[2025] iPhone 17 Pro/Pro Max Discussion

dev/numb
post Aug 2 2025, 08:14 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 2 2025, 12:17 AM)
It’s rare to see an orange phone. laugh.gif
Doubt the orange will be so strong like in those leaked photos. Apple’s Pro line iPhones are usually quite muted (less saturated) in terms of colours. In terms of bold orange, personally I think the cheap RM1,200 CMF Phone 2 Pro is the best looking of all phones currently on the market.
dev/numb
post Aug 10 2025, 08:27 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Aug 10 2025, 07:59 PM)
Anti reflection is a great thing. My ip16pm flolab AR.. so nice especially being outside and bright sunny day.

I just wonder if ip17 has it.. can’t apply a AR based screen protector right?
The iPad Pro already has a similar option. The coating is very good. The diffused effect is not as high as those 3rd party matte screen protector films so everything is sharper. But the problem is durability. Those who use the Apple Pencil can see marks on it after a few weeks. Apple’s marketing is also a bit BS, because they claim the coating is on the underside of the screen. If that was true, why would they need sell a special cloth for it?

For the iPhone, if the anti reflective coating is truly on the underside of the glass, then it should be possible to apply any screen protector and not worry about damaging it, but nobody will know until the device is released and tested.

dev/numb
post Aug 12 2025, 04:35 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Aug 12 2025, 11:31 AM)
so far, how's Apple intelligence holding up?
It holds up really well once you disable it. grin.gif

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Aug 12 2025, 04:35 PM
dev/numb
post Aug 21 2025, 01:56 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 20 2025, 09:46 PM)
At the end, I backed for Ikko MindOne Pro for my secondary phone though the battery is equivalent. laugh.gif
But the screen is so small so should be OK. biggrin.gif I just need a fun phone, so initially thought about the 17 Air.
Please give us review when you get your hands on it.
dev/numb
post Aug 28 2025, 10:35 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 28 2025, 08:36 PM)
I change because I just suka-suka want to upgrade. biggrin.gif
Finally gonna use that apology voucher you got from Apple?
dev/numb
post Sep 9 2025, 03:05 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(standard91 @ Sep 9 2025, 02:03 PM)
Anyone have experience pre order with Senheng before ? is it ok?
Any company that forces you to download their bloated app just for invoice and warranty is basically a scam centre in my book.
dev/numb
post Sep 9 2025, 03:09 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(cklove96 @ Sep 9 2025, 12:25 AM)
smaller island on 17pro (rumor)

Too small also not nice, imho. Makes it look cheap and characterless.
One reason why I prefer Android phones with the frot camera cutout on the left side is because it adds character. If in the center, it just looks like a budget copycat of iPhone.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 9 2025, 03:12 PM
dev/numb
post Sep 9 2025, 05:53 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Sep 9 2025, 05:32 PM)
Wonder how’s one gonna use any travel sim (daily/weekly) without the sim slot.

Usually these are available on airport upon travel…
Download the app from an e-sim provider (eg: Saily) and choose country, plan and start date. Once paid you can download the e-sim profile.
dev/numb
post Sep 11 2025, 05:05 PM

691 posts

What chargers do you guys pair with the Magsafe puck for faster wireless charging. Apple's documentation says it "provides faster wireless charging up to 25W when paired with a 30W power adapter" but is this only with Apple's 30W adapter or any brand?

Sorry, I'm a n00b when it comes to wireless charging. The only wireless charger I've used so far is the one that came in my car, which is so slow I don't even bother using it anymore.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 11 2025, 05:07 PM
dev/numb
post Sep 11 2025, 10:30 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Sep 11 2025, 10:20 PM)
Thank you!

Just wondering does battery health affect the trade in value?
For example 78% or 85% etc
No. As long as there’s no physical damage like battery bloating, your battery health will not affect the trade-in value. Majority of devices traded in to Apple are marked for refurbishing, so they will replace the battery before selling as refurbished unit.
dev/numb
post Sep 11 2025, 11:57 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 11 2025, 10:39 PM)
If guys just stick in pocket, PM and Plus is... well.. no space cause my junk need that space.
Which is why Apple now wants to sell you a RM299 piece of string so you can wear your phone like a handbag and have more free space for your junk. brows.gif
dev/numb
post Sep 12 2025, 06:23 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Sep 12 2025, 04:27 PM)
Gotta admit the design of the pro version really ugly and the orange color also looks so 'unmatured'. Quite a turn off for me actually. Most probably will be waiting for ip18 then
I’m the opposite. I thought their Pro phones from last few years were boring but love the new 17 Pro.

Although personally I’m not a big fan of the orange. Prefer the silver and blue. At least from the product photos, I feel the deep blue when paired with the matching Apple Techwoven or Pitaka case is understated gorgeousness. Just hope the anodised finish isn’t like the MacBook Air where the paint chips off easily.

