206 posts

QUOTE(pobox @ Jun 16 2025, 03:25 PM)
Do we already have these in our assets? If no please don't buy
We have one team of FA18
Izzet
post Jun 16 2025, 03:30 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(HikayatSalju @ Jun 16 2025, 03:00 PM)
Malaysia's bid to acquire F/A-18 Hornet fighter jets from Kuwait has moved a step closer to reality following approval from the United States.

Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF) chief General Tan Sri Asghar Khan Goriman Khan confirmed today that Washington had granted the necessary clearance for the deal.

"There is positive progress (on the deal)... we have set up a committee comprising the Defence Ministry, Boeing and the Kuwaiti Air Force, and the US has granted approval for us to proceed with further discussions.

"The process will be carried out in the near future, but we also need to wait for Kuwait to receive the F/A-18 E/F Super Hornets they purchased from the US. That's a key factor.

"Once they receive the Super Hornets, then, God willing, the transfer from Kuwait to Malaysia will proceed positively. Discussions have already begun," he said at a press conference at the RMAF 67th Anniversary celebrations at the Kuantan air base.

Under the US Arms Export Control Act, all deals involving American-made arms must have the approval of the country's Congress.

This includes assets which had already been purchased by one country and is being sold to another nation.

The long-anticipated deal involves around 30 Hornets — a mix of single-seat F/A-18Cs and twin-seat F/A-18Ds — currently in service with the Kuwaiti Air Force.

Defence Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled had previously said the aircraft, originally acquired by Kuwait in the 1990s, are generally in good condition.

During his visit to Kuwait last October, he had said the Gulf nation expressed no objections to Malaysia's request to procure its Hornet jets.

Malaysia currently operates eight F/A-18D Hornets and 18 Sukhoi Su-30MKMs in its combat aircraft arsenal.

The RMAF had recently purchased 18 South Korean-made FA-50Ms to replace the RMAF's fleet of BAE Hawk 208/108 light combat aircraft and lead-in fighter trainers.

However, the FA-50M aircraft are only expected to be delivered next year.

This has also left a gap in the Multi-Role Combat Aircraft (MRCA) fleet following the retirement of its 16 Russian-made Mikoyan MiG-29N Fulcrums, seven years ago.

Plans to replace the MiG-29Ns, optimised for their air defence role, were reportedly delayed due to budgetary constraints.

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2025/06/...i-fa-18-hornets
Malaysia ke arah kuasa besar dunia
a_dot_el
post Jun 16 2025, 03:30 PM

195 posts

Nice! Maintenance for Hornets are easy.
Virlution
post Jun 16 2025, 03:31 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Mixxomon @ Jun 16 2025, 03:03 PM)
Maintenance fee, spare part, all come from Murica still right?
missiles I think all need to come from big brother... if dont listen to them they dun sell it to you

Like Pakistan cannot use F16 to fight with India
emburrar
post Jun 16 2025, 03:38 PM

14 posts

Danger zone
TRAZE99

389 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Jun 16 2025, 03:16 PM)
Very old planes
Old but good plane ...almost like Toyota Hilux. If not why our f18 is flying so long and yet we extend their life .

But all comes down to budget ,lu budget tak ada how to have new toys ?.

This post has been edited by TRAZE99: Jun 16 2025, 03:38 PM
Virlution

484 posts

Malaysia has eight two-seat F/A-18D Hornets.

Malaysia is looking to buy the Kuwaiti fighters as a “stop-gap measure” as the RMAF waits for the conclusion of its long-overdue MRCA programme. The air force is reportedly looking to establish a second Hornet squadron with some 12 single-seat fighters, increase the 18th Squadron’s existing fleet from eight to 12 airframes, and have several airframes for spares. The final number of Hornets sought will be determined in deliberations between the Malaysian and Kuwaiti governments.

