Parents to go to court over high-rise project next, to school

TS30624770
post May 27 2025, 03:39 PM, updated 7 months ago

269 posts

PETALING JAYA: A group of concerned parents is looking to bring judicial review proceedings over a planned 46-storey building project next to The International School @ ParkCity in Desa ParkCity, Kuala Lumpur.

A parent who asked to be known only as Lee said numerous pleas made to property developer Perdana ParkCity for the project to be reconsidered have fallen on deaf ears.

“We are planning to file for a judicial review and will ask that work be suspended pending the disposal of the case,” she told FMT.

Lee claimed the project was initially planned for another location, but was relocated to an empty plot of land next to the school. An announcement made during a quarterly parents’ meeting in January, caused an uproar, she said.

Construction of ParkCity Tower, a 46-storey office building, is set to begin this year and scheduled for completion by 2029.

Lee said construction has not yet begun, but a tall crane was brought in on April 28 to conduct groundwork near the school’s field, causing panic among many children and parents.

She said the crane has since left the site, but parents remain uneasy after seeing videos on social media showing the crane operating in close proximity to the school.

The parents’ committee, which has been outspoken on the issue, has since been served with a legal notice from the developer warning them against speaking out against the project.

A 42-year-old parent, who asked to be identified only as Chia, said she may withdraw her child from the school if safety issues persist.

“It is a major concern, especially seeing how close the crane was to the school field where children play and run freely,” she told FMT.

Another parent and resident of Desa ParkCity who spoke to FMT on condition of anonymity also expressed concerns for the safety of her child.

“It has only been a year since the new primary school building was inaugurated. Now they tell us a massive tower will be built next to it,” she said.

She said Desa ParkCity is a small township, and many students cycle to school, including her son. The presence of heavy construction machinery on the surrounding roads pose a real safety risk, she said.

She said the project will also cause major traffic congestion, affecting the nearby hospital across the road, and called for a proper evaluation of the potential impact of the development on the community.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...8A4pzhjNz6PAjKA
TOMEI-R
post May 27 2025, 03:45 PM

Extraordinaire
24,222 posts

Instead of enrolling their kids at another school, the parents decided to sue to land owner and developer for building on their own land.

What kind of logic is this?
SUSipohps3
post May 27 2025, 03:46 PM

1,974 posts

rich people problem
knwong
post May 27 2025, 03:47 PM

3,567 posts

I don't think they have a case...it's not their land
TS30624770
post May 27 2025, 03:50 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 27 2025, 04:45 PM)
Instead of enrolling their kids at another school, the parents decided to sue to land owner and developer for building on their own land.

Orang kaya
mcchin
post May 27 2025, 03:50 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Damn

Looking at heavy machinery also already ketaq lutut?

Damn strawberry parents
TS30624770
post May 27 2025, 03:51 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 27 2025, 04:47 PM)
But it's Desa Park City

Orang kaya
scorptim
post May 27 2025, 03:52 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 27 2025, 03:45 PM)

QUOTE(knwong @ May 27 2025, 03:47 PM)
You own land you wanna build any low rise building is your freedom.

For high rise like this still depends on govt approval

But their chances at winning super low la
ShadowR1
post May 27 2025, 03:54 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

Macam ni pun bole ah ... so entitled.
knwong
post May 27 2025, 03:55 PM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ May 27 2025, 03:51 PM)
But it's Desa Park City

Orang kaya
I know the richer you are the easier it is to bend the rule...but when the news become public interest...it will be difficult...need to follow law dy
TS30624770

269 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ May 27 2025, 04:54 PM)
Macam ni pun bole ah ... so entitled.
B40s no $$$ to be entitled
SUS*lightbringer*

259 posts

entitled orang kaya problem. U can see this type of parents at any private school.
nugget2022
post May 27 2025, 03:56 PM

38 posts

developer has already sold all units ?

so unless the govt rescind approval which is highly unlikely the project will proceed...

good luck to the parents as they have an uphill battle..they may be able to secure a court order to freeze the construction
while waiting for the courts to decide...
TS30624770
post May 27 2025, 03:56 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 27 2025, 04:55 PM)
I know the richer you are the easier it is to bend the rule...but when the news become public interest...it will be difficult...need to follow law dy
They are questioning the feasibility of building a condo beside a school

Originally the condo should not be there

They might have a case if they can get good lawyers
SUSEfalex
post May 27 2025, 03:58 PM

361 posts

The developer should just buy the school land and demolish it to build shopping center ....
smsid
post May 27 2025, 04:01 PM

118 posts

People want to renovate their own house also need permission, but the developer want to build high-rise anywhere, no problem, semua approved even in rainwater catchment area, janji duit masuk, kenyang kene suap.

