Internet speed & ping test

TSThe.Lucas.DaY
post Jul 8 2025, 11:13 PM, updated 6 months ago

671 posts

Hi sifus, I have this question about internet latency on my both wifi router and asking for a possible solution.
I stream on discord sometimes, but found that on the viewer's side, the stream is stutter occasionally. Is that internet latency affecting the stream's stability? I use my laptop in 2nd floor. Pulling cable to 2nd floor may not be the possible solution for now.

Tested with Unifi 300Mbps plan & wifi 5ghz:
(Left pic) 1st floor, main router, Tplink ac1200 provided by tm, with its satisfied internet speed but high ping on Upload.

(Right pic) 2nd floor, tenda ac2100 with repeater mode connected to tplink ac1200, still able to get 100Mbps+/- but higher ping.

Thank you in advance.

This post has been edited by The.Lucas.DaY: Jul 8 2025, 11:22 PM
yeo1992cc
post Jul 9 2025, 02:34 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Jul 8 2025, 11:13 PM)
Hi sifus, I have this question about internet latency on my both wifi router and asking for a possible solution.
I stream on discord sometimes, but found that on the viewer's side, the stream is stutter occasionally. Is that internet latency affecting the stream's stability? I use my laptop in 2nd floor. Pulling cable to 2nd floor may not be the possible solution for now.

Tested with Unifi 300Mbps plan & wifi 5ghz:
(Left pic) 1st floor, main router, Tplink ac1200 provided by tm, with its satisfied internet speed but high ping on Upload.

(Right pic) 2nd floor, tenda ac2100 with repeater mode connected to tplink ac1200, still able to get 100Mbps+/- but higher ping.

Thank you in advance.
What your result on wired connection? If everything normal when using cable. You either:

A. Use wired connection; or

B: Use wireless connection but advice below:
1. Suggest get WiFi6/7 router with OFDMA feature.
2. WiFi 2.4 GHz use 20MHz, dont select 20/40MHz
3. WiFi 5 GHz use 20/40MHz; dont slect 20/40/80MHz
4. WiFI 6 GHz use 20/40/80MHz, dont select 20/40/80/160MHz
5. Set QoS higher priority for your streaming service

This post has been edited by yeo1992cc: Jul 9 2025, 02:42 AM
tvcat
post Jul 9 2025, 06:45 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,950 posts

Get a Powerline kit, expensive but with way better stability and lower ping.
1024kbps
post Jul 9 2025, 06:15 PM

李素裳
6,017 posts

Try to reduce the streaming quality? eg lesser bitrate or lower resolution., or both.
it could be your lappy gpu could not cope with the real time video streaming.

lappy gpu are relatively weak and constrained by the TDP, if overheated the cpu + gpu will be throttled = lag.
netmatrix
post Jul 9 2025, 11:46 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,735 posts

I am also on 300Mbps. But your upload not good for streaming.

My router is Unifi stock Dlink X3060 with AX3000 capability.

My desktop Wi-Fi card is AX200.

Both has Wi-Fi 6 capability.

soul78
post Jul 10 2025, 12:05 AM

944 posts

Ayamz using Dlink DIR-882 ( Sept 2017 )
Using Cat6 lan cables...

Usually ACxxxx /2.8 = your avg speed...

in this case your AC1200 / 2.8 = 428Mbps~

ayamz 10yo+ router AC2600 / 2.8 = 928Mbps~

This post has been edited by soul78: Jul 10 2025, 12:09 AM
dcheah
post Jul 11 2025, 04:25 PM

OldSkool
1,462 posts

What is the speed test on both routers when your laptop is connected via LAN cable ?

Also try the following :

1. Connect that Tenda router to TPLink via LAN Cable.
2. Run speed test again on both the LAN cable & Wifi.

I assumed that the Tenda is connected via Wifi as Repeater mode, thus it will have high latency in ping.

Hope this helps... cool2.gif

0.0126sec    1.11    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:14 AM