The key question here is whether the acquisition of the ageing Kuwaiti jets is prudent. Expanding its fleet of Hornets on the cheap may be tempting, but it comes with the additional maintenance and servicing burden associated with a larger fleet of ageing aircraft. The Hornet represents ageing technology, which is increasingly difficult to keep relevant. Moreover, the Kuwaiti Hornets are of an earlier block, whereas the Malaysian fighters are among the last Hornets manufactured. This may cause incompatibility issues when it pertains to spare parts. In addition, the aircraft have received differing upgrades to their systems. This will compound maintenance complexity.

R0ADTAX
post Jun 16 2025, 03:40 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 16 2025, 03:17 PM)
Why we go buy 30 year old planes?
even F22 raptor is almost 30 years ago

are you losing the plot?

military equipment doesnt age the same way cars age
SUSM4A1
post Jun 16 2025, 03:41 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Jun 16 2025, 03:40 PM)

are you losing the plot?

actually it does

especially PLANE

u cant expect f18 is as good as f35 laugh.gif
Virlution
post Jun 16 2025, 03:42 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(TRAZE99 @ Jun 16 2025, 03:38 PM)
Old but good plane ...almost like Toyota Hilux. If not why our f18 is flying so long and yet we extend their life .

But all comes down to budget ,lu budget tak ada how to have new toys ?.
Meanwhile.....

In 2017 Malaysia retired its MiG-29 fighter aircraft due to significant maintenance challenges and high operational costs

RMAF had 18 MiG-29 aircraft in its inventory. However, two were lost in separate crashes, and the remaining ten were retired in 2017 due to high maintenance costs. The RMAF has now grounded its MiG-29s and is evaluating options for a light combat aircraft (LCA) to replace them.

In 2018, the Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF) Sukhoi Su-30MKM fleet was significantly reduced due to maintenance and spare parts problems. Reports indicated that out of the 18 aircraft, only 4 were operational, with the rest grounded for repairs and maintenance. This reduction was revealed by the Malaysian Defense Minister, who cited engine issues and a lack of spare parts as the primary reasons for the grounding
Wedchar2912
post Jun 16 2025, 03:42 PM

3,681 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Jun 16 2025, 03:40 PM)

are you losing the plot?

I think you r the one missing the plot. 30 years old used planes. And not from America directly. Hmmmmm.
R0ADTAX
post Jun 16 2025, 03:45 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Jun 16 2025, 03:41 PM)
actually it does

especially PLANE

u cant expect f18 is as good as f35  laugh.gif
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 16 2025, 03:42 PM)
I think you r the one missing the plot. 30 years old used planes. And not from America directly. Hmmmmm.
f 18 is the most used and most reliable fighter jets in the world surpassing even the newer su30 in our inventory, i dont know why you guys equate old = bad when in reality its logistic that is king in term of aviation

Raddus
post Jun 16 2025, 03:46 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(mac_mac21 @ Jun 16 2025, 03:05 PM)
Mean kuwait need to replace it with China fighter??
Kuwait is replacing it with new super hornets
red_satu
post Jun 16 2025, 03:48 PM

38 posts

We have eight two-seat F/A-18Ds that has been in operation since the 90s. Kuwait only has a few of the same type of plane, which we will get, but we will also get some (all?) of their F/A-18C single-seat plane, which will be somewhat new for us.
poooky
post Jun 16 2025, 03:49 PM

844 posts

What a waste of funds. Better to spend on drones and missiles.
ye0073
post Jun 16 2025, 03:51 PM

480 posts

Meanwhile, Taiwan bought F16.
post Jun 16 2025, 03:51 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(lahanat @ Jun 16 2025, 04:10 PM)
ATSC la banggang
You really think it’s like car can service sendiri without paying anything to the manufacturer?

ATSC is to service the Russian jets lah
lahanat
post Jun 16 2025, 03:53 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 16 2025, 03:51 PM)
You really think it’s like car can service sendiri without paying anything to the manufacturer?

ATSC is to service the Russian jets lah
you think ATSC can only service the russian?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0154sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:45 PM