Shopee is refusing to honor its own refund policy

TSzebrabiker
post Jun 24 2025, 01:11 PM, updated 6 months ago

18 posts

EDIT:
I am sorry for the long post, I thought it would help to make my situation clearer. The summary provided by PJng almost hit the nail on the head, just need some clarification on the 'completed' part. The order was marked as 'completed' without my involvement, I did not clicked on the order received button and of course I did not pick up the order.

QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 24 2025, 03:36 PM)
Samsung AI to summary

My responses to some of the points raised:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=111808477

ORIGINAL POST

I have been using Shopee for about 7 years and have made many orders along the years. My account is in good standing and I have only made return/refund requests twice before facing the issue that I will explain below. I used to think being a long term and a good customer means something but it seems it is worth nothing to Shopee.

I made an order for a monitor on Shopee on 10/06/25. Since the monitor is a fragile item, I did not feel comfortable having it delivered and I bought it from a store that allows for in-store pickup. This was my first time using in-store pickup, so I first looked for information regarding in-store pickup in Shopee help-centre before making the order. In one of the pages (https://help.shopee.com.my/portal/4/article/91022-[In-Store-Pickup]-What-is-In-store-Pickup), it states the following refund policy for in-store pickup order:
Step 4: To process your order(s), the seller will confirm the following details with you via Shopee Chat
- Pick-up location
- Recipient’s full name as per IC
- Recipient’s phone number

⚠️ Note:

If the seller does not receive your pick-up details within three (3) calendar days after you have placed the order(s), the order(s) will be automatically canceled and refunded to you.

Practically there is a 3-day cancellation window for in-store pickup order which I found to be reasonable. It is easier for the buyer to make a decision of making the order without having to fully commit to it and the seller just has to hold the stock until either the buyer provides pickup details for processing or the order gets cancelled. Shopee may lose some money on transaction fee when the order gets cancelled but that happens with other kinds of orders as well.

When I made the order for the monitor, there was a time limited offer which pushed me into making the order but at the same time knowing the policy above, I thought I could cancel the order if I do not think it will suit me in the next few days. Well, after considering it for 2 days I came to the conclusion that the monitor is not the right one for me so I proceeded to cancel the order.

Looking at the order page 2-3 days after the order was made, there was no selection to cancel the order and only return/refund button other than order received button. It seemed the order was processed the day after the order was made even though I never provided pickup details to the seller. I tried requesting for order cancellation from the seller but the seller said 'we are not allowed to do it'.

Three days after the order was made, the order was still active and not automatically cancelled as it should have been according to the policy above. I assumed the seller simply processed the order without receiving pickup details from me (I confirmed this later). At this point I thought this should be easy, contact Shopee requesting for cancellation and mentioning that I have not picked up the order and I never provided pickup details to the seller which Shopee can easily verify this with Shopee chat and the seller. I also mentioned the policy above and Shopee can still honor it by issuing me refund for the order.

It was far from easy. After communicating with Shopee agents 4 separate times, making return/refund request 3 times, and 3 enquiries later I still have not received the refund. Shopee always insisted that I have to pick up the order and rejected my refund requests. Every time I mentioned the policy above and that Shopee should honor it, it was just ignored like I did not mentioned it at all. After mentioning that so many times, it became clear to me that Shopee is not interested in honoring its own refund policy.

At some point during my communications with Shopee the order was marked as completed even though I did not pick it up, and now there is no option to make return/refund request and no order received button. Since the seller never received pickup details from me, I was a bit frantic when I saw this as I thought the order was picked up by another person.

Looking that I am going no where on my own, I turned towards ChatGPT for advices and generating responses to messages from Shopee. I have access to ChatGPT plus and to ensure that I get the best chance in getting the refund I use the o3 model. Although it is one of the best models, I always keep mind all these LLMs are just very sophisticated text generators, and there are issues like hallucinations and they tend to be aggreable. However, it seems to have much better 'knowledge' on how to approach this issue than me.

