[review]Thermalright IFX 14, king of aircooling

TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 09:26 PM, updated 18y ago

4,809 posts

Well, here is my second heatsink review on Lowyat.net. hope it is comprehensive enough. enjoy!

Technical Specs.

Heatsink Body
- Dimension : L146.2 x W124 x H161 mm (heatsink only)
- Weigh t: 790g (heatsink only)
- Recommended Fan : All 120mm & 140mm Fan

Back-side Heatsink
- Dimension : L134.5 x W163.5 x H112.6 mm (heatsink only)
- Weight : 130g (heatsink only)
- Recommended Fan : All 80mm & 70mm Fan

Compatibility
- INTEL: All Intel Socket LGA775 processors
- AMD: Athlon64 / FX / X2 / Opteron Socket AM2 processors

My First Impressions :

I got this HUGE brown box. it is approximately 2 -3times bigger than my Thermalright Ultima 90i box.Like i've stated before, Thermalright ship all their product in this clean and simple designed box. The beasts' home :

another nice big brown box!

Installation manual

like other Thermalright heatsinks, they are nicely seated in a thick layer of foam to prevent damage.

other accessories included

the beast

the HR-10!

Inferno designed fins

and of course the sexy heatpipes

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 12 2007, 09:27 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 09:26 PM

4,809 posts

you can clearly see the inferno design here smile.gif

here it is compared to the Ultima 90i. The size difference is massive

can you spot the Scythe Infinity? well the IFX14 is obviously bigger smile.gif

here it is in action!

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 12 2007, 09:48 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 09:26 PM

4,809 posts

Test Bed:

Processor: Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.2GHz @ 1.35 vcore
Motherboard: Asus Maximus Formula Special Edition
RAM Module: Team Xtreem DDR2 Special OPB Edition (Micron D9GMH)
Graphic Card: Galaxy 7300GT
Power Supply Unit : Silverstone Decathlon 850W
Hard Disk: Western Digital 36Gb Raptor
Operating System : Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2

Testhing Materials Used :
1. Artic Cooling MX-2
2. Silverstone FM 123 (120mm) at 1750 RPM
3. NMB 90mm fan at 2000 RPM

Testing Methods Used :
1. Each Heat Sink is tested twice(cool down is 5 minutes between each test), the average results is taken as the result.
2. The same amount and type of Thermal Paste used is kept constant for all Heat Sinks used
3. All Heat Sinks are tested with the same fans (excluding the Ultima 90i tested with a 90mm fan and the Water Cooling setup)
4. A Thermal Probe is placed at the edge of the CPU to retrieve the temperature. The Thermal Probe ensures accuracy in Temperature reading.
5. Load test were done by running ORTHOS Small FFT test priority 8 for 20 minutes. Ambient temp prior every test was be measured.

Installation :
This was a relatively easy process. It only took me 10 minutes to assemble everything on my motherboard. The fit was very good too smile.gif

The Results :

Conclusion:
The Thermalright IFX14 is an outrageous performer. The temperature readings that were taken when the thermalpaste did not sink in yet as to compared to the custom made watercooling.
Also, it was super easy to install in case anyone is wondering. the HR-10 backplate did make a difference for me, so its not a marketing thing.
Oh yes, the fins were NOT as sharp as the Ultima which made installation a tad bit easier.

Pros :
-Outstanding performer in its class
-Includes dual clips for 2 X 120mm fan installation
-Came in a very well packed box
-HR-10 is a definite plus to me. it made a difference
-It is able to run silent too with Low RPM fans as the temperature only differed slightly (not shown in results)

Cons:
-Might be a tad bit expensive for some
-Might not fit into all cases. it is pretty big

I award this Heatsink with an outstanding 9/10

A special thanks to InterAsia for providing me with this one of a kind HSF.

A special thanks to Shawty for the MX-2 Thermalpaste

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 12 2007, 09:44 PM
bryanyeo87
post Nov 12 2007, 09:48 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

where to purchase this sink in KL?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 09:50 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Nov 12 2007, 09:48 PM)
where to purchase this sink in KL?
bulk orders have them
LYp too smile.gif
gengstapo
post Nov 12 2007, 09:52 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

its nice HSf, but damn large for my case..

btw, does the fRee thermal interface doin' good job?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2007, 10:09 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Nov 12 2007, 09:52 PM)
its nice HSf, but damn large for my case..

btw, does the fRee thermal interface doin' good job?
haha i regret to say i did not use it sad.gif
i shall do one soon specially for you k? biggrin.gif

btw, it cudnt fit in the Lian Li PC A05 either

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 12 2007, 10:09 PM
gengstapo
post Nov 12 2007, 10:14 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 12 2007, 10:09 PM)
haha i regret to say i did not use it sad.gif
i shall do one soon specially for you k? biggrin.gif

btw, it cudnt fit in the Lian Li PC A05 either
what u mean there? isnt this unit been given to u or just doin' some review?

hmm i doubt i can fit into any case if the back plate IFX(smaller HSf there) fix together
sHawTY
post Nov 12 2007, 11:19 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 12 2007, 09:26 PM)
A special thanks to Shawty for the MX-2 Thermalpaste
Ehehehe.
Thanks for mentioning my name mate. laugh.gif

seanl
post Nov 13 2007, 10:02 AM

734 posts

i'm surprised at how effective the HR-10 is, good job mate.

so the ifx does fit the Maximus Formula....
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 13 2007, 12:23 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Nov 12 2007, 10:14 PM)
what u mean there? isnt this unit been given to u or just doin' some review?

hmm i doubt i can fit into any case if the back plate IFX(smaller HSf there) fix together
no im saying that i didnt use the thermal paste provided smile.gif
LExus65
post Nov 14 2007, 02:35 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

this make me wander should i go for water cooling or stick to this ifx14....... but this sink really incredibly well made when i have a good touch of it at interasia show room......

TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 14 2007, 05:10 PM

4,809 posts

honestly, i would say go for this
but then again i think my WC kit is kinda dirty. maybe a fresh new one will give me better yields
intothefantasy
post Nov 14 2007, 06:46 PM

1,561 posts

this better or ultra extreme 120 better leh?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 15 2007, 11:31 AM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Nov 14 2007, 06:46 PM)
this better or ultra extreme 120 better leh?
going to get one soon to compare.
but based on what i've seen hands on, i d think its better. that this is a comparison with the Ultra 120, not the Ultra 120 Extreme
intothefantasy
post Nov 15 2007, 03:10 PM

1,561 posts

i saw a review on web abt this IFX 14 says that the below part is not rata....cant make full contact on proc...

http://www.xsreviews.co.uk/reviews/cpu-coo...right-ifx-14/4/
E-J@1
post Nov 15 2007, 03:59 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Nov 15 2007, 03:10 PM)
i saw a review on web abt this IFX 14 says that the below part is not rata....cant make full contact on proc...

