Msian Feels Undervalued Getting RM2.4k Salary, Even with Engineering Degree & 2 Yrs Exp

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 06:16 PM, updated 7 months ago

1,030 posts

M’sian Feels Undervalued After Getting RM2.4k Offer Despite Engineering Degree & 2 Years’ Experience
https://weirdkaya.com/msian-feels-undervalu...ars-experience/

You don’t expect riches. Just something fair.

But when a chemical engineering grad gets offered RM2.4k, even ‘reasonable’ starts to feel insulting.

A Malaysian recently took to Threads to vent their frustration after receiving a job offer that didn’t match their expectations or qualifications.

I feel so sad. They offered me RM2.4k??? I have a degree, you know,” the user wrote, expressing disbelief over the offer.

According to Vocket, they revealed that they had studied chemical engineering, a field often regarded as critical and demanding, and believed this should have warranted better pay.

To make matters worse, they had worked on a two-year contract that wasn’t renewed. They have now been unemployed for six months, with their parents covering all their expenses.

anudora
post Jun 16 2025, 06:20 PM

208 posts

Engineer=kuli.

SUSipohps3
post Jun 16 2025, 06:26 PM

1,974 posts

depends lah which field of engineering
soul78
post Jun 16 2025, 06:27 PM

944 posts

top kekk...

you finish school, go college, get degree or masters... and becoz you've done this ... you are entitled to get higher pay that makes you live better than the rest of those who doesnt have any qualifications of such?...

if the formula is just so simple, and brings you everytime to a wonderful life...there wont be beggers on the street ler...

there is no sure win formula in life... because we're living in a shared global consciousness where you alone do not dictate the outcome of your life itself but other has a hand in it.
potatolala
post Jun 16 2025, 06:28 PM

141 posts

Jump to software engineering. It is the best engineering rn.
SUSipohps3
post Jun 16 2025, 06:31 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(potatolala @ Jun 16 2025, 06:28 PM)
software/AI/IC design/firmware engineer
Slowpokeking
post Jun 16 2025, 06:35 PM

19 posts

Please do research first before taking university courses la.

Don’t take liao graduate then kbkp.
statikinetic
post Jun 16 2025, 06:36 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

"I have a degree you know"
"They have now been unemployed for six months, with their parents covering all their expenses."

Huh. I understand the problem better now.

SUSBoomwick
post Jun 16 2025, 06:37 PM

1,009 posts

Cgpa 2.5 one ? Or 4.0?

2.5 one nothing much can do lo

4.0 can have many head start

This post has been edited by Boomwick: Jun 16 2025, 06:38 PM
focusrite
post Jun 16 2025, 06:38 PM

409 posts

degrees are worthless for the most part
MR_alien
post Jun 16 2025, 06:38 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

more brain drain
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 06:40 PM

1,030 posts

Good luck competing with the hordes of zergs from both India and China alone.

Unless you're so special you're in the top 1% of your field or with strong cable connections with family owned businesses/cabal tribes.
melvin91motorola
post Jun 16 2025, 06:42 PM

349 posts

Degree means nothing in today market
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 06:42 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 16 2025, 06:38 PM)
more brain drain
Nah brain drain is not just from Malaysia.

If you're an engineer from Malaysia going abroad to find work, you'll meet even more foreigners who has same aim at you in first world countries. They have the same herd mentality as you.

End up all the sheeps walking in line to the slaughter house for meat.

knwong
post Jun 16 2025, 06:43 PM

3,572 posts

Wait what industry first …chemical engineering graduate but if work in saturated / wrong industry won’t get high pay you know
MR_alien
post Jun 16 2025, 06:44 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 06:42 PM)
Nah brain drain is not just from Malaysia.

If you're an engineer from Malaysia going abroad to find work, you'll meet even more foreigners who has same aim at you in first world countries. They have the same herd mentality as you.

End up all the sheeps walking in line to the slaughter house for meat.
it's only call a brain drain when we all wanna go search opportunities elsewhere but nobody wanna come here laugh.gif
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 06:44 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Jun 16 2025, 06:35 PM)
Please do research first before taking university courses la.

Don’t take liao graduate then kbkp.
Chemical Engineering no demand?

