Taman Melawati

TS6996
post Jun 19 2025, 08:43 AM, updated 2w ago

387 posts

Hi all,

Just for a bit of context, as I’ve been working in KL for the past year and have been exploring around the neighbourhood (Setiawangsa, Wangsa Maju etc).

I’ve taken quite a liking to Taman Melawati and am looking to settle down here in the near future with my future wife and family.

So just wanted to post this here to ask for how is it like? Is the traffic really bad due to the MRR2? I know there are a few Chinese restaurants in the commercial area near Melawati Mall, so are there anything else?

Decide to post this here instead of Property Talk as I’m looking for more advice from locals and not really asking for any particular condos.

If any one of the locals or people who have stayed there can share some tips.

I would really appreciate that.
MegaCanonF
post Jun 19 2025, 08:57 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ Jun 19 2025, 08:43 AM)
Hi all,

Just for a bit of context, as I’ve been working in KL for the past year and have been exploring around the neighbourhood (Setiawangsa, Wangsa Maju etc).

I’ve taken quite a liking to Taman Melawati and am looking to settle down here in the near future with my future wife and family.

So just wanted to post this here to ask for how is it like? Is the traffic really bad due to the MRR2? I know there are a few Chinese restaurants in the commercial area near Melawati Mall, so are there anything else?

Decide to post this here instead of Property Talk as I’m looking for more advice from locals and not really asking for any particular condos.

Hi. I'm one of the locals that reside here.

What would you like to know?

Pros :

Really nice and green neigborhood (you can see ppl jogging / cycling at any hours of the day ,even at 11pm , so its relatively safe if you ask me)
lots of hipster/ kopitiam / fresh vibes with youngsters.
easy access to nature - kemensah, genting highland, also to KL

cons:
more and more condo's are being built, enroaching the back bukit tabur. expect traffic to be much worse after they VP .

In some parts, especially town centre (melawati mall area) , Traffic is really bad especially during peak hours . Why ?

- Small roads (melawati is old township, I've been living here since the 90's)
- Pasar malam every tuesday / thursday / saturday
- lots of school, and ppl picking up their kids

i found that everytime i go at these times, (like 5pm) , i just take moto , forget about car.

also saturday is also jam ya, morning coz of pasar tani.

If you ask me if I recommend ?

Yes , definitely if you have the budget . I believe its a bit better than wangsa maju and setiawangsa. Setiawangsa also not bad, but price will be on a higher side. Plus you don't get the greenery as good as melawati.

can't think of any other place I would reside in KV as of now .

This post has been edited by MegaCanonF: Jun 19 2025, 09:01 AM
adamhzm90
post Jun 19 2025, 09:04 AM

1,386 posts

Wangsa maju kinda sucks nowadays with all the high rises and road planning..

Prefer Setiawangsa and Ampang Jaya
Mr.Docter
post Jun 19 2025, 09:16 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Dekat dengan aku. Nak MC roger2 aku kautim.
cempedaklife
post Jun 19 2025, 09:37 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 19 2025, 08:57 AM)

Pros :

Really nice and green neigborhood (you can see ppl jogging / cycling at any hours of the day ,even at 11pm , so its relatively safe if you ask me)

cons:
more and more condo's are being built, enroaching the back bukit tabur. expect traffic to be much worse after they VP .

In some parts, especially town centre (melawati mall area) , Traffic is really bad especially during peak hours . Why ?

i found that everytime i go at these times, (like 5pm) , i just take moto , forget about car.

Yes , definitely if you have the budget . I believe its a bit better than wangsa maju and setiawangsa. Setiawangsa also not bad, but price will be on a higher side. Plus you don't get the greenery as good as melawati.

wow. didnt know you are local around here. icon_rolleyes.gif

cempedaklife
post Jun 19 2025, 09:40 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Feb 10 2025, 06:38 PM)
i studied in tarc in the 2000s.
and have never moved away since.
I have a condo here which is the one I'm living in now. it was shared by with my sis who has moved away now.
I have a family with 2 kids.

my wife and i do have a landed house in kajang which we purchased before we have kids and we were thinking the commute is fine, we wanted landed and MRT was up and coming.
we thought its a sacrifice we want to make.

then our first child is born and we continue living here.
with kids, we debated and some relative indirect influence our thinking too.
there is a gap between the mentality of a city dweller and a more rural place.
we see it with people around us and we are from small towns too.
we see the difference with how a kids is raised, the kind of interaction and messaging used between towns/big cities like kl.
the kids will be expose to friend with different mentality, etc etc. generally speaking.
so we want to stay in city.

anyway will do. then it comes to my preference, i don't want to move kids school as i feel that's not a good experience. and my oldest started primary 2 years back.
granted, beyond primary school, the schools here are pretty limited and we are cracking our head on it now even when she's primary 3 coming this year start.

but mco makes me feel appreciative of this area. currently, i can walk out instead of drive to reach places for food.
aeon is just in front of me, behind there's jaya grocer, there's aeon, aeon big, tesco, giant all the big players all within 15 mins drive.
appreciate that since mco, giant is the only one which open at 8am and there is no queue even on mco, kl people are late persons. but i don't go there often now.

