Toyota Avanza Engine Swap Feasibility Study, 1.3 Manual to 1.5 Manual(or bigger)

TSNex
post Jun 4 2025, 09:34 PM, updated 7 months ago

82 posts

I'm interested in getting a Toyota Avanza, but I want a 1.5 manual, because I hate auto transmission. But I can't seem to find any 1.5 manual in the market.

Is it feasible to buy a 1.3 manual then swap it to a higher cc engine, maybe from another Toyota model.

Sifu sifu semua please enlighten me. 🙏🏼
dylan_chng
post Jun 4 2025, 09:45 PM

693 posts

UMW only brought in the 1.5 with autos.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4217621/+640

Reading old forum post suggests 1.3 manual and 1.5 manual boxes have different ratios. So you're better off to swap both engine and gearbox. But starting with a 1.3 manual is probably a good start since it'll already have clutch pedal, clutch pump and other manual specific parts. I would reckon it's best to source a 1.5 manual half cut but not sure if any available.

This post has been edited by dylan_chng: Jun 4 2025, 09:46 PM
littlefire
post Jun 5 2025, 09:55 AM

2,736 posts

Yes, it can be done by swapping a 1.5L engine in. What you need is a good experience mechanic which can identify which engine is suitable. Only concern is the gearbox, if you dont travel highway a lot then no issue as i also got 1 car in my house also convert to 1.6L but gearbox still using 1.3L. Pick up is good, but on highway due to higher rpm the fuel economy might hurt a little bit more.
GamersFamilia
post Jun 5 2025, 10:52 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,864 posts

1.3 will be underpower plus fuel consumption will be high compared to standard 1.5 auto
TSNex
post Jun 5 2025, 12:37 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 5 2025, 09:55 AM)
Yes, it can be done by swapping a 1.5L engine in. What you need is a good experience mechanic which can identify which engine is suitable. Only concern is the gearbox, if you dont travel highway a lot then no issue as i also got 1 car in my house also convert to 1.6L but gearbox still using 1.3L. Pick up is good, but on highway due to higher rpm the fuel economy might hurt a little bit more.
Is yours an Avanza too? Meaning you swapped to a 1.5 Avanza engine that's originally using an auto gearbox?

I didn't know can pair engine that originally comes with auto gearbox with a manual gearbox...

This post has been edited by Nex: Jun 5 2025, 12:46 PM
TSNex
post Jun 5 2025, 12:38 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Jun 5 2025, 10:52 AM)
1.3 will be underpower plus fuel consumption will be high compared to standard 1.5 auto
That's why I wanna swap engine but maintain the manual gearbox.

Hence asking what's the best engine to do the swap.
littlefire
post Jun 5 2025, 02:02 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(Nex @ Jun 5 2025, 01:37 PM)
Is yours an Avanza too? Meaning you swapped to a 1.5 Avanza engine that's originally using an auto gearbox?

I didn't know can pair engine that originally comes with auto gearbox with a manual gearbox...
That why i said need to get a mechanic which can identify the engine, the 1.5L got manual version housing.
In Japan the 1.5L engine is used by a lot of car models including the Daihatsu van
TSNex
post Jun 5 2025, 02:10 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 5 2025, 02:02 PM)
That why i said need to get a mechanic which can identify the engine, the 1.5L got manual version housing.
In Japan the 1.5L engine is used by a lot of car models including the Daihatsu van
Did your mechanic source the 1.5 engine for you? Or you found it on your own?
GamersFamilia
post Jun 5 2025, 02:10 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,864 posts

QUOTE(Nex @ Jun 5 2025, 12:38 PM)
That's why I wanna swap engine but maintain the manual gearbox.

Hence asking what's the best engine to do the swap.
Well that one you need to ask the workshop, im not an expert on engine swap stuff
littlefire
post Jun 5 2025, 02:23 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(Nex @ Jun 5 2025, 03:10 PM)
Did your mechanic source the 1.5 engine for you? Or you found it on your own?
Is better to get the mechanic to source for you, as if you source your own anything happen to the engine you need to pay the mechanic workmanship everytime go up and down. Mechanic usually can also provide certain warranty or free workmanship for few times if engine related.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jun 5 2025, 02:26 PM
TSNex
post Jun 5 2025, 02:27 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 5 2025, 02:23 PM)
Is better to get the mechanic to source for you, as if you source your own anything happen to the engine you need to pay the mechanic workmanship everytime go up and down. Mechanic usually can also provide certain warranty or free workmanship for few times if engine related.
Thanks for the input, appreciate it thumbup.gif
GamersFamilia
post Jun 6 2025, 04:29 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,864 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 5 2025, 02:23 PM)
Agreed with you 😐💡
ktek
post Jun 7 2025, 01:49 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

rush got 1.5mt similar to avanza 1.5 that u love
GamersFamilia
post Jun 9 2025, 07:30 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,864 posts