If like that other engineering such as Electrical Electronics, Aviation, Civil all useless already.

Those liberal arts can go die.
Slowpokeking
post Jun 16 2025, 06:47 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 06:44 PM)

If like that other engineering such as Electrical Electronics, Aviation, Civil all useless already.

Which part of the post I claimed no demand?

My point if it could be in demand, but pointless if the employer is only willing to pay 2.4K. There are chances that the supply is more than demand too which drive down the wages.
Phoenix_KL
post Jun 16 2025, 06:50 PM

158 posts

still work there

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 06:53 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Phoenix_KL @ Jun 16 2025, 06:50 PM)
still work there

sexysarah1992
post Jun 16 2025, 06:53 PM

316 posts

Conlanfirm is type M.

They are always always offered lower salaries compared to type C
Randomization
post Jun 16 2025, 06:57 PM

460 posts

Actually, I would feel the same since minimum wage is 1.7k.

Basically you just earn extra 700 compared to those without degree or doing manual labors.
gogocan
post Jun 16 2025, 06:58 PM

486 posts

regarded as critical and demanding yet no job? Kesian kena scam
fantasy1989
post Jun 16 2025, 07:05 PM

4,707 posts

related field or not? sometime i do not need your chemical knowledge pun
dark_axl21
post Jun 16 2025, 07:06 PM

TUKANG
661 posts

Just do Grab or Food Panda, why bother getting a degree.
Easy 5 figure salary monthly.
gogocan
post Jun 16 2025, 07:07 PM

486 posts

22 yes ago starting 2.8k..even with that salary cannot do much

That time condo sentul wangsa maju area like tamarind seri Maya only 300-400k.

Now our young grad being paid 2.4k??
SUStatabun
post Jun 16 2025, 07:07 PM

59 posts

why byk thy they they they.. alot ppl ke?
pandah
post Jun 16 2025, 07:12 PM

719 posts

U go out throw stone anyhow can kena degree ppl.

Lagi pun ur degree got wat special? Havard first class ke?

Taking useless degree mills wanna tokok.

You so pandai you open company hire ppl rm5k lah see you tahan or not.

amidoinitright?
sakuraboo
post Jun 16 2025, 07:14 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jun 16 2025, 06:36 PM)
"They have now been unemployed for six months, with their parents covering all their expenses."

He obviously naik pangkat to home employment

Susah downgrade now
loserguy
post Jun 16 2025, 07:16 PM

500 posts

Depends la, if this is only one company then just apply for other jobs la. If on average the guy is being offered only RM2.4k, then something is wrong somewhere.
eddystorm
post Jun 16 2025, 07:17 PM

84 posts

Degree mean nothing you know?
fist_Aileron
post Jun 16 2025, 07:24 PM

309 posts

Same with doctor graduates.. feels so entitled hahahaha. Next time، do research first thats literally what steer your whole life afterwards for most
abelyap
post Jun 16 2025, 07:36 PM

235 posts

Confirmed something wrong with the performance.
Initial salary might low due to fresh grad

But keyword is contract not being renew mean performance below expectation that employers think even 2.4k not worth it

My guess must be strawberry that expect thing given instead of work for it
blanket84
post Jun 16 2025, 07:40 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 06:44 PM)

Chemical engineering, outside petrochemical & oleochemical industries definitely no demand. A simple chemist would do the job for most other industries.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 07:45 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(abelyap @ Jun 16 2025, 07:36 PM)
Confirmed something wrong with the performance.
Initial salary might low due to fresh grad

But keyword is contract not being renew mean performance below expectation that employers think even 2.4k not worth it

My guess must be strawberry that expect thing given instead of work for it
How you know a person's performance is good a not by just looking at their resume?

Talk is cheap. You only know a person's performance during the real job itself after a certain period of time of trials.

Retrenchments is also rampant nowadays not because people are not performing when the market is saturated and depressed.

Frequent change of job is very normal these days with bosses adopting Elon's way of hire and fire madman approach.

Also there are companies who hire and provide minimal training but expect applicant to run like a pro on first week of hiring.

vassilius
post Jun 16 2025, 07:46 PM

495 posts

Kesian... 20 years ago I started with this salary, 20 years later still same. Gila stress fresh grad these days.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 07:50 PM

1,030 posts

PhD Employment Rates In China Is Almost ZERO, Pretend-to-Work Companies Emerging
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5527531

Oversupply of PhDs now in China. Malaysians think they can survive by heading overseas?

