4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Change car or continue use existing axia

TSDaylight_walker
post Apr 24 2025, 03:53 PM, updated 8 months ago

155 posts

I brought a Axia advance on 2016 and it is 9 years now. since Axia is 1.0 4at, i just press full pedal all the way. currently axia did not give me trouble yet, but with my driving pattern, engine will koyak 1 day. i heard normal car will have a big service on 10 years. so i m dilemma on :-

1.) sell the axia and buy a second hand car. due to my golden foot, cvt cars isnt for me at all. and i dont wan to spend so much since my already brought my current axia for 42k. i targeted 2nd hand mazda 2 2018 for roughly RM42k on the carsome/carro/carlist apps (if axia trade in RM20k, i only top up RM22k which i think is kinda ok to me). but again 7 years car and additional RM22k it is worst it?

2.) keep using axia, when big service, just repair and continue using axia until he is retired. actually i like axia very much but there r only 2 things annoy me, vibration and the 1.0 engine (extra low hoursepower).

based on this, wat is the opinion and suggestion?

Kasawari 2
post Apr 24 2025, 03:56 PM

127 posts

Upgrade to Bezza je.
TSDaylight_walker
post Apr 24 2025, 03:58 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Kasawari 2 @ Apr 24 2025, 03:56 PM)
Upgrade to Bezza je.
buy i like hatchback, bezza is difficult to me
RoxyMunky
post Apr 24 2025, 03:59 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

from Abang AI ChatGPT:
That’s a great question, and it depends on a few key factors like your budget, driving needs, and what you value in a car (e.g. fuel efficiency, comfort, features, maintenance costs). Let’s break it down:

🧾 Consider These:
✅ Stick with Axia if:
You want to save money (no new loan).
You do mostly city driving.
Low maintenance cost is a priority.
You're happy with basic features.

🚗 Upgrade to Mazda 2 if:
You want more comfort, better drive feel, and safety.
You're okay with slightly higher maintenance/parts cost.
You want a more premium feel and features like push start, better NVH, etc.
You're planning longer drives or highway use.

💸 Budget & Loan?
A 2018 Mazda 2 used in Malaysia can cost anywhere between RM40k–RM55k depending on condition and mileage. If your Axia is fully paid off, it might be worth RM15k–RM20k. So you'd be looking at top-up of ~RM20k–RM35k.

👀 Verdict
If you're after comfort, better safety, and a more refined experience, the Mazda 2 is a worthwhile upgrade. But if you're more focused on low running cost and practicality, your Axia is still a solid, no-frills car especially for city use.
dudester
post Apr 24 2025, 04:01 PM

1,229 posts

2016 Axia market value around 15-16k.
Having it for 8 years never gave any issue.

You buy a 7 year old mazda, be ready to spend 20k for maintenance and repair.
Capt. Marble
post Apr 24 2025, 04:05 PM

221 posts

If you really want to sell the car, sell it before the 10th year because bank loan for buyers will be harder for secondhand cars aged 10 years onwards, thus your secondhand value also will depreciates.
I made a mistake by valuating my car on the 9th year and found it still have some value but decided to hold on since it's still having good value. On the 10th year, I went back to valuate the value again only to find it's value drop a lot and that reason was given to me.

This post has been edited by Capt. Marble: Apr 24 2025, 04:08 PM
TSDaylight_walker
post Apr 24 2025, 04:10 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Apr 24 2025, 04:01 PM)
2016 Axia market value around 15-16k.
Having it for 8 years never gave any issue.

You buy a 7 year old mazda, be ready to spend 20k for maintenance and repair.
that's me dilemma, the only complains on my axia are the vibration and 1.0 engine. so my thought is my complains worth the upgrade or not.

should i continue the axia until it retired?
anakkk
post Apr 24 2025, 04:18 PM

2,117 posts

wait for saga hatchback
yongchin89
post Apr 24 2025, 04:23 PM

187 posts

change engine mount already? bolt on turbo?
if car is just your vehicle from point A to B, if yes then why not just continue use unless it give you alot trouble.

This post has been edited by yongchin89: Apr 24 2025, 04:23 PM
dudester
post Apr 24 2025, 04:26 PM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ Apr 24 2025, 04:10 PM)
that's me dilemma, the only complains on my axia are the vibration and 1.0 engine. so my thought is my complains worth the upgrade or not.

should i continue the axia until it retired?
I think whatever decision, most important is if you can afford the change.
No point suffering in restricted spending if you cannot.
I strongly do not recommend a Mazda.
Safer with a Toyota 10 year old vios, altis, camry all under 40k can get.
You want newer, MYVI can never go wrong.

alexei
post Apr 24 2025, 04:26 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

you make decision like this, will always have reason to regret one

if you keep, and the car starts to break down
if you sell, upgrade, but the new 2nd hand car maybe give you problems

you gotta choose your path and stick to it, then, come what may

in your case, I'd say change it
TSDaylight_walker
post Apr 24 2025, 04:28 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Apr 24 2025, 04:05 PM)
If you really want to sell the car, sell it before the 10th year because bank loan for buyers will be harder for secondhand cars aged 10 years onwards, thus your secondhand value also will depreciates.
I made a mistake by valuating my car on the 9th year and found it still have some value but decided to hold on since it's still having good value. On the 10th year, I went back to valuate the value again only to find it's value drop a lot and that reason was given to me.
i heard u, thanks for the info.

