Toyota Avanza Engine Swap Feasibility Study, 1.3 Manual to 1.5 Manual(or bigger)

TSNex
post Jun 4 2025, 09:34 PM, updated 7 months ago

82 posts

I'm interested in getting a Toyota Avanza, but I want a 1.5 manual, because I hate auto transmission. But I can't seem to find any 1.5 manual in the market.

Is it feasible to buy a 1.3 manual then swap it to a higher cc engine, maybe from another Toyota model.

Sifu sifu semua please enlighten me. 🙏🏼
TSNex
post Jun 5 2025, 12:37 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 5 2025, 09:55 AM)
Yes, it can be done by swapping a 1.5L engine in. What you need is a good experience mechanic which can identify which engine is suitable. Only concern is the gearbox, if you dont travel highway a lot then no issue as i also got 1 car in my house also convert to 1.6L but gearbox still using 1.3L. Pick up is good, but on highway due to higher rpm the fuel economy might hurt a little bit more.
Is yours an Avanza too? Meaning you swapped to a 1.5 Avanza engine that's originally using an auto gearbox?

I didn't know can pair engine that originally comes with auto gearbox with a manual gearbox...

This post has been edited by Nex: Jun 5 2025, 12:46 PM
TSNex
post Jun 5 2025, 12:38 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Jun 5 2025, 10:52 AM)
1.3 will be underpower plus fuel consumption will be high compared to standard 1.5 auto
That's why I wanna swap engine but maintain the manual gearbox.

Hence asking what's the best engine to do the swap.
TSNex
post Jun 5 2025, 02:10 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 5 2025, 02:02 PM)
That why i said need to get a mechanic which can identify the engine, the 1.5L got manual version housing.
In Japan the 1.5L engine is used by a lot of car models including the Daihatsu van
Did your mechanic source the 1.5 engine for you? Or you found it on your own?
TSNex
post Jun 5 2025, 02:27 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 5 2025, 02:23 PM)
Is better to get the mechanic to source for you, as if you source your own anything happen to the engine you need to pay the mechanic workmanship everytime go up and down. Mechanic usually can also provide certain warranty or free workmanship for few times if engine related.
Thanks for the input, appreciate it thumbup.gif

0.0142sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:04 AM