previously, i think this is a shit hole filled with tenants who don't care, who are either student or just working. you see things not being upkeep, rubbish everywhere.
heck we just go school and work and don't interact with anyone, that's the community of big city.
since mco as well, because of the social distancing, after mco, I smile to people more, I start up conversation with strangers more. with my kids, they interact with other kids and we in turn interact with their parents. we also talked to aunty uncle in the community more and there is a sense of friendliness. we go to the playground in condo, meet people talk to people instead of hiding at home.

yes its still full with tenants but our perception shifted.

with kids, we found there is many things around here, like english class via church, art class, etc.
i can walk to lrt, and still walk to lrt in the new place. there will be mrt nearer but needed last miles transport but its good to have option.
it's near kl city center despite you might still need to take a long time to travel due to jam. but there is a novelty with the proximity.

setapak is not a good name. but it has all we need. last year or so, read an article how PV transform the whole setapak, its bustling now but for sure cant compare to pj, mont kiara, maybe even cheras
but it has everything we need and we are familiar with the area.
my wife siblings are staying nearby too in setapak.

as above said, the traffic is getting worse but I'm working from home now so i will only encounter the legendary jam at pv128 to setapak central once a week because of timing and etc.
heck lately on Saturdays, to get to Christ Lutheran, from wangsa maju lrt, i even go to mrr2, duke (no need toll) drive 12km instead of 6km to arrive at the church in 33% less time than taking jalan gentinng klang.

everytime i see a new condo, especially those like the Jakel (even before the current issue) i shake my head. i see the aforementioned jam, i shake my head.
but.....this is where we belongs now. until the kids grown up, and we need a change of scenery, then maybe we move as old couple to small places like ipoh or something. (depends on what we think of healthcare.

so its more like progression of thoughts. from kajang vs kl in general, and then staying still in setapak.
let me know if you have more specific things you want to know.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Jun 19 2025, 09:44 AM
xUngrateful
post Jun 19 2025, 09:49 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ Jun 19 2025, 08:43 AM)
Hi all,

Spent my whole life in Melawati (Still here) & working in Bukit Jalil.

On Average takes me around 45 Minutes to get to the office using MRR2. Accessibility to DUKE , SUKE , SPE & AKLEH is a bonus. I can get to KLCC within 15 minutes. Groceries can be done at Melawati Mall or Giant in Taman Permata.

Both Kemensah & Melawati has gotten many new projects since Sime Darby took over.

Food is plentiful, for me i don't have to go far. Bunch of Cafe's just opened up, many quite good. I believe yes there's a few Chinese Kopitiam/Foodcourt left but unsure.

Overall i don't see myself moving away from Kemensah Heights yet but with new Condo's popping out left and right is very off putting

Just PM if you wanna know specifics.

This post has been edited by xUngrateful: Jun 19 2025, 09:50 AM
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 19 2025, 10:22 AM

526 posts

Rent and stay one year then decide.
ImAn
post Jun 19 2025, 10:26 AM

64 posts

Wow lots of Melawatians here. Me last time stay at Jalan A, now already move to BA since my parent sold the house. Melawati is a nice place to stay, and I agree from the comment above. I still cycling there 3x times a week and all my kids still study at Melawati school.

MegaCanonF
post Jun 19 2025, 10:49 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(ImAn @ Jun 19 2025, 10:26 AM)
Wow lots of Melawatians here. Me last time stay at Jalan A, now already move to BA since my parent sold the house. Melawati is a nice place to stay, and I agree from the comment above. I still cycling there 3x times a week and all my kids still study at Melawati school.
u cycling at night ?

now they are doing pipeworks, not so nice to cycle anymore . have to wait until project finish. but still nice place to jog , though
quebix
post Jun 19 2025, 10:54 AM

Gelato Director
1,237 posts

To me, Melawati is a more chilled and relaxed place to stay.
Has all the conveniences without too many negativities...
Usually convenience comes with downsides...progress comes with a price, but in Melawati, just enough progress, enough so that life is convenient but less issues. It has its own neighbourhood mall as well.

Not much leeway for new buildings/facilities to be built (for example Wangsa Maju, non-stop have some construction going on), so its nice.

If you want the hustle and bustle of city life, KL is not that far. very accessible.

you mentioned a few Chinese restaurants in that area, so i assume your are Chinese? sorry if im wrong.
Taman Melawati is pre-dominantly Malay community, with some small Chinese and Indian community.
No SJK C there, only SJK T.
So if you are OK with this, it is a nice place to stay.

If you go to Melawati Mall you can see from the shops there, it is to cater to Malay mid to high income bracket.

burn22
post Jun 19 2025, 10:59 AM

398 posts

me stay kat wangsa melawati, nearby wangsa maju area. kalau pasal chinese food, breakfast, lunch, dinner, no issue at taman melawati. if not, can go to sri rampai.
pasal trafik to KL, after 7am, mrr2 jam nak mampos to ampang, setapak or KL. if ride 2 wheels, no issue...

