Anime Ef - A Tale of Memories, underrated anime is underrated..

TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 04:44 AM, updated 18y ago

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

Ef - A Tale of Memories

From Anidb.net:

Based on the visual interactive novel by Minori, featuring character designs by Nanao Naru.

The story revolves around the protagonist Hirono Hiro, a poor high school boy who draws shoujo manga for his living. One cold Christmas night after meeting a very strange woman in a church, who tells him that he`s going to meet someone he has to meet, his bike gets stolen by another strange girl. He runs after her and finds her collapsed on the street. Her name is Miyamura Miyako and her bag got stolen by a man on a motorbike. Soon after, they start hanging out together, enjoying highschool life. Miyako falls for Hiro pretty quickly but naturally finds a rival in his childhood friend, Shindou Kei, who has been dictating Hiro`s life since ever.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ef - A Tale of Memories is based on this japanese adult visual novel.

Ef - A Tale of Memories in DannyChoo's blog complete with screnshots

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i've watched this anime subbed by Conclave-Mendoi up to episode 4. Overall i can say it's somewhat an awesome anime with abstract feel and some visual effects. Silhouttes, overshadows etc etc were used in this anime.it's rare to see an anime like this. (never watched 5cm before)

definitely in my watch list.

and i'm somewhat surprised why no one make a topic on this anime. sweat.gif

Episodes screenshot:

episode 1

episode 2

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Aug 28 2008, 03:32 PM
Tsukasa
post Nov 11 2007, 07:59 AM

1,042 posts

Very nice anime indeed.. Esp one of the girl have 13 hour memory only and the story is going around with a few character so it make it something new... rather than normal anime which concentrate in main character only.
Fyonne
post Nov 11 2007, 08:38 AM

904 posts

Makoto Shinkai doesnt involve in the anime, either in story n the animation. he just involve in h-game as op animator, thats all

for someone who havent watch Makoto Shinkai's animation b4, u can try n compare it to the anime. (just ignore 1st 1 minutes)

Depthcharge101
post Nov 11 2007, 10:34 AM

21 posts

No lar as mentioned Makoto Shinkai isn't involved in it, just the opening animation of the game.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 01:50 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Tsukasa @ Nov 11 2007, 07:59 AM)
Very nice anime indeed.. Esp one of the girl have 13 hour memory only and the story is going around with a few character so it make it something new... rather than normal anime which concentrate in main character only.
yes, it was kinda pity that the girl doesnt remember anything past 13hour.but then the promise "see you tomorrow" made the yesterday her and the today her somewhat connected.
ffrulz
post Nov 11 2007, 03:07 PM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

Her voice is bloody annoying.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 03:09 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Nov 11 2007, 03:07 PM)
Her voice is bloody annoying.
atleast it's better than Aoi-chan.my ears cant stand high-pitched voice/noise/songs.
Netto Hikari
post Nov 11 2007, 05:39 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

finally some1 post this. this anime somewhat give me the feel of playing P3.
Sora
post Nov 11 2007, 05:44 PM

:D
2,574 posts

The only reason that attracted me to watch this title is the art.

Other than that is bleh.
I watched episode 1 last night and i was confused all the way.

I have no single clue WTF is goin' on and shit.

Oh, and don't bother trying to enlighten me. laugh.gif
Netto Hikari
post Nov 11 2007, 05:49 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(Sora @ Nov 11 2007, 05:44 PM)

Other than that is bleh.

I too no idea wats goin on. but oh well, just watch it to fill up my time slot.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 05:56 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Sora @ Nov 11 2007, 05:44 PM)

Other than that is bleh.

