12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

⚡️ 💵 TNB new ToU scheme for Domestic Low Voltage, To subscribe or not?

soonwai
post Aug 20 2025, 04:12 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 20 2025, 03:12 PM)
If you subscribe to TOU, and then a few months later, decide to change back. Is it allowed ?
I believe so but I think have to go TNB shop to change. Can't find a way to change back to non-ToU on the website. Maybe can do via ticket?

Also every time change, need to pay Stamp Duty RM10.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 20 2025, 06:16 PM
soonwai
post Aug 20 2025, 04:27 PM

11,455 posts

This is the Excel 365 Mac file that I use to calc my average usage. Thought I share it here.

• Noob spreadsheet. Before this I've only ever used +_/* and SUM in Excel.
• No VBA so it's safe. (sos: trust me bro)
• Get your daily usage from TNB Energy Dashboard - [View Energy Usage] button and paste into the table.
• You may need current versions of Excel since I use some relatively newer functions like TAKE.
• Ya, I know, I found out later that I didn't have to split DateTime to 2 separate columns.

20250821_1625: Updated xls - just more reference info and fix old tariff tab a bit.
20250829_1706: Cleaned up the xls. Fix some logic errors. Left a months sample data in the table. Delete and add your own.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 29 2025, 05:08 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  TNB_Usage_Cost_20250829.xlsx.zip ( 241.02k ) Number of downloads: 9
romuluz777
post Aug 20 2025, 05:23 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 20 2025, 05:12 PM)
I believe so but I think have to go TNB shop to change. Can't find a way to change back to non-ToU on the website. Maybe can do via ticket?
Hopefully can change via the TNB app.
I will ask the smartmeter installer whether he knows when he comes to chg limpeh meter in a few weeks time.
coolguy_0925
post Aug 20 2025, 10:09 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 20 2025, 05:23 PM)
I will ask the smartmeter installer whether he knows when he comes to chg limpeh meter in a few weeks time.
Friendly reminder

You need to pay RM10 again
pillage2001
post Aug 20 2025, 10:26 PM

1,990 posts

The app on the phone seems retarded after some updates. Accessing the data on the webportal gives alot better granular data. QUite intersting how my usage is on a daily basis. lol
LaiN87
post Aug 20 2025, 11:02 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,318 posts

Whoever changing to TOU just putting it here so that don't get bill shock.

Everytime you change TOU, there will be cutoff and prorated bills.

Every prorated bill <28 days, all kWh will be charged SST 8%
I received my prorated bill 27 days today and all my 676kWh is fully charged 8%. So every time you change between TOU and non-TOU,
+ RM10 stamp duty
+ Additional 8% SST on your bill. No without SST for first 600kWh even prorated.
RiriRuruRara
post Aug 21 2025, 01:03 AM

1,009 posts

My most recent bill shot up a lot if I opt in for this tou will it help reduce the bill??

2. Also cannot opt in from the app??? Is the username and password the same for the website portal??

This post has been edited by RiriRuruRara: Aug 21 2025, 01:19 AM
soonwai
post Aug 21 2025, 01:04 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Aug 20 2025, 11:02 PM)

I received my prorated bill 27 days today and all my 676kWh is fully charged 8%. So every time you change between TOU and non-TOU,
+ RM10 stamp duty
+ Additional 8% SST on your bill. No without SST for first 600kWh even prorated.
Thanks for the heads up. Next month check. Already received non-ToU interim bill but it's only for 1-day, 40kWh so no SST. Expect remaining ToU days to be around 1100 kWh.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 21 2025, 04:34 PM
romuluz777
post Aug 21 2025, 07:48 AM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 20 2025, 11:09 PM)
Friendly reminder

You need to pay RM10 again
No problem.
soonwai
post Aug 21 2025, 02:43 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Aug 21 2025, 01:03 AM)
My most recent bill shot up a lot if I opt in for this tou will it help reduce the bill??

2. Also cannot opt in from the app??? Is the username and password the same for the website portal??
Almost all ppl should get cheaper bills with ToU unless you go over approx 63% peak usage.

can use mcchin's google sheet to check your bills for old, new and ToU tariffs. What's your typical kWh for a month?

I posted an Excel spreadsheet to calc peak % based on the daily data that you can dl from TNB web.

So far, switch to ToU, app cannot, web only.
coolguy_0925
post Aug 21 2025, 03:45 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Aug 20 2025, 11:02 PM)

+ RM10 stamp duty
Good sharing

Almost certain will get this 8% SST unless your timing + their processing time are really spot on (28 days or more)
jimbet1337
post Aug 22 2025, 09:52 AM

meh
2,669 posts

Sharing my average usage 200kWh thereabouts. The closest one to compare are Aug & May to see old tariff & new one.

