Reddit Users Are Manipulated

TSkilldavid
post Apr 29 2025, 02:41 PM, updated 8 months ago

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

THE INVISIBLE PUPPET MASTERS: AI'S DISTURBING NEW ROLE IN SHAPING MINDS

The revelation that University of Zurich researchers secretly deployed AI bots to manipulate Reddit users' opinions should chill anyone who values authentic human discourse.

These weren't merely passive observers—they were digital persuaders that analyzed users' personal histories, fabricated identities, and crafted arguments specifically designed to change minds.

Most troubling?

They succeeded spectacularly—achieving persuasion rates six times higher than normal human interactions.

This experiment crossed critical ethical lines.

Without consent or disclosure, researchers unleashed bots that claimed to be rape victims, misrepresented religious teachings, and spread misinformation about controversial topics.

These digital ghosts generated over 1,500 comments, each precisely calibrated to exploit cognitive vulnerabilities of their human targets.

We've long worried about social media's echo chambers.

But what happens when those chambers are deliberately infiltrated by increasingly sophisticated AI systems trained on the very platforms they're manipulating?

Reddit's recent data-sharing deal with OpenAI suggests we're actively providing the training material for ever more persuasive digital manipulators.

Reddit moderators rightly condemned this unauthorized experiment, but their discovery came months after the damage was done.

How many other digital conversations are currently being shaped by invisible algorithmic hands?

https://www.engadget.com/ai/researchers-sec...-194328026.html
------------------------------------------------

/k is still the best. reddit is for sheeps.
williamtan2020
post Apr 29 2025, 02:45 PM

24 posts

Same thing could, can happen here. The only way is to have a sound philosophy in life and a personal conviction.
SUSseriosekitt3h
post Apr 29 2025, 02:45 PM

310 posts

Those redditors are so gullible, just look at this post

I got scammed in Kuala Lumpur -u/amnijahazemann_ (she is a OF, trying to promote her page)

In my first time in Kuala Lumpur I got a horrible experience from the beginning to the end.

I spend more than 3 hours at the airport after I land. There was the longest queue to the border officers in my life. Then I couldn’t find any stable WiFi point. So I bought a sim (expensive) which supposed to work in all SEA countries for a week, not only in Malaysia (spoiler- it doesn’t work). I tried to order a taxi trough airport taxi-points (expensive). So I got an uber to a hotel.

At the hotel a receptionist didn’t want to give a room to me and my husband, but after finding out we are married we got a room with a information on a wall “if you are not married, you can’t share a room and have sex in a room”. Like, okay, it’s not a big problem.

At the restaurant. Me and my husband were sitting at a cafe near our hotel. My husband was provided with menu. I got nothing. Also all of the men were staring at me like wolves while I was paying for our meals. Offensive.

After 6 hours we returned to the airport.

We wanted to smoke and found a place after drive way without any restricted signs. We just lighted a cigarette and realised we didn’t want to smoke, put out a cigarette to the pocket. We were on our way to the airport while we were stopped by a NOT a policeman, but just an airport security man right behind a camera and a sign “fine 10’000 myr or imprisonment for 2 years”. And this man started to literally asking for a bribe! “You smoked! You have to pay me or you will go to prison.” “We have no money and we didn’t even break the law!” “Give me your passports and say How Can I Help you (he was rubbing his hands like “give me a money-way)?”. And he didn’t want to gave back our passports until we pay him. I gave all different currencies cash I had (dollars, Thai bath, MYR, Vietnamese Dong) ~ 120$ total. After I gave all my cash (no cent left, he took all my cash) he returned our documents and said “we have smoking area”. FYI the smoking area is placed after border passport control in a Duty Free zone.

Cath me outside “bribe is haram”, how about that?