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Nov 11 2007, 05:49 PM)
I too no idea wats goin on. but oh well, just watch it to fill up my time slot.
well, im the same as both of u.i cant understand ep1.

slowly as u progressed u will understand what's the meaning of those, who is the girl, who is the boy, who is connected to who.

most probably it's based on childhood memories and dreams,ambition and promise that has been made.

the eye-patched girl is the twin Shindou Kei, the girl that has been bothering Hiro since ep1.lol.
Fyonne
post Nov 11 2007, 06:12 PM

904 posts

When i 1st watch it, i found that Chihiro (the eye-patched girl) is really wierd when she always use 'sayonara' when depart (no1 really use it unless u wont be meeting nemore), then learn bout her 13 hours of memory.

it seem its better than Wind (1 of Minori's stuff that made into anime) in term of story n quality
Stormy001_M1A2
post Nov 11 2007, 06:16 PM

98 posts

Frankly speaking, the anime is cliche heavy. I am not too keen to waste my time on this anime when there are tons of stuff I prefer is out there.
shah_ho_nam2
post Nov 11 2007, 08:45 PM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

7) Don't ask when the next episode of fansubbed anime will be ready - its ready when its ready!

amacharu
post Nov 11 2007, 08:49 PM

397 posts

At least I can understand this series.

I guess you guys haven't watch (or couldn't finish) Touka gettan yet sweat.gif

TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 10:06 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(amacharu @ Nov 11 2007, 08:49 PM)
At least I can understand this series.

I guess you guys haven't watch (or couldn't finish) Touka gettan yet sweat.gif
i understand it too.the animation made glued to the screen and said "i've never seen something like this before"
jonralf
post Nov 11 2007, 10:12 PM

Hikki
804 posts

this is from visual novel also ar??
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 10:26 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(jonralf @ Nov 11 2007, 10:12 PM)
this is from visual novel also ar??
yeah.

and u should read the first post first before asking wink.gif
jonralf
post Nov 11 2007, 10:32 PM

Hikki
804 posts

i read the part
Based on the visual interactive novel by Minori, featuring character designs by Nanao Naru.

that's all... biggrin.gif dun hit me rclxub.gif icon_rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 12 2007, 02:29 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

watched ep05 already.

seems that Shindou Kei caused Chihiro to lose one eye and memory loss.

and Chihiro's suffering is told in abstract in a form of a sheep.

nice literature.
nerd
post Nov 12 2007, 11:00 AM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

I think this anime is fantastic. very touching. Chihiro's story almost drove me to tears sad.gif
jonralf
post Nov 12 2007, 03:23 PM

Hikki
804 posts

i really like this anime art, i mean the presentation. eg : chihiro dreams, inverted colour and so on...
shirohamada
post Nov 12 2007, 09:11 PM

944 posts

schaft did it again
nerd
post Nov 13 2007, 10:21 AM

3,373 posts

ep6 is out smile.gif
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 15 2007, 05:57 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

another love triangle.i wonder if Chihiro had feelings for Onii-chan in the past to?

is renji really an outsider to them all?

and the man in the church, who is he waiting for?
jonralf
post Nov 15 2007, 09:39 PM

Hikki
804 posts

the man at the church, i think he is waiting the mysterious girl with long hair, which appear in ep 1 and another ep(forgot)
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 15 2007, 10:58 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

why hirono doesnt want to answer the phone?

why renji cant kiss chihiro?

why he refrain himself?

what happened to miyako's family?

i felt miyako's loneliness, about what she wanted from hirono, about why she doesn't want to disappear again..it's kind of..pity and sad..

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Nov 23 2007, 02:05 PM
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 23 2007, 02:06 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

sadness and loneliness is potrayed excatly in this episode..
Endless9930
post Nov 23 2007, 02:45 PM

757 posts

Is this something like School days?

Or like Girls bravo?

(Basically means Violent or Harem....or both? )
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 23 2007, 04:12 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Endless9930 @ Nov 23 2007, 02:45 PM)
Is this something like School days?

Or like Girls bravo?

(Basically means Violent or Harem....or both? )
nope.i dunno how to describe this anime.something literature-like.heh.and u got to see special effects in it (not 3d but some artistic ones)
dishwasher
post Nov 23 2007, 05:32 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Hirano can't answer the phone because he left it at home. Kinda disturbing wei... the girl is clearly crazy. Now that,um, whatshername has deleted all the messages Minamina is going to really go snap.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 23 2007, 05:41 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Nov 23 2007, 05:32 PM)
Hirano can't answer the phone because he left it at home. Kinda disturbing wei... the girl is clearly crazy. Now that,um, whatshername has deleted all the messages Minamina is going to really go snap.
yeah it's very disturbing.clearly she was like going emo, beserk or crazy.

