10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Why cannot have GST, instead of the messy SST?

TScontestchris
post Jun 11 2025, 08:20 AM, updated 7 months ago

5,559 posts

Now for SST, we have at least 5 categories: 0%, 5%, 6%, 8% and 10%

Why can't we just condense it all, and tax EVERYTHING under a singular Goods and Services tax rate? From an implementation, tax compliance and tax policing perspective, isn't this going to be easier?

For consumers also, you pay tax as you consume. Don't have this bullshit that this item exempted, that item exempted etc. That provides so much room for leakages to occur.

Which brain dead idiots run these policies?

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jun 11 2025, 08:21 AM
moiskyrie
post Jun 11 2025, 08:23 AM

3,217 posts

Our beloved Price Hike ....run those policies....

myasiahobby
post Jun 11 2025, 08:24 AM

693 posts

Later no face
takbodoh722
post Jun 11 2025, 08:25 AM

Its political.

The downside of SST is well known. GST tax everything then manage exempt list. SST have to manage tax list and also an exempt list. Hence SST scope is always smaller than GST. Issue of double tax also higher. SST administrative cost is higher than GST. That's why countries always move from SST to GST.

Bolehland is the only country in the world moving the other direction. Boleh!

p4n6
post Jun 11 2025, 08:25 AM

5,970 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jun 11 2025, 08:20 AM)

Why can't we just condense it all, and tax EVERYTHING under a singular Goods and Services tax rate? From an implementation, tax compliance and tax policing perspective, isn't this going to be easier?

For consumers also, you pay tax as you consume. Don't have this bullshit that this item exempted, that item exempted etc. That provides so much room for leakages to occur.

If Anwar goes GST means Najib is right and PH been lying and wrong all along … PH worse decision is to terminate GST.
soul78
post Jun 11 2025, 08:26 AM

933 posts

coz we can earn more from SST dik..

if wanna raise tax for another certain set of category like Alchohol in future... seeing that alchohol consumption is doing well.. we can raise them to 20%...

without affecting other items...
DarkNite
post Jun 11 2025, 08:28 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jun 11 2025, 08:25 AM)
If Anwar goes GST means Najib is right and PH been lying and wrong all along … PH worse decision is to terminate GST.
Jib's the one that demonised GST.
Nua nak jaga his voters bank as GST will hurt them.
takbodoh722
post Jun 11 2025, 08:29 AM

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 11 2025, 08:26 AM)
coz we can earn more from SST dik..

if wanna raise tax for another certain set of category like Alchohol in future... seeing that alchohol consumption is doing well.. we can raise them to 20%...

without affecting other items...
Can do the same with GST system. However its a lot more complicated today.

Ask layman who know what is taxed & what is not. Not many can answer. In GST system, most can understand.

rcracer
post Jun 11 2025, 08:29 AM

?????
3,772 posts

Because election promise said no GST ma

If introduce GST marah, no keep promise

no introduce GST marah.

Pundek la
smallcrab
post Jun 11 2025, 08:31 AM

140 posts

i work in an import company (trading) _
the exemption process for our local customer in order to avoid double taxation ... is damn 7 messy and human capital consuming

fuck SST
fongsk
post Jun 11 2025, 08:31 AM

34 posts

Dei, u r criticising the best FM in the history of Mesia, some dare say even in Batam and Spore! 😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡

Whatever this best FM does is de best in this Galaxy tau! What you know la…. Budak Hingus! 😬😬😬😬😬😬
jojolicia
post Jun 11 2025, 08:32 AM

1,922 posts

Exactly. I concur. You pay tax as you consume.

Ego too big to u-turn and living in denial

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jun 11 2025, 08:36 AM
Ash55
post Jun 11 2025, 08:32 AM

104 posts

GST custom department still got at cyberjaya brows.gif
fongsk
post Jun 11 2025, 08:33 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Jun 11 2025, 08:31 AM)
i work in an import company (trading) _
the exemption process for our local customer in order to avoid double taxation ... is damn 7 messy and human capital consuming

fuck SST
Wait, SST is Saya Suka Tax, right? So what’s the problem? This main Supporters for PH just loves taxes. Look at how they hated GST, which is a simpler and. Ore efficient tax systems.
fongsk
post Jun 11 2025, 08:34 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(takbodoh722 @ Jun 11 2025, 08:29 AM)
Can do the same with GST system. However its a lot more complicated today.

Ask layman who know what is taxed & what is not. Not many can answer. In GST system, most can understand.
GST is Generally Senang Tax, right? I agree la. Simple and effective systems.
danabu
post Jun 11 2025, 08:34 AM

419 posts

Support PN to tembak madanon...
soul78
post Jun 11 2025, 08:35 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(fongsk @ Jun 11 2025, 08:33 AM)
Wait, SST is Saya Suka Tax, right?  So what’s the problem?  This main Supporters for PH just loves taxes.  Look at how they hated GST, which is a simpler and. Ore efficient tax systems.
If SST means Saya suka Tax...

GST means Gua Sakau Tax...
McDullDull

30 posts

Coz everything that came from zaman Jibby is bad and wrong.
Nothing can be right...
only zaman Madoni correct...
fongsk

34 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 11 2025, 08:35 AM)
If SST means Saya suka Tax...

GST means Gua Sakau Tax...
Also can la. Same same!
hoonanoo
post Jun 11 2025, 08:36 AM

1,782 posts

answer is simple.

Legacy.

Because the powers that be if they want to keep GST, then people will not remember current ruling party for their success but they will remember the incumbent for his success.

Just like how DLP is being slowly diminished.

For me, is ok no issue, whatever pass govt does, if 1 or 2 is good, just keep it and continue.

Like DLP and GST. Obvously GST was abused during Bijian time, refunds didn't happen as supposed to, and they delayed that.

Bijian - did good in GST but implemented badly in terms of refunds
Mamakthir - did well in DLP
Moo Moo and useless Puas Takoyaki - did what? Postpone parliament everyday, sampah party.

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Jun 11 2025, 08:38 AM

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0159sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:02 PM