[2025] iPhone 17/Air Discussion

dev/numb
post Aug 2 2025, 08:28 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jul 23 2025, 12:10 PM)
Here comes the external battery case!  icon_question.gif  blink.gif
So stupid. Should just make the phone thicker in the first place.

If this abysmal battery size rumour turns out to be true, then I’ll be very angry they decided to replace the regular 17 Plus with this Air nonsense. My mum, after years of insisting on small phones (she currently has a 13 mini) has finally decided to embrace large phones because she’s sick of charging often and has started watching more media on her phone. Now she wants a big screen and long battery life. A non-Pro Plus model would have been a great gift for her, but since Apple decided to kill it, my only option will be to spend more on the Pro Max. doh.gif
dev/numb
post Aug 14 2025, 08:38 PM

691 posts

Not gonna lie, it does look nice. Shame about the (rumoured) battery size.
dev/numb
post Sep 10 2025, 02:54 AM

691 posts

USB 2.0, single speaker, lesser battery life, single rear camera… you really really really must want the thinness if you’re willing to sacrifice so much. I must confess it does look pretty though.

EdiT:
Not sure about MYR pricing, but the magsafe battery is USD99.
The Air starts at USD999, while the Pro starts at USD1099
Air with magsafe battery claimed 40hrs of video playback. Pro claimed 39hrs.
So if you add the magsafe battery to the Air, you’re basically at Pro price, gain 1hr video playback but lose 2 cameras and stereo speakers. sweat.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 10 2025, 02:59 AM
dev/numb
post Sep 10 2025, 10:48 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 10 2025, 03:00 AM)
the single rear camera = dual camera in one system rite? so this one is not really a deal breaker.

Really? I didn’t read the whole spec sheet yet. You mean actual physical focus length switching (like in a periscope zoom) or just digital cropping?

QUOTE(westlife)
battery life to be fair only 3 hours lesser than iphone 17 = i find it acceptable, given how thin it is.

I’m buying for my mum, who only changes phones every 3-4 yrs. long term battery degradation is also a concern. Such a shame they killed the Plus. Looks like I’ll need to spend big and get her a Pro Max this year.

dev/numb
post Sep 10 2025, 12:20 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 10 2025, 11:39 AM)
why not get the 16 plus at discounted price? Stil a super good phone with super battery life.
I did consider it, but even if my mum cannot see the difference, gifting someone a screen refresh rate from the jurassic period just feels wrong to me. blush.gif
dev/numb
post Sep 13 2025, 01:54 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 13 2025, 11:04 AM)
i do read some china article show that why Apple this round going for 120hz for the base device.

The reason might be not much company stil making the 60hz screen anymore , 60hz will be discontinue soon , and the cost of 120hz screen nowaday might cheaper than 60hz , just like if u finding a DDR2 ram for your PC might be more pricy than DDR4/5.  laugh.gif

Not sure how true is this but it's good for consumer to get the upgrade feeling.
If true, I hope this is the case for larger tablet screens also. The iPad mini is my favourite Apple device, and the only thing I hate is the slow screen. If you’re the type that reads quickly while simultaneously scrolling, it makes a huge difference. Considering that Apple’s new foldable will likely get 120hz, I hope they don’t neglect the iPad mini line.
dev/numb
post Sep 14 2025, 10:27 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 14 2025, 10:18 AM)
i'm not arguing the Facetime feature , my point is , the "Facetime" alone doesnt make the iphone price cheaper on CHINA.
Would be cool if we were charged based on features used. Then I could ask Apple for 10% cashback for every iPhone year because I always disable Siri, or I can tell Google to sell me a Pixel half price because I plan to install GrapheneOS on it to avoid all their AI crap. laugh.gif
dev/numb
post Sep 15 2025, 11:53 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 10 2025, 01:09 PM)
If your mum previously using 60hz phone , i dont think she will feel the different , and for old people , the refresh rate might not be the main feature for them , what they want is BIG screen plus GOOD battery and possible a little light weight.
Went to mum's house yesterday for a visit. Discussed and decided to wait until all models are physically displayed in stores (there's a Switch very near her house) so I can bring her to see/hold them in person. If she feels the base model 17 (size also increased to 6.3" this year) is big enough, then I can get that for her and save myself around RM2k. smile.gif