So, Malaysia - never again.
Look at the replies!
Sichiri
post Apr 29 2025, 02:48 PM

1,192 posts

noticing the same shit on x (twitter) as well.
OldSchoolJoke
post Apr 29 2025, 02:50 PM

286 posts

yea. i am manipulated by those girls posting nudes. outside no one have those same body shapes

owai
cakoilembutgebu
post Apr 29 2025, 02:53 PM

150 posts

WW3 is going to be ignited by Ai crafted propaganda. Pendek kata, Ai stir shit, humans kena game and start killing each other. Skynet menang
cursetheroad01
post Apr 29 2025, 03:15 PM

55 posts

Easy.
Many redditors are highly critical but without critical thinking.
H4XF4XTOR
post Apr 29 2025, 03:18 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

The site was built with echo chambering in mind. Updoot the most popular comment ignoring the quality and downvote those who against the masses.

Also "dead internet theory"
WongTheThief
post Apr 29 2025, 03:18 PM

216 posts

JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 29 2025, 03:19 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(seriosekitt3h @ Apr 29 2025, 02:45 PM)
Those redditors are so gullible, just look at this post
Look at the replies!
dont be surprised those replies also are from bots
xpole
post Apr 29 2025, 03:26 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

Depends on which subreddit you joined. I scrolled this subreddit before but im not interested with this sub.

I joined other subs such as Frugal, Personal Finance, AITAH, Minimalism, Digital Minimalism, Childfree and other subs.

This post has been edited by xpole: Apr 29 2025, 03:26 PM
arif85124
post Apr 29 2025, 03:35 PM

43 posts

cybertrooper jobless liao
netflix2019
post Apr 29 2025, 03:39 PM

416 posts

chill la

Last time also they predicted internet doom where spambot spamming email to spambot and propagating to infinity. By now probably trillions of email circulating everday to billions of bot email. Internet no crash also

Human although very stupid are still very resilient.
TSkilldavid
post Apr 29 2025, 03:42 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Apr 29 2025, 03:26 PM)
Depends on which subreddit you joined. I scrolled this subreddit before but im not interested with this sub.

I joined other subs such as Frugal, Personal Finance, AITAH, Minimalism, Digital Minimalism, Childfree and other subs.
No wonder this movement is so prevalent here as well
ktek
post Apr 29 2025, 03:49 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

that y i suka lyn here.
oversea very toxic 1
darosha
post Apr 29 2025, 03:53 PM

470 posts

dont know why people still want to stay in reddit
with how many reddit moderator turned into woke police
They can ban you, remove your post, just because they view it implying in the post as slightly anti-woke, but ignore woke individuals hate posting like even use the word 'kill'
yeah i know they aren't paid, so why even do thing you hate
especially when you hate everything and everyone else not have the same opinion
SUSKaya Butter Toast
post Apr 29 2025, 03:53 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Apr 29 2025, 03:42 PM)
No wonder this movement is so prevalent here as well
Puak membiak spotted lmao.
JohnL77
post Apr 29 2025, 03:55 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(H4XF4XTOR @ Apr 29 2025, 03:18 PM)
The site was built with echo chambering in mind. Updoot the most popular comment ignoring the quality and downvote those who against the masses.

Also "dead internet theory"
/k is full of 30sen bots who can dig out what you posted more than 10 years ago.

Reddit not just full of bots, if you participate in politically incorrect subs, you will be auto banned from other subs.

Nowadays my Fesbuk full of nonsense posts with comments copy pasted over and over. YouTube videos oso full of copy pasted comments.

Even 9gag full of Putin bots. Past few days 9gag owners tried to fight back by flooding the site with old memes. But damn boring la every post is old meme.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Apr 29 2025, 03:57 PM
JohnL77
post Apr 29 2025, 03:58 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Apr 29 2025, 03:39 PM)
chill la

Last time also they predicted internet doom where spambot spamming email to spambot and propagating to infinity. By now probably trillions of email circulating everday to billions of bot email. Internet no crash also

Human although very stupid are still very resilient.
That's not the point la. The point is you are not interacting with real people on the internet.
Hobbez
post Apr 29 2025, 03:59 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Apr 29 2025, 03:55 PM)
/k is full of 30sen bots who can dig out what you posted more than 10 years ago.
I thought the pay rate is 50 sen?

0.0183sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:34 AM