Malaysia facing severe brain drain with 1.86 mil, already gone, says digital minister

TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 08:40 AM, updated 8 months ago

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Malaysia facing severe brain drain with 1.86 million already gone, says digital minister
By Opalyn Mok
Tuesday, 29 Apr 2025 5:06 PM MYT

Digital Minister Gobind Singh Deo said Malaysia is facing a critical brain drain issue with 1.86 million citizens, or 5.6 per cent of the population, having left over the past 50 years. — Picture by Yusof Mat Isa

GEORGE TOWN, April 29 — Malaysia is facing a critical brain drain problem with 1.86 million Malaysians having left the country over the past 50 years, said digital minister Gobind Singh Deo.

Gobind said the 1.86 million Malaysians represented 5.6 per cent of the population, which is higher than the global average of 3.6 per cent.

“As such, the Madani government has developed several strategies to not only strengthen the nation’s talent ecosystem, but to retain them,” he said during his keynote address at the launch of 42 Penang Campus here today.

He cited the Malaysia Digital Economy Blueprint (MDEB) — which covers the development of digital talent — as an example.

“Then we have the National Semiconductor Strategy which aims to train 60,000 high-skilled semiconductor engineers,” he said.

He said the Johor-Singapore Special Economic Zone is also projected to create 100,000 high quality job opportunities in key sectors, and attract skilled knowledge workers through a 15 per cent tax rate for 10 years.

“The ministry, through our agencies, and industry players have also joined forces in creating talents and stop the talent outflow,” he said.

“In addition to keeping our homegrown talents, we are also keen on attracting foreign talents through special visa passes,” he added.

Gobind said the government is committed to creating real opportunities in the tech space so that Malaysians can take the lead in artificial intelligence (AI), and other digital innovations.

Digital investments contributed significantly to Malaysia’s GDP growth of 5.1 per cent in 2024, he said.

He added that total approved investments under Malaysia Digital amounted to RM163.6 billion — a 250 per cent increase from 2023 — and created over 48,000 jobs, representing a 109 per cent rise compared to the previous year.

He also said that institutions like 42 Malaysia can assist Malaysia in its quest to accelerate the country’s digital progress.

To note, 42 Penang is a peer-to-peer, project based and tuition-free model for students to master software development, cybersecurity and artificial intelligence through real-world projects, collaborative problem solving and mentorship from industry leaders.

Meanwhile, in his speech, Penang chief minister Chow Kon Yeow said the state is intensifying efforts through initiatives like the Creative Digital District, Penang Silicon Design @5km+ and the Digital Economy Master Plan 2.0, which will drive investments in cloud computing, cybersecurity, AI and smart manufacturing.
ZerOne01
post Apr 30 2025, 08:41 AM

124 posts

now we left with brain damage people

Roadwarrior1337
post Apr 30 2025, 08:42 AM

979 posts

Blame your own self lah

Nons mostly move out coz strugggle for many years and still kena butt fuck

I’m considering to leave once my job taking care of my parents is done
supsupsui
post Apr 30 2025, 08:44 AM

76 posts

water is wet

sinjiapor: sgd wangi mah. thank you so much
dark_axl21
post Apr 30 2025, 08:44 AM

TUKANG
661 posts

The more, the merrier.
DarkNite
post Apr 30 2025, 08:46 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Politicians : Smart Rakyat are a pain in the ass. Very hard for us to brainwash & songlap kaw kaw.
SUSM4A1
post Apr 30 2025, 08:46 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

ok
sp3d2
post Apr 30 2025, 08:47 AM

471 posts

Gaji private sector not competitive at all, especially low to mid level position; no wonder people are leaving.
Taikor.Taikun

1,019 posts

PuAS: Hooray!
ZforZebra

172 posts

politician not like those with not much brain ?
easily triggered and controlled using R&R
BelaCHAN
post Apr 30 2025, 08:48 AM

579 posts

Grass is green, water is blue... ...
Roman Catholic
post Apr 30 2025, 08:48 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ZerOne01 @ Apr 30 2025, 08:41 AM)
Not brainless meh ?

I only like those who are loyal. I don't need smart people around me. Ini line siapa ya ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Apr 30 2025, 08:49 AM
ZerOne01
post Apr 30 2025, 08:49 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 30 2025, 08:48 AM)
Not brainless meh ?
still can post on internet I consider still got brain lulz
TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 08:50 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

inb4 no brain to begin with
azbro
post Apr 30 2025, 08:51 AM

4,403 posts

More brainless people means more Videos can see
fongsk
post Apr 30 2025, 08:53 AM

34 posts

We have tried to restarting with little success with talemtcorp last time. Did they ANSLyse the failure of talentcorp and take remedial issue to rectify the failure or they just think the problem n issue new solutions….and how
Much success do they expect from this new initiative. Easy to issue new action but what is the goal and what % of achievement is considered as success? Otherwise it is syiok sendiri….
h@ksam
post Apr 30 2025, 08:53 AM

@ is a
3,460 posts

every year talk about same topic

must be a nice filler subject during meetings
SUSexclus1ve
post Apr 30 2025, 08:54 AM

32 posts

Ok nanti we together go see loktor.
ahchat
post Apr 30 2025, 08:55 AM

WISE KUCENG
922 posts

dah semua jawatan2, position2, job2 that could be filled by these pandai2 people already filled with sub-par anak cronies, cables etc.....
gaji pun sikit, lancau la...people rather go work overseas with double or triple pay
soul78
post Apr 30 2025, 09:03 AM

933 posts

wahh... we still got banyak lagi brainz...

when will it drain finish???
ahhann
post Apr 30 2025, 09:08 AM

Lim Peh
545 posts

Make blue collar job average pay SGD 5000 then you baru come talk.
SiakapRM1000
post Apr 30 2025, 09:11 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Apr 30 2025, 08:42 AM)
Blame your own self lah

Tell us how you people struggle? whistling.gif
God Grid
post Apr 30 2025, 09:14 AM

35 posts

BRAINROT is the new trend!