This post has been edited by smsid: May 27 2025, 04:02 PM
Avangelice
post May 27 2025, 04:02 PM

5,274 posts

you definitely aren't a parent to be saying this. Moving a child from one school in the middle of the year? Friendships? Teacher relationship? Mean nothing izit?
Fork
post May 27 2025, 04:04 PM

157 posts

Can’t imagine what’s the need to build an office building in a residential area, roads are too narrow, only rich ppl goyang kaki live there
Stigonboard
post May 27 2025, 04:06 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ May 27 2025, 03:56 PM)
They are questioning the feasibility of building a condo beside a school

Originally the condo should not be there

They might have a case if they can get good lawyers
What case?

It is condo for god sake .. not a factory, utility or industrial park that can create disturbance and danger to the children

Just another rich ppl not in my backyard stupidity
TOMEI-R
post May 27 2025, 04:08 PM

Extraordinaire
24,222 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 27 2025, 04:02 PM)
you definitely aren't a parent to be saying this. Moving a child from one school in the middle of the year? Friendships? Teacher relationship? Mean nothing izit?
You want the whole world to stop revolving because your kid is studying in that school?

For example. Can I tell you to cut down the tree in the yard in your home because the leaves from your tree is dirtying my side of the house? shakehead.gif

If you are not happy with the school, you can bring your business elsewhere. Its not your land.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: May 27 2025, 04:09 PM
scorgio
post May 27 2025, 04:10 PM

4,695 posts

Nampak crane they already envisioned the crane will collapse, towards the side of the school.

Heard construction will start they already expect heavy machineries will hit one of the school kids.

Geng!

Boomwick
post May 27 2025, 04:10 PM

1,005 posts

Rich till can fight in court.. not bad
max_cavalera
post May 27 2025, 04:13 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 27 2025, 04:45 PM)

Rich pipur probrem
TS30624770
post May 27 2025, 04:15 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(Stigonboard @ May 27 2025, 05:06 PM)
What case?

It is condo for god sake .. not a factory, utility or industrial park that can create disturbance and danger to the children
Just another rich ppl not in my backyard stupidity
They are questioning how a condo project gets approved beside a school as the original condo project was somewhere else
SHERLOCK THE SOLVER
post May 27 2025, 04:21 PM

T1 logic, desway ko tak paham logic tu. Work harder.
TOMEI-R
post May 27 2025, 04:25 PM

Extraordinaire
24,222 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ May 27 2025, 03:52 PM)

We have a lot of self entitled people around. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 27 2025, 04:13 PM)
Rich pipur probrem
Rich then go find land and build your own school la. Then no such problem.

QUOTE(SHERLOCK THE SOLVER @ May 27 2025, 04:21 PM)
T1 logic, desway ko tak paham logic tu. Work harder.
Yes sarahan saya. nod.gif I will work harder from now on.
max_cavalera
post May 27 2025, 04:26 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ May 27 2025, 05:15 PM)
They are questioning how a condo project gets approved beside a school as the original condo project was somewhere else
Janji ada wang maa…

icemanfx
post May 27 2025, 04:29 PM

21,457 posts

Dpc poorperly price will likely remain stagnant.

acbc
post May 27 2025, 04:36 PM

9,050 posts

Developer sued the parents first and now the parents suing back. Will drag and tangle in court for years. Bye2 for the buyers.
SUSBlackscreamerz
post May 27 2025, 04:48 PM

121 posts

It is a question of zoning now. Since we do not have right to sunlight law.

