Chat If retire at 75 kbky?

post Jun 18 2025, 08:46 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Jun 18 2025, 09:40 AM)
Ramai anggap C19 vaccine tiada effect on life expectancy?

We are only 3-4 years post-C19 vaccination...
Don't come and spread unsubstantiated antivax stories lah!

Fact is our life expectancy today is close to 77 and is expected to rise further in the future. Malaysia is expected to be ageing population with substantial increase of population age 65 and above.
svchia78
post Jun 18 2025, 08:57 AM

976 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 18 2025, 08:46 AM)
Don't come and spread unsubstantiated antivax stories lah!

Fact is our life expectancy today is close to 77 and is expected to rise further in the future. Malaysia is expected to be ageing population with substantial increase of population age 65 and above.
What's with the butthurt biggrin.gif

I am no antivaxxer but I am not discounting that it has long terms effects on those that have been jabbed - myself included.

It has only been 2-4 years... and research on the long term effect needs years and years to compile.

This post has been edited by svchia78: Jun 18 2025, 08:57 AM
post Jun 18 2025, 09:03 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Jun 18 2025, 09:57 AM)
What's with the butthurt  biggrin.gif

I am no antivaxxer but I am not discounting that it has long terms effects on those that have been jabbed - myself included.

It has only been 2-4 years... and research on the long term effect needs years and years to compile.
Nobody know whether there's any long term effects or not but by spreading stories like this, it makes a lot of people think they will drop dead in their 60s or even earlier. If it's not based on facts, don't simply say such stuff.

Look at the official records of our country and how people today are actually living longer than our grandparents generation. Fact is Malaysia is expected to be an ageing nation and it's why the government need to do something today to prepare for what will happen in the next few years. Fact is our live expectancy has risen to close to 77 the past few years and is expected to increase further.
svchia78
post Jun 18 2025, 09:22 AM

976 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 18 2025, 09:03 AM)
Nobody know whether there's any long term effects or not but by spreading stories like this, it makes a lot of people think they will drop dead in their 60s or even earlier. If it's not based on facts, don't simply say such stuff.

Look at the official records of our country and how people today are actually living longer than our grandparents generation. Fact is Malaysia is expected to be an ageing nation and it's why the government need to do something today to prepare for what will happen in the next few years. Fact is our live expectancy has risen to close to 77 the past few years and is expected to increase further.
By drawing analogy from your "nobody know...", yeah: -

- nobody knows how long they will live in this day and age;

- nobody knows whether they will be part of the "fact this" and "fact that" you mentioned;

- nobody should be so concerned about your wellbeing but yourself - you live yours they live theirs;

- nobody should cry father cry mother if they do not have enough savings to outlive their own lives

- nobody...

- nobody...

... and the list goes own.

I understand the points you are trying to make and that's is your points of view. But not everyone thinks the same or in whatever background/ circumstances you are in that make you have those points of view.

Just because it is not a fact now doesn't mean it is not something of concern. And just because it is a fact now doesn't mean it will remain forever...

Life circumstances for everyone are different and it is not for any one of us to decide/ control.

We can sembang kencang for pages and pages here... in the end of the day we go on with each other's lives.

post Jun 18 2025, 09:30 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Jun 18 2025, 10:22 AM)
By drawing analogy from your "nobody know...", yeah: -

- nobody knows how long they will live in this day and age;

- nobody knows whether they will be part of the "fact this" and "fact that" you mentioned;

- nobody should be so concerned about your wellbeing but yourself - you live yours they live theirs;

- nobody should cry father cry mother if they do not have enough savings to outlive their own lives

- nobody...

- nobody...

... and the list goes own.

I understand the points you are trying to make and that's is your points of view. But not everyone thinks the same or in whatever background/ circumstances you are in that make you have those points of view.

Just because it is not a fact now doesn't mean it is not something of concern. And just because it is a fact now doesn't mean it will remain forever...

Life circumstances for everyone are different and it is not for any one of us to decide/ control.

We can sembang kencang for pages and pages here... in the end of the day we go on with each other's lives.
The point I am trying to make is the rise of retirement age is unavoidable and we might as well accept it instead of everyday talking bad about it when the facts is showing its not really something bad the government is doing. Any good government in the world will also do the same and basically all SEA country are moving their retirement age to go above 60. But you can see in k today, every few days got thread about this and most of the comments are negative without really thinking
svchia78
post Jun 18 2025, 10:11 AM

976 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 18 2025, 09:30 AM)
The point I am trying to make is the rise of retirement age is unavoidable and we might as well accept it instead of everyday talking bad about it when the facts is showing its not really something bad the government is doing. Any good government in the world will also do the same and basically all SEA country are moving their retirement age to go above 60. But you can see in k today, every few days got thread about this and most of the comments are negative without really thinking
You said what - It is /k .. why so serious... 😄

Many /ktards sembang kencang saja but belakang tabir lain pulak... even if those /ktards really live by what they said, nothing much we can do about it.

