BYD Malaysia buys back faulty Atto3
Roman Catholic
May 26 2025, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(skywardsword @ May 26 2025, 11:28 PM) really? there is a few setting for auto-door locks, maybe he disable it as well? and or auto-power on when door is unlock. I keep those unchecked. but do not know if others keep it running. Open door and the car is ready and prime to move. With all the maybes perhaps etc etc so much safety huh.
Roman Catholic
May 26 2025, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(dickybird @ May 26 2025, 11:32 PM) As soya lanjiao and EV plotekkers would say this is modern tech for modern drivers not for analogue oku. As alsways they add “ if you no buy EV, you stupid” Think about it, this case was lucky that it happened during the day and those behind managed to avoid him by the skin of their teeth. If at night, he and his family might be dead and we wouldn't know any better.
Roman Catholic
May 26 2025, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(skywardsword @ May 26 2025, 11:33 PM) Yes, Uncle also prefer a car with Zero safety system, purely use our own innate safety logic in the brain. therefore, I can only tell you as a user of the car, it does do certain things. But you do not need to question me. Go drive the car yourself and do a video on youtube to show the world it is not safe. What I wouldn't do or let my clients do is drive with a weak battery. But there will always be those who wants to push the envelope by going against me and when things go awry, I just say didn't I tell you so. But I am also grateful to these explorers la, if not for them, I also wouldn't learn from their mistakes.
Roman Catholic
May 26 2025, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 26 2025, 11:38 PM) This one I have tested on my own Atto last week. Unbuckle and open door > straight engage EPB and park mode However With door still open, from P, press brake and push gear into D, the car starts rolling forward again, with the door still opened. Will try to test again on another car with EPB to see if the algorithm logic is the same or not Walao you guys really do such testing huh to see which algorithm is logical ? Shouldnt that be like a standard operational procedure like that the vehicle is safely parked before opening the door and exiting the driver seat ? This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 26 2025, 11:46 PM
Roman Catholic
May 26 2025, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(dickybird @ May 26 2025, 11:40 PM) I agree. But soya lanjiao and EV fanboys would still die die defend their battery cars as the future. Now it's the future la but when the number of EV fires begin to rise and the ridiculous damages sustained, I am sure they will change their tune one.
Roman Catholic
May 26 2025, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(dickybird @ May 26 2025, 11:51 PM) Not what EV fanboys think They praise the day they get full self driving. They say you are the OKU being unable to adapt to modern driving tech. It is not the car that is the problem but you the driver is the problem. Smh Here is the funny part, these are YouTube videos online showing Chinese drivers doing all things inside their EV except driving like it was some kind of fad la but dunno why the CCP government has ban such antics now. First the promote self driving etc now ban self driving. Apa CCCP mau ?
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(dickybird @ May 26 2025, 11:54 PM) Active cruise control is probably as much tech i want in my car. Lane keep assist is just annoying. Lane keep assist annoying ? Which car bro ?
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 27 2025, 12:03 AM) NO Ban. Hangzhou still full of Self driving DIDI Lexus. Govt only want those car manufacturer update the self driving system. Make it more safety. Both hand & eye cannot away from steering and dashboard. Driver must full focus monitoring it. No fun la like that. Got videos of Chinese driver sleeping at the wheel with their legs up on the dashboard summore and more crazy antics. Sometimes I wonder what is going through their minds. The best one is the Sales Advisor reassuring the buyer that the car will automatically come to a stop but it didn't and crashed into the another car. Well their balls are definitely bigger than mine.
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 05:52 AM
QUOTE(dickybird @ May 27 2025, 01:00 AM) Those low end beep beep products from P2. Not yet reach the level of Volvo top tier, vibrating steering wheel and car self steers to stay in lane. Now that would be scary. A very good LKA is a one that would keep a vehicle moving dead center along the road without bouncing of the left and right markers on the road like ping pong, otherwise other road users behind would think that ini driver mabuk ka.