In the latest enquiry with Shopee after they again rejected my refund request, I responded using the ChatGPT generated text below with minor modifications:
(All information deemed to be sensitive in messages below are replaced with placeholders)
(Timestamp: 20-06-25 16:34)
FINAL REQUEST - Refund RM1,109.00 for Order [ORDER ID]

1. POLICY REFERENCE
Shopee Help Center page: [In-Store Pickup] What is In-store Pickup?
https://help.shopee.com.my/portal/4/article/91022-[In-Store-Pickup]-What-is-In-store-Pickup
“If the seller does not receive your pick-up details within three (3) calendar days after you have placed the order(s), the order(s) will be automatically canceled and refunded to you.”

2. TIMELINE
- Order placed: 10-06-2025 21:53
- No pick-up details were provided by me within the 3-day period 
- 3-day deadline: 13-06-2025 21:53 –– order not auto-cancelled or refunded 
- Order marked “Completed” without my collection or consent: 17-06-2025 14:52

3. BREACH OF POLICY / CONTRACT
The order was not auto-cancelled or refunded as required by the 3-day policy above.

4. REMEDY REQUESTED
Please issue a FULL REFUND of RM1,109.00 to my original payment method within 5 calendar days of this message (i.e., by 25-06-2025).

5. NEXT STEPS
Immediate Escalation: If this enquiry is closed, marked “solved,” or otherwise ignored before the 5-day deadline without a refund, I will escalate immediately without further notice by:
- submitting a claim to the Tribunal Tuntutan Pengguna Malaysia (TTPM).
- filing a complaint to Kementerian Perdagangan Dalam Negeri (KPDN).
Otherwise, if no refund is received by the 25-06-2025, I will take the same actions on the following day.

Kindly confirm once the refund has been processed. Thank you.

Below was the response from Shopee. See how it just ignores everything in my response.
(Timestamp: 20-06-25 17:01)
Dear [USERNAME],
We would like to provide you with an update regarding your order [ORDER ID].
Upon further checking with the relevant team, we have verified that your parcel is ready for collection at the following address:
[PICK UP ADDRESS]
Kindly collect your parcel as soon as possible to avoid the courier returning the item to the seller. Please note that we will proceed to cancel the case accordingly if the parcel is not collected.
If you have further inquiries or face any difficulties, please do not hesitate to contact me at dispute@support.shopee.com.my. I will be glad to assist you.

And if you need further assistance, we recommend contacting the seller directly.

For more details, you may refer to the following link: https://help.shopee.com.my/portal/4/article/78640

We hope this clarifies the matter. Should you have any further questions, please feel free to reach out to us again.
Thank you for your cooperation.
Best regards.

I asked ChatGPT what is Shopee trying to do with the reply and which I found to be interesting.

I feed Shopee response to ChatGPT and it generated the rebuttal (the same one mentioned in picture above) below with minor modifications:
(Timestamp: 20-06-25 23:34)
ORDER [ORDER ID] - REFUND STILL OUTSTANDING

Thank you for your reply. Your response does not address the contractual point I raised.

1. POLICY NOT ADDRESSED 
- Shopee Help-Centre page “[In-Store Pickup] What is In-store Pickup?” (https://help.shopee.com.my/portal/4/article/91022-[In-Store-Pickup]-What-is-In-store-Pickup) states: 
“If the seller does not receive your pick-up details within three (3) calendar days after you have placed the order(s), the order(s) will be automatically canceled and refunded to you.” 
- I did not provide pick-up details within those 3 days.
- Deadline expired on 13-06-2025 21:53: no auto-cancel, no refund. 
- The order should have been cancelled and refunded by the end of the 3-day period.

2. NO OBLIGATION TO COLLECT 
After the missed 3-day deadline, Shopee’s obligation is to refund me. There is no requirement for me to travel to the store and collect the order.

