Insurance premium triples

loserguy
post May 20 2025, 04:19 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 20 2025, 03:19 PM)
Whats age gotta do with it? U ever had any cancer family members or friends?

I have. 4 of them in my life. No matter how much savings u tried to build in your lifetime it doesn't mean jack when you are hit with cancer or leukemia.
Age means that I have the benefit of hindsight. I am not going to engage in a pity competition. If you can get to my age without losing anyone, then you are a very, very lucky man.

When you are just starting out, you may not have enough savings. At that point in your journey, insurance is very good.

But as you grow and advance in your career, try to slowly build up your savings and reduce your dependence on insurance.

Of course, if you are born with a silver spoon, and can afford it, you shouldn't need insurance in the first place.
angelgemini
post May 20 2025, 04:27 PM

1,751 posts

i believe the plan is those medical card cum investment linked plan.

which they increased to 99 years old, then calculate the fund inside can sustain till 99 years old or not.

partially kena scammed by that 99 years old.
angelgemini
post May 20 2025, 04:28 PM

1,751 posts

how many people really can reach 99 years old and why need to cover till 99 years old?
ozak
post May 20 2025, 04:30 PM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ May 20 2025, 03:02 PM)
Do you think premiums are cheap once you get older? Many people have this false idea that you pay a certain amount and insurance will always have your back. That is only true to a certain extent.

Remember, it is always the decision of the insurer whether to approve your claim. It is not guaranteed. And even when they do, it is sometimes not the full amount with some items not being covered. Get used to hearing about exclusions and pre-existing conditions.

You can start by opting for lower premiums in exchange for a co-payment. Don't spend that money, but start saving it.
Do not anyhow buy the insuarance. Only buy the necessary. And makesure you know what will be cover.

You don't need insurance when young. Only need it when get older like 50. Unless you have plenty of health problem. Save up and exercise more when young.

Do the math. You never able to save enough for medical cost. Even compounding.

Once you are in the operation table, cost can run 5 figure min. Pre and post treatment not included. The future cost is even crazy.

Look for a fix and a reasonable premium to insure.

loserguy
post May 20 2025, 05:20 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 20 2025, 04:30 PM)
Do not anyhow buy the insuarance. Only buy the necessary. And makesure you know what will be cover.

You don't need insurance when young. Only need it when get older like 50. Unless you have plenty of health problem. Save up and exercise more when young.

Do the math. You never able to save enough for medical cost. Even compounding.

Once you are in the operation table, cost can run 5 figure min. Pre and post treatment not included. The future cost is even crazy.

Look for a fix and a reasonable premium to insure.
It depends on the person and their individual circumstances. Eg when young, they may have insurance from their workplace. Usually for somebody just starting out, you will need some sort of protection if you do not have some savings built up.

For medical costs, you have to look at the risk profile as well. For some folks, if their family has a history of cancer or if they are smokers, they may decide that insurance is necessary. If not, it becomes a matter of probability.

Eg you have two houses, two cars, you have EPF, you have some savings. If you sell them all, how much will you have? Insurance is not free, by reducing your premium, you are essentially saying that "I am ok with paying this amount if anything happens. If nothing happens, I save on that premium."
loserguy
post May 20 2025, 05:21 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ May 20 2025, 04:28 PM)
how many people really can reach 99 years old and why need to cover till 99 years old?

of course, he could probably just buy the entire hospital if he wanted to ....
theozis
post May 20 2025, 06:14 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(cms @ May 20 2025, 11:20 AM)
No no. It doesnt work like that. The premium pay table shows premium payable by age groups. Example like this:

Age        Premium per month
30-38     400
39-45     650
46-55     850
56-65     1500
66-80     2000

So if you buy at 35 memang u pay 400 a month. As you age to 56, u need to pay 1500 a month.
If you buy at 56, u pay 1500 a month. This pricing is as off now, can be repriced by the insurance company.