Avangelice
post May 27 2025, 04:51 PM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 27 2025, 04:08 PM)
You want the whole world to stop revolving because your kid is studying in that school?

For example. Can I tell you to cut down the tree in the yard in your home because the leaves from your tree is dirtying my side of the house? shakehead.gif
If you are not happy with the school, you can bring your business elsewhere. Its not your land.
Then my rebuke is, need so many stupid tall compact condos in Malaysia? Even kuching starting to have this sickness.
billylks
post May 27 2025, 04:55 PM

180 posts

I think it is reasonable for the parents to protest lah.

Imagine the kids are learning in classroom, and outside ketung ketung deafening noises by the construction.
Porkycorgi5588
post May 27 2025, 04:56 PM

250 posts

topkek....
if SMK or SJKC, I suppork parents....
but international school.... go die la....

Sohai rich kids schools
ekoh
post May 27 2025, 04:58 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Efalex @ May 27 2025, 03:58 PM)
The developer should just buy the school land and demolish it to build shopping center ....
i think the school also own by the developer
acbc
post May 27 2025, 05:00 PM

9,050 posts

Waiting for another Bukit Bintang crane death later.
Prometric
post May 27 2025, 05:05 PM

434 posts

Sue first, if later construction ongoing got any incident. Instant ka-chinggg
SUSBlackscreamerz
post May 27 2025, 05:05 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ May 27 2025, 04:56 PM)
topkek....

Sohai rich kids schools
Why? rich kids not human?
Porkycorgi5588
post May 27 2025, 05:06 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ May 27 2025, 05:05 PM)
Why? rich kids not human?
reptilian
SUSfuzzy
post May 27 2025, 05:07 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Why cannot send to government school that is not near any high rise construction?

Must die die send to international school then complain about it?
dudester
post May 27 2025, 05:11 PM

1,230 posts

we always laugh at the name of this school "THE INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL" WTF

https://g.co/kgs/PkYJrMF
ye0073
post May 27 2025, 05:18 PM

480 posts

DesaPark City so crowded these days.

yhtan
post May 27 2025, 05:21 PM

8,653 posts

Confirm lose case, the lawyer must be happy collecting the fee from this bunch of rich parents. Once town council given green light it is very hard to u-turn.

Unless accident happen then they only got chance to fight, if they are so rich why not buy over the land from Desa Park developer.
bill11
post May 27 2025, 05:22 PM

303 posts

knn need so many condo for what ...

this DBKL beside condo nothing else they can do.
zeese
post May 27 2025, 05:24 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Parent sue developer because they afraid the crane will fall down? Lol
SUSNajibaik

1,481 posts

as like KL is not enough of condo
got land? more condo for you
DValentine

773 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ May 27 2025, 03:46 PM)
rich people problem
QUOTE(knwong @ May 27 2025, 03:47 PM)
QUOTE(scorptim @ May 27 2025, 03:52 PM)

inb4 rich

but not rich enough to buy over the land

owaiiiii

This post has been edited by DValentine: May 27 2025, 05:25 PM
yhtan
post May 27 2025, 05:25 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(ye0073 @ May 27 2025, 05:18 PM)

build high rise baru can earn more
Sukhoi35mkm
post May 27 2025, 05:25 PM

17 posts

this is the one that building-to-building gap only 8 meters...
DValentine
post May 27 2025, 05:26 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(bill11 @ May 27 2025, 05:22 PM)
knn need so many condo for what ...

this DBKL beside condo nothing else they can do.
DPC developer maximizing profit before no more land there

property agent fearmongering ppl as always:

"LAST PLOT OF LAND AT DPC!!!!! BUY NOW OR REGRET!!!!!"
jonthebaptist
post May 27 2025, 05:26 PM

1,036 posts

There's a song called Usir Ketakutan, listen to it and maybe you'll understand why some fight instead of running away.

