Anime Ef - A Tale of Memories, underrated anime is underrated..

TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 04:44 AM, updated 18y ago

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

Ef - A Tale of Memories

From Anidb.net:

Based on the visual interactive novel by Minori, featuring character designs by Nanao Naru.

The story revolves around the protagonist Hirono Hiro, a poor high school boy who draws shoujo manga for his living. One cold Christmas night after meeting a very strange woman in a church, who tells him that he`s going to meet someone he has to meet, his bike gets stolen by another strange girl. He runs after her and finds her collapsed on the street. Her name is Miyamura Miyako and her bag got stolen by a man on a motorbike. Soon after, they start hanging out together, enjoying highschool life. Miyako falls for Hiro pretty quickly but naturally finds a rival in his childhood friend, Shindou Kei, who has been dictating Hiro`s life since ever.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ef - A Tale of Memories is based on this japanese adult visual novel.

Ef - A Tale of Memories in DannyChoo's blog complete with screnshots

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i've watched this anime subbed by Conclave-Mendoi up to episode 4. Overall i can say it's somewhat an awesome anime with abstract feel and some visual effects. Silhouttes, overshadows etc etc were used in this anime.it's rare to see an anime like this. (never watched 5cm before)

definitely in my watch list.

and i'm somewhat surprised why no one make a topic on this anime. sweat.gif

Episodes screenshot:

episode 1

episode 2

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Aug 28 2008, 03:32 PM
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 01:50 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Tsukasa @ Nov 11 2007, 07:59 AM)
Very nice anime indeed.. Esp one of the girl have 13 hour memory only and the story is going around with a few character so it make it something new... rather than normal anime which concentrate in main character only.
yes, it was kinda pity that the girl doesnt remember anything past 13hour.but then the promise "see you tomorrow" made the yesterday her and the today her somewhat connected.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 03:09 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Nov 11 2007, 03:07 PM)
Her voice is bloody annoying.
atleast it's better than Aoi-chan.my ears cant stand high-pitched voice/noise/songs.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 05:56 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Sora @ Nov 11 2007, 05:44 PM)
The only reason that attracted me to watch this title is the art.

Other than that is bleh.
I watched episode 1 last night and i was confused all the way.

I have no single clue WTF is goin' on and shit.

Oh, and don't bother trying to enlighten me. laugh.gif
QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Nov 11 2007, 05:49 PM)
I too no idea wats goin on. but oh well, just watch it to fill up my time slot.
well, im the same as both of u.i cant understand ep1.

slowly as u progressed u will understand what's the meaning of those, who is the girl, who is the boy, who is connected to who.

most probably it's based on childhood memories and dreams,ambition and promise that has been made.

the eye-patched girl is the twin Shindou Kei, the girl that has been bothering Hiro since ep1.lol.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 10:06 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(amacharu @ Nov 11 2007, 08:49 PM)
At least I can understand this series.

I guess you guys haven't watch (or couldn't finish) Touka gettan yet sweat.gif
i understand it too.the animation made glued to the screen and said "i've never seen something like this before"
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 11 2007, 10:26 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(jonralf @ Nov 11 2007, 10:12 PM)
this is from visual novel also ar??
yeah.

and u should read the first post first before asking wink.gif
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 12 2007, 02:29 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

watched ep05 already.

seems that Shindou Kei caused Chihiro to lose one eye and memory loss.

and Chihiro's suffering is told in abstract in a form of a sheep.

nice literature.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 15 2007, 05:57 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

another love triangle.i wonder if Chihiro had feelings for Onii-chan in the past to?

is renji really an outsider to them all?

and the man in the church, who is he waiting for?
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 15 2007, 10:58 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

why hirono doesnt want to answer the phone?

why renji cant kiss chihiro?

why he refrain himself?

what happened to miyako's family?

i felt miyako's loneliness, about what she wanted from hirono, about why she doesn't want to disappear again..it's kind of..pity and sad..

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Nov 23 2007, 02:05 PM
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 23 2007, 02:06 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

sadness and loneliness is potrayed excatly in this episode..
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 23 2007, 04:12 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Endless9930 @ Nov 23 2007, 02:45 PM)
Is this something like School days?

Or like Girls bravo?

(Basically means Violent or Harem....or both? )
nope.i dunno how to describe this anime.something literature-like.heh.and u got to see special effects in it (not 3d but some artistic ones)
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 23 2007, 05:41 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Nov 23 2007, 05:32 PM)
Hirano can't answer the phone because he left it at home. Kinda disturbing wei... the girl is clearly crazy. Now that,um, whatshername has deleted all the messages Minamina is going to really go snap.
yeah it's very disturbing.clearly she was like going emo, beserk or crazy.

Miyako deleted the call history on her phone or somebody deleted it on Hirono's phone?

TScloudstrife07
post Nov 23 2007, 06:07 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(jonralf @ Nov 23 2007, 06:03 PM)
Miyako did not delete the history, kei is the one deleted hirono's phone history . damn her.
oh shi-...

i felt bad with miyako..she'll broke down for sure.
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 29 2007, 09:07 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Nov 29 2007, 12:58 PM)
was Chihiro like that because

i think so.

so she has to read back all her memories in her diaries??

wow.painful.too painful for me if i was Renji.
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 1 2007, 07:37 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Dec 1 2007, 12:11 PM)
It must be frightening to be Chihiro. Imagine waking up one day n discovering that ur 4 years older.
and the cycle is infinite since she damaged her brains.

so i think, the novel of hers has to be started from scratch again cry.gif
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 1 2007, 09:24 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Dec 1 2007, 08:46 PM)
hmm....too bad there isnt a cyborg in that era.......else just extract the brain and put into the cyborg.

*note: the cyborg is not full of metal head, its just like Chi.
cannot oso..the brain is still damaged what sweat.gif
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 2 2007, 05:02 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Depthcharge101 @ Dec 2 2007, 01:36 AM)
Wow I just watched the first episode... this show has weird choreography! Random black and white frames, yellow screen, duplicated characters, etc etc, maybe it's art but I am definitely not too impressed by it.

Not too amazed by the characters as well (and the char design to be honest).... I think I'll be dropping this series unless I hear really good stuff about it...
this series is more like MacBeth or Romeo and Juliet in anime..a bit literature-like sweat.gif

but to me, since it's different than usual anime, i kinda like it..
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 2 2007, 03:02 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Depthcharge101 @ Dec 2 2007, 10:53 AM)
Well besides the "distinct" choreography, the female characters feel pretty generic and very cheesy, especially the boy meets a girl at the non-working train station part ><.
nah, u may feel generic at first..but the concept of the girl's 13th hour made me a bit amazed.
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 10 2007, 03:43 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

ouch, Renji's burden is too much for a normal human like him. sad.gif

and miyako slept with Hirono, what will happen to the relationship with Kei?suit her right, she deleted the call list in the ep before shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Dec 10 2007, 03:44 AM
TScloudstrife07
post Dec 14 2007, 02:56 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

wow, atlast hirono made a decision that wins all, just by quitting school blink.gif

and i kinda like the countdown timer, make me at the edge of my seat sweat.gif

0.0224sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:36 AM