Wait till you're confronted by global competition from China and India. PhDs and Masters berlambak waiting to compete head to head with you even accepting lower salary than you expect.

Brain drain they say? Global brain supply now is over-saturated and oversupply with papermills.

The graduate market in China is at the brink of another Tiananmen event breakout with rising unemployment.
abelyap
post Jun 16 2025, 07:52 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 07:45 PM)
How you know a person's performance is good a not by just looking at their resume?

Talk is cheap. You only know a person's performance during the real job itself after a certain period of time of trials.

Retrenchments is also rampant nowadays not because people are not performing when the market is saturated and depressed.

Frequent change of job is very normal these days with bosses adopting Elon's way of hire and fire madman approach.

Also there are companies who hire and provide minimal training but expect applicant to run like a pro on first week of hiring.
U missed something? It been mentioned contract not being renew after 2 years.....
Slowpokeking
post Jun 16 2025, 07:52 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 07:50 PM)
PhD Employment Rates In China Is Almost ZERO, Pretend-to-Work Companies Emerging
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5527531

Oversupply of PhDs now in China. Malaysians think they can survive by heading overseas?

Wait till you're confronted by global competition from China and India. PhDs and Masters berlambak waiting to compete head to head with you even accepting lower salary than you expect.

Brain drain they say? Global brain supply now is over-saturated and oversupply with papermills.

The graduate market in China is at the brink of another Tiananmen event breakout with rising unemployment.
Next gen need to find jobs that AI can’t compete.

Like sex work.
SUS~min~
post Jun 16 2025, 07:53 PM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Jun 16 2025, 06:37 PM)
Cgpa 2.5 one ? Or 4.0?

2.5 one nothing much can do lo

4.0 can have many head start
Not really, if im an employer, i wouldnt takke those booksmart underlings unless they can prove to me they are more than just pointers
SUSBoomwick
post Jun 16 2025, 08:00 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(~min~ @ Jun 16 2025, 07:53 PM)
Not really, if im an employer, i wouldnt takke those booksmart underlings unless they can prove to me they are more than just pointers
Yes and no here..

The 4.0 can reflect that this fella is serious about the work he is doing.. is about attitude and character.
And his 4.0 knowledge how busuk also will be better than 2.5 fella especially in such environment where precision is very important.

If a business graduate 2.5 and 4.0, ok la.. maybe the 2.5 can talk better than the 4.0 and business got many way and method in getting stuff done.

For engineering like chemical, civil, electrical electronic.. the higher will be the better
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 08:01 PM

1,030 posts

Malaysians still think they're employable overseas with high paying jobs?

Think carefully, if the jobs is in high demand and give attractive wages you're competing against global level.

The hoards of Chinese and Indian nationals will be there ahead of you all with min postgraduate degrees qualifications willing to accept your normal bachelor's degree wage as employment.

That's the kind of rat race competition that you'd expect.
mois
post Jun 16 2025, 08:07 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

1 camp say degree is useless.
1 camp say gig work no future.

Bloody hell. Then apa youngster should do/study now?
Heroicage
post Jun 16 2025, 08:09 PM

265 posts

be "patriotic".. go find other opportunities in another country....

let them build a tongkat society

nelson969
post Jun 16 2025, 08:11 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Jun 16 2025, 07:07 PM)
22 yes ago starting 2.8k..even with that salary cannot do much

That time condo sentul wangsa maju area like tamarind seri Maya only 300-400k.

Now our young grad being paid 2.4k??
There is a saying , if they can cut corner or “legally” doing it or majority is doing it , unfortunately nothing wrong … it is free market they say
nelson969
post Jun 16 2025, 08:13 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jun 16 2025, 08:07 PM)

Lay floor dead, at least gig work grab earn above minimum wages if do grab rider 28 day per month. Problem is maintenance motor, oil and food as cost of good sold…
malz89
post Jun 16 2025, 08:15 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Jun 16 2025, 08:00 PM)
Yes and no here..