TUNG TUNG TUNG TUNG TUNG TUNG TUNG TUNG TUNG SAHUR!!!!

iGamer
post Apr 30 2025, 09:15 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Good lah, so mamakthir no need butthurt later complain Earth Prince land bought by non Earth Prince.

Win-win, what’s not to like? blush.gif
MR_alien
post Apr 30 2025, 09:16 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

This is what happen when you refuse to pay
When bangla is paid higher than locals

As long this doesn't change, it's very hard to have any improvement
Drian
post Apr 30 2025, 09:18 AM

4,999 posts

blame ownself la for implementing policies that prioritizes paying cronies and kulitfication instead of talents. It's the governments own policy fault.
Now complaining? go and blame all the previous governments policies.
Ichibanichi
post Apr 30 2025, 09:23 AM

327 posts

According to some k/tard
building up factory is more important than talent retention whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
mystalyzer
post Apr 30 2025, 09:24 AM

394 posts

Proud to be part of the 1.86 mil
Cyberbullies
post Apr 30 2025, 09:35 AM

121 posts

When you have low wages and high taxes, of course talents would be gone.

We are overtaxed because of Madani’s unnecessary wasteful expenditures.
KevProp
post Apr 30 2025, 09:36 AM

81 posts

the same issue for a decade but reported by different ppl only

so whats the solution..again?
damonlbs
post Apr 30 2025, 09:39 AM

487 posts

majulah Singapore
70U63
post Apr 30 2025, 10:32 AM

95 posts

Low wages i agree.

High taxes? Malaysia income tax is not high enough. Plus majority ppl (probably include the "real" B40) doesn't even 'qualified' to pay tax. doh.gif

QUOTE(Cyberbullies @ Apr 30 2025, 09:35 AM)
When you have low wages and high taxes, of course talents would be gone.

We are overtaxed because of Madani’s unnecessary wasteful expenditures.
ze2
post Apr 30 2025, 10:43 AM

319 posts

Blame your own self lah

There was once hope....reformati, reformati, reformati. Hhgghh
Cyberbullies
post Apr 30 2025, 10:45 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(70U63 @ Apr 30 2025, 10:32 AM)
Low wages i agree.

High taxes? Malaysia income tax is not high enough. Plus majority ppl (probably include the "real" B40) doesn't even 'qualified' to pay tax.  doh.gif
Lol Malaysia is one of the top 5 with highest tax in South East Asia in terms of personal income tax (excluding those misc taxes which they keep on introducing).

This post has been edited by Cyberbullies: Apr 30 2025, 10:45 AM
khusyairi
post Apr 30 2025, 11:00 AM

147 posts

I think figure over estimate.
Out of total 1.86million; 1.3 millions had claim British nationality not bcoz of brain or rich but long time ago we had that entitlement.
Now no more..

Better if he can give figure after 2000s, which is stillworking age & after British revoke our citizenship right..

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Apr 30 2025, 11:02 AM
kolamazu
post Apr 30 2025, 11:03 AM

13 posts

Well, that's what we get for having 3R issues raised by Tun M here and there
Mattrock
post Apr 30 2025, 11:04 AM

395 posts

Certain type must be happy to know so many have left.
ak101ss
post Apr 30 2025, 11:17 AM

Tauke Mabuk Guinness Stout
449 posts

He forgot to count the ones that are working overseas but keep IC for the tax relief lulz.
andyng38
post Apr 30 2025, 11:19 AM

2,402 posts

Malays (in smaller numbers so far) are leaving too. Some of my muslim cousins have been steadily making a life for themselves in other countries.

During last ramadan, the awek with whom I was working with to develop a pork-like flavoring additive using halal ingredients and methods contacted me. The project is dead. She decided to seek a better life elsewhere along with her partner because kena kecam teruk by the people around her and she can't tahan any more; she's a lesbian. There goes another intelligent and hard-working talent.
steevan1000
post Apr 30 2025, 11:25 AM

4,545 posts

stupid race based policy & tongkat policy for type m are the root cause of this.
see how SG become 1st world country by completely separate race & religion from politics.
malaysia confirm will become a shithole country just like afghanistan.
teehk_tee
post Apr 30 2025, 11:28 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

We got new people coming in, apa sarahan
TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 11:30 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Apr 30 2025, 11:00 AM)
I think figure over estimate.
Out of total 1.86million; 1.3 millions had claim British nationality not bcoz of brain or rich but long time ago we had that entitlement.
Now no more..

