office (issue warning letter), security guard and even make police report. the building rules has a regulation no excessive noise after 10pm. but each time the owner upstair will just repeat the same problem.

below is the chronology of event

Date  Time  Complaint Details  Management Action  Outcome
22-Mar-24 Until midnight Children running/shouting nightly Verbal warning + official email Temporary compliance
31-Mar-24 11:45 PM Kids running after prior warnings Security visited; no penalty (no video) Complaint          recurrence
4-May-24 1:08 AM  Children chasing/shouting; guard refused intervention Warning letter Resident frustration            escalated
11-Jul-24 11:55 PM 3 security calls needed; jumping/running 3rd penalty issued No behavioral change
31-Jul-24 12:48 AM Police called after multiple incidents 4th penalty + police warning Tenant identity confusion
13-Aug-24 8:30 PM+ 3 security calls + police threat required Cited "building structure limitations"          Resident threatened police action
25-Sep-24 12:30 AM Awakened by noise; 2 guard calls Warning letter to owner Meeting requested
19-Oct-24 Until 4 AM Weekend disturbance until early morning Meeting proposed No meeting scheduled
29-Apr-25 5:30 PM+ Daily disturbances; 2-year history Owner contact (Ms. Goay) finally shared Propose          meeting on 18 Aug
so what is the outcome of the meeting on 18 Aug?
ryder_78
post Aug 19 2025, 01:00 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Aug 19 2025, 10:55 AM)

I think you have done all that needs to be done which include escalating the case to the management, security intervention and police intervention with police report. Although I live in an apartment, I have limited experience in this as fortunately we don't encounter such issues. Personally I feel that the security and management are limited to what they can do, in other words they can't do much if the neighbour which has proven to be a nuisance is the stubborn type and doesn't listen to anybody.

Perhaps more experienced people may chime in. You may have done what that is necessary, not sure on the next course of action that may compel the nuisance neighbour to stop disturbing your tenant with noises in the middle of the night. Perhaps a court order is possible? Getting the neighbour to court with a fine issued to them, few thousand ringgit. Then they might stop the nuisance they have caused though I'm not sure if there are cases where apartment dwellers can be dragged to court for causing such nuisance. Otherwise, I'm afraid they would continue with the usual daily routine despite management or police intervention since you have mentioned above that the police have intervened and the problem has not been resolved.

Although it is unlucky for your tenant to go through this ordeal and putting up with this problem for close to 2 years if not more, it's lucky that you don't have to go through this. This is a 'nightmare' neighbour that everyone would want to avoid and it's unlucky to live below this neighbour. FWIW although I am not close to the residents living both above and below my unit, I get to know them and take the courtesy to ask my neighbour who is living downstairs if he experienced any disturbance or noises since I have an audio system in the living room which I frequently play, mostly on weekends as on weekdays I'm too tired to listen when back from work. The neighbour mentioned he sometimes hear some noises but most of the time it's peaceful and no problem. I assured him it's usually on weekends the music is played since on weekdays after work the system will be off, and music volume would be low at night and after 10pm it would be switched off. All are happy. My neighbour upstairs is also quite considerate as when we meet at the lift he would ask if there is any issue and I told him no. He then sighed in relief as he was afraid there is disturbance to my unit.

In summary, it depends on luck for anyone staying in an apartment. If lucky, no disturbance or noise issues. If unlucky you get the 'nightmare' neighbour. To me, sleep is very important to ensure a quality life and well-being and it's important to not have any disturbance that may affect sleep quality. Poor sleep quality may lead to health issues and other complications.

Good luck in dealing with this nightmare neighbour, unfortunate for your tenant but at least it's not you who have to bear with it. Worse comes to worst it's the tenant who will need to move out from the place if there is no change.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Aug 19 2025, 01:15 PM
TSccschua
post Aug 19 2025, 01:55 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(GlimmeringGoddess @ Aug 19 2025, 12:34 PM)
so what is the outcome of the meeting on 18 Aug?
the owner did not respond. neither can the management office provide me with the owner contact. I have summarize and shared the chronology of events including desired outcome with owner as a pre-read for the meeting. but no response. owner just stay silent. neither can MO do anything at the moment.

out of the 3 warning letter, 2 fine amounting to RM 100 each was paid.

so owner prefer to pay fines and it is currently on monitoring.

I am asking here if this still happens, can I request proof from mgmt office before I proceed to engage lawyer? will mgmt office oblige to provide ?

FOR THIS ISSUE, MY RENT IS CURRENTLY LOCKED COVID LEVEL. EACH TIME I ASK TO INCREASE, TENANT WILL ASK ME BACK, IS IT WORTH THE INCREASE WHILE I DONT GET MY SLEEP.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Aug 19 2025, 02:00 PM
mini orchard
post Aug 19 2025, 06:56 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Aug 19 2025, 01:55 PM)
the owner did not respond. neither can the management office provide me with the owner contact. I have summarize and shared the chronology of events including desired outcome with owner as a pre-read for the meeting. but no response. owner just stay silent. neither can MO do anything at the moment.

out of the 3 warning letter, 2 fine amounting to RM 100 each was paid.

so owner prefer to pay fines and it is currently on monitoring.

I am asking here if this still happens, can I request proof from mgmt office before I proceed to engage lawyer? will mgmt office oblige to provide ?

FOR THIS ISSUE, MY RENT IS CURRENTLY LOCKED COVID LEVEL. EACH TIME I ASK TO INCREASE, TENANT WILL ASK ME BACK, IS IT WORTH THE INCREASE WHILE I DONT GET MY SLEEP.
Firstly what is your claim if you want to sue ? Money or Injunction ?

I don't think the tenant can comply 100% with the court order for an injunction. Being children, they are bound to be naughty or some super active.

Money ? Is not defamation of character and you suffer no public shame, just emotional stress. Will few thousands compensation satisfied you ?

In the end, the court case for nothing and lawyer laughing to the bank 😅

As for your tenant claims, bring a friend to do viewing pretending to be a buyer. Then gip notice to vacated. He is using that excuse for no rental increase. Just tell him you found a buyer. If he can 'sleep' with a lower rental, then the disturbance is just a small excuse. He may be a good paymaster but that don't justify no rent increase for five years!

Therefore is rightly said one can choose property but not neighbours.

U can only hope the children grow up fast and be more responsible in their action.

If you follow my suggestion, then go through it and find new tenant. Don't back track and the tenant then know you ffk.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 19 2025, 09:09 PM

0.0129sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:10 AM