SG actress moves to JB to save rent. Commute daily

TSknwong
post Apr 30 2025, 07:58 PM, updated 8 months ago

3,562 posts

Actress Juin Teh moves back to Johor to save on rent, commutes daily for work in Singapore
The Independent Sg

MALAYSIA: In a move that underscores the growing pressures of Singapore’s high cost of living, Mediacorp actress Juin Teh has opted to relocate back to her family home in Johor Bahru, Malaysia, despite still working full-time in Lion City.

The 34-year-old surprised fans earlier this month when she posted a video of herself moving out of her Singapore apartment. The video, which has since garnered over 10,000 likes and more than 250 comments, initially sparked speculation that she was leaving Mediacorp altogether, but the star of Emerald Hill – The Little Nyonya Story quickly clarified her situation.

Rent went up, so I thought it might be good to move back home to Johor Bahru. My mother’s getting older too, so I want to spend more time with her,” she explained, as reported by The Sun.

A tough commute and simple comforts
The savings come with a considerable trade-off: Her daily commute can take up to two hours each way, sometimes as long as three on weekends. “When a job ends late but I have other work to attend to early the next morning, I’ll stay over with a friend or a relative here,” she shared, as reported by The Sun.

Without a car, due to restrictions on Malaysian-registered vehicles for Singapore permanent residents and the prohibitive cost of owning a car locally, she relies entirely on public transport.

More importantly, she now enjoys something she missed while living alone: “a warm, home-cooked meal from my mother,” she stated.

From Star Search to personal sacrifice
According to The Sun, Juin first rose to fame during Star Search 2019, quickly building a reputation as a promising talent on local television. In addition to acting, she co-hosts the online lifestyle show #JustSwipeLah, where she recently gave viewers a tour of her newly renovated home in Johor.

Her decision to go back to Johor reflects not just personal devotion but also a broader trend among young professionals, even celebrities, reassessing their living arrangements in response to Singapore’s rising living costs.

Netizens react to actress’ decision
The decision has drawn strong responses online, especially on social media platforms like TikTok and Instagram. “But won’t you be tired of going back and forth from Singapore to Malaysia?” one user asked, reflecting concern over the gruelling commute. “No matter your plans, I will always support you!” another wrote, offering encouragement and support for the actress.

Another user made fun of the situation. “Maybe I will see you at the checkpoint,” they joked in a comment. Other users, however, pointed to the broader issue: “Singapore has gotten unbelievably expensive.

A sign of the times
Juin Teh’s move is emblematic of a quiet yet growing migration of workers who choose to live in Malaysia while working in Singapore. This pattern was once limited to lower-income earners but is now extending to middle-class professionals and public figures.

Her story reflects how more people are becoming practical about their finances. At the same time, it shows the strength of a new generation facing the real challenges of adult life. With the rising cost of living, even those who are doing well are changing how they live. For Juin, it’s not just about cutting costs; it’s also about reconnecting with her roots and putting family first.

SUSipohps3
post Apr 30 2025, 08:00 PM

1,974 posts

PAP
AfraidIGotBan
post Apr 30 2025, 08:02 PM

246 posts

Sked wat? got driver ok liao.
MR_alien
post Apr 30 2025, 08:14 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

as long as you're not those 8-5AM job, it's perfectly fine
7up
post Apr 30 2025, 08:49 PM

129 posts

Wait for MRT
Ukeke
post Apr 30 2025, 08:56 PM

91 posts

Her nn, so pretty
wagie
post Apr 30 2025, 08:56 PM

wub.gif
potatolala
post Apr 30 2025, 08:58 PM

141 posts

My place got vacancy. Come stay with me

I want a gf!
TSknwong
post Apr 30 2025, 09:30 PM

3,562 posts

QUOTE(potatolala @ Apr 30 2025, 08:58 PM)
My place got vacancy. Come stay with me

I want a gf!
Her JB condo is beautifully renovated

Avex
post Apr 30 2025, 09:31 PM

570 posts

b40 lettew
rooney723
post Apr 30 2025, 09:39 PM

596 posts

too old, she started her career back in 2019 when she was 29
cursetheroad01
post Apr 30 2025, 09:45 PM

55 posts

Welcome to b40 sg/pr life
fu'house
post Apr 30 2025, 11:12 PM

553 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ Apr 30 2025, 08:56 PM)
Her nn, so pretty
Kesian buta.