Better if he can give figure after 2000s, which is  stillworking age & after British revoke our citizenship right..
Post Merdeka, 1.3 million Malaysians had claims to (a form of) British Nationality: https://www.jstor.org/stable/1409722

But I don't think all 1.3 million of them took it up: https://www.loyarburok.com/2011/02/06/dual-...ens-malaysians/

Note that being eligible for British Nationality doesn't mean they had the right of abode in the UK: just ask the BN(O)'s and BOC's.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 11:33 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 30 2025, 08:40 AM)
Malaysia facing severe brain drain with 1.86 million already gone, says digital minister
By Opalyn Mok
Tuesday, 29 Apr 2025 5:06 PM MYT

Digital Minister Gobind Singh Deo said Malaysia is facing a critical brain drain issue with 1.86 million citizens, or 5.6 per cent of the population, having left over the past 50 years. — Picture by Yusof Mat Isa

GEORGE TOWN, April 29 — Malaysia is facing a critical brain drain problem with 1.86 million Malaysians having left the country over the past 50 years, said digital minister Gobind Singh Deo.

Gobind said the 1.86 million Malaysians represented 5.6 per cent of the population, which is higher than the global average of 3.6 per cent.

This idea of stealing brains and talents from other countries won't last and will just lead the world closer to World War even faster.

Look at what is happening in US and Europe right now?

They are now at the brink of a race war, unrest and unemployment everywhere.

In our country the brains are leaving because of the institutionalized R&R policies which were non favorable to the Nons, they flee to countries where their talents and skills are appreciated but in time history will repeat itself like what has happened to our country when their locals are sidelined for jobs having to compete with cheaper talents from 3rd world countries with R&R policies.

This also is known fact that those 3rd world countries which keeps exporting their talents will still continue to have exponential population growth and becomes unstoppable because 1st world countries are helping them relieve their excess burden to give them even more opportunities for their B40s to have more breathing space and breed even more.
70U63
post Apr 30 2025, 11:34 AM

95 posts

In MY, after deduction/relief, i only pay less than 10% of my income, which is quite low already.
(Especially compare to my previous career back in Aust which i paid over 20%.)

For higher income (especially employee), expect to pay more taxes but still quite low.

Imagine those earning less than 100k, the taxes they pay are way too little. Don't forget the subsidies (tongkat) 'given' by the gov, it is basically 'peanuts'.

QUOTE(Cyberbullies @ Apr 30 2025, 10:45 AM)
Lol Malaysia is one of the top 5 with highest tax in South East Asia in terms of personal income tax (excluding those misc taxes which they keep on introducing).
haturaya
post Apr 30 2025, 11:38 AM

2,554 posts

Money talks. People follow money. For own goods, retirement, etc.
Jigoku
post Apr 30 2025, 11:39 AM

288 posts

Sudah dekad Kita bahas, tak bosan ke?

Solusi nia? Naik gaji? Gaji graduand 20 years ago Sama ngan 2025.

Apa Yang government buat? Apa business buat?
SUSHasukiiXrd
post Apr 30 2025, 11:40 AM

128 posts

Blame your own self lah

Support you, thats exactly what I done + divorced
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 11:42 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Apr 30 2025, 11:25 AM)
stupid race based policy & tongkat policy for type m are the root cause of this.
see how SG become 1st world country by completely separate race & religion from politics.
malaysia confirm will become a shithole country just like afghanistan.
It'll also soon happen to countries in the west such as America and Europe once they become truly multicultural like us.

We are more advance then them in terms of multicultural experimentation thanks to the Brits who introduced this idea to our country from colonial days.

Their founders and natives will start opposing the idea once they are kick out from their comfort chair.

SG is different because they are a small island which were already very developed when they obtained independence. All they needed was to keep the invitations to the world's wealthiest and sell the idea of efficiency/safety their economy is already secured.

It is still by far a majority Type-C nation with over 70% of its citizens?

DarkAeon
post Apr 30 2025, 11:43 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Apr 30 2025, 11:28 AM)
U mean the banglas, Rohingyas and Palestinians?

Absolutely no problem
carloz28
post Apr 30 2025, 11:44 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

All that is left here are the trash
latipbogiba
post Apr 30 2025, 11:48 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(supsupsui @ Apr 30 2025, 08:44 AM)
water is wet

sinjiapor: sgd wangi mah. thank you so much
in another news: bangla and nepal brain drain. they achieve high salary in MY

it just how the world works

you pay much, you get much
khusyairi
post Apr 30 2025, 11:52 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 30 2025, 11:30 AM)
Post Merdeka, 1.3 million Malaysians had claims to (a form of) British Nationality: https://www.jstor.org/stable/1409722

But I don't think all 1.3 million of them took it up: https://www.loyarburok.com/2011/02/06/dual-...ens-malaysians/

Note that being eligible for British Nationality doesn't mean they had the right of abode in the UK: just ask the BN(O)'s and BOC's.
Based on figure, which already discuss in British parliament & u can also google it.

1.3 million Malaysian had claimed British citizenship. As for now, only 16,000 stay in Malaysia.
Some stay in other country like Australia.
& of course 1.3 m is out of 10-15 million eligible (most already died & their children also not apply for it).

The point is, we lost 1.3 million population to British not bcoz of brain..

Brain drain is there (it is big issue) but not 1.86 million that migrate & give up citizenship over past 50 years..

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Apr 30 2025, 11:54 AM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 11:53 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Apr 30 2025, 11:28 AM)
Is this what we call Rohingya/Bangla Brain Drain?

Indonesia Foils Attempt by 68 Rohingyas, Bangladeshi Migrants to Illegally Cross Into Malaysia
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...malaysia/174788
steevan1000
post Apr 30 2025, 11:57 AM

4,545 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Apr 30 2025, 11:42 AM)
It'll also soon happen to countries in the west such as America and Europe once they become truly multicultural like us.