The 4.0 can reflect that this fella is serious about the work he is doing.. is about attitude and character.
And his 4.0 knowledge how busuk also will be better than 2.5 fella especially in such environment where precision is very important.

If a business graduate 2.5 and 4.0, ok la.. maybe the 2.5 can talk better than the 4.0 and business got many way and method in getting stuff done.

For engineering like chemical, civil, electrical electronic.. the higher will be the better
Yeah .. same sentiment on this. Pointer is a simple way to gauge how much effort a person willing to put for knowledge although book smart. On the other hand, a person who barely passed his degree is not worth hiring. You would be expecting half baked effort on working.

Ppl always say book smart and street smart. The fact is, if you're street smart, you wouldn't have ended with a barely passing grade. Street smarts are at least second upper not second lower or third class.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 08:19 PM

1,030 posts

It means the market is really that seriously bad and over-saturated/supplied now.

Education is becoming irrelevant to one's success.

What youngsters do?

Socmed, OF, tiktok live shows, designing creative arts earns more now.

‘Is Studying Still Worth It?’- Graduate Asks As They Earn RM2,500 While TikTok Influencer Makes More Weekly
https://weirdkaya.com/is-studying-still-wor...es-more-weekly/

A social media post comparing a fresh graduate’s RM2,500 monthly salary to the weekly earnings of a TikTok influencer has sparked heated discussions about Malaysia’s education system, job market, and the meaning of success.

The viral post, now circulating on social media, detailed how a university graduate’s first job pays only RM2,500 a month—roughly equivalent to what some influencers earn in just one week through brand collaborations.
Education system still relevant

This led many to question whether traditional education still holds value in today’s digital economy.

After studying for four years, we step into society and make RM2,500 a month. But a TikTok influencer can earn the same in a week. Is our education system still relevant?” the post read.
This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Jun 16 2025, 08:19 PM
nothomobutsuper
post Jun 16 2025, 08:21 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jun 16 2025, 06:36 PM)

Gen z and their entitlement .

You should study for knowledge . Not money .

6 month unemployed . So many way to earn money around still duduk bawah ketiak mak bapak . Topkek .

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 08:23 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 16 2025, 08:15 PM)
Yeah .. same sentiment on this. Pointer is a simple way to gauge how much effort a person willing to put for knowledge although book smart. On the other hand, a person who barely passed his degree is not worth hiring. You would be expecting half baked effort on working.

Ppl always say book smart and street smart. The fact is, if you're street smart, you wouldn't have ended with a barely passing grade. Street smarts are at least second upper not second lower or third class.
Most of my street smart friends who dropped out of college by mid life they are already successful business owners themselves. Some got pama inheritance but they are out of the job seeking markets.

That is what defined a real street smart person, they are already employers themselves in midlife while postgrads with PhDs and Masters are just fresh out of school looking for jobs.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 08:32 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(nothomobutsuper @ Jun 16 2025, 08:21 PM)

6 month unemployed  . So many way to earn money around still duduk bawah ketiak mak bapak .  Topkek .
Easy done than said but many are from wage earning families who took a loan for their education and once graduated hoping that jobs will come for them which is wrong approach.

What their mak bapak can do for them when they themselves are in the wage market earning salaries to get by?

Choices and alternatives are becoming less too with intense competition of oversupply grads in today's market.

Like what Andrew Tate once said, pay so much by taking loan to study for knowledge, your degree easily doubly inflates every year, papermills everywhere, your course becomes stale after many years not in the industry your studied..and before even your start work you're indebted to the system.

ShadowR1
post Jun 16 2025, 08:37 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

Lu tasuka, lu jangan kelija lor.
pgsiemkia
post Jun 16 2025, 08:39 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 06:16 PM)
M’sian Feels Undervalued After Getting RM2.4k Offer Despite Engineering Degree & 2 Years’ Experience
My first job as IT helpdesk also 3.3K (tak kira language, OT, shift allowances), patutla engineer too-lan 2.4K celery, study so much kena pawned by Help desk staff.

CyberSetan
post Jun 16 2025, 08:42 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 06:53 PM)

stupid pajeeet annoys Diehard Jews.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 08:42 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jun 16 2025, 08:37 PM)
Lu tasuka, lu jangan kelija lor.
The country will have wasted talents then. All those deserving and capable of the job gets rejected while those who have smooth mouth but when comes to work useless gets all the jobs.