LOL, every cooler in the world --> their base is not 'rata'

that's the TIM are for
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 15 2007, 09:19 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Nov 15 2007, 03:10 PM)

thats for sure. but then again remember the IHS on ur proc isnt flat either smile.gif
blackshirt
post Nov 15 2007, 10:03 PM

Goodwell Car Detailer
1,313 posts

Great job bro, still lots of thing to go brows.gif
intothefantasy
post Nov 15 2007, 10:12 PM

1,561 posts

yea...btw i just wan to know either this better or extreme 120 better
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 19 2007, 07:42 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

How does it compare with Ultra-120 Extreme?... Damn... Im selling my BigTyp for this baby...

Added on November 19, 2007, 8:15 pmI saw some review saying Ultra-120 Extreme performs better than the IFX-14

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 19 2007, 08:15 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 20 2007, 11:09 AM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 19 2007, 07:42 PM)
How does it compare with Ultra-120 Extreme?... Damn... Im selling my BigTyp for this baby...

Added on November 19, 2007, 8:15 pmI saw some review saying Ultra-120 Extreme performs better than the IFX-14
hhe i will confirm that with you in the next coming week smile.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 20 2007, 11:10 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

Thanks dude... Im getting either IFX-14 or Ultra-120 depending on the performance next week.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 20 2007, 11:10 AM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 21 2007, 01:17 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 20 2007, 11:10 AM)
Thanks dude... Im getting either IFX-14 or Ultra-120 depending on the performance next week.. biggrin.gif
if u ask me go for the ultra.
smaller in size. smile.gif
the diff also wont be that much
maybe around 5 degrees at the most
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 21 2007, 01:36 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

I see... I'm getting the IFX-14 tomorrow anyways... thx for ur advice... biggrin.gif
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 21 2007, 04:19 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 21 2007, 01:36 PM)
I see... I'm getting the IFX-14 tomorrow anyways... thx for ur advice... biggrin.gif
remember to pair it with 2 Fm123 smile.gif
irenic
post Nov 21 2007, 04:32 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

nice review~! btw i wonder why at only 1.35vcore, stock intel hsf failed the load test.. i used lots of c2d e6600 before and under hotter ambient temp and higher vcore, they were still manage to complete the load test.. what test did u used? in case i miss it.. unsure.gif

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Nov 14 2007, 02:35 PM)
this make me wander should i go for water cooling or stick to this ifx14....... but this sink really incredibly well made when i have a good touch of it at interasia show room......
a great heatsink might has on par performance with wc.. but bear in mind that in certain cases, like a very hot day, poor ventilated case, and dusty heatsinks will degrade the performance of the heatsink a lot.. compare to wc where the effect of these cases is not so big..

This post has been edited by irenic: Nov 21 2007, 04:33 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 21 2007, 04:37 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 21 2007, 04:32 PM)
nice review~! btw i wonder why at only 1.35vcore, stock intel hsf failed the load test.. i used lots of  c2d e6600 before and under hotter ambient temp and higher vcore, they were still manage to complete the load test.. what test did u used? in case i miss it..  unsure.gif
a great heatsink might has on par performance with wc.. but bear in mind that in certain cases, like a very hot day, poor ventilated case, and dusty heatsinks will degrade the performance of the heatsink a lot.. compare to wc where the effect of these cases is not so big..
i think its cause i didnt put the thermalpaste properly
caus ei realized the contact was not good, and everest gave me warnings that it was touching around 70++
so i considered it as it cudnt handle it. =/

irenic
post Nov 21 2007, 04:43 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 21 2007, 04:37 PM)
i think its cause i didnt put the thermalpaste properly
caus ei realized the contact was not good, and everest gave me warnings that it was touching around 70++
so i considered it as it cudnt handle it. =/
haha well i dun think many c2d user here is using stock intel hsf.. but when u stated it as too hot and cant handle it.. somehow it showed that the problem is from the heatsink.. not from the thermal paste or any outside factor.. if that's the reason lah..

for me, i'm pretty sure the stock intel hsf is gud enuff to handle voltage until 1.375vcore... considering the IHS of the processor is not concave.. more than that is ok.. but of coz endangering ur cpu lifespan and limiting the oc..
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 21 2007, 05:12 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 21 2007, 04:43 PM)
haha well i dun think many c2d user here is using stock intel hsf.. but when u stated it as too hot and cant handle it.. somehow it showed that the problem is from the heatsink.. not from the thermal paste or any outside factor.. if that's the reason lah.. 

for me, i'm pretty sure the stock intel hsf is gud enuff to handle voltage until 1.375vcore... considering the IHS of the processor is not concave.. more than that is ok.. but of coz endangering ur cpu lifespan and limiting the  oc..
it is enough to handle the temps, but if we're looking at long term usage, the life span is definitely going down smile.gif
thats why we need these 3rd party stuff
dont worry, im going to redo the testing. im somewhat no convinced that this is the max performance out of this beast.

oh yeah, hey sorry for the misunderstand, i didnt bother explaining why the stock hsf failed. thought everyone's focus was on the 3rd party heatsinks biggrin.gif
irenic
post Nov 21 2007, 05:23 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 21 2007, 05:12 PM)
it is enough to handle the temps, but if we're looking at long term usage, the life span is definitely going down smile.gif
thats why we need these 3rd party stuff
dont worry, im going to redo the testing. im somewhat no convinced that this is the max performance out of this beast.

oh yeah, hey sorry for the misunderstand, i didnt bother explaining why the stock hsf failed. thought everyone's focus was on the 3rd party heatsinks biggrin.gif
hehe no prob dude.. as i said, i dun think there are many stock intel hsf users around~ smile.gif
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 21 2007, 05:23 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 21 2007, 05:23 PM)
hehe no prob dude.. as i said, i dun think there are many stock intel hsf users around~ smile.gif
haha but thanks. this is good that you ask so that people know why i put failed there biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 21 2007, 06:05 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

cant wait for the new results, multiple test results compiled for comparison produces better accuracy especially those that are making decisions based on them smile.gif
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 21 2007, 06:10 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 21 2007, 06:05 PM)
cant wait for the new results, multiple test results compiled for comparison produces better accuracy especially those that are making decisions based on them smile.gif
the results here are actually multiple tests.
just that i too the average as the diff was only +/-2 degrees smile.gif
but in any case, the next one will be more detailed. you have my word on that
clawhammer
post Nov 21 2007, 06:14 PM

///M
8,788 posts

What's a good fan to go with it and something which isn't noisy?
I heard Panaflo is good but anything else?
wodenus
post Nov 21 2007, 06:18 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Hm... yea what about the weight, does it flex the board ? how does it compare to the Ultra-120 Extreme ? what's the price going to be like ? smile.gif

Added on November 21, 2007, 7:12 pm
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Nov 21 2007, 06:14 PM)
S-Flex seems to get really good results in reviews (not sure whether it's available here or not though.)

