[2025] iPhone 17/Air Discussion

ericlaiys
post Sep 13 2025, 10:28 AM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(jimcarrey @ Sep 13 2025, 10:22 AM)
Aiyo. Any chance if you'll know the turnaround time from you request till the carrier send you the esim? Instantaneous or have to wait?

And the charge might be a deal breaker in thw long run.
I switch phone depends on the occasion.
For work I use my Fold, if I go cycling/exercise/travel light  I switch to my iPhone etc.
esim is not for to easily change everyday like what u want. esim is useful when go oversea . easy to add, use and forget.
ericlaiys
post Sep 14 2025, 09:43 AM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 14 2025, 07:18 AM)
Lol , because of this then iphone in china will cheaper? Then why call screening didnt support in malaysia then doesnt seen that malaysia iphone didnt sell at cheaper price?

And seriously, who stil using faceTime nowadays , whatsapp is the king , facetime and iMessage is only USA thing,  totally useless feature out of the region. Even Europe people admit that facetime/iMessage is useless in their country.
facetime and imessage not useless. if you got iphone family member, it is very useful. you can use with them. the correct word is not popular here but dont stop people from using it.
ericlaiys
post Sep 16 2025, 04:21 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 16 2025, 04:20 PM)
Today got scolded by wife for buying iPhone Air. sweat.gif
she want pro max...u buy air for what??? lol
ericlaiys
post Sep 19 2025, 10:59 AM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 19 2025, 08:05 AM)
They will restock daily. Just need to check everyday starting from 6am onwards…
Yes. It is apple official store. They must bring whole container to sell first vs other reseller.
It is their main and hot selling product
ericlaiys
post Sep 19 2025, 01:31 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 19 2025, 01:05 PM)
Huh... so how to go about like that? Only option is to backup to your laptop on itunes then.
just subscribe icloud for monthly to backup first or use laptop. anyway, normally icloud and transfer back once u connect
ericlaiys
post Sep 20 2025, 11:32 AM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 20 2025, 10:36 AM)
My main Fon is Oppo Find X6 Pro, since it's 2 years old & I worry it might spoiled so I buy the 16e to use my  Bank apps only with a cheap hotlink prepaid card 180 days for RM 30 cos I rarely used my 16e myself. TBH with you my Oppo Find X6 Pro OLED quality is much better than my 16e OLED. That's why I keep using
hotlink can go 1 years. just pay rm30 + 10 [data for a year]. i always renew and use for waze purpose.

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 20 2025, 11:32 AM
ericlaiys
post Sep 20 2025, 12:45 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 20 2025, 11:37 AM)
Off topic... How do you go about that? Validity can go 1 year for Rm30 and Rm10 data for a year?

"365 days Active Period Pass".
it is on hotlink app. Look for "365 days Active Period Pass".
https://www.hotlink.com.my/en/faq/products/...-pantas/passes/

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 20 2025, 12:51 PM
ericlaiys
post Sep 20 2025, 04:20 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(twshen @ Sep 20 2025, 04:16 PM)
Alright sounds like I should pull the trigger then  rclxms.gif
Do you know if we can trade in on top of the 10.10/11.11 offers?
trade in only u sell yourself or do at physical reseller /apple official store. lazada/shopee no trade in options.

this round ip17 look like high demand which i dont think u can get better deal except cc discount
ericlaiys
post Sep 20 2025, 05:27 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(twshen @ Sep 20 2025, 04:29 PM)
So there's no point waiting for any promo dates if I want to trade in eh?
Yup. Been doing several trade in from iPad, Mac mini, MacBook and iPhone. No point wait 10-10,11-11 or 12-12 sale as online cannot trade in except apple website which never got any discount
ericlaiys
post Sep 20 2025, 09:13 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Sep 20 2025, 08:48 PM)
iPhone Air could only last about 7 hrs 18 minutes max.

I guess you really need to buy the Apple external battery magSafe pack to extend the juice if you're on the go or you are away from plug chargers.

well played Apple!  icon_idea.gif  rolleyes.gif
or get qi2.2 wireless charging powerbank- 10mah. using ugreen, work great
ericlaiys
post Sep 20 2025, 10:54 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 20 2025, 10:45 PM)
Today went to Switch Seremban to check out the iPhone 17 and luckily they have lavender and sage color displayed, so took photos side by side and showed my mom. She said both also nice and she’s ok with either one. biggrin.gif

Waiting for 11.11 sales. laugh.gif
not 10-10 sale?
ericlaiys
post Sep 24 2025, 09:32 AM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(rageLE @ Sep 23 2025, 11:24 PM)
I know it's not the official store. It is however, Shopee's Flagship store of which I assume is just another authorised retailer . I am trying my luck here because the official Apple store (Apple.com) quoted mine for recycle since it is all banged up as per criteria given. I've been using mine naked since I bought it. Surprisingly, with the amount of abuse I did to my phone, only the back glass is cracked, the screen itself only scratches, body also banged up. Else, it works as intended even with a 77% battery life. Safe to say, upgrade is due.
I see, I was only aware of remobie through shopee but I'll see how it goes on later
damage devalue the product. even u do trade in , people will inspect and devalue it. price on shopee for trade in is before inspection. dont think anyone will give u high price on ", when u say " the back glass is cracked, the screen itself only scratches, body also banged up". Mean battery also KO and damage to upper board(if any)

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 24 2025, 09:33 AM
ericlaiys
post Sep 25 2025, 04:07 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Sep 25 2025, 04:06 PM)
let's just say I wish to trade in my iPhone 15 for iPhone Air, then later how to install esim? because all iPhone 17 variants here comes with esim only right?

i have hotlink Postpaid physical sim in my iPhone 15, so later I need to go to nearest Maxis center to convert from physical to esim?
need to do this BEFORE or AFTER i buy iPhone Air?

i think esim is great for secondary backup telco numbers but not for main number. I prefer physical in case i wish to trade in my phone in the future.
i see why esim is such a hassle if you have it as your only number.  sweat.gif  doh.gif
go maxis to convert
ericlaiys
post Sep 26 2025, 09:13 AM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 26 2025, 08:48 AM)
Yes. Just wait for a bit longer like 10.10 or 11.11 or 12.12.

Sure the price will be significantly lower than now with vouchers 🤪
no stock in market. doubt price will go lower as now the preorder has dragged to middle oct
ericlaiys
post Sep 27 2025, 06:04 AM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Sep 27 2025, 01:29 AM)
TRX also dont have 17 in stock?
all middle of oct. Currently ip17, pro and pro max same fate. only Air available. you can check from apple website (below delivery or TRX pick up date)
ericlaiys
post Nov 20 2025, 08:07 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(megakeygen_zero @ Nov 20 2025, 06:16 PM)
13 Pro Max to base 17

considered upgrade or sidegrade?
upgrade
ericlaiys
post Nov 23 2025, 06:26 PM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Nov 23 2025, 05:15 PM)
Can we bring the old phone to trade in a few days after getting the new phone?
Need time to transfer the backup
Is the extra 100 at the trx physical store ?
TIA
can.but will use for next purchase
ericlaiys
post Nov 25 2025, 11:48 AM

7,542 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 25 2025, 10:59 AM)
Have you received yours?

I just realised that Apple hasn't really charged my Credit Card since 21.11.2025 order placed until now
Status of mine still showing "processing" as per replying now.
And i'm using Alliance Virtual Card that generated one time - 30 minutes , hmm..

So Apple only charged when the "status" change?
mine charged after item shipped and otw. Invoice also got it already and trade in started and i can schedule pick up.

0.0156sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:36 PM