Aug (new tariff): RM42.05 (211 kWh)
May (old tariff): RM42.75 (210 kWh)

Haven't apply ToU yet.
Kelefeh
post Aug 22 2025, 01:18 PM

105 posts

once applied tou cannot change back right
soonwai
post Aug 22 2025, 02:16 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Kelefeh @ Aug 22 2025, 01:18 PM)
once applied tou cannot change back right
Can. Pay RM10 stamp duty again.
RiriRuruRara
post Aug 22 2025, 02:56 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 21 2025, 02:43 PM)
Almost all ppl should get cheaper bills with ToU unless you go over approx 63% peak usage.

can use mcchin's google sheet to check your bills for old, new and ToU tariffs. What's your typical kWh for a month?

I posted an Excel spreadsheet to calc peak % based on the daily data that you can dl from TNB web.

So far, switch to ToU, app cannot, web only.
Thanks for sharing. My kwh for last month was 850. Don’t understand what you mean by 63% peak usage but will try to read up about it tonight
TSZeneticX
post Aug 22 2025, 04:42 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Aug 22 2025, 02:56 PM)
Thanks for sharing. My kwh for last month was 850. Don’t understand what you mean by 63% peak usage but will try to read up about it tonight
Basically if your entire month's usage (in kwh) consists of 63% usage during the peak hours (2pm - 10pm) on weekdays

If you use a lot of high energy consumption appliances eg: water heater, aircond, oven, dryer etc during these hours during weekdays, then perhaps ToU won't benefit. For most people out there especially if you're not WFH type, ToU will definitely reduce your bills, just see how much is the reduction

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 22 2025, 04:43 PM
soonwai
post Aug 22 2025, 05:28 PM

11,455 posts

You can go to TNB web to see your energy usage.
If your usage graph is something like this then worth already lah. If want to have a clearer idea, can download the daily usage for many days and calc in spreadsheet. I got attach one Excel a few posts up.

For 850kWh (AFA: -1.45 sen) using mcchin's Google Sheet.
I use 20% peak since that's mine. Of course, yours will be different.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 22 2025, 07:11 PM
coolguy_0925
post Aug 22 2025, 11:30 PM

4,536 posts

Like others had shared

The point is how heavy is your usage during the peak (2pm - 10pm weekdays) not so much on your total usage

If you are already on smart meter then very easy to track otherwise you need to agak agak liao

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 22 2025, 05:28 PM)
You can go to TNB web to see your energy usage.
If your usage graph is something like this then worth already lah. If want to have a clearer idea, can download the daily usage for many days and calc in spreadsheet. I got attach one Excel a few posts up.

For 850kWh (AFA: -1.45 sen) using mcchin's Google Sheet.
I use 20% peak since that's mine. Of course, yours will be different.
wow that pattern of usage chart looks really similar like mine... with that kWh you will save some real bucks going into ToU... good choice
soonwai
post Aug 23 2025, 02:33 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 20 2025, 05:23 PM)
Today TNB came to change my neighbour's smart meter. The technician mentioned it's for ToU but didn't say why had to change again.

Anyway his old smart meter was installed around the same time in 2020 as mine but is different from mine.

Mine is exactly like this.

Neighbour's old one had a bigger green button on the right in place of the 2 white ones and doesn't have that circle feature on the left.

The new one installed today looks similar to mine but has a smaller screen with the 2 white buttons moved up to the immediate right of the screen.

Macam TNB trying many different models. Maybe some not working so well.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 23 2025, 02:34 PM
coolguy_0925
post Aug 23 2025, 05:09 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 23 2025, 02:33 PM)
Today TNB came to change my neighbour's smart meter. The technician mentioned it's for ToU but didn't say why had to change again.

Anyway his old smart meter was installed around the same time in 2020 as mine but is different from mine.

Mine is exactly like this.

Neighbour's old one had a bigger green button on the right in place of the 2 white ones and doesn't have that circle feature on the left.

The new one installed today looks similar to mine but has a smaller screen with the 2 white buttons moved up to the immediate right of the screen.

Macam TNB trying many different models. Maybe some not working so well.
My whole taman is using this exact same smart meter

Same display, same button, same brand name

It was changed around 2019

This post has been edited by coolguy_0925: Aug 23 2025, 05:10 PM

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:52 PM