Calculate Rental income for tax, Rental income

pisces88
post Apr 2 2025, 02:03 AM

3,968 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Apr 1 2025, 06:36 PM)
Tumpang, hope TS does not mind:

Q: if rental is less than  (loan interest+ maintenance fees), do we still need to report to LHDN, since we're making a "loss"?
no need to report, as the e-filing dont have 'negative' amount to key in under the rental income. Just leave it blank and keep ur calculations if they audit.

This post has been edited by pisces88: Apr 2 2025, 02:03 AM
poweredbydiscuz
post Apr 2 2025, 07:31 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Apr 1 2025, 06:36 PM)
Tumpang, hope TS does not mind:

Q: if rental is less than  (loan interest+ maintenance fees), do we still need to report to LHDN, since we're making a "loss"?
Means your rental income is "0".
poweredbydiscuz
post Apr 2 2025, 07:35 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(jucl @ Apr 1 2025, 02:23 PM)
As my house only started to rent out in Aug, can i consider my housing loan interest from Jan to Dec 24 instead of taking only the interest from Aug 24 to Dec 24
This is because i tried to rent out my house but since no taker, house was empty for 7 months while interest continued to be paid to the bank
You can only deduct interest from Aug 24 to Dec 24. Every deduction (cukai etc) also need to be prorated.
yhtan
post Apr 3 2025, 07:22 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(jucl @ Apr 1 2025, 02:23 PM)
I have a question regarding calculation for net income of a residential rental property.
which is the correct way calculating the deduction

Income
Rental Condo (Jan-Dec 24) : 20400
Rental House ( Aug to Dec 24): 12,000
Total Income: 32400

Deduction A
Maintenance Condo (Jan to Dec): 6000
Interest on housing loan ( Aug to Dec 24): 10000
Net income: 32400 - (6000+10000)

Deduction B
Maintenance Condo: 6000
Interest on housing loan ( Jan to Dec 24): 24000
Net income: 32400 - (6000+24000)

As my house only started to rent out in Aug, can i consider my housing loan interest from Jan to Dec 24 instead of taking only the interest from Aug 24 to Dec 24
This is because i tried to rent out my house but since no taker, house was empty for 7 months while interest continued to be paid to the bank

Appreciate your advise

Thank you so much!!
if non-business source (Section 4d) then apply A, if business source (section 4a) then apply B

the deduction on maintenance have to pro-rate from Aug-Dec'24, only the month where rental received only deductible against rental income.
JustForCheonging
post Apr 3 2025, 08:23 PM

215 posts

U pannai2 go deduct everything (deductible like maintenence fees, accessment fee etc) over with ur rental income, then "deduct" again so that it lowers ur taxable income
netflix2019
post Apr 3 2025, 08:28 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Apr 2 2025, 02:00 AM)
i kena audit before. i combined the total of all properties rental - all deductibles. its allowed.

if property A = rugi 1000

property B = untung 1000

then ur balance is 0.  :thumbsup:
Thats what my bro told me. He handling all properties in family business.

The last time i kena audit i included every bill paid related to the property like roof repair, pipe, and indah water. I categorized clearly which is which and all receipt ready. They no ask anything about else and lepas me.

0.0161sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:35 AM