DValentine
post May 27 2025, 05:29 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 27 2025, 04:13 PM)
Rich pipur probrem
KAU JANGAN gelak

nanti cyberjaya ada DPC 2.0 tau whistling.gif
Avangelice
post May 27 2025, 05:32 PM

5,274 posts

Didn't know so many corpo dick suckers here in /k. DBKL famous for letting every land be turned into a condo or a mall without doing proper zoning or studies or road expansions. Then developers one kind, every nook and cranny must build condo. No other innovations or thinking outside the box to turn the land to be a greenery. Look at Singapore on how they balance out high rise to greenery and walkability plus public transportation in mind.

SUSfuzzy
post May 27 2025, 05:32 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

This is dangerous. Later pedo hide in carpark to take pic of the young childrens.
TS30624770
post May 27 2025, 05:34 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 27 2025, 06:32 PM)
Didn't know so many corpo dick suckers here in /k. DBKL famous for letting every land be turned into a condo or a mall without doing proper zoning or studies or road expansions. Then developers one kind, every nook and cranny must build condo. No other innovations or thinking outside the box to turn the land to be a greenery. Look at Singapore on how they balance out high rise to greenery and walkability plus public transportation in mind.
They green eye because it’s T20 area whistling.gif
Avangelice
post May 27 2025, 05:36 PM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ May 27 2025, 04:56 PM)
topkek....

Sohai rich kids schools
QUOTE(30624770 @ May 27 2025, 05:34 PM)
They green eye because it’s T20 area  whistling.gif
Look at the top comment. Kids aren't humans if they are rich.
Stigonboard
post May 27 2025, 05:40 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ May 27 2025, 04:15 PM)
There is no law against a condo built beside school. I can give tons of example condo/apartment beside a school

The land also owned by developer, they can build anything they want as long its not a factory, utility (tnb, indah water) or industrial building use that comes with certain restrictions
prozfromhell
post May 27 2025, 05:42 PM

362 posts

can developer sue them back?
lol
Stigonboard
post May 27 2025, 05:45 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 27 2025, 05:32 PM)
What you talking about?

In Singapore they put schools alongside HDB condos to promote urban walkability for school children from their home to the school

What Desa Park City doing is good.. instead of kids being ferried by hundred or cars and long distance between their home and school, now the family have option to live just beside the school and their kids can now commute easily and safely by walking
DValentine
post May 27 2025, 05:48 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Stigonboard @ May 27 2025, 05:45 PM)
What you talking about?

In Singapore they put schools alongside HDB condos to promote urban walkability for school children from their home to the school

What Desa Park City doing is good.. instead of kids being ferried by hundred or cars and long distance between their home and school, now the family have option to live just beside the school and their kids can now commute easily and safely by walking
those parents feeling kena scammed

when they first bought DPC coz the environment got greeneries

now the developer wanna milk every inches of the land and build condo on it

op coz the parents mad laugh.gif
A.B.D.
post May 27 2025, 06:29 PM

2,365 posts

Should give discount during the construction period then can easily replace the students who leave and those who stay can’t complain
max_cavalera
post May 27 2025, 06:32 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ May 27 2025, 06:29 PM)
KAU JANGAN gelak

nanti cyberjaya ada DPC 2.0 tau whistling.gif
Hard to suckcess…

Type C pipur dont like Cyberjaya
DValentine
post May 27 2025, 09:06 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 27 2025, 06:32 PM)
Hard to suckcess…

dont worry

u are going to see cb agent membawang say xx minutes to kl
focusrite
post May 27 2025, 09:13 PM

409 posts

zoning code is a thing
hihihehe
post May 27 2025, 09:32 PM

13,791 posts

Hard to suckcess…

Nope. U go read dpc 2.0 thread then u can see cyberjaya suddenly become a beautiful city and location

Even developer also got die hard fans.Topkek
Phoenix_KL
post May 27 2025, 09:37 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Efalex @ May 27 2025, 03:58 PM)
many school close soon.

Birth rate woes hit China where schools are closing for lack of children

Provinces Jiangxi, Hubei and Hunan are also cutting back on teacher jobs, putting added pressure on a bleak labour market
https://www.scmp.com/news/china/politics/ar...g-lack-children

cms
post May 27 2025, 09:38 PM

763 posts

Likely these are the entitled ppl tat should be paying full price or taxed ron 95
mac_mac21
post May 27 2025, 09:46 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ May 27 2025, 04:10 PM)
Nampak crane they already envisioned the crane will collapse, towards the side of the school.