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 14 2025, 08:58 PM)
Fold is the way to go in future , look at the fold phone nowaday , so slim yet stil can fit 3 flagship camera. U can have a normal phone , ipad min size. Fit into your pocket.
Not for me. I tried a friend's Galaxy Fold and the difference between my iPad Mini is still quite big in terms if how websites render. Comfort isn't great either because the bezels are too slim and I have to do hold it in the the same pinky-finger-on-the-bottom style like a regular phone. Also, I still prefer separate devices with separate accounts - phone is classified "dirty" because of WhatsApp, Telegram, Grab and govt spyware apps that are all very hamsap to track me (this is why I prefer Android for phones because of access to proper firewall and split-tunneling apps via F-Droid/Github) and iPad is "clean" because I can carefully select just the apps I need. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 15 2025, 11:56 AM
dev/numb
post Sep 17 2025, 05:57 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 17 2025, 01:43 PM)
TBH I think vanilla 17 is the winner again this generation.. a major leap. Cause most people don't use telephoto camera that much. Just 1x for normal photos, 0.5x to take in more or stretch the legs...
Yes, I agree. Regular 17 is the first non pro model in the last 4-5 years that isn’t insulting its buyers by not including any new front facing features. Imho, it should always have been like this. Give the pro line faster chips, more RAM and better cameras, but everything else should be the same tech.
dev/numb
post Sep 19 2025, 10:33 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Sep 19 2025, 09:45 AM)
More reviewers need to test this. I saw one Russian review where he measured it with the function on and off and no difference in the reading. But those videos shot under bright lights so maybe it won’t kick in until screen is dark enough.
dev/numb
post Sep 23 2025, 10:03 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(rageLE @ Sep 23 2025, 04:43 PM)
The trade in itself I believe is a Shopee initiative via Remobie.
Remobie is the backend used by Switch for their trade-ins, I believe. You go to Switch website and check their trade-ins and you will see Remobie on the top of the pdf list.
dev/numb
post Sep 27 2025, 02:40 PM

691 posts

Base 17 all colours and storage options 2-3 weeks delivery on Apple’s website. Air all options “In Stock”. laugh.gif
dev/numb
post Sep 29 2025, 02:33 PM

691 posts

I held the Air for the first time at a Machines during lunch break just now. It was impressive, for the first couple of minutes, and then I remembered my old iPhone 7 Plus felt similarly thin and wasn’t so excited anymore. sleep.gif

I now kinda get what MKBHD and Dave2D mean when they say “the novelty of thinness wears off quick” when it comes to smaller devices. Until today I’m still impressed whenever I hold the 11” iPad Pro naked, because it feels absolutely preposterous how such a powerful device is as thin as a sheet of glass. But for the Air, my reaction was like “oooh” at first, and 5 minutes later it changed to “meh”. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 29 2025, 02:38 PM
dev/numb
post Oct 6 2025, 11:51 PM

691 posts

Base model 17 seems to be selling a lot also. Made the order (256GB Blue, for my mom) on 21 Sept and only today the status changed from “processing” to “preparing to ship”.

fruitie Just read about your incident in the other thread. Good to know you (and your phone) are okay.
dev/numb
post Oct 7 2025, 10:56 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Oct 7 2025, 08:18 AM)
I placed order for the 17 256gb white with Machines last Thursday and received notification to collect it today. Seems like its faster to order from reseller.
I don’t think it’s a matter of reseller vs Apple. More like massive shipment just came in which has all the orders everyone made. Likely your order, my order, and anyone else’s order made in between all arriving in that same shipment.
dev/numb
post Nov 14 2025, 10:49 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Nov 14 2025, 03:10 PM)
seems like difficult to get base model this year
Yeah, even the Pro Max on Apple website now ships in 4-5 days but base model is 1-2 weeks.
Not surprised. First base model since Apple began the the base/pro split that feels like it respects your money by not missing out on core features.

0.0176sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:19 AM