This one finally come back home balik Malaysia juga.
smallcrab
post Apr 30 2025, 11:14 PM

140 posts

kyky
romuluz777
post Apr 30 2025, 11:18 PM

2,215 posts

Nice MILF
Lucas0323
post Apr 30 2025, 11:19 PM

808 posts

Smart. Buying power 3.0
AnythingK
post Apr 30 2025, 11:20 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 30 2025, 08:14 PM)
as long as you're not those 8-5AM job, it's perfectly fine
This.
azack
post May 1 2025, 04:13 AM

14 posts

Interesting. Can't find sugar daddy in SG? I thought entertainment industry and with lookss easily get tapao
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2025, 07:46 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(azack @ May 1 2025, 04:13 AM)
Interesting. Can't find sugar daddy in SG? I thought entertainment industry and with lookss easily get tapao
this

but 34 already, aunty
stormyz
post May 1 2025, 09:26 AM

Thread Killer
595 posts

QUOTE(azack @ May 1 2025, 04:13 AM)
So your perception is like this.. That's sad! As if ladies must have sugar daddy.
TSknwong
post May 1 2025, 09:41 AM

3,562 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 1 2025, 07:46 AM)
this

but 34 already, aunty
Pretty sure she's doing quite well...starting from her days in Malaysia

A lot I know choose to commute because of lifestyle preference - even though they are earning well.

After staying in SG for a while...many complaint SG can be boring...soulless place
Ichibanichi
post May 1 2025, 09:59 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 1 2025, 09:41 AM)

A lot I know choose to commute because of lifestyle preference - even though they are earning well.

After staying in SG for a while...many complaint SG can be boring...soulless place
Once she lose her charm, her 1st blame will be long commute travelling time and place of rest.
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2025, 10:02 AM

1,902 posts

apparently u failed to read the article

“Rent went up, so I thought it might be good to move back home to Johor Bahru. "

no sane ppl will commute daily wasting 3 hours or more if got money
hellokitten
post May 1 2025, 10:04 AM

112 posts

Who is she?
Virlution
post May 1 2025, 11:02 AM

483 posts

the house look like show house, so empty inside, no clutter at all
bengang15
post May 1 2025, 11:06 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 1 2025, 10:02 AM)

“Rent went up, so I thought it might be good to move back home to Johor Bahru. "

actually not that bad.

if u take Klang valley with jam 1.5 hours one way is pretty normal no?

where I am at SG, takes me 1.5 hours one way taking bus/mrt.

but rest is an issue no doubt.
mushigen
post May 1 2025, 11:23 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ May 1 2025, 11:06 AM)
actually not that bad.

Not that bad? In KV if you leave house at 6am you can avoid much of the jam.
In JB if you reach JB checkpoint at 6am, you will face the jam. And most of the time you will be on your feet queuing up and rushing to catch the bus.
TSknwong
post May 1 2025, 11:29 AM

3,562 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 1 2025, 11:23 AM)
In JB if you reach JB checkpoint at 6am, you will face the jam. And most of the time you will be on your feet queuing up and rushing to catch the bus.
I calculated before if one chose to drive car daily & pay the expenses it won't cost as much as the SG rent. Can even earn if you pick other car pool passengers
Taikor.Taikun
post May 1 2025, 11:52 AM

1,019 posts

Once JB-SG MRT is completed, living in JB but commute to SG to work daily will be very very common
icycokes
post May 1 2025, 12:14 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

i think people who say sg is boring because they don't have enough to spend. not wiling to spend also means not rich enough

you can have the most exquisite food in SG if you are willing to spend. the best cars in the world and the most exhilarating nightlife.

now, is it going to be the best bang for your buck? probably not but no place is boring when you're rich. eduardo saverin does not complain sg is boring does he?

This post has been edited by icycokes: May 1 2025, 12:14 PM
h@ksam
post May 1 2025, 12:28 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Apr 30 2025, 09:39 PM)
too old, she started her career back in 2019 when she was 29
can live comfortable life good enough la
bengang15
post May 1 2025, 12:34 PM

421 posts

She actress ma. Flexible I guess.