This post has been edited by wodenus: Nov 21 2007, 07:27 PM
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 21 2007, 07:39 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

They have custom mounting.. I dont think it will flex the mobo..
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 21 2007, 09:59 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Nov 21 2007, 06:14 PM)
honestly, im in love with my Fm123.
i have a 38mm panaflow around. silent as ever, but i somehow dont like the deep whining sound it makes.
but no doubt about it. Panaflows own.

QUOTE(wodenus @ Nov 21 2007, 06:18 PM)
Hm... yea what about the weight, does it flex the board ? how does it compare to the Ultra-120 Extreme ? what's the price going to be like ? smile.gif

Added on November 21, 2007, 7:12 pm

S-Flex seems to get really good results in reviews (not sure whether it's available here or not though.)
no it doesnt flex the board (not my baby anyways smile.gif )
the ultra 120 extreme is coming in next week actually, so keep your eyes open. ill do a direct comparison, and if allowed, some ghetto stuff
S-flex are good. but expensive smile.gif

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 21 2007, 07:39 PM)
They have custom mounting.. I dont think it will flex the mobo..
custom mounting doesnt really deny the fact that it may just bend the board, but the mounting bracket does help reduce it smile.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 22 2007, 06:40 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

My IFX-14 biggrin.gif....

Inside the box..
The coolers...
The Inferno eXtinguisher biggrin.gif

Here it is after installing...

Haven get the fans yet.... The idle temp is 44C...

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 22 2007, 06:41 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 22 2007, 07:14 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 22 2007, 06:40 PM)
My IFX-14 biggrin.gif....

bro make sure u pasang the thermal pads properly smile.gif

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 22 2007, 07:15 PM
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 22 2007, 07:28 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 22 2007, 07:14 PM)
[/spoiler]
bro make sure u pasang the thermal pads properly smile.gif
Oh yea... Its a pain in the *** to install it ... rclxub.gif The idle temp is quite high.... Buying a fan tomorrow ... Can fit a normal 12cmx12cm fan in between it rite?.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 22 2007, 07:30 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 22 2007, 09:45 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 22 2007, 07:28 PM)
Oh yea... Its a pain in the *** to install it ...  rclxub.gif The idle temp is quite high.... Buying a fan tomorrow ... Can fit a normal 12cmx12cm fan in between it rite?..  smile.gif
yes but they only give 2 clips.
id suggest get the Fm123
one of the best fans ive ever used

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Nov 22 2007, 09:45 PM
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 23 2007, 08:43 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

Want 2 get a 200+cfm fan but ... Scared that its too noisy...
AceCombat
post Nov 23 2007, 01:39 PM

5,434 posts

it will be damn noisy.

now i took off all my 200cfm fan already.

anyway,TS,
u never show us one thing,how flat is the base surface.

u'll be shocked to know when u go and check it out.
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 23 2007, 06:03 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 23 2007, 01:39 PM)
it will be damn noisy.

anyway,TS,

Wat base surface? .... U mean the base of the heatsink?... Its pretty rough.. 1 question is the backside cooler suppose to be cold?... i touch it and its not even warm...

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 23 2007, 06:29 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 23 2007, 10:43 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 23 2007, 01:39 PM)
it will be damn noisy.

anyway,TS,

yeah but one thing.
totally flat bases and C2d? smile.gif
if im not wrong there is a little conflict here
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 24 2007, 09:27 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

huh?... flat bases?... Confused doh.gif
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 24 2007, 10:12 AM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 24 2007, 09:27 AM)
huh?... flat bases?... Confused doh.gif
what ace is trying to say is that the IFX14's base is FLAT
i agreed with him too. it is much flatter than my ultima which actually suprises me
the thing is, the C2D IHS isnt exactly flat, so thats why some manufacturers purposely make sure its not totally flat
thats was what i was told some time back
cekutz
post Nov 24 2007, 10:14 AM

291 posts

a pretty heavy cooler..but ThermalRight always deliver..probably the best air cooling solution available...
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 24 2007, 10:59 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 24 2007, 10:12 AM)
what ace is trying to say is that the IFX14's base is FLAT
i agreed with him too. it is much flatter than my ultima which actually suprises me
the thing is, the C2D IHS isnt exactly flat, so thats why some manufacturers purposely make sure its not totally flat
thats was what i was told some time back
which part is the base? lolz... blush.gif
ch_tan
post Nov 24 2007, 11:09 AM

14 posts

for best performance use high gred thick thermalpaste like chill factor or as 5 , thermal pad is a no no...
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 24 2007, 11:20 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(ch_tan @ Nov 24 2007, 11:09 AM)
for best performance use high gred thick thermalpaste like chill factor or as 5 , thermal pad is a no no...
using AC MX-2
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 24 2007, 02:39 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 24 2007, 10:59 AM)
which part is the base? lolz...  blush.gif
the part that comes in contact with your proc? haha
dude, where have you been la!?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 24 2007, 02:40 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(ch_tan @ Nov 24 2007, 11:09 AM)
as much as i like thermalright, i dont feel Chill factor is that good of a thermal paste as to compared with AS5 and MX2
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 24 2007, 10:11 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 24 2007, 02:39 PM)
the part that comes in contact with your proc? haha
dude, where have you been la!?
lolz... <--- blur ... I thought all of the HSF have flat base?....