3. REMEDY RESTATED 
I again request a FULL REFUND of RM1,109.00 to my original payment method.

4. FINAL DEADLINE 
If I do not receive written confirmation that the refund has been processed within 3 calendar days of receipt of this message (i.e. by 23-06-2025), I will immediately: 
- submit a claim to the Tribunal Tuntutan Pengguna Malaysia (TTPM).
- file a complaint to Kementerian Perdagangan Dalam Negeri (KPDN).
All correspondence, screenshots, and policy documents are retained for that purpose.

Please provide written confirmation and expected refund date once processed. Thank you.

Finally I received a response from Shopee that does not insist me on collecting the order and the issue seems to have been escalated:
(Timestamp: 21-06-25 16:35)
Agent replied: Greetings from Shopee,

Thank you for reaching out to us, I'm [AGENT NAME], your Customer Service Representative, and I will be assisting you with your inquiry.

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. We understand that this wasn't the experience you expected on Shopee and please accept our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience with the 'In-Store Pickup' for Order ID [ORDER ID].
We would like to inform you that we will forward your concern to the relevant team for further assistance and please allow us at least 3-5 working days to check it and get back to you via this message as soon as we can.
Your patience is highly appreciated.

Below was the response generated by ChatGPT.
(Timestamp: 22-06-25 12:59)
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT - Deadline Reminder

Thank you for escalating my refund request. 
For clarity, my 3-calendar-day deadline, stated on 20 June 2025 23:34 MYT, expires at 23:59 MYT on Monday 23 June 2025.

If written confirmation of the full refund is not provided by that time, I will proceed—without further notice with:
- a claim to the Tribunal Tuntutan Pengguna Malaysia (TTPM), and
- a complaint to KPDN for misleading trade practice under the CPA 1999.

I appreciate your prompt attention and look forward to your confirmation.

Just when I thought the issue is going to get solved very soon, Shopee again ignored and deflected their responsibility. Below is Shopee response before the enquiry was closed.
(Timestamp: 23-06-25 15:56)
Hi [USERNAME],

Thank you for contacting Shopee, my name is [AGENT NAME] from Return & Refund Team. I will help with this issue. First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies in regard to your unfortunate experience in Shopee, and rest assured, we will do our best to assist you.

Pertaining to your Order ID: [ORDER ID]. Upon further checking, I have verified that the parcel is ready for collection. I seek your cooperation to collect your item as soon as possible at the address below:

[PICK UP ADDRESS]

If the you intended to cancel the order, please liaise with the seller to get the refund approval. Thank you and have a great day ahead.

Notice that at no point in all Shopee responses above did Shopee address the policy that I have mentioned multiple times.

I contacted the seller afterwards to request for a refund which I do not have to do if Shopee honors its own policy but this is the last thing I could do before resorting to TTPM and KPDN. The seller agrees to a refund on the condition that the seller is not penalised and I also acquired the admission that the seller processed the order without having the required details which confirm my earlier assumption. I will at least file a complaint to KPDN before requesting the refund from Shopee again.

While this post focuses on my issue, I think it reflects on how Shopee sees and treats their customers. After what I have been through, all the complaints of people have with Shopee that I was seeing before this make more sense now. I was perplexed why Shopee does not simply provide refund after it is clear its own policy was not honored and the order is still in the posession of the seller, instead of making my life so difficult. They would rather lose future purchases from a customer than having a seller lose one sale?

No matter what the outcome of this, Shopee will have lost a lot of my future purchases on its platform. I see many people saying Lazada has good customer service, I guess I will migrate there soon. Recently, I purchased a GPU after messaging nearby shops asking for prices and availabilities, and got it at a price that was almost the same as the lowest price I have seen for the same model in Shopee during 5.5 sales. So, Shopee does not necessarily have the best price even during sales, it is worth to look around. Sellers in Shopee may even have their own online shops as well.

I am frustrated, stressed, and exhausted after going through all these for almost two weeks but this is what exactly what Shopee wants so that I would give up on demanding the refund. If anyone was or maybe is still in the same boat as I am please do share your experience. Any advice would be appreciated as well.

