Used car background check.

TSParadigmata
post Jun 9 2025, 08:38 AM, updated 6 months ago

345 posts

Anyone has cheap contacts for checking with dealership past service record and insurance claims?

Or separately, one person from dealership, one person who can assess the insurance claims

Because I am interested in buying used car

Who got provide such service?
thkent91
post Jun 9 2025, 09:26 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Jun 9 2025, 08:38 AM)
Anyone has cheap contacts for checking with dealership past service record and insurance claims?

Or separately, one person from dealership, one person who can assess the insurance claims

Then suggest you better buy car which is less than 6 years old.

At least first 5 years got proper service record (Not all, but most).

Before buying, ask owner to handover the service record for you to check with service center.
dudester
post Jun 9 2025, 09:28 AM

1,222 posts

1. Ask from seller
2. Check insurance claims
3. Check with JPJ
culain99
post Jun 9 2025, 10:13 AM

-----
765 posts

If the car is quite new....i.e 2 or 3 year after warranty expired......can call hq service center explain you are going to buy over the car and want to know service history/ when last sent for service/have been sent to SC for accident repair or not.
mini orchard
post Jun 9 2025, 10:19 AM

14,511 posts

Check with seller current insurance policy. If 55%, then no major claim for last 5 years.

Minor accident and self pay can't check.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jun 9 2025, 10:22 AM
jerm57
post Jun 9 2025, 11:08 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jun 9 2025, 09:28 AM)
1. Ask from seller
2. Check insurance claims
3. Check with JPJ
Just found out recently got services like https://scrut.my/ that compiles all those information for you in one place.
lerijiso
post Jun 9 2025, 01:48 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Jun 9 2025, 11:08 AM)
Just found out recently got services like https://scrut.my/ that compiles all those information for you in one place.
I'm currently looking into a car too. I've tried this. RM80 for a baisc report.

It has information on whether car has been auctioned before/total loss/flood/stolen/windshield claim/last mileage reported/accident claim. A very brief YES/NO check.

The car i checked, everything is ok except they have no data for last mileage reported because car is more than 10yrs old and probably have not been going to official service centre for maintenance.

It does not mean that car is accident free, just that insurance was never claimed for accidents or other perils etc.

How trustworthy is the report? I cannot say.

This post has been edited by lerijiso: Jun 10 2025, 09:14 AM
YoungMan
post Jun 9 2025, 09:49 PM

6,787 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Jun 9 2025, 08:38 AM)

I suggest you check these 2 places.
1. Skrut - Rm80, better than the price you have to pay for getting a bad second hand car.
2. Check with service centre for last service record.
The rest minor minor thing you may or may not able to find out, just get a good mechanic to help. At least you can know if the car has gone through any major claims.
Icehart
post Jun 9 2025, 11:32 PM

14,897 posts

1. Get Scrut report
2. Get mechanic inspection service
gold member
post Jul 26 2025, 12:47 AM

114 posts

excl.gif PSA for Used Car Buyers: Why You Shouldn’t Skip Scrut (Based on My Experience)

I'm not here to promote Scrut, but if you're planning to buy a second-hand car in Malaysia, don’t be stingy about spending RM80 on a Scrut report. It could save you a lot more than you think. I just avoided a potentially costly mistake because of it.

Here’s a summary of what happened:

Recently, I came across a listing on a well-known and reputable used car platform. The car looked too good to be true — pristine interior, ultra-low mileage for its age, and only minor cosmetic touch-ups needed. I contacted the sales advisor, and everything sounded perfect. The price was high, but if everything checked out, it might be worth it.

Having gone through the used car buying process a few times, I did what I could: checking the inspection reports, asking about service history, and trying to connect the dots. One thing I noticed is that many free platforms (like that mycar**fo site) just confirm the basics — whether the car was stolen, written off, etc. — but they don’t tell the full story. And they usually require a chassis number, which isn't always easy to get.

Because of the high price, I decided to go ahead and pay RM80 for a Scrut report. Five minutes later, I had it in hand.

All the usual checks came back clean — no flood damage, no total loss, no theft or accident history. But then, one line caught my attention:
“Car Auctioned: YES.”

At first, I thought it might be an error. But after doing some research, I found that Scrut has been scraping auction data from public sources since May 2024. That includes bank repossession sales and other public auction sites. So yes — this car had very likely been auctioned.

Now here’s where it gets interesting.