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 24 2007, 10:12 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 24 2007, 11:54 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 24 2007, 10:11 PM)
lolz... <--- blur ... I thought all of the HSF have flat base?....
yeah but not all are that flat
thats why you lapped your TT BT VX didnt you?
clawhammer
post Nov 25 2007, 01:21 AM

///M
8,788 posts

It's pretty hard to tell how flat it is from our eyes but yes, some of them aren't flat - like our CPU's biggrin.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 25 2007, 09:17 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 24 2007, 11:54 PM)
yeah but not all are that flat
thats why you lapped your TT BT VX didnt you?
I c... that means i dont have 2 lap my ifx-14 ... lol smile.gif

Added on November 25, 2007, 9:18 amAnyway how do i mount the 120x38mm fan in the middle?...

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 25 2007, 09:18 AM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 25 2007, 11:14 AM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 25 2007, 09:17 AM)
I c... that means i dont have 2 lap my ifx-14 ... lol  smile.gif

Added on November 25, 2007, 9:18 amAnyway how do i mount the 120x38mm fan in the middle?...
just use one of the fan clips? lol
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 25 2007, 12:04 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 25 2007, 11:14 AM)
just use one of the fan clips? lol
Need 2 clip top and bottom?... They only have 2 clips...

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 25 2007, 12:06 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 25 2007, 08:43 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 25 2007, 12:04 PM)
Need 2 clip top and bottom?... They only have 2 clips...
like the pictures in my review, there are a total of 4 fan clips correct?
but if im not wrong, using a 38MM fan might be a prob as i think it might not fit
u just need 2 clips to hold it by its side and clip it to the holes provided on the heatsink, both at the top and bottom.

that should be bout it. i wanted to post up a guide, but its of no use because the manual that came with it is good enough
Liuteva
post Nov 26 2007, 08:46 AM

Empty.
2,991 posts

If use this cooler on stand motherboard. Will bend the motherboard?
clawhammer
post Nov 26 2007, 10:58 AM

///M
8,788 posts

Liuteva, according to some owners, it wouldn't and this cooler only weights about 0.8kg despite being large in size.
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 26 2007, 05:01 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

Wat fan can u fit in the middle of the ifx-14?... without the top bulging out and no air leaks...

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 26 2007, 05:01 PM
Liuteva
post Nov 28 2007, 06:13 AM

Empty.
2,991 posts

If this setup on a stand up mobo, will it bend the mobo?

This post has been edited by Liuteva: Nov 28 2007, 06:13 AM
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 28 2007, 08:30 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

Nope it won't... Its not that heavy... Considering how many screws u have to hold ur motherboard to ur case...

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Nov 28 2007, 08:30 AM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 28 2007, 10:29 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(Liuteva @ Nov 28 2007, 06:13 AM)
If this setup on a stand up mobo, will it bend the mobo?
highly doubt that it will ever happen.
though i wouldnt consider this HSF that light either.
haha but given its size, yeah u can say its kinda light.
depends on how you look at it smile.gif
maxwell
post Nov 29 2007, 07:16 PM

104 posts

may i know will it fit into cm 690 casing?
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 29 2007, 08:53 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

You have to measure it... And be sure to check whether u can fit the backside cooler...
TSDaRkSyThE
post Nov 29 2007, 10:30 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(maxwell @ Nov 29 2007, 07:16 PM)
may i know will it fit into cm 690 casing?
shudnt be a prob smile.gif
silentnitez
post Dec 1 2007, 10:21 PM

Silentz
1,051 posts

this moster can put in my casing ma?TJ06...
TSDaRkSyThE
post Dec 1 2007, 11:03 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(silentnitez @ Dec 1 2007, 10:21 PM)
this moster can put in my casing ma?TJ06...
Tj06 definitely can

those FUll ATX wont have a prob
its those cases like the PCA05 that might have tight fits
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 2 2007, 09:21 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

But the backside cooler may not fit =.=....
silentnitez
post Dec 2 2007, 08:19 PM

Silentz
1,051 posts

is it Thermalright IFX 14 come with backside cooler also?how much ar....the price?
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 2 2007, 09:08 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(silentnitez @ Dec 2 2007, 08:19 PM)
is it Thermalright IFX 14 come with backside cooler also?how much ar....the price?
Around RM290+ on the market... It comes with the backside cooler...

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Dec 2 2007, 09:08 PM
Punish
post Dec 3 2007, 05:58 AM

2,023 posts

where can i buy those Silverstone FM 123 fan..??

how much izzit..??

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Dec 3 2007, 05:59 AM
wodenus
post Dec 3 2007, 12:25 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Dec 3 2007, 05:58 AM)

how much izzit..??

GTG
Thundermatch LYP top floor. Maybe if you post a WTB in Garage Sales someone will sell one to you,

Added on December 3, 2007, 12:41 pmStill curious to know how it compares to the Ultra-120 Extreme.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 3 2007, 12:41 PM
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 3 2007, 12:55 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Dec 3 2007, 05:58 AM)

how much izzit..??

GTG
Silverstone FM123 fan is around RM65 ...
wodenus
post Dec 5 2007, 12:55 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 22 2007, 07:28 PM)
Oh yea... Its a pain in the *** to install it ...  rclxub.gif The idle temp is quite high.... Buying a fan tomorrow ... Can fit a normal 12cmx12cm fan in between it rite?..  smile.gif
TR's large sinks seem to be a PITA to install most times... you have to use a lot of pressure.
clayclws
post Dec 10 2007, 08:49 AM

2,659 posts

Hmm...now, just wondering, will this fit into a Cooler Master Praetorian? Mine fits Zalman CNPS9700NT last time, but this is one huge monster...FM123 fan is mighty expensive, but if darksythe recommends it, well, it's all good. 3rd party heatsink needs a 4th party fan and 5th party thermal paste? This is getting really out of hand...well, enthusiasts rejoice~!
mADmAN
post Dec 10 2007, 06:17 PM

10,530 posts

actually i think TR needs to find a better aka more convenient mounting mechanism for their heatsinks man.

i just got the IFX-14 myself...mounting it aint that bad...removal should be easy as well...... especially when compared to my old XP-120

the XP-120 aint just a PITA.... pain on the fingers too! doh.gif

EDIT: forgot to mention.... using 1x Vizo UV LED fan on my IFX.....mounted it in the middle on the front radiator (sucks from the front radiator and blow to the rear radiator)

temps seem ok so far thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 10 2007, 06:19 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Dec 10 2007, 10:34 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 10 2007, 06:17 PM)
actually i think TR needs to find a better aka more convenient mounting mechanism for their heatsinks man.

i just got the IFX-14 myself...mounting it aint that bad...removal should be easy as well...... especially when compared to my old XP-120

the XP-120 aint just a PITA.... pain on the fingers too! doh.gif

EDIT: forgot to mention.... using 1x Vizo UV LED fan on my IFX.....mounted it in the middle on the front radiator (sucks from the front radiator and blow to the rear radiator)

temps seem ok so far thumbup.gif
welcome to the club bro
awaiting some new hardware to throw this into now.

still running my good ol' WC system in my current rig><

IcEMoCHa
post Dec 12 2007, 01:02 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

=.=... IFX-14 can fit which mobo?... my bad axe2 go heaven adi... what do u recommend for RM1000 budget?...