We are more advance then them in terms of multicultural experimentation thanks to the Brits who introduced this idea to our country from colonial days.

Their founders and natives will start opposing the idea once they are kick out from their comfort chair.

SG is different because they are a small island which were already very developed when they obtained independence. All they needed was to keep the invitations to the world's wealthiest and sell the idea of efficiency/safety their economy is already secured.

It is still by far a majority Type-C nation with over 70% of its citizens?
it's a fact politic without influence of race & religion policy is the best way to make a country maju. malaysia is failing in many aspects. the culture of tongkat is one of the main cause of malaysia failure.

This post has been edited by steevan1000: Apr 30 2025, 11:58 AM
sportivo
post Apr 30 2025, 12:09 PM

64 posts

Wakil Kaum dan Kerpercayaan despise smart rakyat, preferably only simpleton and sheeps 😁
TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 12:10 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Apr 30 2025, 11:52 AM)
Based on figure, which already discuss in British parliament & u can also google it.

1.3 million Malaysian had claimed British citizenship. As for now, only 16,000 stay in Malaysia.
No such thing in mentioned in the British parliament hansard. 1.3 million being eligible doesn't mean 1.3 million took it.

Some stay in other country like Australia.
Being a UK citizen doesn't allow to stay in Australia. UK citizens have to migrate to Australia the same way as us Malaysian citizens

& of course 1.3 m is out of 10-15 million eligible (most already died & their children also not apply for it).
CUKC status is not hereditary, like BN(O). Even if both parents are CUKC/BN(O), the offspring will not be CUKC/BN(O). In limited circumstances the offspring can be BPP or BOTC, but only if they are not eligible for another citizenship, and it doesn't entitle them to migrate (trying to migrate with a BPP or BOTC is worst than as a Malaysian passport holder)
Etude8891
post Apr 30 2025, 12:10 PM

38 posts

Bully talented non-muslim summore la. See what happens.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 12:16 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Apr 30 2025, 11:57 AM)
it's a fact politic without influence of race & religion policy is the best way to make a country maju. malaysia is failing in many aspects. the culture of tongkat is one of the main cause of malaysia failure.
This is actually what the Communism ideals and utopia was as some say the father of the European Union Richard von Kalergi and Stalin wished for.

A World without races, religions and different cultures.

The Eurasian-Negoid race that look like ancient Egyptians. laugh.gif

USA is already almost there what happened today?

The top 1% holds the wealth of almost the entire country, growing homeless and store thieves/loots everywhere.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 12:25 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Etude8891 @ Apr 30 2025, 12:10 PM)
Bully talented non-muslim summore la. See what happens.
There are many poor B40 talented Nons around but also they also feel that their lives are wasted getting no where despite trying the best everyday.

No country will be able to continue taking in talented brains forever doing white collar jobs. Someone has to do the dirty 3D jobs for an economy to thrive.

Do not let the elites fool you in their games. The rich and wealthy can always obtain the best education certs/qualifications they want and migrate anywhere in the world to live if they want.

It is the poor who cannot afford proper education despite talented will always be looked upon as unskilled poorfags.

What happened to our country today will soon happen also in the West once the migrants outbreed them and take over their local jobs.

It is an unsustainable idea in the long run.

Why you think countries like Brunei don't have R&R issues like us? Also Bhutan? In terms of "controversial" definition of brains and talents they got more than Malaysia?

But they don't have one problem that Malaysia, Western countries and other countries have. A growing population of foreigners that seek to replace their own locals.
Redhunt
post Apr 30 2025, 12:51 PM

51 posts

all plans meaningless without addressing root reason

Redhunt
post Apr 30 2025, 12:54 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Apr 30 2025, 12:25 PM)
There are many poor B40 talented Nons around but also they also feel that their lives are wasted getting no where despite trying the best everyday.

No country will be able to continue taking in talented brains forever doing white collar jobs. Someone has to do the dirty 3D jobs for an economy to thrive.

Do not let the elites fool you in their games. The rich and wealthy can always obtain the best education certs/qualifications they want and migrate anywhere in the world to live if they want.

It is the poor who cannot afford proper education despite talented will always be looked upon as unskilled poorfags.

What happened to our country today will soon happen also in the West once the migrants outbreed them and take over their local jobs.

It is an unsustainable idea in the long run.

Why you think countries like Brunei don't have R&R issues like us? Also Bhutan? In terms of "controversial" definition of brains and talents they got more than Malaysia?

But they don't have one problem that Malaysia, Western countries and other countries have. A growing population of foreigners that seek to replace their own locals.
Brunei R&R ?

wiki: Brunei is one of seven monarchic dictatorships in the world.

monarchic dictatorships = .........
seather
post Apr 30 2025, 12:58 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

i tot DAP wan to build malaysia for malaysian where everyone is treated fairly and equally.. and they know how to do if they win power..

this minister don know?

he not part of the whatapps group ar?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 01:01 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Redhunt @ Apr 30 2025, 12:54 PM)
Brunei R&R ?

wiki: Brunei is one of seven monarchic dictatorships in the world.

monarchic dictatorships  = .........
You got hear local Bruneians complaining about mistreatment and ditindas? Complain about food inflation and unemployment?

Happy only despite simple economy. Income tax free, big cars, cheap gas, plenty of affordable food, despite no nightlife entertainment..