I suspect someone — probably someone with insider knowledge of how the auction and resale system works — bought the car cheap from auction, polished it up, tampered the mileage, wrapped the rear seat headrests in plastic to fake that “new” feel, and sold it to a reputable used car platform at a profit. It’s a smart hustle, but it exploits a loophole that most buyers won’t catch.

And the best part? The platform had no clue. Or maybe they did, but as long as it looks clean on the surface and passes their checklist, it gets certified.

🤷‍♂️ I guess some young chaps sitting in nice offices think everyone’s a good guy, and a clean-looking car must mean clean history. It’s cute — but it's also careless. Shouldn't someone be asking harder questions before certifying a car?

Long story short — this auctioned car was being sold at a premium price without disclosing its history. Some trusted dealers won’t even take in auctioned cars, let alone certify them. But it happens, and unless you check for yourself, you might fall into the trap.

So here’s my advice:

- Spend the RM80 on Scrut. Seriously.

- Be extra careful with ultra-low mileage older cars.

- Don't rely on just what the salesperson or system says.

- Trust your gut — and do your own digging.

In Bolehland, used car deals can be great, but they can also be full of surprises. The golden days of trusting “mint condition” listings are gone. Do your checks, or you’ll learn the expensive way.

This post has been edited by gold member: Jul 26 2025, 12:49 AM
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 08:51 AM

4,949 posts

Just beware that skrut won't detect accident damages that were repaired out of pocket.
YoungMan
post Jul 26 2025, 09:55 AM

6,787 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 26 2025, 08:51 AM)
Just beware that skrut won't detect accident damages that were repaired out of pocket.
Yes, but for major accident owner most likely gonna claim insurance for repair. There may be cases they repair out of pocket though.
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 10:01 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 26 2025, 09:55 AM)
Yes, but for major accident owner most likely gonna claim insurance for repair. There may be cases they repair out of pocket though.
That's true.
Unless kena hit by an uninsured fella, or those driving expensive cars (don't want to lose ncd) - which means they would pay for the repairs themselves.

Best is getting it checked by someone who knows what to ro check in addition to doung scrut checking.
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 10:02 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 9 2025, 10:19 AM)
Check with seller current insurance policy. If 55%, then no major claim for last 5 years.

Minor accident and self pay can't check.
Or if the owner claimed the other party's insurance.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jul 26 2025, 11:23 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(gold member @ Jul 26 2025, 12:47 AM)

In Bolehland, used car deals can be great, but they can also be full of surprises. The golden days of trusting “mint condition” listings are gone. Do your checks, or you’ll learn the expensive way.

u dislike auctioned car because of what reason? or is it you dislike it because the price that u got now is higher than the auctioned price?
etan26
post Jul 26 2025, 11:42 AM

317 posts

The car i checked, everything is ok except they have no data for last mileage reported because car is more than 10yrs old and probably have not been going to official service centre for maintenance.

This vintage car? Already so old unit .....

This post has been edited by etan26: Jul 26 2025, 11:42 AM
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 11:57 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jul 26 2025, 11:23 AM)
u dislike auctioned car because of what reason? or is it you dislike it because the price that u got now is higher than the auctioned price?
People have this idea (rightly or not) that those owners wouldn't be able to afford regular maintenance costs. So they're buying poorly maintained car.

As for me, if I managed to outbid used car dealers, it means I have overpaid.
mini orchard
post Jul 26 2025, 01:46 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 26 2025, 10:02 AM)
If major, most mudguard mechanic should be able to spot.

Minor dent is part parcel of driving.
netflix2019
post Jul 26 2025, 02:05 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(gold member @ Jul 26 2025, 12:47 AM)
:excl: PSA for Used Car Buyers: Why You Shouldn’t Skip Scrut (Based on My Experience)

I'm not here to promote Scrut, but if you're planning to buy a second-hand car in Malaysia, don’t be stingy about spending RM80 on a Scrut report. It could save you a lot more than you think. I just avoided a potentially costly mistake because of it.

Here’s a summary of what happened:

Recently, I came across a listing on a well-known and reputable used car platform. The car looked too good to be true — pristine interior, ultra-low mileage for its age, and only minor cosmetic touch-ups needed. I contacted the sales advisor, and everything sounded perfect. The price was high, but if everything checked out, it might be worth it.

Having gone through the used car buying process a few times, I did what I could: checking the inspection reports, asking about service history, and trying to connect the dots. One thing I noticed is that many free platforms (like that mycar**fo site) just confirm the basics — whether the car was stolen, written off, etc. — but they don’t tell the full story. And they usually require a chassis number, which isn't always easy to get.

Because of the high price, I decided to go ahead and pay RM80 for a Scrut report. Five minutes later, I had it in hand.

