⚡️ 💵 TNB new ToU scheme for Domestic Low Voltage, To subscribe or not?

NightFelix
post Oct 29 2025, 01:04 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

ToU button missing pulak. Is it only applicable for Smart Meter?
unknown_2
post Oct 29 2025, 03:16 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 29 2025, 01:04 PM)
yes.
cuz only new smart meter can track the time of use & send live data directly bck to TNB server.
soonwai
post Oct 30 2025, 01:59 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 29 2025, 01:04 PM)
Smart meter AND owner verified login then only the button will appear.
TSZeneticX
post Oct 30 2025, 08:20 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

first dilemma for ToU users.... whether to switch on aircond at night before 10pm sweat.gif
mikhaC
post Nov 18 2025, 04:51 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 11 2025, 05:36 PM)
Finally managed to download all my usage data from TNB energy dashboard. 803 days. Oldest I have is 30/7/2023 but incomplete so 31/7/2023.

What is the oldest data available for yours?

Smart meter was installed Nov 2020.

May as well graph all that data.
Wanna ask is there possible a miscalculation by tnb?

Aug - Peak is 74.054
Off Peak is 266.201
Total 340.255
RM 75.10

Sep - Peak is 79.058
Off Peak is 270.037
Total 349.095
RM 76.70

Oct - Peak is 83.118
Off Peak is 275.478
Total 358.596
RM 93.45

is it possible the charges increased so much for October even though the kwh not increased a lot? Tq
TSZeneticX
post Nov 18 2025, 06:35 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(mikhaC @ Nov 18 2025, 04:51 PM)

Aug - Peak is 74.054
         Off Peak is 266.201
         Total 340.255
         RM 75.10

Sep - Peak is 79.058
         Off Peak is 270.037
         Total 349.095
         RM 76.70

Oct - Peak is 83.118
         Off Peak is 275.478
         Total 358.596
         RM 93.45

is it possible the charges increased so much for October even though the kwh not increased a lot? Tq
what does the calculation and charges breakdown show on your bill?

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 18 2025, 06:36 PM
soonwai
post Nov 19 2025, 04:43 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(mikhaC @ Nov 18 2025, 04:51 PM)

Aug - Peak is 74.054
         Off Peak is 266.201
         Total 340.255
         RM 75.10

Sep - Peak is 79.058
         Off Peak is 270.037
         Total 349.095
         RM 76.70

Oct - Peak is 83.118
         Off Peak is 275.478
         Total 358.596
         RM 93.45

Possible because once you go even 1 kWh above 350 kWh, your ICT discount decrease by 4 sen per kWh. 358 x 0.04 is already RM14.32. If you look at the ICT table, you'll see there's a big decrease in the discount after 350 kWh.

For example, at 20% peak,
350 kWh is RM76.98
351 kWh is RM91.46

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 19 2025, 04:59 AM
mikhaC
post Nov 19 2025, 09:53 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Nov 19 2025, 04:43 AM)
Possible because once you go even 1 kWh above 350 kWh, your ICT discount decrease by 4 sen per kWh. 358 x 0.04 is already RM14.32. If you look at the ICT table, you'll see there's a big decrease in the discount after 350 kWh.

For example, at 20% peak,
350 kWh is RM76.98
351 kWh is RM91.46
Ic.. Below is the bill, is it confirm your explanation?

contestchris
post Nov 19 2025, 02:34 PM

5,504 posts

"Service Tax of 8% is applicable in the bill when billing days is less than 28 days for any change of tariff. This includes switching to ToU as new tariff will be effective immediately upon completion of required processes."

Can somebody explain this please based on your actual experience. Assume my billing date is 10th of every month, and I changed today.

Thanks!
contestchris
post Nov 19 2025, 02:39 PM

5,504 posts

QUOTE(mikhaC @ Nov 19 2025, 09:53 AM)
Ic.. Below is the bill, is it confirm your explanation?

TNB calculation is correct. There is a step-down of the rebate at 350kWh. Your best bet is to target usage under that.
kkkw80
post Nov 19 2025, 03:10 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,014 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 30 2025, 08:20 PM)
first dilemma for ToU users.... whether to switch on aircond at night before 10pm  sweat.gif
if need to use, use sparingly during peak hours maybe 1 aircond but on more during off peak
soonwai
post Nov 19 2025, 05:20 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Nov 19 2025, 02:34 PM)
"Service Tax of 8% is applicable in the bill when billing days is less than 28 days for any change of tariff. This includes switching to ToU as new tariff will be effective immediately upon completion of required processes."

Can somebody explain this please based on your actual experience. Assume my billing date is 10th of every month, and I changed today.

Thanks!
So your bill date is 10th therefore your billing period is 10th to 9th.

If your change happens today which is 19th, you'll get 2 bills. 10th-19th (10 days) and 20th-9th (20 days). Since both bills are less than 28 days, both will kena SST ie: rugi.

You'll need to time it so that the change occurs 2/3 days (depending on 30 or 31 days in that month) before the bill date. And hope the change is smooth and not delayed.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 19 2025, 05:21 PM
omron
post Yesterday, 03:36 PM

204 posts

Very confius this calculation takbolebale , i want to know , if i only turn on aircond after 10PM , is it good for me or not ?

This post has been edited by omron: Yesterday, 03:37 PM
TSZeneticX
post Yesterday, 04:24 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(omron @ Nov 23 2025, 03:36 PM)
Very confius this calculation takbolebale , i want to know , if i only turn on aircond after 10PM , is it good for me or not ?
Weekdays after 10pm for off peak rate. Off peak rate starts from 10pm - 2pm next day. 2pm - 10pm is peak rate

Weekends and public holiday (refer tnb website or first post for included holidays) whole day off peak rate

Off peak rate = cheaper tariff = cheaper bills (if you utilise your high power appliances eg: aircond during this period only)

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Yesterday, 04:26 PM

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.0161sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:33 PM