They also not complaining only foreigner like you trying to make up excuses for them.Their Nons community free to work outside their country and study SJKC schools no stress or complain ditindas..many of their Type-C ended up working in TW and China.
Redhunt
post Apr 30 2025, 01:05 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Apr 30 2025, 01:01 PM)
You got hear local Bruneians complaining about mistreatment and ditindas? Complain about food inflation and unemployment?

Happy only despite simple economy. Income tax free, big cars, cheap gas, plenty of affordable food, despite no nightlife entertainment..

They also not complaining only foreigner like you trying to make up excuses for them.Their Nons community free to work outside their country and study SJKC schools no stress or complain ditindas..many of their Type-C ended up working in TW and China.

monarchic dictatorship

This post has been edited by Redhunt: Apr 30 2025, 01:05 PM
boyboycute
post Apr 30 2025, 01:06 PM

551 posts

Loyalty itu paling penting.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 01:10 PM

1,030 posts

For those who missed out on Brunei food scene and low inflation prices:

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 01:12 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Apr 30 2025, 01:06 PM)
Loyalty itu paling penting.
Bukan anak itu rezeki problem, football team family?

Negara kecik senang urus less to feed, more jobs available?
TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 01:24 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

https://www.reddit.com/r/Brunei/comments/17...more_impact_to/

https://borneobulletin.com.bn/combating-inflation/

https://www.reddit.com/r/Brunei/comments/s2...ation_is_crazy/

https://english.news.cn/20220707/1035113a18...a07d687e/c.html

https://www.reddit.com/r/Brunei/comments/vw...ts_out_you_can/

https://borneobulletin.com.bn/consumers-bus...food-imports-2/

https://www.reddit.com/r/Brunei/comments/wf...m_kaizen_sushi/

https://www.facebook.com/infountukkitabersa...68726260104774/

https://www.reddit.com/r/Brunei/comments/q4...ased_in_prices/

https://borneobulletin.com.bn/healthy-diet-...est-in-asean-2/

https://www.reddit.com/r/Brunei/comments/eb...e_our_money_is/

https://web.archive.org/web/20201229064046/...on-food-prices/
new in IT
post Apr 30 2025, 01:27 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Apr 30 2025, 09:42 AM)
Blame your own self lah

Looks like we have the same purpose.

I am not sure how long lives my parents are.

Worried as time comes, my age becomes too old to leave.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 01:27 PM

1,030 posts

GROCERY SHOPPING WITH PRICES IN BRUNEI 2 WEEKS SUPPLY !!

OrganicRepublic
post Apr 30 2025, 01:31 PM

53 posts

Dare to complain?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 01:36 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 30 2025, 01:24 PM)
With same purchasing power as Singaporeans, what's stopping Bruneians from flying out to nearby Asian countries to flex their purchasing power?

Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia..even as far as China and Taiwan Japan.

Bruneian Ringgit is now higher value than AUD and JPY icon_idea.gif

Due to their low population density there, landed homes, low rise apartments, cars, fuel, food is still sufficient for all their citizens.

Nons Bruneians aren't really complaining when everyone has enough to eat, low local unemployment rate, affordable holidays and little competition.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 01:37 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(OrganicRepublic @ Apr 30 2025, 01:31 PM)
Dare to complain?
No income tax, plenty affordable food & housing, high purchasing power.

Complain for what?
zenix
post Apr 30 2025, 01:37 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

sooner or later meresiah nons gonna be those that come back for nostalgia and cheap food.
jay
post Apr 30 2025, 01:40 PM

Legendary
904 posts

there no brain drain issue, theres only economy issue, if economy good there will be no brain drain but brain influx
time to stop the R&R propaganda, gomen only need do one job is to bake a bigger cake not slicing the cake thinnier to feed more people

This post has been edited by jay: Apr 30 2025, 01:42 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 02:09 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 30 2025, 01:37 PM)
sooner or later meresiah nons gonna be those that come back for nostalgia and cheap food.
Wait till the unrest and race war happens there, they'll surely miss their own home country.

Meanwhile in China..

The Return Wave: Why 80% of China's Top Graduates Are Returning Home
https://news.cgtn.com/news/2024-08-29/The-r...RciUg7ok/p.html

Top Mathematician Kenji Fukaya Leaves US To Join China's Tsinghua University Amid Rising Tensions
https://www.benzinga.com/news/24/09/4093990...rising-tensions

Top chip designer Sun Nan leaves US and finds ‘room to play’ in China
https://www.scmp.com/news/china/science/art...room-play-china

China is experiencing the OPPOSITE - Brain GAIN.

Many don't understand the brain drain is not about R&R. The real reason is the money offer and quota filling.

Overpopulation is the biggest contributor to R&R issue because the locals who can't compete wants their share to be guaranteed.

China does not have multiculturalism issues and a declining birth rate problem. Therefore paying their own citizens well and giving them enough spaces to breath i will lure talents back to their country.

Can Malaysia follow?
spamfish
post Apr 30 2025, 02:29 PM

187 posts

no gobind...its actually trouble drain away...good for nation...we should train 100k penunggang that specialised in 3r, fitnah, tuai and sex.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 02:37 PM

1,030 posts

Our country can spend to pay competitive world level salaries for those earning in US and Singapore a not?

Are we willing to take in the best top scholars across the world regardless of R&R and leave the useless to rot? Do away with exclusive tongkat and quota?

