Can Tenant choose their own Lawyer to draft TA?
cheryee
Aug 5 2025, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(Sam Loo @ Aug 5 2025, 10:22 AM) Yes. But it's not gonna be cheap. For tenancies lawyers will charge 25% of the monthly rent. For leases, 50% of the monthly rent. The above amount is not inclusive of stamp duty, disbursements and SST ya. Uncle, your % is salah. Don’t advise kalau tak erti 🤦♀️
SUSSam Loo
Aug 5 2025, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(cheryee @ Aug 5 2025, 10:55 AM) Uncle, your % is salah. Don’t advise kalau tak erti 🤦♀️ So what's the correct calculation, pray tell?
il0ve51
Aug 5 2025, 11:13 AM
i landlord, when agent rent my unit to tenant, i tell agent i do own TA. Then just charge 200 for tenant that 1 year. agent will rip off landlord and tenant for a single deal. ptui. hope ai replace them. most of my unit now use speedhome, lagi best.
cheryee
Aug 5 2025, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(Sam Loo @ Aug 5 2025, 11:06 AM) So what's the correct calculation, pray tell? Refer to my earlier post. Your % was based on the old SRO 2005 which has been revoked in 2023.
SUS*lightbringer*
Aug 5 2025, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 5 2025, 10:47 AM) which rule states need to be drafted by law firm? From lppeh website : https://lppeh.gov.my/WP2016/notification-3-...WAKnqD38XZK8uVQFrom MIEA fb: https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1EGzNpjVC6/?mibextid=wwXIfrto answer your question, Section 37 of the Legal Profession Act 1976 ("Act 166")
SUS*lightbringer*
Aug 5 2025, 12:14 PM

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Aug 5 2025, 11:13 AM) i landlord, when agent rent my unit to tenant, i tell agent i do own TA. Then just charge 200 for tenant that 1 year. agent will rip off landlord and tenant for a single deal. ptui. hope ai replace them. most of my unit now use speedhome, lagi best. From my understanding, the minimum fee is RM500. Then ada stamping fee, admin fee, this and that. But yea, I agree most agent like to markup here and there. Speedhome ok? I tried renting my unit use speedhome before, but an agent found a tenant before speedhome does. The zero deposit scares me a bit.
PhungTM
Aug 5 2025, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Aug 5 2025, 12:12 PM) This is in respect to estate agents where some are charging fees which is violation to section 37. But for tenant or landlord who is preparing the TA for their own use (and not charging fees for it), it is generally accepted.
il0ve51
Aug 7 2025, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Aug 5 2025, 01:14 PM) From my understanding, the minimum fee is RM500. Then ada stamping fee, admin fee, this and that. But yea, I agree most agent like to markup here and there. Speedhome ok? I tried renting my unit use speedhome before, but an agent found a tenant before speedhome does. The zero deposit scares me a bit. rent 1000 montly pay ta RM500 too overkill. if lawyer they have rate also. suppose all kena draft by lawyer, but enforcement is not there, also lawyer charge kinda high also for something copy & paste an uneducated agent can done/
chinteck79
Aug 7 2025, 04:09 PM

that's how agent drive bmw, merc
kobu
Aug 7 2025, 04:23 PM
Find other agent la.let the other agent cari the owner and deal with him for you. Owner dont care one who is the agent as long as got people renting
tinkerfy
Aug 7 2025, 04:38 PM
Some agencies insist that TA needs to be drafted by their own panel lawyers. So the panel lawyers buta-buta earn $$$ from each transactions.