17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Blood Donation, Please help to save lives

Luftwacko
post Jun 22 2008, 05:47 PM

682 posts

Haiz... today donated blood just to find out that G6PD blood cannot be used.... 450ml wasted cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Luftwacko: Jun 22 2008, 06:02 PM
evee_luca
post Jun 22 2008, 06:14 PM

42 posts

what do you mean by G6PD blood?
Luftwacko
post Jun 22 2008, 06:18 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(evee_luca @ Jun 22 2008, 06:14 PM)
what do you mean by G6PD blood?
G6PD = Glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency

haiz... forgot to tell the doctor about it... after donated liao only tell him... then he said the blood can't be used... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Luftwacko: Jun 22 2008, 06:19 PM
evee_luca
post Jun 22 2008, 06:43 PM

42 posts

oh wow, really a waste then. 450ml summore.

but it's ok. at least you tried donating mah.. smile.gif
jfashion33
post Jun 22 2008, 07:08 PM

57 posts

yeah Luftwacko u hav try to help out ppl... thumbup.gif

btw is those who are below 45kg.. cannot donte??
evee_luca
post Jun 23 2008, 08:26 AM

42 posts

depends on your body size. if 45 kg, but small frame, ok la. but if not, then the doc will only let you donate 300ml.
jfashion33
post Jun 23 2008, 09:35 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(evee_luca @ Jun 23 2008, 08:26 AM)
depends on your body size. if 45 kg, but small frame, ok la. but if not, then the doc will only let you donate 300ml.
ohh i see... smile.gif if im only 151cm...will it okie??
evee_luca
post Jun 23 2008, 10:05 AM

42 posts

not sure about that. better go and see the doctor. don't worry, they won't bite you biggrin.gif
jfashion33
post Jun 23 2008, 10:49 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(evee_luca @ Jun 23 2008, 10:05 AM)
not sure about that. better go and see the doctor. don't worry, they won't bite you biggrin.gif
hehehe...btw normally thos blood donation campaign has doctor around??

sorry ya...coz since young till now never when to blood donation before, coz my health condition not very good tongue.gif thinking to go donate recently... =p
hunt2sp
post Jun 23 2008, 11:03 AM

Always Somewhere
772 posts

it is good to see the increase of awareness among malaysians today to donate blood, i went to cheras leisure mall yesterday to donate and there's a lotta people over there...

compared to few years back, i can see the number of blood donors are indeed increasing, mind those reasons, i bet those who have experience seeing/experiencing themselves situations where blood is URGENTLY required will came to realise how important it is to donate...

so no more "takut jarum" laa, "takut tengok darah" laa... what if you/your loved ones are already in the hospital and the doctor said to you "tak ada darah" laa...??
evee_luca
post Jun 23 2008, 12:25 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(jfashion33 @ Jun 23 2008, 10:49 AM)
hehehe...btw normally thos blood donation campaign has doctor around??

sorry ya...coz since young till now never when to blood donation before, coz my health condition not very good  tongue.gif  thinking to go donate recently... =p
of course, before you donate blood, there will be a doctor there to check up on you. if they think you're not fit to donate, they wont let you pass the check up...

no prob la.. it's good that you are willing to try, even with your health conditions. not like some people, very healthy, but very chicken also. cheh
jfashion33
post Jun 23 2008, 12:32 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(evee_luca @ Jun 23 2008, 12:25 PM)
of course, before you donate blood, there will be a doctor there to check up on you. if they think you're not fit to donate, they wont let you pass the check up...

no prob la.. it's good that you are willing to try, even with your health conditions. not like some people, very healthy, but very chicken also. cheh
hehe... ya.. as hunt2sp said above it is quite true... it is really good to help other indeed... donate blood also benefit our ownself... for blood renewing hehe... ok will go for it when there is any campaign thankx icon_idea.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
evee_luca
post Jun 24 2008, 11:36 AM

42 posts

FYI, i'm a regular at the UMMC blood donation place. Been there for almost 10 times to donate blood, and the staff there is extra nice, plus they will make any drink that you want after donating, hehehe.

So don't wait for any blood donation drives to donate blood. Just head down to UM, or any hospitals and start donating.
barium025
post Jun 25 2008, 02:54 PM

Back from the dead
373 posts

I'm a regular at pusat darah negara along jalan tun razak there an occassionally at SJMC. my last donation was 2 weeks ago. but i personally think that the donor's record being computerised and no matter where or when u donate, they can access ur donation history promptly. then u dont have to carry that red books or any other book for different hospital along. just enough issuing one donor identification card that can be recognised anywhere.

this can also comes handy should the unfortunate happened to us, then the paramedic can immediately identify our blood type and maybe we could be granted the benefits without so much hassle.

just my 1 litre worth of petrol.
hunt2sp
post Jun 25 2008, 06:10 PM

Always Somewhere
772 posts

ya lor..i'm also thought about that, what if the red book is lost? hopefully our record is not lost also....

i oso think that they should be able to include those details in MyKad, so in case of accident (never a wish) or anything, the hospital staff can promptly get the info on our blood type, donation record and etc..

i saw a MyKad reader during donation last week, but it is unused...ayo technology.... tongue.gif

evee_luca
post Jun 25 2008, 09:11 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(barium025 @ Jun 25 2008, 02:54 PM)
I'm a regular at pusat darah negara along jalan tun razak there an occassionally at SJMC. my last donation was 2 weeks ago. but i personally think that the donor's record being computerised and no matter where or when u donate, they can access ur donation history promptly. then u dont have to carry that red books or any other book for different hospital along. just enough issuing one donor identification card that can be recognised anywhere.

this can also comes handy should the unfortunate happened to us, then the paramedic can immediately identify our blood type and maybe we could be granted the benefits without so much hassle.

just my 1 litre worth of petrol.
Have you tried asking them about the benefits? I've asked at Assunta and Sunway hospital, and they said it's not covered there, or rather the benefits are not 'reedemeble (sp?)' there.

Could be it's only available at govt hospts?
hunt2sp
post Jun 26 2008, 04:26 PM

Always Somewhere
772 posts

govt hospitals only lor....pusat darah negara is an agency under gov...
biebie
post Jul 4 2008, 11:57 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Jun 22 2008, 06:18 PM)
G6PD = Glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency

haiz... forgot to tell the doctor about it... after donated liao only tell him... then he said the blood can't be used...  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
aiyo, how come u forgot to tell the doc. sweat.gif
Before i donate i get advice from General Hospital first,
doc told me i cant donate coz i dun have enough blood.
Luftwacko
post Jul 5 2008, 12:39 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(biebie @ Jul 4 2008, 11:57 PM)
aiyo,  how come u forgot to tell the doc.  sweat.gif
Before i donate i get advice from General Hospital first,
doc told me i cant donate coz i dun have enough blood.
lol. I'm a forgetful person. Everytime I see a doc, I'll always nearly forget to tell him/her I got G6PD. After I tell the doc, he/she will start canceling some of the medications that I'm not suppose to take. Haiz... I think my poor memory is going to cost me my life one day. cry.gif

Hmmm... I wonder where did my 450ml blood go? blink.gif
elaineliew88
post Jul 5 2008, 01:43 PM

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

ohh gosh....450ml damn a lot.....scary...i never donate blood b4 and i dun dare too.....

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:01 PM