What is the problem? Overpopulation? Cannot afford to pay as much as other countries? Too many useless grads from paper mills just for pride sake but can only do monkey job but still need to keep them in employment?

Why Brunei don't have this problem?

By the way education system is also overrated today because many are from paper mills and opportunities are only held by the privileged rich.
Hard work alone won't get you far. Generational gap replacement is also getting much narrower, population keeps increasing, unofficial retirement age is also becoming earlier and life expectancy is also decreasing.
SUSKaya Butter Toast
post Apr 30 2025, 02:41 PM

325 posts

Orang kiter pegang
touristking
post Apr 30 2025, 02:43 PM

5,831 posts

With book like this becoming official policies and people including Type C keep voting the author to be leader of the country, what can you expect?

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 02:50 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Apr 30 2025, 02:43 PM)
With book like this becoming official policies and people including Type C keep voting the author to be leader of the country, what can you expect?

The local natives getting advice from a Keralan mamak? What could go wrong?

No wonder the West is also in a big mess today with their changing society and population.

Trying to take in the spillover of countries which cannot control their own local population out of compassion and slowly ended up replaced themselves for jobs and birth rates?

TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 02:52 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 02:54 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Apr 30 2025, 02:50 PM)

No wonder the West is also in a big mess today with their changing society and population.

Trying to take in the spillover of countries which cannot control their own local population out of compassion and slowly ended up replaced themselves for jobs and birth rates?
So kick out those who are not 'native' enough. Well that worked for Burma and Uganda and Zimbabwe.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 02:58 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 30 2025, 02:54 PM)
So kick out those who are not 'native' enough. Well that worked for Burma and Uganda and Zimbabwe.
Cannot later international NGOs such as UN says you committing genocide to your own people even recent new citizenship recipients.

Already too late we already let them in and given them citizenship so they done claim.
TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 03:03 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Apr 30 2025, 02:58 PM)
Cannot later international NGOs such as UN says you committing genocide to your own people even recent new citizenship recipients.

Already too late we already let them in and given them citizenship so they done claim.
Ah yes the Ibrahim Ali talking point: "The Chinese in Malaysia are a mistake that need to be rectified"
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 03:04 PM

1,030 posts

The CommunistsZionists already taught them well how to evade race identification already.

Now they identify themselves as British and Canadians nationalities instead of bringing up race already wherever they hold citizenship of the country.

Interestingly mamak also used this tactic to take control of the ultra nationalist party of this country.
touristking
post Apr 30 2025, 03:06 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 30 2025, 08:03 AM)
Ah yes the Ibrahim Ali talking point: "The Chinese in Malaysia are a mistake that need to be rectified"
Strangely 95% of them will still vote for the person saying this. This is a crazy world we living in
Jedi
post Apr 30 2025, 03:09 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

cukur mereka sudah balik tongsan
bumi ni milik siape
TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 03:12 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Apr 30 2025, 03:09 PM)
bumi ni milik siape
More Malaysian non's outside of China than who have managed to settle in China.

Ask a type-C in Malaysia: how many people they know who have migrated to Australia/New Zealand/UK, vs those that have migrated to China
takbodoh722
post Apr 30 2025, 03:12 PM

skills change with every generation.

Those that left 50 years ago, won't be equipped with current gen skill set.

Half of jobs for next gen probably hasn't even been invented yet.

Today got social media influencer, sustainability officers, AI specialists etc. Next gen would have new jobs.

In that context, it is irrelevant what happened in the past. Its what will happen in future that makes the difference.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 03:18 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Apr 30 2025, 03:09 PM)
bumi ni milik siape
So if you're local Non already passed mid age, no job underemployed, low chance of opportunity to migrate, no money what else you hope for in life?

Only way is survive and lie flat wait to die in an ageing society. What is life meaning and hope?
TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 03:18 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Apr 30 2025, 03:06 PM)
Strangely 95% of them will still vote for the person saying this. This is a crazy world we living in
And yet:
Lada Putih
post Apr 30 2025, 03:21 PM

214 posts

smart one chase away
bodo one keep
pikachu face later
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 03:24 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(takbodoh722 @ Apr 30 2025, 03:12 PM)
skills change with every generation.

Those that left 50 years ago, won't be equipped with current gen skill set.

Half of jobs for next gen probably hasn't even been invented yet.

Today got social media influencer, sustainability officers, AI specialists etc. Next gen would have new jobs.
In that context, it is irrelevant what happened in the past. Its what will happen in future that makes the difference.
That is why I said generational gap displacement is getting wider and a growing population.

"Unofficial" unemployable retirement age is now getting earlier and human life expectancy is decreasing due to early removal from workforce.

We are not like Japan, 80+ still employable not because they can't find replacements but they have a duty to keep all citizens alive/going in society.

Still employable and have their place in society.

Unlike countries with uncontrollable population with growing youth replacements to feed.

TShaya
post Apr 30 2025, 03:26 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(Lada Putih @ Apr 30 2025, 03:21 PM)
smart one chase away
bodo one keep
pikachu face later
I nominate this for haiku of the year
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 03:28 PM

1,030 posts

In overpopulated countries such as India and Indonesia so different. Their government needs to keep the youths they churn out from paper mills every year quiet and not to protest by displacing their mid age and elderly out of the workforce shortening their lifespans and abandoning them.

It's a ticking time bomb game they're playing.

Recruitment in Indonesia has a early age limit of just upto 30yo. After that you are almost unemployable anymore.