All the usual checks came back clean — no flood damage, no total loss, no theft or accident history. But then, one line caught my attention:
“Car Auctioned: YES.”

At first, I thought it might be an error. But after doing some research, I found that Scrut has been scraping auction data from public sources since May 2024. That includes bank repossession sales and other public auction sites. So yes — this car had very likely been auctioned.

Now here’s where it gets interesting.

I suspect someone — probably someone with insider knowledge of how the auction and resale system works — bought the car cheap from auction, polished it up, tampered the mileage, wrapped the rear seat headrests in plastic to fake that “new” feel, and sold it to a reputable used car platform at a profit. It’s a smart hustle, but it exploits a loophole that most buyers won’t catch.

And the best part? The platform had no clue. Or maybe they did, but as long as it looks clean on the surface and passes their checklist, it gets certified.

🤷‍♂️ I guess some young chaps sitting in nice offices think everyone’s a good guy, and a clean-looking car must mean clean history. It’s cute — but it's also careless. Shouldn't someone be asking harder questions before certifying a car?

Long story short — this auctioned car was being sold at a premium price without disclosing its history. Some trusted dealers won’t even take in auctioned cars, let alone certify them. But it happens, and unless you check for yourself, you might fall into the trap.

So here’s my advice:

- Spend the RM80 on Scrut. Seriously.

- Be extra careful with ultra-low mileage older cars.

- Don't rely on just what the salesperson or system says.

- Trust your gut — and do your own digging.

Good read. In the end u didnt buy?

Also. Apa sarahan auctioned car?
Alex9892
post Jul 26 2025, 02:21 PM

433 posts

Use Scrut.
Bring a trusted mechanic to inspect the car.
Test drive.
AbbyCom
post Jul 26 2025, 02:32 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 26 2025, 11:57 AM)
People have this idea (rightly or not) that those owners wouldn't be able to afford regular maintenance costs. So they're buying poorly maintained car.

As for me, if I managed to outbid used car dealers, it means I have overpaid.
I have actually gone to see the conditions of auctioned cars. Some were in abandoned state - a lot of dried leaves, dusty. Like you said - maintenance is suspect, car trashing is also possible.

The other main issue for me - one wouldn't know if the car auction operator/worker swap out the parts (the car could be a 2 year old car, but swapped with bad/older parts), the new owner have to do a lot of repairs, so generally I will avoid auction cars. Usually no original car keys too.

mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 02:34 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jul 26 2025, 02:32 PM)
I have actually gone to see the conditions of auctioned cars. Some were in abandoned state - a lot of dried leaves, dusty. Like you said - maintenance is suspect, car trashing is also possible.

The other main issue for me - one wouldn't know if the car auction operator/worker swap out the parts (the car could be a 2 year old car, but swapped with bad/older parts), the new owner have to do a lot of repairs, so generally I will avoid auction cars. Usually no original car keys too.
True also. At most, we can only start the engine...if we're lucky.
ktek
post Jul 26 2025, 03:05 PM

小喇叭
13,186 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 26 2025, 10:02 AM)
can 1. even mycarinfo & myeg able detect for free.
mau report kena pay la
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 03:22 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 26 2025, 03:05 PM)
can 1. even mycarinfo & myeg able detect for free.
mau report kena pay la
I was referring to checking the existing owner's NCD to see whether there was any claim.
gold member
post Aug 6 2025, 11:13 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jul 26 2025, 11:23 AM)
You're free to try buying an auctioned car — the experience will speak for itself.

It's not just about price. A 7–8 year-old Car going for RM1xxk with ultra-low mileage raises questions. Mileage can be tampered, and you won’t know what the car has been through.

Auctioned cars may have been left unsheltered for years — heat, sun, rain — all of which can damage plastics, hoses, wiring, and paint. A quick polish or 1-layer repaint hides that, but the wear is still there.

That’s why I’d rather pay more for a car with clear history than deal with hidden risks later.
Virlution
post Aug 7 2025, 09:51 AM

481 posts

Report no use cause they can self repair and not include in the database.

bring to accident repair shop, they can check for you... flood or been accident spray painted they will know.

Those minor accident replace bumper, lights cannot see but those no issues one.
Virlution
post Aug 7 2025, 09:56 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jul 26 2025, 02:32 PM)

previous owner no money to pay loan, sure will not service, repair to jalan also put in cheapest parts, etc...

usually those buy auction car is to clean up and sell for quick money, let new owner deal with the problems later

0.0168sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:27 PM