So buying earlier allows earlier coverage, when old sick the insurance company won't let u buy also. Also buying earlier gives chance to build up cash value in the plan for use in old age lo. Thats all jer.
the example you shared is for standalone medical insurance.

investment linked medical is likely as below, assuming entry age is same as 35
the above 71 premium hike up is based on the sustainability calculation up to 70
30-70 600
71-75 1200
76-80 2000

This post has been edited by theozis: May 20 2025, 06:27 PM
theozis
post May 20 2025, 06:16 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(debonairs91 @ May 20 2025, 12:25 PM)
Something odd with the story. Take insurance 15years ago. Diagnosed with cancer 7 years ago. So why insurance no cover the cancer?

Then all insurance I know will have waiver once you kena cancer, meaning don't have to pay premium anymore and you get free coverage
insurance with waiver of cancer is 30-50% additional premium , not everyone will go for it
dest9116
post May 20 2025, 06:20 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 20 2025, 11:07 AM)
That's when you purchase those policies very late.

This guy purchased 15 years ago. Why suddenly price at the point he buy now? Defeats the purpose of buying insurance early
Who told you buy early will be cheaper when old? Got stated anywhere? No right? You think agent is angel ke? Lol this is the biggest bullshit that I have ever heard, agent who tell me this bullshit I straight block
SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 20 2025, 06:22 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(vhs @ May 20 2025, 10:40 AM)
This is old news, someone at age of 55 claimed his insurance triples from RM652 to RM1,800 monthly. But if monthly = RM1.8K, it will be RM21.6K in a year. At age of 55? Has health insurance become so expensive nowadays? Or something not really right with this news? Who at age of 55 is currently paying RM20K a year for your health insurance?
https://www.thevibes.com/articles/news/1084...-rm1800-monthly

A 55-YEAR-OLD single father, identified as Eson, was diagnosed with stage one bladder cancer in 2018.

Fortunately, at that time, he had his workplace insurance which covered his immunotherapy treatment that cost almost RM300,000 for three years.

Eson's cancer eventually got better but the doctor said that he was still at risk of the cancer returning and needed to be vigilant.

As a precautionary measure, Eson had bought an insurance policy for himself 15 years ago with a premium payment of RM652 per month.

"It's not easy to do sales work and Eson always works overtime which causes him to be constantly tired and exhausted, especially when Covid-19 hit.

"In 2021, Eson had to quit his job and take early retirement due to health reasons," Bayan Baru MP Sim Tze Tzin said in a Facebook post.

Unfortunately, Eson was under financial pressure at the time and spent most of his retirement fund within two years.

"To make things worse, the insurance company increased his premium from RM652 to RM1,800 - a three-fold hike which is really burdensome for a retiree.

"On top of that, the doctor confirmed that Eson's cancer had returned.

"At this time, all his savings were gone, and the insurance company insisted on not lowering his premium. How was he going to survive?" wrote Sim.
Lie flat and practice healthy lifestyle once you approach 60yo. Try to avoid the hospital or don't do anymore health checks once you get older sure there will be sure many bad discoveries. Just like old car and equipments.

Yolo while still can. Better to die naturally than to suffer death under the evil pharma care system.
cms
post May 20 2025, 06:25 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ May 20 2025, 06:20 PM)
Who told you buy early will be cheaper when old? Got stated anywhere? No right? You think agent is angel ke? Lol this is the biggest bullshit that I have ever heard, agent who tell me this bullshit I straight block
Yah but theres merits in buying earlier.

Mainly for exclusion, loading or reject cases lo. If kena rejected especially at young age very kesian 1 leh.

Maybe go for cheaper basic high deductible medical plans lah instead of the full fat version. Go full baked with protection is just too extreme IMHO.
theozis
post May 20 2025, 06:25 PM

171 posts

in fact, both standalone and investment-linked medical insurance offer lower premiums when purchased at a younger age , based on same sum insured and no loading.

would you share your understanding ?

Avangelice
post May 20 2025, 08:36 PM

5,274 posts

I thought with the investment linked to the policy it helps to offset the premium?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0160sec    1.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:00 PM