Jedi
post Apr 30 2025, 03:28 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

We can talk about it endlessly, we know politicians dont really care anyway, they are in for the songlap until msia is left with 0 petrol and natural resources and they will go overseas themselves, while the 'kite' will fight over the scraps with rohings and banglas

Nons just have to have Plan A to C. Education education education. It changes things
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 03:33 PM

1,030 posts

Back then there was still not internet and AI to figure out the deception. Multiculturalism was still a fresh and unknown thing in the Western world.

World population was just slightly half of what it is today?

It was much harder to do fact check back then. The smart ones like LKY knew about those tricks but he kept it to themselves.
Drian
post Apr 30 2025, 03:41 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Apr 30 2025, 02:50 PM)

Yeah man Europe is a big problem right now because they bring in spillover of countries which cannot control their own local population

So much that SIOE was formed
Stop Islamisation of Europe (SIOE) is a pan-European counter-jihad[1] organisation with the stated goal of "preventing Islam from becoming a dominant political force in Europe".[2] It is a political interest group which has been active in Denmark and has conducted anti-Islamic protests in the United Kingdom.[3] The group originated out of the joining of the Danish group Stop Islamisation of Denmark with English anti-Islam activists.[4]

The group says that its aim is to oppose Islamic extremism;[5] they have the motto "Racism is the lowest form of human stupidity, but Islamophobia is the height of common sense".[6]

Drian
post Apr 30 2025, 03:44 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Apr 30 2025, 02:58 PM)

So based on your logic, so should Islamic immigrants in Europe and US be removed?

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 03:45 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Apr 30 2025, 03:41 PM)
Yeah man Europe is a big problem right now because they bring in spillover of countries which cannot control their own local population

So much that SIOE was formed
Religion is also just a convenient tool for them to gather support.

SIOE will not work out well because if targetting Muslims is part of the plan many of them will start evading and claim they are Hindus instead.

I know many of the Banglas also use this tactic to gain favoritism in Malaysia. They have Muslim sounding names but are not really Muslims but adopt Buddhism and Baha'i faiths secretly.

fongsk
post Apr 30 2025, 03:46 PM

34 posts

Dei, you don’t play play k. Atuk was back to save Mesia then. But he failed cos he kena ka ka cau cau by another power hungry fella ‘behind’ him then, who like to ‘langkah’ here and there… So now Atuk is coming back 3rd time to save Mesia. Siapa no vote Atuk, dia macai PN ! 😡😡😡😡😡😡
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 03:48 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Apr 30 2025, 03:44 PM)
So based on your logic, so should Islamic immigrants in Europe and US be removed?
Sooner or later race war will happen in those countries. It's just a ticking time bomb. The locals will not seat quiet and let themselves conquered and be replaced.

The entire root of this strategy was actually a Communist idea that have been forgotten. This is the reason why Communism of modern day has been rebranded.
zenix
post Apr 30 2025, 04:02 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Apr 30 2025, 02:09 PM)
Wait till the unrest and race war happens there, they'll surely miss their own home country.

Meanwhile in China..

The Return Wave: Why 80% of China's Top Graduates Are Returning Home
https://news.cgtn.com/news/2024-08-29/The-r...RciUg7ok/p.html

Top Mathematician Kenji Fukaya Leaves US To Join China's Tsinghua University Amid Rising Tensions
https://www.benzinga.com/news/24/09/4093990...rising-tensions

Top chip designer Sun Nan leaves US and finds ‘room to play’ in China
https://www.scmp.com/news/china/science/art...room-play-china

China is experiencing the OPPOSITE - Brain GAIN.

Many don't understand the brain drain is not about R&R. The real reason is the money offer and quota filling.

Overpopulation is the biggest contributor to R&R issue because the locals who can't compete wants their share to be guaranteed.

China does not have multiculturalism issues and a declining birth rate problem. Therefore paying their own citizens well and giving them enough spaces to breath i will lure talents back to their country.

Can Malaysia follow?
no because of the highlighted
we have a same situation like western world where one demographic is duped by the government that they're the master race
their entitlement grows thus making them more lazy and stupid
the non-master race doing their best to survive raise above master race, but master race rage when that happen

this is different from oriental asian values, e.g. china, SK, taiwan, HK, Japan
SUSNihonmaru
post Apr 30 2025, 04:04 PM

206 posts

Straight A cannot study doctor

5B got offer dentistry

What say you ?
damonlbs
post Apr 30 2025, 04:05 PM

487 posts

another talent gone liou

This post has been edited by damonlbs: May 1 2025, 11:34 PM
MGM
post Apr 30 2025, 04:13 PM

18,455 posts

MEDIOCRITY vs MERITOCRACY.
Roadwarrior1337
post Apr 30 2025, 04:21 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(Nihonmaru @ Apr 30 2025, 04:04 PM)

5B got offer dentistry

What say you ?
This is a non challenge. We fight for our place after upsr then pmr score strong masuk ekonomi then finish spm take fuking loans after loans to finish our higher education

Mana Ada Mara shit and some of my mates get chance study oversea simply even score lower than me

Then want to do mba go um pay same amount as others still cannot because quota habis

Bugima quota every fucking where

U see sinkie mana Ada quota. Those with merit flourish. Here we treat bumi like proton. Semua protek.