Miyako deleted the call history on her phone or somebody deleted it on Hirono's phone?

jonralf
post Nov 23 2007, 06:03 PM

Hikki
804 posts

Miyako did not delete the history, kei is the one deleted hirono's phone history . damn her.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 23 2007, 06:07 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(jonralf @ Nov 23 2007, 06:03 PM)
Miyako did not delete the history, kei is the one deleted hirono's phone history . damn her.
oh shi-...

i felt bad with miyako..she'll broke down for sure.
dishwasher
post Nov 23 2007, 07:10 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

If you have the episodes remember to watch after the end song finishes. Some episodes have a slight continuation wan. And why did I call her minamina lol. Thats from bamboo blade. Miyamiya.

/facepalm
jonralf
post Nov 23 2007, 08:09 PM

Hikki
804 posts

i feel bad for miyako, now i'm anti-kei... laugh.gif
nerd
post Nov 23 2007, 08:42 PM

3,373 posts

uh oh, NICE BOAT?
jonralf
post Nov 23 2007, 08:46 PM

Hikki
804 posts

omg, juz realized the possibilities... noooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

riku2replica
post Nov 23 2007, 10:20 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

i like this anime... nod.gif nod.gif
Fyonne
post Nov 23 2007, 10:49 PM

904 posts

man, really sad, i really pities Renji in eps 7, the situation Renji is facing. well, Miyako part is really depressing, n i understand her that she was 'erased' though, yea, the message part really sked me.

jonralf
post Nov 24 2007, 12:01 AM

Hikki
804 posts

omg u really understand that... i cannot get it thou... hahahaha respect u notworthy.gif
Netto Hikari
post Nov 25 2007, 01:38 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

dam kei.....repeating the history becoz of her greediness.....
riku2replica
post Nov 25 2007, 10:52 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Nov 25 2007, 01:38 AM)
dam kei.....repeating the history becoz of her greediness.....
can't blame it.. girls get jealous easily...
Netto Hikari
post Nov 28 2007, 11:29 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

ep8 is out now....go get it.
nerd
post Nov 29 2007, 12:58 PM

3,373 posts

was Chihiro like that because

TScloudstrife07
post Nov 29 2007, 09:07 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Nov 29 2007, 12:58 PM)
was Chihiro like that because

i think so.

so she has to read back all her memories in her diaries??

wow.painful.too painful for me if i was Renji.
nerd
post Nov 29 2007, 09:37 PM

3,373 posts

yeah. it's really sad. this anime really touched me.

she woke up at 3am to skim through her diary, so that's why by evening she was knocked out. that explains why she fainted and thus acted like that, because she didn't do it before she slept.

i think next episode, Renji's gonna hold her hand and then she'll somehow remember things again, in typical anime happy-ending fashion.

.. or maybe not.
Netto Hikari
post Nov 30 2007, 12:23 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Nov 29 2007, 09:37 PM)
yeah. it's really sad. this anime really touched me.

she woke up at 3am to skim through her diary, so that's why by evening she was knocked out. that explains why she fainted and thus acted like that, because she didn't do it before she slept.

i think next episode, Renji's gonna hold her hand and then she'll somehow remember things again, in typical anime happy-ending fashion.

.. or maybe not.
i guess not. im more interested on the happening between the kei n miyako
riku2replica
post Dec 1 2007, 06:02 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

poor renji... chihiro doesn't recognize him anymore....
kerazul
post Dec 1 2007, 12:11 PM

1,176 posts

It must be frightening to be Chihiro. Imagine waking up one day n discovering that ur 4 years older. I feel bad for miyamiya as well. Poor thing. Her parents divorced n she ended up neglected. Stupid parents.

TScloudstrife07
post Dec 1 2007, 07:37 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Dec 1 2007, 12:11 PM)
It must be frightening to be Chihiro. Imagine waking up one day n discovering that ur 4 years older.
and the cycle is infinite since she damaged her brains.

so i think, the novel of hers has to be started from scratch again cry.gif
Netto Hikari
post Dec 1 2007, 08:46 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Dec 1 2007, 07:37 PM)
and the cycle is infinite since she damaged her brains.

so i think, the novel of hers has to be started from scratch again  cry.gif
hmm....too bad there isnt a cyborg in that era.......else just extract the brain and put into the cyborg.