End up very high staff turnarounds, no loyalty and appreciation by your staffs, bad reputation and lost of trust by the public in your company.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 08:45 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jun 16 2025, 08:42 PM)
stupid pajeeet annoys Diehard Jews.
The guy in bathrobe praying to Elohim, Jeet pulak bow down to the bathrobe guy.

Pajeet don't even know who is his real God.

The real God is Elohim.
party
post Jun 16 2025, 08:47 PM

816 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 16 2025, 08:15 PM)

This. Gov uni..street smart o toilet smart..if u get lower than second upper the problem is u.

Final exam is just like 30-40% of the full 100%. Ur assignment, attendance, some quiz some tis n tat can easily push u to getting B o B+.

Unless u tell me u r in course tat special like medical etc.
SUSBoomwick
post Jun 16 2025, 08:49 PM

1,009 posts

U i t m punya probably...
R0ADTAX
post Jun 16 2025, 08:51 PM

89 posts

all the rage is Trades/Skills nowadays

been hearing it for 10 years already, its still raging
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 08:52 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(nothomobutsuper @ Jun 16 2025, 08:21 PM)

6 month unemployed  . So many way to earn money around still duduk bawah ketiak mak bapak .  Topkek .
Andrew Tate has a very relevant point, if a person or candidate in an interview says that he studied a certain degree out of passion straight he will ask the clown candidate to Fk Off and throw his resume out of the window.

Make sense. That statement is to tipu bodo employers one.

Patutla many of the top scholars all want entry into medical school. You really think they want to save lives or passion in healing the unfortunate people?
You no money see if they got eye for you a not?

brkli
post Jun 16 2025, 08:53 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 16 2025, 06:26 PM)
depends lah which field of engineering
social engineering.. owai..
soul78
post Jun 16 2025, 08:55 PM

944 posts

you look at SissyP grads coming out every year...
terus jadi lie flat in mamas basement eating cup noodles now....after sending out 100s of CV and no reply.

si if you have a job that pays less, at least still got a job... just do it. Coz whats gonna happen is , if you dont want to do the job for that pay, someone down the road will do it for the same price or even cheaper...

samftrmd
post Jun 16 2025, 08:55 PM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

I pasang pc also more than that liau.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 08:56 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Jun 16 2025, 08:51 PM)
all the rage is Trades/Skills nowadays

been hearing it for 10 years already, its still raging
It has intensified more than ever compared to the past 10 years before.

Now every year paper mills are releasing millions but jobs are not keeping up with the population growth.

Do you agree civil wars and riots is slowly rising?

China, India, Indonesia all those highly populated countries it's just waiting to happen. You only have so much money creation in the market but you need to feed mouths and increase living standards of the country to satisfy voters.
wawasan2200
post Jun 16 2025, 08:57 PM

190 posts

Last time 1 degree engineer per 100,00 population get good salary

Now 1 degree engineer per 100 population you expect the same? Not saying you degree might a sampah degree
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 09:04 PM

1,030 posts

Elon Musk’s Incredible Speech on the Education System

College system is to see if you can handle stress when the school assigns you with homework to test if you can keep up with that particular subject/industry course.

Tesla hiring doesn't require you even a degree record in your resume.

The company doesn't consider going to college and having a degree a proof of exceptional ability.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 09:21 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 16 2025, 08:55 PM)
you look at SissyP grads coming out every year...
terus jadi lie flat in mamas basement eating cup noodles now....after sending out 100s of CV and no reply.

si if you have a job that pays less, at least still got a job... just do it. Coz whats gonna happen is , if you dont want to do the job for that pay, someone down the road will do it for the same price or even cheaper...
If you apply those low level menial jobs or irrelevant industry, you won't even get pass preliminary filtering.

Employers will think you're either desperate or a loser that will tarnish the reputation of their company despite your humility to start low or tryout another industry when you're unemployable in your field of study.

Not as simple as you think. End up it's almost impossible to get hired once you are in mid age with experience, with good academic records and willing to work as kuli from bottom.