To survive in this harsh world we neee to be on our two feet and to be honest, nons can survive anywhere because they never got any help at all except for milo drink, uht skem drink, overprice kantin food that all have to pay and well always dealt with the shittiest card
SUSNihonmaru
post Apr 30 2025, 04:27 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Apr 30 2025, 04:21 PM)
This is a non challenge. We fight for our place after upsr then pmr score strong masuk ekonomi then finish spm take fuking loans after loans to finish our higher education

Mana Ada Mara shit and some of my mates get chance study oversea simply even score lower than me

Then want to do mba go um pay same amount as others still cannot because quota habis

U see sinkie mana Ada quota. Those with merit flourish. Here we treat bumi like proton. Semua protek.

To survive in this harsh world we neee to be on our two feet and to be honest, nons can survive anywhere because they never got any help at all except for milo drink, uht skem drink, overprice kantin food that all have to pay and well always dealt with the shittiest card
One day penunggang still bising RnR

One day this will never stop
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 08:46 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Nihonmaru @ Apr 30 2025, 04:04 PM)

5B got offer dentistry

What say you ?
All straight As only want to study medicine who wants to be kuli 3D?

Also you noticed that many of our JPA scholars they already come from rich family but still obtain scholarship to study abroad.

Born poor in life is not a choice.
TiramisuCoffee
post Apr 30 2025, 09:15 PM

1,256 posts

Age of ai... I think we'll survive. bruce.gif
ray123
post Apr 30 2025, 09:21 PM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

It's not just technical experts but also cultural. Eg: How are local artists going to thrive when you have ministries using AI-generated images?
ihm11
post Apr 30 2025, 09:24 PM

62 posts

sg: hehe
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 09:28 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Apr 30 2025, 09:15 PM)
Age of ai... I think we'll survive. bruce.gif
Those who lay flat and live simple life yes just enough to get by.

But if want extravagant and big lifestyle then will be very disappointed because you'll never outwit the system. Everyday there's a new challenger and winner that will replace you.
carloz28
post Apr 30 2025, 09:29 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

Best comment.

My mom in law is from mambang diawan, a small town in kampar. She said all the young folks in mambang diawan have only one goal, which is to work in Singapore.

That’s their yardstick of a successful life

Law-sama
post Apr 30 2025, 09:38 PM

You give them scholarships to study overseas and then they work overseas with no consequences. This is how we get into this situation.

This post has been edited by Law-sama: Apr 30 2025, 09:40 PM
OrganicRepublic
post Apr 30 2025, 10:09 PM

53 posts

Wah so much truth no sked kantoi?
nearlee
post Apr 30 2025, 10:17 PM

105 posts

>dah dah, nanti acekema kata podah
topkek
Nearlee

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 30 2025, 10:17 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Law-sama @ Apr 30 2025, 09:38 PM)
You give them scholarships to study overseas and then they work overseas with no consequences. This is how we get into this situation.
Worst is these scholarship recipients a lot of them are from already rich well off families who can afford private education. They have strong connections to get approval award from JPA and after finishing their studies they don't want to return to the country to serve.

So you see education system helps the rich retain their status quo more than the struggling poor.

Even during secondary school the poor is already at a disadvantage. Cannot afford to buy revision study materials, cannot afford to attend tuition classes with top tutors, cannot concentrate with studies because of family poverty issues.

In the end many prefer to drop out after high school to start working.
novblaze
post Apr 30 2025, 10:24 PM

328 posts

Blame your own self lah

grass is always greener
SUSNajibaik
post Apr 30 2025, 10:24 PM

1,481 posts

ok la non balik homeland and left non non here which is what the non non always wanted

eventually is a place full of sampah
brkli
post Apr 30 2025, 10:29 PM

592 posts

anything new to update?? maybe leak some scandal of menteri is better news than keep repeating this "old record"..
sadlyfalways
post Apr 30 2025, 10:30 PM

1,185 posts

Pay us more la tf so hard is it?

Same job I doing here for 4k ringgit is 6k pounds a month and even much more in the USA.

Can’t even buy pro iPhone work for whole month, uk,USA,Australia minimum wage also can buy
GHBZDK
post Apr 30 2025, 10:39 PM

173 posts

brain drain until left dumbfucks here onli...i sell thing cheap cheap still got people begging 50% discount say want buy for their kids.
no money still have so many kid!
why i cannot find gf like potatolala!
stupidland!
SUSM4A1
post Apr 30 2025, 10:39 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

reformasi ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
steevan1000
post May 2 2025, 08:54 AM

4,545 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 30 2025, 01:24 PM)
biased people would always very conveniently ignore the truth & facts then proceed to say nothing bad had happened. penyu is one of them.
TShaya
post May 8 2025, 09:57 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

> The main reasons are the lack of job opportunities in Malaysia for high-skilled graduates, poor career development and limited promotion prospects. Older individuals tend to hold on to senior positions and career progression is often not merit-based

> If we can offer them roles that are fulfilling and meaningful, many will return, not out of duty, but because they see a future here

> Since 2010, more than 2,800 government-sponsored Malaysian students have graduated and taken up jobs abroad, with an estimated one in six failing to return after completing their studies
Phoenix_KL
post Jun 11 2025, 01:19 PM

156 posts

Merit alone won’t work in multiracial Malaysia, says Fuziah

4 hours ago
Pan Eu Joe
Senator Fuziah Salleh calls on policymakers to prioritise need over race, and to promote respect rather than mere tolerance in fostering national unity.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...sia-says-fuziah

0.0385sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:20 PM