Coming to what the government is doing - I don't believe it is being concerned about rising life expectancy per se... The fact that they are implementing mandatory EPF contributions for foreign workers - whom will not stay here for long let alone after retirement age - is already some agenda there.

And knowing it is a fact that life expectancy has risen, what are they planning to do to improve the welfare system for the oldies? Asyik throwing money for some "causes" that do not directly benefit this nation in the pursuit of some brownie points.

Pushing the retirement age higher would lead to some deadwoods hindering progress.... and the younger generation can find what job? Don't forget AI and automation will eventually render many manual workforce redundant. You try to solve one issue (catering to longer life expectancy-related issues) but it will be at the expense of another (upcoming younger generation unable to get employment).

It is a tricky-balance for the government of the day but you must understand the concern the people (/ktards included) have on the the government-of-the-day's ability (or more accurately, inability) in many respects to handle the affairs of the country as a whole. Well, at least the people are, in that sense, thinking.

post Jun 18 2025, 10:29 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Jun 18 2025, 11:11 AM)
You said what - It is /k .. why so serious... 😄

Many /ktards sembang kencang saja but belakang tabir lain pulak... even if those /ktards really live by what they said, nothing much we can do about it.

Coming to what the government is doing - I don't believe it is being concerned about rising life expectancy per se... The fact that they are implementing mandatory EPF contributions for foreign workers - whom will not stay here for long let alone after retirement age - is already some agenda there.

And knowing it is a fact that life expectancy has risen, what are they  planning  to do to improve the welfare system for the oldies? Asyik throwing money for some "causes" that do not directly benefit this nation in the pursuit of some brownie points.

Pushing the retirement age higher would lead to some deadwoods hindering progress.... and the younger generation can find what job? Don't forget AI and automation will eventually render many manual workforce redundant. You try to solve one issue (catering to longer life expectancy-related issues) but it will be at the expense of another (upcoming younger generation unable to get employment).

It is a tricky-balance for the government of the day but you must understand the concern the people (/ktards included) have on the the government-of-the-day's ability (or more accurately, inability) in many respects to handle the affairs of the country as a whole. Well, at least the people are, in that sense, thinking.
The same reason again about youngsters replacing boomers. This is the typical mentality of youngsters who thinks the older gen are hindering their progress but in reality majority of youngsters are not capable enough. That is a fact. Those that are capable are already leading and those who are below are just not good enough yet. As for AI and automation, its something unavoidable and that is who government around the world including us are preparing for it. Even without AI and automation, how many youngsters today want to do the manual jobs. Why we have so many Banglas and Indons. Don't forget that we are going to be an ageing nation too where there will be a lot of people above 65.

You have to look at the EPF stats. How many people have the minimum 240k when they reach 55? Around 33% only. That is a very worrying sign which the government must do something today because if it's not done, we will be saddled with a large number of people who rely on the government for everything. Today it's already bad. What will happen in a decade or two? Look at our public hospitals. It's already facing problems. Imagine what will happen in a decade time when even more people rely on government hospitals.

My prediction is government will gradually increase retirement age like what Singapore is doing. First to 62/63 and later to 64/65. I think they will also follow Singapore way in monthly withdrawal and similar to Singapore way of treating foreign workers, we are doing the same thing too. So, what is Singapore government agenda? Is it a bad thing for Malaysian if foreign workers need to mandatory EPF?

As for government, no matter who is the government, there is no guarantee they will satisfy everyone.

This post has been edited by 30624770: Jun 18 2025, 10:31 AM
kons
post Jun 18 2025, 11:04 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

i have a swedish colleague in my team.

he is already 51 yo this year.

his mind is already working slower than normal.
sometimes we need to push him in order to get him to do things.

i cannot imagine people working at 70
TSsoul78
post Jun 18 2025, 06:06 PM

938 posts

Kito keno tanam... bukan sajo tuai jer asyik...

This post has been edited by soul78: Jun 18 2025, 06:06 PM
emburrar
post Jun 18 2025, 06:26 PM

14 posts

Nice la
Lel
Seawater
post Jun 18 2025, 06:43 PM

Outside looks healthy at 75, but eyes blur, joints ache, walk far says leg pain, eat food says teeth loose so cannot bite. Later government bans old folks from driving, got money also cannot spend to enjoy.
keyibukeyi
post Jun 18 2025, 06:46 PM

150 posts

never retire, posting /k everyday

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0180sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:07 AM