Heard construction will start they already expect heavy machineries will hit one of the school kids.

Geng!
normal la Malaysia , if any incident happen, just put a price, can gao dim behind

max_cavalera
post May 27 2025, 09:51 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 27 2025, 10:32 PM)
Nope. U go read dpc 2.0 thread then u can see cyberjaya suddenly become a beautiful city and location

Even developer also got die hard fans.Topkek
But… the dpc 2.0 location on the other side of the highway though. In Puchong area. Still consider Cyberjaya area kaa? 👀

Cyberjaya MP Sepang will nego with Puchong realligned the sempadan arh? 😅
SUSsihamsedap
post May 27 2025, 10:27 PM

94 posts

why need another block

arkadia also dead town, so many empty units, even the main part got empty lots, many business ddying there

they want oversupply with more units for fucks ah

Stigonboard
post May 28 2025, 09:57 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ May 27 2025, 05:48 PM)
those parents feeling kena scammed

when they first bought DPC coz the environment got greeneries

now the developer wanna milk every inches of the land and build condo on it

op coz the parents mad laugh.gif
More like they want to protect their house value due to the limited numbers in the market

Yeah nothing to do with school or kids safety
Stigonboard
post May 28 2025, 10:01 AM

335 posts

Hard to suckcess…

More like low class type c dont like

In upper class cyberjaya residential area like Setia Eco Glade, Symphony Hills, Lakeside, Mah Sing Gardens majority is Type C

Skylinestar
post May 28 2025, 10:03 AM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

stupid parents.
do you know that the tallest building in Sarawak is next to a primary school?
max_cavalera
post May 28 2025, 10:03 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(Stigonboard @ May 28 2025, 11:01 AM)
More like low class type c dont like

In upper class cyberjaya residential area like Setia Eco Glade, Symphony Hills, Lakeside, Mah Sing Gardens majority is Type C
Wow rerri arh? I thought most of those expensip purace is owned by kabel busar type M… ohmy.gif

My wife sed she saw Sheila Hamzah youtube vid they stay in Symphony Hills
Porkycorgi5588
post May 28 2025, 10:13 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 28 2025, 10:03 AM)
Wow rerri arh? I thought most of those expensip purace is owned by kabel busar type M… ohmy.gif

doomsday got ajak u yumcha or not ?

max_cavalera
post May 28 2025, 10:15 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ May 28 2025, 11:13 AM)
doomsday got ajak u yumcha or not ?
He got ajak but anneh will always FFK one

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: May 28 2025, 10:15 AM
Zot
post May 28 2025, 10:18 AM

7,938 posts

They think they have the right to whole area surrounding them.
TS30624770
post May 28 2025, 10:21 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 28 2025, 11:03 AM)

The population of type c in cyberjaya is increasing especially the landed properties
TS30624770
post May 28 2025, 10:22 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 28 2025, 11:03 AM)
stupid parents.
do you know that the tallest building in Sarawak is next to a primary school?
It happened before does not mean it is right whistling.gif
Stigonboard
post May 28 2025, 10:40 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 28 2025, 10:03 AM)

Perdana Lakeview and Mulia Residence is Type M majority

Skylinestar
post May 28 2025, 11:06 AM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ May 28 2025, 10:22 AM)
It happened before does not mean it is right  whistling.gif
imagine if you are the parents who work there and your kid study next to it. best combo.
Doomsday
post May 28 2025, 11:34 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 28 2025, 10:15 AM)
He got ajak but anneh will always FFK one
Cheebai punya annnehh.. klang people also Tak jumpa..

Sampai symphony hills pun tak jumpa.

Nanti kita settle kat uncle Don
DValentine
post May 28 2025, 01:05 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ May 27 2025, 10:27 PM)
why need another block

arkadia also dead town, so many empty units, even the main part got empty lots, many business ddying there

they want oversupply with more units for fucks ah
sebab boleh dik

tanah tu gua punya sukak hati gua la

u blow?

0.0284sec    1.05    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:19 PM