*note: the cyborg is not full of metal head, its just like Chi.
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 1 2007, 09:24 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Dec 1 2007, 08:46 PM)
hmm....too bad there isnt a cyborg in that era.......else just extract the brain and put into the cyborg.

*note: the cyborg is not full of metal head, its just like Chi.
cannot oso..the brain is still damaged what sweat.gif
Netto Hikari
post Dec 1 2007, 10:58 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Dec 1 2007, 09:24 PM)
cannot oso..the brain is still damaged what  sweat.gif
well technologies can make that defect into perfect.
Depthcharge101
post Dec 2 2007, 01:36 AM

21 posts

Wow I just watched the first episode... this show has weird choreography! Random black and white frames, yellow screen, duplicated characters, etc etc, maybe it's art but I am definitely not too impressed by it.

Not too amazed by the characters as well (and the char design to be honest).... I think I'll be dropping this series unless I hear really good stuff about it...
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 2 2007, 05:02 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Depthcharge101 @ Dec 2 2007, 01:36 AM)
Wow I just watched the first episode... this show has weird choreography! Random black and white frames, yellow screen, duplicated characters, etc etc, maybe it's art but I am definitely not too impressed by it.

Not too amazed by the characters as well (and the char design to be honest).... I think I'll be dropping this series unless I hear really good stuff about it...
this series is more like MacBeth or Romeo and Juliet in anime..a bit literature-like sweat.gif

but to me, since it's different than usual anime, i kinda like it..
Depthcharge101
post Dec 2 2007, 10:53 AM

21 posts

Well besides the "distinct" choreography, the female characters feel pretty generic and very cheesy, especially the boy meets a girl at the non-working train station part ><.
riku2replica
post Dec 2 2007, 11:43 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

good thing episode 9 has nice plot...

This post has been edited by riku2replica: Dec 2 2007, 12:10 PM
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 2 2007, 03:02 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Depthcharge101 @ Dec 2 2007, 10:53 AM)
Well besides the "distinct" choreography, the female characters feel pretty generic and very cheesy, especially the boy meets a girl at the non-working train station part ><.
nah, u may feel generic at first..but the concept of the girl's 13th hour made me a bit amazed.
riku2replica
post Dec 2 2007, 03:40 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

creative arts for this anime... it's totally differ compare to other animes..
alexio
post Dec 5 2007, 09:09 PM

197 posts

issit like the "50 First Dates" movie?
jonralf
post Dec 5 2007, 11:21 PM

Hikki
804 posts

i really am tired with Chihiro X Renji story.... dry.gif

Added on December 5, 2007, 11:41 pmyey way to go Miyako...
to Kei, serve u right tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jonralf: Dec 5 2007, 11:41 PM
Aurora Boreali
post Dec 6 2007, 11:31 AM

470 posts

I love the arts. I always appreciate nice art, hehe. Story line wise, I kinda like it. Well at least it's not the Lucky Star kind (not my taste).
shirohamada
post Dec 7 2007, 06:43 AM

944 posts

i wonder if this will go like a school days bad ending... XD
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 10 2007, 03:43 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

ouch, Renji's burden is too much for a normal human like him. sad.gif

and miyako slept with Hirono, what will happen to the relationship with Kei?suit her right, she deleted the call list in the ep before shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Dec 10 2007, 03:44 AM
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 14 2007, 02:56 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

wow, atlast hirono made a decision that wins all, just by quitting school blink.gif

and i kinda like the countdown timer, make me at the edge of my seat sweat.gif
riku2replica
post Dec 14 2007, 06:26 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

i don't want it to end too soon...
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 14 2007, 06:32 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Dec 14 2007, 06:26 PM)
i don't want it to end too soon...
i think next ep will be the last...right?