Added on December 12, 2007, 1:03 pmWarning: The IFX-14 Mounting is metal and its quite sharp... My old mobo shorted because of it.... It scratch my mobo and shorted the circuits...

Added on December 12, 2007, 3:46 pmDarksythe bro ur formula maximus special edition got problem mounting the ifx-14 horizontally?... wats the diff between special and non special edition?

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Dec 12 2007, 03:47 PM
clayclws
post Dec 12 2007, 11:23 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Dec 12 2007, 01:02 PM)
=.=...  IFX-14 can fit which mobo?... my bad axe2 go heaven adi... what do u recommend for RM1000 budget?...

Darksythe bro ur formula maximus special edition got problem mounting the ifx-14 horizontally?... wats the diff between special and non special edition?

One has a fan and another has a waterblock for the northbridge.

Added on December 12, 2007, 11:24 pmWith that budget, I think you can a really good motherboard. Asus's Maximus Formula is a good recommendation.

This post has been edited by clayclws: Dec 12 2007, 11:24 PM
TSDaRkSyThE
post Dec 12 2007, 11:56 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Dec 12 2007, 01:02 PM)
=.=...  IFX-14 can fit which mobo?... my bad axe2 go heaven adi... what do u recommend for RM1000 budget?...

Added on December 12, 2007, 1:03 pmWarning: The IFX-14 Mounting is metal and its quite sharp...  My old mobo shorted because of it.... It scratch my mobo and shorted the circuits...

Added on December 12, 2007, 3:46 pmDarksythe bro ur formula maximus special edition got problem mounting the ifx-14 horizontally?... wats the diff between special and non special edition?
er the IFX can fit all AM2 and LGA775 sockets
what happened la? how did it scratch it? mine didnt. dont get how yours is sharp and mine isnt. need madman to confirm this

[o f f t o p i c]
get a foxconn mars. but wait for my review first smile.gif
irenic
post Dec 13 2007, 12:04 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

this heatsink is nice, but do u think it can fit into normal chapalang case?

ermm waiting for ur mars review.. i just grabbed one myself biggrin.gif
clayclws
post Dec 13 2007, 01:05 AM

2,659 posts

Just wondering Darksythe...Ianho mentioned that positioning a 38mm fan between the Two Towers drool.gif is the best way to setup this monstrous beast. What is your take on this?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Dec 13 2007, 09:47 AM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 13 2007, 01:05 AM)
Just wondering Darksythe...Ianho mentioned that positioning a 38mm fan between the Two Towers  drool.gif is the best way to setup this monstrous beast. What is your take on this?
yeah thats a good idea but then you'd be sucking hot air from one tower and blowing it to the other.
i tried 2 fans something like this

F || ||F
A || ||A
N || ||N

thats the best for me so far
clayclws
post Dec 13 2007, 05:23 PM

2,659 posts

So, you put a fan on each side of the tower for a push-pull configuration and not in between? How do you mount the two fans when you only get a pair of fan clips and a pair anti-vibration clips? Bought it somewhere?
clawhammer
post Dec 13 2007, 05:59 PM

///M
8,788 posts

I believe both fans are pushing out to the rear exhaust fan of the casing? This should work well?
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 13 2007, 06:11 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 12 2007, 11:56 PM)
er the IFX can fit all AM2 and LGA775 sockets
what happened la? how did it scratch it? mine didnt. dont get how yours is sharp and mine isnt. need madman to confirm this

[o f f  t o p i c]
get a foxconn mars. but wait for my review first smile.gif
probably scratched bcuz i took it out and put back in too many times.... eh but foxconn mars is using p35 chipset... i thought x38 better ? hmm.gif
mADmAN
post Dec 13 2007, 06:13 PM

10,530 posts

mocha..how u know ur mobo short wan?

can turn on the PC or not?
clayclws
post Dec 13 2007, 06:18 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 13 2007, 05:59 PM)
I believe both fans are pushing out to the rear exhaust fan of the casing? This should work well?
Yes, push-pull means:

<---airflow--- FAN2 ||| IFX-14 ||| FAN1 <---airflow---

Fan 1 pushes the air towards IFX-14 while fan 2 pulls the air from IFX-14 to the rear exhaust fan of the casing. Need help in mounting 2 fans sine they only give a pair of fan clips and anti-vibrators...Anyone knows where to get these parts?
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 13 2007, 06:20 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 13 2007, 06:13 PM)
mocha..how u know ur mobo short wan?

can turn on the PC or not?
i think shud b short lor... now i cant turn it on... cry.gif
clayclws
post Dec 13 2007, 06:21 PM

2,659 posts

BTW, the thermalpaste provided by Thermalright...is it not good enough? Why is everyone using MX2?
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 13 2007, 06:24 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 13 2007, 06:18 PM)
Yes, push-pull means:

Fan 1 pushes the air towards IFX-14 while fan 2 pulls the air from IFX-14 to the rear exhaust fan of the casing. Need help in mounting 2 fans sine they only give a pair of fan clips and anti-vibrators...Anyone knows where to get these parts?
hmm mine has 3 fans all pushing 1 direction... like this... <--o|||<--o |||<---o ... And a 4cm fan blowing the backside cooler... getting around 37C at idle and 46C at load @ 3.4GHz E6600...

Added on December 13, 2007, 6:25 pm
QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 13 2007, 06:21 PM)
BTW, the thermalpaste provided by Thermalright...is it not good enough? Why is everyone using MX2?
They only give the normal thermal paste... Not those high performance ones...