The last line is true, now with the oversupply in market if you don't get the job plenty else out there will get it. Like throwing a small pinch of bread into the pond filled with fishes.
malz89
post Jun 16 2025, 09:22 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 08:23 PM)
Most of my street smart friends who dropped out of college by mid life they are already successful business owners themselves. Some got pama inheritance but they are out of the job seeking markets.

That is what defined a real street smart person, they are already employers themselves in midlife while postgrads with PhDs and Masters are just fresh out of school looking for jobs.
Those are gifted. How many succeeded? Everyone thinks by dropping out of college = success. But that's only the tip of an iceberg most of the time. With money, you can always grow money. And, thes people usually have exposure in their early life.

What I'm referring to street smart are those that put bare minimum but still doing above average compared to their peers. These are the street smart ones that work their way up in mnc. Not those 2.5 defining as street smart.

And phd and master holders are rubbish nowadays. Not everyone is equal. So easy to earn these degree nowadays. So it doesn't have value anymore.

This post has been edited by malz89: Jun 16 2025, 09:23 PM
lopo90
post Jun 16 2025, 09:30 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(anudora @ Jun 16 2025, 06:20 PM)
Engineer=kuli.
What a fucking insult wei.

We study our ass off, apply critical thinking skills to solve problems and that's all we get? 2400? And the title of kuli??

No wonder MY is having a serious brain drain!
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 09:37 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 16 2025, 09:22 PM)
Those are gifted. How many succeeded? Everyone thinks by dropping out of college = success. But that's only the tip of an iceberg most of the time. With money, you can always grow money. And, thes people usually have exposure in their early life.

What I'm referring to street smart are those that put bare minimum but still doing above average compared to their peers. These are the street smart ones that work their way up in mnc. Not those 2.5 defining as street smart.

And phd and master holders are rubbish nowadays. Not everyone is equal. So easy to earn these degree nowadays. So it doesn't have value anymore.
End up the rich business owners passing down their empires to their children and keeping their wealth intact through next generations.

Peasants will stay in the paradigms of their own segments unless a big revolution happens in the country.

What you describe money growing more money is called the Cantillon Effect even more unlikely with the Nons in this country if you come from B40 level.

smallcrab
post Jun 16 2025, 09:48 PM

140 posts

engineering graduates are more appreciated overseas
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 09:51 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Jun 16 2025, 09:48 PM)
engineering graduates are more appreciated overseas
Not today.

You're up against the large oversupply from China, India, Vietnam and Indonesia.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 09:52 PM

1,030 posts

Youth Unemployment Crisis in China Shakes Regime Trust from the People

SUSGHBZDK
post Jun 16 2025, 10:09 PM

173 posts

SE is shit if start on the wrong foot also. (like me) mega_shok.gif
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 10:11 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(GHBZDK @ Jun 16 2025, 10:09 PM)
SE is shit if start on the wrong foot also. (like me)  mega_shok.gif
Like they say everyone thinks by learning coding they can instantly become the next Zuckerberg, or Bill Gates.

All fooled by the cabalistic system.
Bill888
post Jun 16 2025, 10:22 PM

You work for people is like that, unless your own business. 😅
pakmulau
post Jun 16 2025, 10:40 PM

589 posts

company apa ni offer 2400?

kalau kerja kerajaan penolong pegawai tadbir N5 guna STPM pun boleh dapat 2400 dengan elaun

gaji 1650
elaun rumah 300
COLA 300
elaun khidmat awam 160

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 10:52 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(pakmulau @ Jun 16 2025, 10:40 PM)
company apa ni offer 2400?

kalau kerja kerajaan penolong pegawai tadbir N5 guna STPM pun boleh dapat 2400 dengan elaun

gaji 1650
elaun rumah 300
COLA 300
elaun khidmat awam 160
Habis kerajaan mampu tanggung dan menjadi majikan terbesar negara?

Setiap tahun beribu-ribu graduan keluar cari kerja. Sektor swasta pula tak henti goreng pekerja untuk mengurangkan kos operasi.
pakmulau
post Jun 16 2025, 10:58 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 10:52 PM)
Habis kerajaan mampu tanggung dan menjadi majikan terbesar negara?