Added on December 14, 2007, 6:33 pmjust checked anidb, the last ep will be ep12 hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Dec 14 2007, 06:33 PM
shirohamada
post Dec 14 2007, 07:02 PM

944 posts

isn't this supposed to be an harem animu XD
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 14 2007, 07:06 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Dec 14 2007, 07:02 PM)
isn't this supposed to be an harem animu XD
nope, i dun think so..every one of the girls had some difficulties in them.

chihiro - 13 hours memory, with renji as her guidance

kei - to acknowledge herself as hirono's lover but hirono felt she is more suitable to be his younger sister due to "onii-chan" calling

miyako - hirono's true lover (what the heck kissing at a graveyard..and theres a phonebooth at a graveyard? shakehead.gif )

Added on December 14, 2007, 7:07 pmah, one more..

the nun - act as guidance for all of them

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Dec 14 2007, 07:07 PM
Aurora Boreali
post Dec 20 2007, 09:43 PM

470 posts

Love the conversation over the phone... I was almost moved to tears by Hirono's confession.
Irishcoffee
post Dec 20 2007, 11:11 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

this anime is quite unique
design + anime 2gether
abt the story part i juz like the chihiro part
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 21 2007, 09:07 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

duh, why Chihiro have to end it that way in ep 11 vmad.gif
nerd
post Dec 22 2007, 12:04 AM

3,373 posts

stupid chihiro!

so, who predicts a happy ending?

i think maybe. coz renji caught the page that mattered.
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 22 2007, 01:39 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Dec 22 2007, 12:04 AM)
stupid chihiro!

so, who predicts a happy ending?

i think maybe. coz renji caught the page that mattered.
maybe Hirono is down there so he captures Chihiro from above lol.

it would be nice if Kei and Chihiro met.i never saw they met before in this anime, though they are siblings.heh.
Aurora Boreali
post Dec 22 2007, 12:15 PM

470 posts

T_T

Chihiro erased Renji from her life cry.gif

I like the sentence they always end the episodes with: "Do you have memories you don't want to forget?"
nerd
post Dec 22 2007, 10:46 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Dec 22 2007, 01:39 AM)
maybe Hirono is down there so he captures Chihiro from above lol.

it would be nice if Kei and Chihiro met.i never saw they met before in this anime, though they are siblings.heh.
Chihiro didn't commit suicide by jumping off the building.. she erased her own memories by..

TScloudstrife07
post Dec 23 2007, 01:50 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Dec 22 2007, 10:46 PM)
Chihiro didn't commit suicide by jumping off the building.. she erased her own memories by..

but she looked like she was commit suicide heh.but why renji suddenly after her?
riku2replica
post Dec 23 2007, 07:40 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

it already ends... but nice ending.... unexpectedly.... too bad no 2nd season... sweat.gif
nerd
post Dec 23 2007, 11:03 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Dec 23 2007, 01:50 AM)
but she looked like she was commit suicide heh.but why renji suddenly after her?
renji thought she was gonna commit suicide, like what she wrote in her book.
kerazul
post Dec 24 2007, 06:43 AM

1,176 posts

in a way... erasing her memories of Renji is kinda like killing herself (the self who is in love with Renji) and being reborned again as a Chihiro who has not met Renji. Sad...
jonralf
post Dec 24 2007, 03:01 PM

Hikki
804 posts

but if it's a happy ending how it's should be??? chihiro still have that 13 hours memories
shirohamada
post Dec 24 2007, 07:27 PM

944 posts

fail ending is fail.
i was hoping school days bad ending XD
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 29 2007, 09:31 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

nice ending..definitely recommend this anime to those who love to think differently for an anime, rather than those stereotype shounen fighting ones. laugh.gif
nerd
post Dec 30 2007, 11:20 PM

3,373 posts

ah, not a bad ending at all.

myself yourself should learn from this.
jonralf
post Dec 31 2007, 12:08 AM

Hikki
804 posts

YUKO ~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Fyonne
post Dec 31 2007, 09:33 PM

904 posts

yay, finally done watching it. i think Chihiro can remember more than 13 hours, well its due to she say she still remember Renji even it has past 13 hours n Renji arrived with torn pages.

neway, i wonder if u guys notice bout op changes in last eps (well ppl like me most of the time i skip the op n ed). 1stly it was sang in Japanese, 2ndly, there are some changes in some part (the silhouette part) where its shown the girl (Miya, Chihiro n Kei) vaporize (like shown in every eps) except eps 12, which they were caught by male character (Miya by Hiro, Kei by Kyosuke n Chihiro by Renji) n another part (also silhouette part) 3 of them in chain n vaporize together with chain, but this time only the chain vaporize leaving em free.