This post has been edited by zebrabiker: Jun 24 2025, 08:54 PM
Hattori
post Jun 24 2025, 01:29 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

Now only you know Shopee CS are all just using canned responses.

The CS can't handle anything else outside of their standard daily situations and let the cases hanging there until you give up or send them a legal letter.
Avangelice
post Jun 24 2025, 01:48 PM

5,270 posts

Your mistake was cancelling after 2 or 3 days thinking that the loophole of not providing any pick up deets would allow you to cancel. Alot of buyers think buying online is different than dealing offline, so they can cancel silly nilly.

FYI based on the policy

If the seller does not receive your pick-up details within three (3) calendar days after you have placed the order(s), the order(s) will be automatically canceled and refunded to you.

This means if the seller does not receive any pick up details, it's his or her discretion to cancel the order and it's not up to you as buyer to cancel.

You using chatgpt doesn't mean anything because the policy is between the seller, shoppee and you and in their eyes you placed the order,you waited for days after confirm buying and decided to pull out. That fault lies with you lah.

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jun 24 2025, 01:49 PM
contestchris
post Jun 24 2025, 02:13 PM

5,520 posts

Shopee is shit. But you gambled on a very high value order. When I want to find loopholes, I test it on RM1 items first. Many loopholes, but always verify before you deploy them to higher value orders.
PJng
post Jun 24 2025, 02:14 PM

12,039 posts

I no read at all those such long post for the issue
Current gem ppl anything also need use CHAT GPT AI?
And 1 issue how related to 7 years of shopping exprience?
gashout
post Jun 24 2025, 02:18 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Jun 24 2025, 01:29 PM)
Now only you know Shopee CS are all just using canned responses.

The CS can't handle anything else outside of their standard daily situations and let the cases hanging there until you give up or send them a legal letter.
shopee cs has been helpful to my issues, so i would say they are totally bad

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 24 2025, 01:48 PM)
Your mistake was cancelling after 2 or 3 days thinking that the loophole of not providing any pick up deets would allow you to cancel. Alot of buyers think buying online is different than dealing offline, so they can cancel silly nilly.

FYI based on the policy

This means if the seller does not receive any pick up details, it's his or her discretion to cancel the order and it's not up to you as buyer to cancel.

You using chatgpt doesn't mean anything because the policy is between the seller, shoppee and you and in their eyes you placed the order,you waited for days after confirm buying and decided to pull out. That fault lies with you lah.
i dunno why people buy first then pikachu. if not sure, then don't buy or cancel within 5 minutes of putting the order. not 2 days!!!!
Avangelice
post Jun 24 2025, 02:20 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 24 2025, 02:18 PM)
shopee cs has been helpful to my issues, so i would say they are totally bad
i dunno why people buy first then pikachu. if not sure, then don't buy or cancel within 5 minutes of putting the order. not 2 days!!!!
Imagine the seller packed everything ready for collection and some AH decided to pull out because the price not to his liking and that's after two whole freaking days. No business will allow this lah
poweredbydiscuz
post Jun 24 2025, 02:38 PM

3,832 posts

It's the seller that proceed the order without following the SOP, and now he/she agrees to refund, so what's the issue?
Avangelice
post Jun 24 2025, 02:52 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jun 24 2025, 02:38 PM)
It's the seller that proceed the order without following the SOP, and now he/she agrees to refund, so what's the issue?
Didn't realize the seller did process the refund.

I didn't bother to read it but op is one of those dreaded customers nobody wants
poweredbydiscuz
post Jun 24 2025, 03:02 PM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 24 2025, 02:52 PM)
Didn't realize the seller did process the refund.