But if its me. I rather stuck in jam in Singapore than JB even though same hours. Psychologically I can't take it.
TSknwong
post May 1 2025, 12:38 PM

3,562 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ May 1 2025, 12:34 PM)

But if its me. I rather stuck in jam in Singapore than JB even though same hours. Psychologically I can't take it.
True. They don’t work 9 to 5

Some scene shots are at night. Finish work already past peak hours

Her Little Nyonya show I check they shot it in JB and Melaka so there’s outstation traveling involved
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2025, 01:27 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ May 1 2025, 11:06 AM)
actually not that bad.

there is a different commuting during peak hour vs non peak hour as a tourist

everyday doing the same shit stuck with some shitty ppl in the shitty situation sure sien one

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: May 1 2025, 01:27 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2025, 01:28 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 1 2025, 12:38 PM)
True. They don’t work 9 to 5

Some scene shots are at night. Finish work already past peak hours

Her Little Nyonya show I check they shot it in JB and Melaka so there’s outstation traveling involved

Emerald Hill is not her only series lah wei

u try take bus after 11pm see can tahan or not waiting for almost an hour

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: May 1 2025, 01:30 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2025, 01:32 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ May 1 2025, 11:02 AM)
the house look like show house, so empty inside, no clutter at all
most youngsters are liddat one lah, all look fine from the outside just for the show, inside all hollow one

what to do, house now also treat as a hotel. you go out early in the morning, late at night baru balik

u pay for all maintenance fees also end up airbnb guest yang enjoy the facilities
mushigen
post May 1 2025, 01:47 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ May 1 2025, 12:34 PM)

How can be the same duration? Takkan you are stuck for 3 hours one way in Singapore?
diffyhelman2
post May 1 2025, 01:59 PM

863 posts

arrangement works for her cuz of her actress job. no need to keep regular 9-5 office hours which would require commuting during rush hour. mostly her hours are according to shooting schedule and is not every day. if she works late she says can stay over with her SG friend.
TSknwong
post May 1 2025, 06:13 PM

3,562 posts

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ May 1 2025, 11:52 AM)
Once JB-SG MRT is completed, living in JB but commute to SG to work daily will be very very common
From the video her condo looks like in JB city. Probably just 10 - 15 mins away from checkpoint
SUSNihonmaru
post May 1 2025, 06:14 PM

206 posts

If can't afford rental

Maybe down to the sea at jb ?
bengang15
post May 1 2025, 08:00 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 1 2025, 01:47 PM)
How can be the same duration? Takkan you are stuck for 3 hours one way in Singapore?
I take bus in Singapore 1.5 hours one way

Klang Valley cheras puchong rainy days one way 1.5 to 2 hours.

Same same la
ZerOne01
post May 1 2025, 08:04 PM

124 posts

Wow cheapskate
TSknwong
post May 1 2025, 08:07 PM

3,562 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ May 1 2025, 08:00 PM)

Same same la
Your place in SG must be quite ulu
nearlee
post May 1 2025, 08:11 PM

105 posts

>inb4 rase rase brows.gif
Nearlee

bengang15
post May 1 2025, 08:30 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 1 2025, 08:07 PM)
Your place in SG must be quite ulu
Cck
poooky
post May 1 2025, 08:57 PM

844 posts

actress in sg? not many opportunity. she need to follow ronnie lim, michelle yeoh, unker roger to make it.

mushigen
post May 1 2025, 09:08 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ May 1 2025, 08:00 PM)

Same same la
You're saying it takes only 1.5 hours to commute from JB home to a workplace in Singapore?
God Grid
post May 1 2025, 09:15 PM

35 posts

Er… people stay in semenyih, klang, rawang, whatever, but work in kl city. There are such crazy motherfuckers
bengang15
post May 1 2025, 10:18 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 1 2025, 09:08 PM)
You're saying it takes only 1.5 hours to commute from JB home to a workplace in Singapore?
No. I am saying it takes me from cck (singapore)to my office (singapore) takes 1.5 hours by bus. Door to door.
JimbeamofNRT
post May 2 2025, 01:18 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ May 1 2025, 09:15 PM)
Er… people stay in semenyih, klang, rawang, whatever, but work in kl city. There are such crazy motherfuckers
this one cross border between country bro
God Grid
post May 2 2025, 03:34 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 2 2025, 01:18 PM)
this one cross border between country bro
to me, whoever spent more than 1 hour per way for work is crazy as fuck

insanity

0.0214sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:58 PM