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Dec 13 2007, 06:25 PM
clawhammer
post Dec 13 2007, 06:28 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 13 2007, 06:18 PM)
Yes, push-pull means:

Thanks smile.gif I'd certainly like to try the IFX out someday.
Anyone changed from GeminII to this and what's the gain like?
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 13 2007, 06:35 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

GeminII and TT Big typ almost similar performance... I got around 4-5 degrees lower temp from idle and 6-8 degrees lower temp from load after changing from Big typ to IFX-14...
clayclws
post Dec 13 2007, 06:43 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Dec 13 2007, 06:24 PM)
hmm mine has 3 fans all pushing 1 direction... like this... <--o|||<--o |||<---o ... And a 4cm fan blowing the backside cooler...  getting around 37C at idle and 46C at load @ 3.4GHz E6600...

Added on December 13, 2007, 6:25 pm
They only give the normal thermal paste... Not those high performance ones...
How do you mount the 3 fans? Can post some pics?

Hmm...RM40 for AC MX2, RM65 per FM123...if get 2, that's RM130...so total is RM170...plus the RM299 for IFX-14...man...the bright side is high OC-ability and can be used for future upgrades...Penryn C2Q thumbup.gif
clawhammer
post Dec 13 2007, 06:59 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Dec 13 2007, 06:35 PM)
GeminII and TT Big typ almost similar performance... I got around 4-5 degrees lower temp from idle and 6-8 degrees lower temp from load after changing from Big typ to IFX-14...
That's a very good improvement, something similar to a basic WC setup.
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 13 2007, 08:47 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 13 2007, 06:43 PM)
How do you mount the 3 fans? Can post some pics?

Hmm...RM40 for AC MX2, RM65 per FM123...if get 2, that's RM130...so total is RM170...plus the RM299 for IFX-14...man...the bright side is high OC-ability and can be used for future upgrades...Penryn C2Q  thumbup.gif
erm... the 3rd fan is the casing read exhaust fan.... yea... my pocket berlubang already... now mobo spoiled ... doh.gif
clayclws
post Dec 13 2007, 11:51 PM

2,659 posts

Ah, I see. I'm going to try the push-pull thing when I get back my motherboard from RMA.
intothefantasy
post Dec 14 2007, 12:29 AM

1,561 posts

do u guys lapped this IFX 14?
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 14 2007, 09:20 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Dec 14 2007, 12:29 AM)
do u guys lapped this IFX 14?
i lapped mine ..
LExus65
post Dec 14 2007, 11:33 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

any improvement after lap ?? interested too see.........
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 14 2007, 12:28 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

1-2C difference only... sorry no screenshots ... my mobo something wrong... sleep.gif
mADmAN
post Dec 14 2007, 02:00 PM

10,530 posts

take pix of the base pls.
TSDaRkSyThE
post Dec 14 2007, 02:37 PM

4,809 posts

going to do an updated review of this hsf.
got better fans in now. 3 FM123s and further more im going to push more than 4ghz
let u guys know later smile.gif

akachester
post Dec 14 2007, 02:42 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 14 2007, 02:37 PM)
going to do an updated review of this hsf.
got better fans in now. 3 FM123s and further more im going to push more than 4ghz
let u guys know later smile.gif
LOL..I more interested to know how noisy the 3 FM123 is going to be when on the IFX.... tongue.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 14 2007, 02:55 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

fm123 full speed not that noisy la... i put delta screamer sound like vacuum cleaner ... doh.gif i testing new setting.... casing suck air from the back blow to front... cuz cold air direct flow instead of front air abit warm...

Added on December 14, 2007, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 14 2007, 02:00 PM)
take pix of the base pls.
here is it

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Dec 14 2007, 03:05 PM
clayclws
post Dec 14 2007, 04:37 PM

2,659 posts

Hmm...tried putting a fan on the backside heatsink?
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 14 2007, 04:56 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

Yeah i did.. a 4x4cm fan... But the last temperature i get is from single FM123 fan .. after i add another fm123 and the 4cm fan... the mobo spoiled ... sleep.gif

This post has been edited by IcEMoCHa: Dec 14 2007, 04:57 PM
clayclws
post Dec 15 2007, 04:11 PM

2,659 posts

All your questions are answered about IFX-14...AND Ultra120 Extreme HERE.

1) IFX-14 Prologue
Yes, its that big, yes its that expensive.
I very much like the mounting mechanism. All screws 6-32 or M3.

2) IFX-14 Fan Configurations
Bigger fans = Better Performance.
More fans = Better Performance.

3) IFX-14, Stock vs. Lapped
Didn't do much, but damn nice pics.

4) IFX-14 vs Ultra 120X
Both awesome heatsinks, both very very close in performance.
IFX-14 will allow for better performance for ultra quiet setups because you can strap so many fans to it.
Ultra120X is much more compact, and cheaper.
There's also a part where he recommended that if you preferred a single fan configuration, put it in the middle. Make sure it is the 38mm type as Ianho has suggested. This is what I'll be gunning for since I need the space behind the heatsink for my RAM fans...

This post has been edited by clayclws: Dec 15 2007, 04:19 PM
clawhammer
post Dec 16 2007, 10:17 PM

///M
8,788 posts

Does anyone knows if the whole HSF including the back panel can fit on the Cooler Master 690 casing?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Dec 17 2007, 12:13 AM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 16 2007, 10:17 PM)
Does anyone knows if the whole HSF including the back panel can fit on the Cooler Master 690 casing?
yuppers. i believe it can
clawhammer
post Dec 17 2007, 02:01 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 17 2007, 12:13 AM)
yuppers. i believe it can
Thanks. I think the height shuold be ok but the extended one at the back is my worry.
TSDaRkSyThE
post Dec 17 2007, 10:21 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 17 2007, 02:01 AM)
Thanks. I think the height shuold be ok but the extended one at the back is my worry.
yeah by the looks of it you may face a little challenge there
hhm. but i still think you can go with it
overclockalbert
post Dec 20 2007, 06:43 AM

1,058 posts

how this cooler perform compare to ultra-120 extreme?

*just ignore the backplate cooler ok. only tower to tower compare.

i was using ultra-120 ex, but intereted to try others which would perform better.

Added on December 20, 2007, 6:46 am@IcEMoCHa,

which ram cooler are u using in the picutre? damn nice and bright

This post has been edited by overclockalbert: Dec 20 2007, 06:46 AM
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 20 2007, 08:50 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Dec 20 2007, 06:43 AM)
@IcEMoCHa,

which ram cooler are u using in the picutre? damn nice and bright
Vizo Ram cooler... biggrin.gif
clawhammer
post Dec 26 2007, 12:19 AM

///M
8,788 posts

I wonder if anyone tried Ultra Extreme VS IFX-14? Real life experience and not from the review sites because it says both are identical.