I didn't bother to read it but op is one of those dreaded customers nobody wants
These customers are the reason why we can't have nice things because they like to abuse the system and test the limit.
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Jun 24 2025, 03:07 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,745 posts

I prefer Lazada over Shopee.. I am also a regular buyer on both platforms.. Every month 6.6, 7.7 sales, I will spend RM 500+ buying things for my family

I bought a SSD RAM for my brother on 6.6 sales.. The delivery fella just cincai throw it into my house compound.. Also, always deliver without informing / notification..

Lazada is much better in terms of delivery, returning orders etc
TOMEI-R
post Jun 24 2025, 03:14 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jun 24 2025, 02:38 PM)
I dont think TS mentioned seller agreed to a refund.
Avangelice
post Jun 24 2025, 03:16 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 24 2025, 03:14 PM)
I dont think TS mentioned seller agreed to a refund.
The seller agrees to a refund on the condition that the seller is not penalised and I also acquired the admission that the seller processed the order without having the required details which confirm my earlier assumption. I will at least file a complaint to KPDN before requesting the refund from Shopee again.

Cannot blame you. I blame ts for adding in the unnecessary chatgpt to back him up

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jun 24 2025, 03:17 PM
TOMEI-R
post Jun 24 2025, 03:16 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 24 2025, 02:20 PM)
Imagine the seller packed everything ready for collection and some AH decided to pull out because the price not to his liking and that's after two whole freaking days. No business will allow this lah
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jun 24 2025, 03:02 PM)
These customers are the reason why we can't have nice things because they like to abuse the system and test the limit.
Correct. Imagine seller ordered the item from his supplier, packed and buyer cancelled the order. He wont be able to return the stock to his supplier saying customer cancelled. shakehead.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 24 2025, 03:24 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

Gosh so long.

U are right about seller processed your order without confirming details. Actually confirming details are optional as the sell and purchase TnC already stated pickup location, and buyer details.
Confirmation is just for seller to confirm got stock and/or make appointment for pickup if required (optional).

Anyhow, seller can still cancel the order by selecting certain reason (without incurring penalty on seller) but some sellers really die hardsale would not want to lose sale.

Now i didnt read finish coz too long...what u can do now is just let the order kiv and later should able to press refund for (no receive) something like that.
Then u will able to get refund.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 24 2025, 03:28 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 24 2025, 03:16 PM)
Correct. Imagine seller ordered the item from his supplier, packed and buyer cancelled the order. He wont be able to return the stock to his supplier saying customer cancelled.  shakehead.gif
True sounds unfair but hey that is part and parcel of running a business no?
And 1 stock wont make business bankrupt lah unless it is a un-popolar item?
Just keep and sell to next buyer?

poweredbydiscuz
post Jun 24 2025, 03:31 PM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 24 2025, 03:24 PM)
Gosh so long.

U are right about seller processed your order without confirming details. Actually confirming details are optional as the sell and purchase TnC already stated pickup location, and buyer details.
Confirmation is just for seller to confirm got stock and/or make appointment for pickup if required (optional).

Anyhow, seller can still cancel the order by selecting certain reason (without incurring penalty on seller) but some sellers really die hardsale would not want to lose sale.

Now i didnt read finish coz too long...what u can do now is just let the order kiv and later should able to press refund for (no receive) something like that.
Then u will able to get refund.
The order was marked as completed.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 24 2025, 03:36 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jun 24 2025, 03:31 PM)
Ahh then it should be either he pressed "order completed" or ding dong ding dong until order auto completed.

By right seller will request buyer to press order completed during pick-up then only allow buyer to leave.

The order should have a due date before auto complete, by then refund button should light up and can proceed to refund due to no receive item.

PJng

12,039 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jun 24 2025, 03:31 PM)
Samsung AI to summary

sakuraboo

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

Idk but sounds like 2 ai talking to each other

Edit:
I've been emailing a company, there has been delay between replies for about 3 days, but in the end, I think it's a human using ai to reply my questions.

End up calling the company, issue resolved within minutes.

This post has been edited by sakuraboo: Jun 24 2025, 03:38 PM

0.0206sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:55 AM