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 06:14 AM
QUOTE(unknown_2 @ May 27 2025, 03:31 AM) i hate the trend of adding unnecessary sensor to a car. 1 of my friend, very early adopter of tesla, b4 official Tesla launch in m'sia. he got unlucky of buying a tesla with faulty door sensor. the car refuses to drive bcoz detect 1 of the door not closed when it's already closed properly.  Your friend's case is the vehicle refuse to power up because of a faulty sensor and that is correct. But this case, vehicle already powered up and travelling on the fast lane and suddenly the drivers door sensor becomes faulty all by its ownself ? Many years driving ICE, never suddenly encountered a faulty door sensor while travelling. Door light ajar is on, check which door is the problematic one until the light goes off before travelling. How on earth does such a sensor fail during a journey. Furthermore that led it to drain the battery completely until every system shuts down ? This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 27 2025, 06:16 AM
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ May 27 2025, 07:17 AM) need to be careful when following a BYD car now..or even other EVs that have similar sensors...scary that the car can just auto shutdown due to sensor malfunction. I understand its probably safety reasons in case car door open while driving but this is just bad because why not have redundancy (extra sensors to be 100% sure, and not due to faulty sensor)? Hopefully BYD learnt their lesson and make changes to their vehicles. I also saw a review on emas7 recently where if you use voice - you can open the tailgate while driving! but that should be fixable with a software update - i just cannot brain how can the software engineers that did that voice command didnt even bother to think of safety (make sure cannot open tailgate or doors while driving using voice, etc). I thought it's an feature like the sun roof for maximum ventilation. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 The only lesson that I have learnt is keep my distance from such vehicles on the road. How on earth such flaw wasn't detected with all the testings that's done before launch ? Macam tiada testing shit aje. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 27 2025, 08:06 AM
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(azbro @ May 27 2025, 07:10 AM) BYD found out door sensor problem Now let's take it further, what exactly is wrong with the door sensor ? Mechanical or electrical fault ? This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 27 2025, 08:03 AM
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(azbro @ May 27 2025, 08:21 AM) That one BYD need to send somewhere to analyse. Sure end up send to the sensor supplier. Hopefully they result will be publish by then, because I am interested to know whether it's a mechanical or electrical fault. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 27 2025, 09:03 AM
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(acbc @ May 27 2025, 09:17 AM) During the drive, the sensor suddenly stopped sending signals to the ECU or BCM and the car's computers assumed an accident and went into protection mode. It is the same as Boeing 737 Max 8 and the AOA sensors. When the sensor fails, the MCAS system took over from the pilots and crash the plane. Aiyoyo pilots must always be able to override any system just like driver must be able to take control of the vehicle in case of an emergency. If a vehicle is designed to make its own decisions without any input from the driver, then such vehicle should not be on the road. It's plain stupid for such a sensor that was working before to fail suddenly and bring the vehicle to an immediate stop. The sale of such vehicle should be stop immediately and a thorough investigation conducted. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 27 2025, 09:34 AM
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ May 27 2025, 03:41 PM) . Fyi, ....... Gemini AI Overview
Yes, a weak 12V battery can potentially cause door sensors to fail or malfunction. Sensors rely on a consistent and adequate voltage supply to operate correctly. If the battery is weak or failing, it may not provide the necessary voltage for the door sensor to function properly. Here's why a weak battery can affect door sensors: - Insufficient Voltage: Sensors require a specific voltage to operate. A weak battery may not provide enough power, leading to unreliable or inaccurate readings from the sensor. - Intermittent Operation: Even if the battery isn't completely dead, it might fluctuate in voltage, causing the sensor to operate intermittently or incorrectly. - System Malfunction: A weak battery can also affect other vehicle systems, including the car's computer, which might influence the operation of the door sensors. - Other Factors: While a weak battery is a common cause, other factors like wiring issues, sensor failures, or problems with the vehicle's computer can also contribute to sensor problems.
If you're experiencing issues with your car's door sensors, it's always a good idea to have your battery checked and ensure it's providing the necessary voltage. . Now you know why I am fucking strict with my clients.
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(azbro @ May 27 2025, 03:50 PM) Meanwhile, Matsudah case macam mana? Must be the seat sensor pulak Which Matsudah case ?
Roman Catholic
May 27 2025, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ May 27 2025, 10:35 PM) https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=111589177. Above repost fyi, ie if the 10 month old/20,000km 12V battery is weak, it can fail while the BYD Atto 3 is being driven on the highway until the BIG battery has <20% charge , even though the car had been started earlier by the weak 12V battery. . That dildo still hasn't figured out that part yet. LOL I am begining to suspect that that dildo has interest in BYD or something. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 27 2025, 11:44 PM
Roman Catholic
May 28 2025, 06:18 AM
QUOTE(azbro @ May 28 2025, 05:40 AM) Oh that case. I've reached out to the reporter who covered the case but the reporter couldn't give me the owner's contact number. So I asked the reporter to pass my number over to the owner instead and she said she could do that. Till today the owner have not call yet. No point contacting the ADUN at this juncture already, if he ain't going to listen to the reporter, he ain't listening to ADUN member too. At this juncture, all he wants is just a buy back to take place but that ain't happening cause MatSudah has kept to the end of their bargain by repairing that vehicle and it's currently being used by the owner's mother. All his excuse with emotional trauma etc ain't goin to fly at the court. But it he wants to file a saman pemula, he is most welcome to do so cause I sure as hell like to see how he intends to win it. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 28 2025, 08:24 AM
Roman Catholic
May 29 2025, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(Expressso @ May 29 2025, 04:13 PM) 101 in E&E / mechatronic engineering is to never have single point of failure and should be fault-tolerant and fail safe even if it fails. For this case it seems that the system is designed to failsafe but not fail-operational. I guess BYD is more conservative and will shutdown once the system detect a fault even if it's a minor one. They can improve their system by making it fail gracefully. At least keep the electric power steering, brake booster and ESP working until it stops completely. Sorry but that gracefully failing ain't happening and it never will either especially with a lead acid battery. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 29 2025, 06:30 PM
Roman Catholic
May 29 2025, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(TAN WENG @ May 29 2025, 06:41 PM) Their car damn heavy chance of survival is high unless is big lorry 🚛 or tanker Not only damn heavy but damn stable as well. Remember the collision at a roundabout in Melaka, it sent the ICE flipping over while the EV steady aje. Then another case, the EV lifted the 4x4 and spun it 90° before crashing into other ICEs. Another was when the EV not happy with motobodo and in an instant smashed into the motobodo at the side. Fuh ICE already dunno how to drive properly, I wonder what will it be like with EV with all that instant power. LOL This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 29 2025, 07:21 PM