I'm thinking of getting this very soon biggrin.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Dec 26 2007, 04:38 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

IFX 14 and Ultra 120 Extreme ... Idle temperature almost same... Load temperature on them differ around 4-5C...
clawhammer
post Dec 27 2007, 12:19 AM

///M
8,788 posts

IFX-14 for RM290 in Low Yat
Ok, I've just got myself the IFX-14 and for those who wants to use it with smaller casing, beware. The size is huge (I knew that anyway) and it fits very tightly onto my CM690. No extra spaces in between and it's so difficult to mount the motherboard. The back side heatsink totally does not fit (Maybe I can sell it to Ultra Extreme owners).

The first thing I did was to lap the IFX-14 and you need plenty of sandpaper to get the job done (imagine it). The base is so uneven that I can't even believe it for a RM300 HSF (sad but true). Here's a pic of it inside my CM690:

First look and thoughts between GeminII and IFX-14
Idle temp differences are minimal, around 3C-4C and it takes a lot more space than the GeminII which makes life a bit more difficult to mount on a small casing (like mine). However if you're a heavy overclocker which tends to pump plenty of voltage then this is the HSF for you. The IFX-14 is capable of handling the load temps very well and despite 1.43V, it manages to keep my temps at 55C-57C which the GeminII isn't capable of.

For those which does mild overclocking, you can save your time and buy a GeminII unless you want to spend an extra RM180 to see a 3C-4C drop in temps which is pretty pointless IMHO since you don't need it.

Unfortunately I'm someone that doesn't like to lie or tell myths. I tell everything based on true facts and experiences plus I don't defend something just because it's expensive smile.gif As a conclusion, I personally think the IFX-14 is a good cooler and beats the GeminII under certain conditions but not to the extent that it's tremendously superb for the price you pay.
Quazacolt
post Dec 27 2007, 11:51 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

thats a good review and most importantly being unbiased smile.gif

just want to know, you think the IFX14 will be able to fit in my antec p180b casing?
pic of inside here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...=post&id=335439
allenultra
post Dec 27 2007, 11:59 AM

9,027 posts

clawhammer, just wonder at 1.43v (assume same clockspeed).
How well IFX14 beat GeminII?
mADmAN
post Dec 27 2007, 12:37 PM

10,530 posts

the uneven base is something thermalright is doing these days. it was sort of a controversy. but they do have somewhat valid reason. something to do with the shape of the cpu IHS as well....read this somewhere....
clawhammer
post Dec 27 2007, 02:44 PM

///M
8,788 posts

Thanks Quazacolt. It's meant to tell others not to expect so much if they plan to get IFX-14. Your casing would be able to fit the IFX-14 and very likely including the back heat sink.

allenultra, if we're talking about 1.43V, the IFX-14 is better by 4C-5C compared to GeminII. I tried pumping 1.45V and it already hit 60C-62C full load Orthos.

Of course a more precise comparison would be to see the heat dissipation at that clock speed as heat dissipation vs voltage increase isn't always linear. The sad thing is, I've no idea how to get the wattage produced at that speed biggrin.gif

Extra RM180 bucks for +/- 5C difference is a bit too small IMHO sad.gif

mADmAN, the Ultra Extreme has a much better and flatter base. Your explanation has some valid points too and I agree the IHS is not flat (corners tend to be thicker). However if you see the IFX-14 and put it on a glass surface, you can move it left/right (very uneven).

This post has been edited by clawhammer: Dec 27 2007, 02:44 PM
Quazacolt
post Dec 27 2007, 03:02 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 27 2007, 02:44 PM)
Thanks Quazacolt. It's meant to tell others not to expect so much if they plan to get IFX-14. Your casing would be able to fit the IFX-14 and very likely including the back heat sink.

allenultra, if we're talking about 1.43V, the IFX-14 is better by 4C-5C compared to GeminII. I tried pumping 1.45V and it already hit 60C-62C full load Orthos.

Of course a more precise comparison would be to see the heat dissipation at that clock speed as heat dissipation vs voltage increase isn't always linear. The sad thing is, I've no idea how to get the wattage produced at that speed biggrin.gif

Extra RM180 bucks for +/- 5C difference is a bit too small IMHO sad.gif

mADmAN, the Ultra Extreme has a much better and flatter base. Your explanation has some valid points too and I agree the IHS is not flat (corners tend to be thicker). However if you see the IFX-14 and put it on a glass surface, you can move it left/right (very uneven).
hmm good to know then, im not expecting much out of the back heatsink be it fitting or not. so i dont mind, my main purpose is to have the hot air exhausted out and not recycling inside my antec causing heat to build up over time on long CPU loading periods.

as for the uneven surface, it does worry me a bit. and im wondering, would extra thermal paste help? (i use arctic mx2)
but then again more thermal paste = more heat "resistance" as opposed to direct heatsink base contact towards the proc heatsink contact.

anyone else would like to share their thoughts on thius?
clawhammer
post Dec 27 2007, 04:18 PM

///M
8,788 posts

I think you can just use as it is. If the temp is terribly wrong then you can consider lapping.
Quazacolt
post Dec 27 2007, 04:31 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 27 2007, 04:18 PM)
I think you can just use as it is. If the temp is terribly wrong then you can consider lapping.
thats the prob, on a rm300 heatsink nickel plated shiny shiny and everything, lapping it is like sandpapering your own skin >_<

too precious to do so, worse if anything goes wrong on ur lapping (like for whatever reason you make it even more uneven lmao)
intothefantasy
post Dec 27 2007, 04:42 PM

1,561 posts

thermalright stuff always like that...wan good performance u need to lapped it...also the TRUE supose to come with a washer but now adays this new stock dosent come with it...without those washer after fixing the TRUE at the proc can still move the cooler left or right...is like not ketat at all even u tighten all d screws
clawhammer
post Dec 27 2007, 04:43 PM

///M
8,788 posts

LOL, true also. I did not try it in the original state cos I went straight to lapping. In fact, most people would just mount as it is. If you have a very flat surface (marble, glass, etc) then you won't go wrong or make it uneven.