TS6996
post Jun 19 2025, 11:13 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 19 2025, 08:57 AM)

Pros :

cons:

Thank you for this informative reply.

How is the traffic? As I’m currently working in Putrajaya, will taking MEX highway really be the only way?

And also normally for people who take public transport, would they drive to LRT Sri Rampai to work?
MegaCanonF
post Jun 19 2025, 11:16 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ Jun 19 2025, 11:13 AM)
Thank you for this informative reply.

How is the traffic? As I’m currently working in Putrajaya, will taking MEX highway really be the only way?

And also normally for people who take public transport, would they drive to LRT Sri Rampai to work?
yes, from melawati, its either use MEX or sungai besi highway . (exit near ampang there) . Bottleneck at MRR2 usually at flamingo hotel at peak hours.

for public, nearest LRT is wangsa maju or sri rampai. but no last mile transport, either have to park somewhere or take bus . (actually lot of bus here, got rapidKL bus depot somewhere near the melawati bukit mas roundabout , not sure of the timings though)
TS6996
post Jun 19 2025, 11:50 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(xUngrateful @ Jun 19 2025, 09:49 AM)
Spent my whole life in Melawati (Still here) & working in Bukit Jalil.

On Average takes me around 45 Minutes to get to the office using MRR2. Accessibility to DUKE , SUKE , SPE & AKLEH is a bonus. I can get to KLCC within 15 minutes. Groceries can be done at Melawati Mall or Giant in Taman Permata.
Both Kemensah & Melawati has gotten many new projects since Sime Darby took over.

Food is plentiful, for me i don't have to go far. Bunch of Cafe's just opened up, many quite good. I believe yes there's a few Chinese Kopitiam/Foodcourt left but unsure.

Overall i don't see myself moving away from Kemensah Heights yet but with new Condo's popping out left and right is very off putting

Just PM if you wanna know specifics.
How’s the traffic to Bukit Jalil? I work further down in Putrajaya and I think that’s my only concern

I also chose Melawati due to the greeneries and not too far from the city

TS6996
post Jun 19 2025, 11:58 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(quebix @ Jun 19 2025, 10:54 AM)
To me, Melawati is a more chilled and relaxed place to stay.
Has all the conveniences without too many negativities...
Usually convenience comes with downsides...progress comes with a price, but in Melawati, just enough progress, enough so that life is convenient but less issues. It has its own neighbourhood mall as well.

Not much leeway for new buildings/facilities to be built (for example Wangsa Maju, non-stop have some construction going on), so its nice.

If you want the hustle and bustle of city life, KL is not that far. very accessible.

you mentioned a few Chinese restaurants in that area, so i assume your are Chinese? sorry if im wrong.
Taman Melawati is pre-dominantly Malay community, with some small Chinese and Indian community.
No SJK C there, only SJK T.
So if you are OK with this, it is a nice place to stay.

If you go to Melawati Mall you can see from the shops there, it is to cater to Malay mid to high income bracket.
Yes I’m Chinese but I don’t like predominantly Chinese area such as Kuchai Lama and Cheras.

I grew up in Subang Jaya and am still living here so I like the diversity.

But surprisingly I’ve seen a lot of older Chinese traditional shop lots around the commercial area

Wondering if the original owners are still there

TS6996
post Jun 19 2025, 12:01 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jun 19 2025, 09:40 AM)
let me know if you have more specific things you want to know.
Sorry, but isn’t your post more about Setapak than Melawati? 😅

Correct me if I’m wrong and I still do appreciate the sharing
azrilyp
post Jun 19 2025, 12:01 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ Jun 19 2025, 11:50 AM)
How’s the traffic to Bukit Jalil? I work further down in Putrajaya and I think that’s my only concern

I also chose Melawati due to the greeneries and not too far from the city
If you start your journey via MRR2 by 7am or earlier, its smooth provided no accident or road works. You can reach Bkt Jalil in 30-45 mins. If your take SUKE, its even smoother but toll charges is RM6.90.

Do take consideration on how long it takes from your house to the MRR2 because if your stay in Nadayu area, do expect some delays especially during school days. If it takes you 10 mins from your house to MRR2, then its safe to start your journey by 6:45am.
TS6996
post Jun 19 2025, 12:05 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(ImAn @ Jun 19 2025, 10:26 AM)
BA is Bukit Antarabangsa?

I did look at a few projects over there and the houses look really good but still prefer melawati in the end
TS6996
post Jun 19 2025, 12:08 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Jun 19 2025, 12:01 PM)
If you start your journey via MRR2 by 7am or earlier, its smooth provided no accident or road works. You can reach Bkt Jalil in 30-45 mins. If your take SUKE, its even smoother but toll charges is RM6.90.

Do take consideration on how long it takes from your house to the MRR2 because if your stay in Nadayu area, do expect some delays especially during school days. If it takes you 10 mins from your house to MRR2, then its safe to start your journey by 6:45am.
Thank you and yea you are correct, I’m actually going to be staying around that area.

What about going back from Putrajaya or Bukit Jalil to Melawati using MEX? Will it be worse in the evening?

This post has been edited by 6996: Jun 19 2025, 12:09 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:08 PM