well few reason why i was into the op (n ed) as well is becoz there are meaning to it. Though the OP mainly tells story bout Chihiro's stuff (the obvious one). n apparently it has 3 ed (or only know 3 of them minus the eps 12) which each represent each character (the girls only) n mainly shown bout the problem they are facing it. seriously, i would say this director (or neone incharge for it) is better than Makoto Shinkai. anyway, i think there is goin to be OVA. (maybe not, well, Wind has it) just let our finger cross though the story bout Yu n Himura is yet shown (or are there any to begin with)
jonralf
post Dec 31 2007, 09:38 PM

Hikki
804 posts

the art of this anime is win thumbup.gif

and once again...
YUKO~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by jonralf: Dec 31 2007, 09:39 PM
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 31 2007, 10:25 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(jonralf @ Dec 31 2007, 09:38 PM)
the art of this anime is win thumbup.gif

and once again...
YUKO~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
guess the main attraction for this anime is the nun eh? tongue.gif
jonralf
post Dec 31 2007, 10:37 PM

Hikki
804 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Dec 31 2007, 10:25 PM)
guess the main attraction for this anime is the nun eh? tongue.gif
yeah, the nun are in every picture relating ef

YUKO ~!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by jonralf: Dec 31 2007, 10:37 PM
Aurora Boreali
post Jan 2 2008, 02:51 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Dec 31 2007, 09:33 PM)
yay, finally done watching it. i think Chihiro can remember more than 13 hours, well its due to she say she still remember Renji even it has past 13 hours n Renji arrived with torn pages.

neway, i wonder if u guys notice bout op changes in last eps (well ppl like me most of the time i skip the op n ed). 1stly it was sang in Japanese, 2ndly, there are some changes in some part (the silhouette part) where its shown the girl (Miya, Chihiro n Kei) vaporize (like shown in every eps) except eps 12, which they were caught by male character (Miya by Hiro, Kei by Kyosuke n Chihiro by Renji) n another part (also silhouette part) 3 of them in chain n vaporize together with chain, but this time only the chain vaporize leaving em free.

well few reason why i was into the op (n ed) as well is becoz there are meaning to it. Though the OP mainly tells story bout Chihiro's stuff (the obvious one). n apparently it has 3 ed (or only know 3 of them minus the eps 12) which each represent each character (the girls only) n mainly shown bout the problem they are facing it. seriously, i would say this director (or neone incharge for it) is better than Makoto Shinkai. anyway, i think there is goin to be OVA. (maybe not, well, Wind has it) just let our finger cross though the story bout Yu n Himura is yet shown (or are there any to begin with)
Noticed the change from English to Japanese for the OP, but didn't pay attention to the other details you mentioned.

Must rewatch the OP and ED (for each episode and try to get the meaning that you mentioned ^^).

Also, I think it's not because Chihiro can remember for more than 13 hours. It's because she kept thinking about Renji, there's never a moment that Renji isn't in her mind, that's why she could remember him.

Btw, very nice ending to a heart-warming series.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Jan 2 2008, 02:54 PM
Fyonne
post Jan 11 2008, 03:31 PM

904 posts

saw the raw for Ef eps 3 Director Cut.
hmm.gif i wonder wat it has brows.gif

第3話 「paradox」 ディレクターズカット版 | ノンテロップED/ジャケット​

translated the note babelfishly : 3rd story "paradox" ディレクターズカット edition | non telop ED/jacket?
i can only guess bout creditless ED.