Setiap tahun beribu-ribu graduan keluar cari kerja. Sektor swasta pula tak henti goreng pekerja untuk mengurangkan kos operasi.
kerajaan tak perlu jadi majikan terbesar

swasta la patut ikut ekonomi semasa

cuba banding gaji kerajaan dan swasta 20 tahun yg lepas dgn skrg
g5sim
post Jun 16 2025, 11:03 PM

5,757 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 06:16 PM)
Chemical engineering?? I heard Iran is scrambling for chemical engineers. Pls check n apply. Expat life should be luxurious. You are welcome.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 16 2025, 11:15 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jun 16 2025, 11:03 PM)
Chemical engineering?? I heard Iran is scrambling for chemical engineers. Pls check n apply. Expat life should be luxurious. You are welcome.
Ukraine also might be hiring. Why not?
kerolzarmyfanboy
post Jun 17 2025, 12:07 AM

575 posts

STEM grads, if outside of IT sectors, just don't bother working in malaysia.. go try your luck working overseas..
you're all undervalued, underappreciated by stingy local SME employers here
g5sim
post Jun 17 2025, 12:19 AM

5,757 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 11:15 PM)
Ukraine also might be hiring. Why not?
Ukraine vacancies. Iran got. Cuz Yahoddee sent them back to rahmatullah edi. Ukraine I haven't any recent vacancies.
cikalakacikaci
post Jun 17 2025, 12:20 AM

107 posts

chem engineering cannot cari makan la.Friend of mine drive Honda fd last time 4-5years back manyak gaya..got sports bike some more..grad chem eng.but now so silent sudah kena hit by reality kot 😆😆

This post has been edited by cikalakacikaci: Jun 17 2025, 12:20 AM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 17 2025, 12:28 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jun 17 2025, 12:19 AM)
Ukraine vacancies. Iran got. Cuz Yahoddee sent them back to rahmatullah edi. Ukraine I haven't any recent vacancies.
Zelensky is running short of recruits now. They are in serious shortage of engineers. Can actually try. Wages generously paid in USD.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 17 2025, 12:29 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(cikalakacikaci @ Jun 17 2025, 12:20 AM)
chem engineering cannot cari makan la.Friend of mine drive Honda fd last time  4-5years back manyak gaya..got sports bike some more..grad chem eng.but now so silent sudah kena hit by reality kot 😆😆
My ex was chem engineering. Later lost touch now married and settled down somewhere else in entirely different industry edi.
g5sim
post Jun 17 2025, 12:31 AM

5,757 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 17 2025, 12:29 AM)
My ex was chem engineering. Later lost touch now married and settled down somewhere else in entirely different industry edi.
Customer service call centre lah tu. Cakap tetang tetang je 🤣😂😂
kamfoo
post Jun 17 2025, 12:33 AM

847 posts

sell butt
spamfish
post Jun 17 2025, 02:45 AM

187 posts

uitm ka...kakakakaka
icemanfx
post Jun 17 2025, 03:16 AM

21,458 posts

Those not satisfied could work in sg, hk, DXB, DOH, etc else accept the reality.

Bill888
post Jun 17 2025, 05:43 AM

Have engineering degrees but work standard like technicians, that's why. 😅
ShadowR1
post Jun 17 2025, 08:56 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 16 2025, 08:42 PM)
The country will have wasted talents then. All those deserving and capable of the job gets rejected while those who have smooth mouth but when comes to work useless gets all the jobs.

End up very high staff turnarounds, no loyalty and appreciation by your staffs, bad reputation and lost of trust by the public in your company.
Already happening donkey years ago.
khusyairi
post Jun 17 2025, 09:22 AM

147 posts

Better work as grab driver if salary like that..
cheryee
post Jun 17 2025, 10:17 AM

7,049 posts

1) Don’t choose sampah course; and

2) Don’t choose sampah uni.

In my office, fresh grad is getting basic salary of 5K + 2 mths contractual bonus + up to 4 mths performance bonus + parking allowance. 1K annual increment up to 4 years. The 5th year will be promoted to senior post and starting from 9K basic. Senior will get 1.5K annual increment up to 4 years. The 10th year will be promoted again and starting from basic 15K. Those really performing well can fast track on the 7/8th year to get 15K basic.

We mainly hire grads from the UK (90%), UM/UKM/other foreign uni (10%).

0.0306sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:31 AM