How about going for the Ultra Extreme? smile.gif
intothefantasy
post Dec 27 2007, 04:47 PM

1,561 posts

there are some guides on lapping in the net..u also can refer to team KOC forum which they have a guide posted by lolhalol abt lapping...but lapping a 2xx cooler is kinda heartpain...but no choice if u wan better performance...
mADmAN
post Dec 27 2007, 04:47 PM

10,530 posts

yeah i know how uneven the base is..... i did this same exact test oso...with the same exact results...

can read more about it HERE

theres also a review of the lapping results by the same guys HERE

im still considering on whether or not i wanna spend the time to lap the base... the damn thing has managed to scratch my processor IHS...actually the base of my IFX oso scratched liao sweat.gif

Added on December 27, 2007, 4:49 pmi dont see why lapping the ifx would be "heart-pain".....

wats truly painful is the fact that u pay so much for the cooler and the base turns out the way it is wink.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 27 2007, 04:49 PM
intothefantasy
post Dec 27 2007, 04:53 PM

1,561 posts

ya..my TRUE has damage also my IHS...very heartpain...thats y i decided to let d pros to help me lapped (acecombat)
Quazacolt
post Dec 27 2007, 06:05 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Dec 27 2007, 04:53 PM)
ya..my TRUE has damage also my IHS...very heartpain...thats y i decided to let d pros to help me lapped (acecombat)
oh me godz, uneven to the point that it damage the IHS? definitely no no man, im using a precious qx6700 proc >_<

i think ill have to look into lapping the IFX14 too should i get it
clawhammer
post Dec 27 2007, 10:44 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 27 2007, 06:05 PM)
oh me godz, uneven to the point that it damage the  IHS? definitely no no man, im using a precious qx6700 proc >_<

i think ill have to look into lapping the IFX14 too should i get it
You need plenty of sand paper as it's very uneven smile.gif
I'm not sure how it can damage the IHS plus the mounting is via screws so you can always control the pressure. I'm sure all of us are smart enough not to tighten the screw further if we know it's too tight, etc.
Kuntau
post Nov 2 2008, 12:16 PM

20 Years LYNer ;-)
960 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 27 2007, 12:19 AM)
IFX-14 for RM290 in Low Yat
Ok, I've just got myself the IFX-14 and for those who wants to use it with smaller casing, beware. The size is huge (I knew that anyway) and it fits very tightly onto my CM690. No extra spaces in between and it's so difficult to mount the motherboard. The back side heatsink totally does not fit (Maybe I can sell it to Ultra Extreme owners).
Can you explain a little bit more on backside heatsink. Why doesn't fit?

teamloks
post Nov 2 2008, 04:15 PM

1,176 posts

if u use cm 690 u cant use it because the backplate huhu what can i say btw if u psu at top u can use hr-10 btw ifx-14 i dont know
Kuntau
post Nov 2 2008, 06:10 PM

20 Years LYNer ;-)
960 posts

QUOTE(teamloks @ Nov 2 2008, 04:15 PM)
if u use cm 690 u cant use it because the backplate huhu what can i say btw if u psu at top u can use hr-10 btw ifx-14 i dont know
What are talking about? It is clear that IFX-14 can fit in CM690 the issue is whether the extra passive cooling can be installed or not.
teamloks
post Nov 2 2008, 09:22 PM

1,176 posts

sure cannot la bro just hear that >.> why u dont try? hehe
sepulgilo
post Nov 2 2008, 09:31 PM

dead for good
1,626 posts

back cooler of ifx 14 bend it slightly sure can fit into ur case
teamloks
post Nov 2 2008, 09:55 PM

1,176 posts

yeah me also bend it biggrin.gif
sepulgilo
post Nov 2 2008, 10:07 PM

dead for good
1,626 posts

bend it smoothly and nicely sure no problem even will looks cool heheheeheee
teamloks
post Nov 3 2008, 10:16 PM

1,176 posts

btw biostar tpower 45 dont try to use that biggrin.gif
clawhammer
post Nov 4 2008, 11:25 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Kuntau @ Nov 2 2008, 06:10 PM)
What are talking about? It is clear that IFX-14 can fit in CM690 the issue is whether the extra passive cooling can be installed or not.
The extra passive cooling does not fit on the CM690
teamloks
post Nov 4 2008, 08:25 PM

1,176 posts

need to bend it T_T and cant use top fan
clawhammer
post Nov 5 2008, 01:17 AM

///M
8,788 posts

I've never used the back passive cooler throughout my ownership of the IFX-14. In actual fact, it's quite hard to get a casing that lets you fit the back part without "modifications" smile.gif
teamloks
post Nov 5 2008, 08:25 PM

1,176 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Nov 5 2008, 01:17 AM)
I've never used the back passive cooler throughout my ownership of the IFX-14. In actual fact, it's quite hard to get a casing that lets you fit the back part without "modifications" smile.gif
agree blush.gif
clawhammer
post Nov 6 2008, 03:44 PM

///M
8,788 posts

I'm not sure why they designed it that way but the IFX-14 is really a pretty good cooler smile.gif The best air cooling so far until something better comes around, lol.
bad melatonin
post Nov 6 2008, 05:35 PM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

same here.. i never did use d backside cooler. it might fit my casing by bending it slightly.. furthermore, with d tpower mobo layout, d cooler protruding up...
@meno
post Nov 18 2008, 09:07 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Nov 6 2008, 05:35 PM)
same here.. i never did use d backside cooler. it might fit my casing by bending it slightly.. furthermore, with d tpower mobo layout, d cooler protruding up...
Same.
I've never had the back cooler fitted when the setup is in the case.
When i run it naked sometimes just for the sake of syok, i'll still have it on.
verdict
post Nov 23 2008, 05:08 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Nov 18 2008, 10:07 AM)
Same.
I've never had the back cooler fitted when the setup is in the case.
When i run it naked sometimes just for the sake of syok, i'll still have it on.

Ha ha ha...kewl ideas aite...im in dilemma rite now...do no weither want to use back air cooling or WC....

hiiiyahhhh!!!

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

sepulgilo
post Nov 27 2008, 05:02 PM

dead for good
1,626 posts

anyone wanna letgo their back cooler from ifx14 that not use pm me thanks tongue.gif
verdict
post Dec 30 2008, 01:30 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Nov 27 2008, 06:02 PM)
anyone wanna letgo their back cooler from ifx14 that not use pm me thanks tongue.gif

Aisehhh...still cari brang lagi bro???

he he he...

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Silverfire
post Dec 30 2008, 05:32 AM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

The HR10 will hit the fan on top of the CM690?

0.3823sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:50 AM