QUOTE(anakkk @ Apr 24 2025, 04:18 PM)
wait for saga hatchback
dislike saga, i only like hatchback car

QUOTE(yongchin89 @ Apr 24 2025, 04:23 PM)
change engine mount already? bolt on turbo?
if car is just your vehicle from point A to B, if yes then why not just continue use unless it give you alot trouble.
axia is 3 cylinder engine anyhow mod or change engine mount also vibrate non stop... and i dont like to mod engine scare later boom haha... anyway thanks for the opinion but serious thought, axia did not give me any issue at all
TSDaylight_walker
post Apr 24 2025, 04:35 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Apr 24 2025, 04:26 PM)
I think whatever decision, most important is if you can afford the change.
No point suffering in restricted spending if you cannot.
I strongly do not recommend a Mazda.
Safer with a Toyota 10 year old vios, altis, camry all under 40k can get.
You want newer, MYVI can never go wrong.
i heard u, how about a 2nd hand 4at myvi? i dont think cvt can last long with my golden foot.

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 24 2025, 04:26 PM)
you make decision like this, will always have reason to regret one

if you keep, and the car starts to break down
if you sell, upgrade, but the new 2nd hand car maybe give you problems

you gotta choose your path and stick to it, then, come what may

in your case, I'd say change it
that's my dilemma here. axia havent got any issue atm, but i have golden foot for 9 years, sooner the engine will cause me a boom. and u didnt enlighted me, if i have doubt on my option, i will regret on either of the decision make
dudester
post Apr 24 2025, 04:46 PM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ Apr 24 2025, 04:35 PM)
i heard u, how about a 2nd hand 4at myvi? i dont think cvt can last long with my golden foot.

Golden foot. If you brave, i recommend a year 200X Mini Cooper 1.6 MANUAL.
dogbert_chew
post Apr 24 2025, 04:58 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ Apr 24 2025, 04:28 PM)
dislike saga, i only like hatchback car
He is talking about the new Geely powered 1.5NA Saga Hatchback

QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ Apr 24 2025, 04:35 PM)
Golden foot, manual is best.
New Axia 22K another 9 years 😆
TSDaylight_walker
post Apr 24 2025, 05:05 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Apr 24 2025, 04:46 PM)
Golden foot. If you brave, i recommend a year 200X Mini Cooper 1.6 MANUAL.
almost 40 dont wan the hazzle to drive manual haha...

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Apr 24 2025, 04:58 PM)
He is talking about the new Geely powered 1.5NA Saga Hatchback
Golden foot, manual is best.
New Axia 22K another 9 years 😆
i didnt know saga is going with new hatch back version. dont la last time my kelisa press until clutch cable putus and breakdown in the middle of road... sweat.gif
jaycee1
post Apr 24 2025, 05:14 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

I would just keep the Axia and save money. Drive, fix , repeat until you really need something bigger. Enjoy not having to service a loan. Save the money. Invest.

If you are thinking of buying a used car to replace it, I'm thinking budget isn't too healthy. And god forbid you buy a used car under a loan. That would be a disaster.

You don't want to get yourself in a situation to have to service a loan AND having to pay for major repairs.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Apr 24 2025, 05:16 PM
dogbert_chew
post Apr 24 2025, 05:16 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ Apr 24 2025, 05:05 PM)
didnt know saga is going with new hatch back version
Quite a few channels talked about it.
Question is whether 2025 or 2026.

littlefire
post Apr 24 2025, 05:28 PM

2,736 posts

If you so bad on even maintaining a basic/simple Axia, i would recommend you to get EV and not another ICE engine car model...
TSDaylight_walker
post Apr 24 2025, 05:39 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 24 2025, 05:14 PM)
I would just keep the Axia and save money. Drive, fix , repeat until you really need something bigger. Enjoy not having to service a loan. Save the money. Invest.

If you are thinking of buying a used car to replace it, I'm thinking budget isn't too healthy. And god forbid you buy a used car under a loan. That would be a disaster.

You don't want to get yourself in a situation to have to service a loan AND having to pay for major repairs.
thanks for the advice. tbh i still likes my axia and i like my car plate number too... been 2 times other car bang on my rear axia, both time toto 4D got my number out.

after 9 years owning axia, and a little bit tiny modification (except engine), i have to say i like my axia afterall...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3677sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:32 AM