This post has been edited by Fyonne: Jan 11 2008, 04:08 PM
miloy2k
post Jan 18 2008, 03:02 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

.... other the "diff animation" which quite impress me ... some how this series make me..... yawn.gif

Added on January 18, 2008, 3:32 am

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Jan 18 2008, 03:32 AM
Fyonne
post Apr 15 2008, 10:33 AM

904 posts

sequel to da game, n also da ending (WOOT, i wonder wat it means)

Ef - The Latter Tale

it seem like 10 years has past or something, still havent sure n again, OP directed by Makoto Shinkai thumbup.gif
TScloudstrife07
post Apr 15 2008, 10:40 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

thanks to elfenrir, i got a HD version of Ef - Tale of the Two promo (the game)

i like it because of the Yuukyuu no Tsubasa song. smile.gif
Fyonne
post Apr 15 2008, 10:41 AM

904 posts

actually u can d/l it from the web the promo (avalaible in WS n normal one)
TScloudstrife07
post Apr 15 2008, 10:45 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Apr 15 2008, 10:41 AM)
actually u can d/l it from the web the promo (avalaible in WS n normal one)
this one got sub iianm.
mystvearn
post May 15 2008, 07:37 PM

6,639 posts

Just finished this last night. Its ok I guess. But after so much watching this type of anime, I can say its there but not great. Watching this after you've watched Air and you will truly see the problem where its inferior in few aspects.
Quazacolt
post May 15 2008, 07:45 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ May 15 2008, 07:37 PM)
Just finished this last night. Its ok I guess. But after so much watching this type of anime, I can say its there but not great. Watching this after you've watched Air and you will truly see the problem where its inferior in few aspects.
hey, its alllll about those disabled girls.
Setsuna-san
post May 15 2008, 07:57 PM

QUOTE(mystvearn @ May 15 2008, 07:37 PM)
just because it doesnt have a MILF doesnt make it inferior.
choongal
post May 16 2008, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(Setsuna-san @ May 15 2008, 07:57 PM)
just because it doesnt have a MILF doesnt make it inferior.
hmm... setsuna san... = = are u my cousin rclxub.gif mayb just same name...
Setsuna-san
post Aug 21 2008, 02:49 PM

Bump for SEASON 2 or should open a new thread for new season?

anyway, the title for the 2nd season is -ef- a tale of melodies

This post has been edited by Setsuna-san: Aug 21 2008, 02:53 PM
TScloudstrife07
post Aug 21 2008, 07:36 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

underrated anime is underrated.
ellimist
post Aug 21 2008, 07:59 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Question as per title,is Makato Shinkai involved in this? o_O (which is what attracted me to this thread in the first place laugh.gif)
Fyonne
post Aug 22 2008, 10:52 AM

904 posts

answer which had been answer aeon ago.
no, he doesnt involve with the story nor the animation (except for eroge OP)

TS didnt know so he ask it n got his answer.. i think its best he changed that doh.gif
Fyonne
post Aug 27 2008, 03:46 PM

904 posts

Tale of Melodies trailer
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2008, 04:20 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

do we get blind girl sex again? LOL!
strife01
post Aug 28 2008, 12:39 AM

158 posts

LOL! This story is nice for the beginning part and it became boring. Especially that part that Chihiro gave up his first time to Renji on top of the roof, and that's not like Chihiro's personality. sweat.gif
TScloudstrife07
post Aug 28 2008, 03:33 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 22 2008, 10:52 AM)
TS didnt know so he ask it n got his answer.. i think its best he changed that doh.gif
changed already tongue.gif
Depthcharge101
post Aug 28 2008, 10:43 PM

21 posts

Underrated lol. I woudn't call EF underrated.

Anyway I didn't quite enjoy EF first season. Overdrama and too much angst. Although I look forward to season 2, since church girl is in~
Quazacolt
post Aug 29 2008, 04:07 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Depthcharge101 @ Aug 28 2008, 10:43 PM)
Underrated lol. I woudn't call EF underrated.

Anyway I didn't quite enjoy EF first season. Overdrama and too much angst. Although I look forward to season 2, since church girl is in~
comatose girl > *
Depthcharge101
post Aug 30 2008, 10:21 AM

21 posts

No wai. Church girl > *
Setsuna-san
post Aug 30 2008, 10:25 AM

Eyepatch girl > *
Quazacolt
post Aug 30 2008, 03:33 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Setsuna-san @ Aug 30 2008, 10:25 AM)
Eyepatch girl > *
eye patch = my comatose girl reference la tongue.gif

AND YEAH 2V1 NOW HAHAHA

0.0487sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:38 AM