At the end of the day we cannot expect Apple to pivot too much from their traditional metal and glass slab look. They are not like Nothing trying to appeal to niche segments. They need to target mass market.
dev/numb
post Sep 12 2025, 08:24 PM

691 posts

Since you guys and gals were talking about pickpockets a few pages ago; https://img.joomcdn.net/80d70aab925f4e3c810...1_original.jpeg laugh.gif
dev/numb
post Sep 13 2025, 12:11 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 13 2025, 11:52 AM)
Nowadays screen protector comes with its own forklift applicator. In the end, packaging bigger than the iPhone’s box. laugh.gif
dev/numb
post Sep 13 2025, 12:20 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 13 2025, 11:26 AM)
I pay $30 for one year validity. Then I buy the data as and when needed. Sometimes buy $10 for 5gb one year. Another time buy $10-15 for monthly data if I’m outside. Usually, I use Wi-Fi to surf.

If I want postpaid (don’t see the need yet), I’d rather get the maxis business plan $79 for my personal use. I sometime see maxis ppl setup booth at my company lobby. Offer seems quite good.
Hotlink Pantas is one of the hidden gem prepaid options. For cellular iPads or if your car has a sim tray for mobile connectivity, it’s basically the go-to plan in Malaysia, imho. I used to have one for my cellular iPad Pro, but ever since I switched to Maxis Fibre I just pay additional RM69/month for unlimited data for my phone and just hotspot nowadays.
dev/numb
post Sep 13 2025, 12:27 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 13 2025, 12:15 PM)
Because 3D hot-bending does require alittle bit of skill to apply , that the reason why 3D hot bending must come with a rolling tools , or else the failure very high for newbie.

But once u get this kind of screen protector , u wont ever looking another type , because it just so easy , pull , roll , done 😆 my ip16pm and vivo x200s was using this kind of temp glass.
Please educate me. Is this “hot bending” different from the usual Hoda style “put into the plastic mould and press center” or the ESR style “box with pull tab” process? I HATE applying screen protectors. The last one I applied was a Bellemond for my iPad mini 7. It’s high quality glass, but the application was hell. The table in my house with the best overhead lighting for screen protectors application is just under the air conditioning unit, so I turned off the a/c before starting (to reduce chance of lint falling on the glass), and by the time I finished I was sweating like a horse sweat.gif

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 13 2025, 12:29 PM
dev/numb
post Sep 13 2025, 12:38 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Sep 13 2025, 12:33 PM)
or does Apple Care or plus provide any service where if my phone is cracked, immediately they send a new phone for me for replacement or temporarily use before i send for repair? Apple got such service?

Edit: Here’s the small print.

Personally, for me, Apple Care plans is only worth it for Airpods (because of frequent driver failure or battery issues). For the rest, I find a protective case better and cheaper. But if you prefer going commando then I guess Apple Care Plus is the best you can hope for.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 13 2025, 12:44 PM
dev/numb
post Sep 14 2025, 10:11 AM

691 posts

Whew, finally slowed down, this thread. Last few days will move so many pages overnight until cannot keep up also. Today morning move 2 pages only. laugh.gif

QUOTE(soulz69 @ Sep 14 2025, 09:07 AM)
new charger? hmm.gif

That brick still not listed on MY store, I believe. I checked yesterday and couldn’t find it. Still only selling the 30W version here. On the US store, Apple already removed the 30W and replaced it with this new 40W version.

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 14 2025, 09:32 AM)

just come across this vid about SP
Can give us a TL;DW summary please?

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 14 2025, 10:14 AM
dev/numb
post Sep 15 2025, 02:23 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Sep 14 2025, 11:40 PM)
Time to change!!!
Rm3k lah…..  notworthy.gif

Looks like the new Apple techwoven cases are good.. anyone buying? Rm299... Makes Pitake cases look cheap.
This guy and his dog are my favourite case and screen protector reviewers on youtube.

The main pro of Apple cases is guaranteed perfect fit for early bird iPhone buyers. Other case makers use dummy mockups based on leaks, so there’s a chance they might be 0.5mm off here and there (majority won’t admit and will silently fix their cases in the next batch after the real iPhones are out). The other benefit of Apple cases is perfectly functioning camera control button feedback.

I’m a fan of Apple’s silicon cases. They last surprisingly long without getting loose and are friendly to most screen protectors. Hopefully these new techwoven ones are just as good.
dev/numb
post Sep 15 2025, 08:06 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 14 2025, 06:49 PM)
Sir, may I suggest Rimowa?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

https://www.rimowa.com/my/en/tech-accessories/
LOL… RM800+ and no MagSafe. Lu seow ah?! laugh.gif

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 14 2025, 07:51 PM)
Bolehland price: rm5999

Do note that Australia and the EU countries have consumer protection laws that require Apple to give a full 2yr warranty, so you would have to combine our local price with Apple care or reseller extended warranty for a more accurate comparison.

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 15 2025, 07:20 AM)
The problem with apple silicon case is always that the stains especially oil etc. will build on it over time. Almost unavoidably unless u wear grove to hold it.

Once there were stains on the case, it will look quite dusting and the feeling of holding it will become very bad.
Stains are quite easy to wipe away in my experience, but maybe that’s because I use a dark colour. To me the more irritating part is picking up lint, but that’s the same with all silicone cases.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 15 2025, 08:07 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:18 PM