Used car background check.

mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 08:51 AM

4,949 posts

Just beware that skrut won't detect accident damages that were repaired out of pocket.
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 10:01 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 26 2025, 09:55 AM)
Yes, but for major accident owner most likely gonna claim insurance for repair. There may be cases they repair out of pocket though.
That's true.
Unless kena hit by an uninsured fella, or those driving expensive cars (don't want to lose ncd) - which means they would pay for the repairs themselves.

Best is getting it checked by someone who knows what to ro check in addition to doung scrut checking.
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 10:02 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 9 2025, 10:19 AM)
Check with seller current insurance policy. If 55%, then no major claim for last 5 years.

Minor accident and self pay can't check.
Or if the owner claimed the other party's insurance.
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 11:57 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jul 26 2025, 11:23 AM)
u dislike auctioned car because of what reason? or is it you dislike it because the price that u got now is higher than the auctioned price?
People have this idea (rightly or not) that those owners wouldn't be able to afford regular maintenance costs. So they're buying poorly maintained car.

As for me, if I managed to outbid used car dealers, it means I have overpaid.
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 02:34 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jul 26 2025, 02:32 PM)
I have actually gone to see the conditions of auctioned cars. Some were in abandoned state - a lot of dried leaves, dusty. Like you said - maintenance is suspect, car trashing is also possible.

The other main issue for me - one wouldn't know if the car auction operator/worker swap out the parts (the car could be a 2 year old car, but swapped with bad/older parts), the new owner have to do a lot of repairs, so generally I will avoid auction cars. Usually no original car keys too.
True also. At most, we can only start the engine...if we're lucky.
mushigen
post Jul 26 2025, 03:22 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 26 2025, 03:05 PM)
can 1. even mycarinfo & myeg able detect for free.
mau report kena pay la
I was referring to checking the existing owner's NCD to see whether there was any claim.

0.0132sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:52 AM