SUSFlizzardo
post Nov 10 2007, 10:57 PM, updated 18y ago

Troll
1,093 posts

sorry if posted in wrong section anyway

source http://forums.dota-allstars.com/index.php?...pic=184533&st=0

taken from there

Most of u already know what the World Cyber Games is, for the other people its easy to understand, WCG is simply the biggest Esports event in the world.
http://www.worldcybergames.com/6th/inside/...C_structure.asp
If i say big, i mean BIG, about 1 300 000 participants from 75 countries have fought in 12 titels for honor, glory, money and of course busty-Korean-twin-groupies this year.

Imo 12 games are not enough and i would like to see one more game next year, DOTA for example... But dota is not even in the official vote, how can we became a part of this mega esports event? Well we will need to prove us as a strong and LAAARGE community and show the WCG bosses that our game and our community is worth it to be part of this amazing tournament. For that all of u will need to spend some time to write a mail to ICM, the company behind the WCG.

If we want to see DOTA at next year wcg we will need to fight for this lovely game, cuz there is no big gaming company behind dota like Valve, Blizzard or EA, the ONE AND ONLY thing what makes DOTA interesting for the ICM is how big our community is and how many people gonna see the commercials of the WCG-main sponsors. And cmon look at this forum? More then 500 000 members(slow as hell^^), WE ARE BIG FFS! Now u just need to spend 5 mins to write an mail @ ICM, not that difficult isn it?
Visit http://www.worldcybergames.com/icm/eng_contact.html go to WCG Tournament and tell WCG why we are the best and should be a part of the World Cyber Games. And explain why we should be nominated afterwards and take part in the already running vote.

We need to be a part of the WCG main vote, cuz there is no USA WCG and we have no opportunity to be a part of the Europe WCG, cuz there are no votings.
WE NEED to fight for the WCG main event.

Besides nice games and replays to watch everyone of YOU will have the chance to participate in the national qualifiers with your clan or funteam. The finals will be played offline that makes the games more exciting and will show US a new way to bring the gameplay to perfection. For example a hook guess how amazing it comes when you can evade it in the last millisecond. And that is possible when you play LAN and what is better than playing on a LAN and taking part in a big tournament?

And one big point for the World Cyber Games is that every country can have some spots and smaller countries with not so well-known Clans which have not suche a big chance to take in the Playoffs in MyM Prime Defending for example can take part in the LAN-finals of the WCG.

Some useful content for ur emails(pls don't copy &paste it) use your own words

BIG COMMUNITY(fast growing)
http://forums.dota-allstars.com/index.php?act=idx 550 000 members

http://www.dota-league.com/ 84 000 members
and of course all the other big fanpages//leagues u know

MANY PRIZE MONEY TOURNEYS
http://asian.worldcybergames.com/index.php...uncement/search

http://web.dreamhack.se/index.php?language=en§ion=1

http://archive.dreamhack.se/dhw06/en.97.html

http://www.dreamhack.se/dhs07/web.dreamhac...rnaments_prizes

http://www.cyberfight.org/site/asuscup/

INNOVATIVE GAMEPLAY
Dota is something realy unique if it comes to gameplay, it's a BIG plus nowdays, cuz the most games are nearly the same except better graphics.

THE WILL TO FIGHT FOR THE WCG and HUGE SELFCONFIDENTCE
Tell the wcg to put us to the RTS rooster( no one rly knows what dota is rts? Rpg? Fps?), against all the blizzart rts games(wc3 scbw sc2) and tell them that we are self confindent enough to fight them

The truth is, there are always 4 rts games at the WCG and we just need to beat one of the underground 2000ppl community rts games(cc3 aoe coh wic ee), to make it short, some good games but without community, no opponents for DOTA.

http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont...01122_Water.jpg
http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont..._0593_Water.jpg
http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont.../0126_Water.jpg
http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont.../0322_Water.jpg
http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont.../0523_Water.jpg
http://media.planetlan.com/gallery/GF06DE_...ch/IMG_3015.JPG

Why should dota be a part of the World Cyber Games 2008.

<Virtus|NS> DotA become mega popular game now, just look at mym.pride #8 cup. 350+ teams signed up and its just w/o prizes, rly 400 dollars for 1st place its nothing So im rly dont understand, why dota still not at WCG, and not even in voting of WCG 2008, or all think games like Tetris more popular, intresting and cybersportive then DotA? ~~

<SK|Loda> Well I'd say dota should be a part of the world cyber games because of its widespread community and gamers. There are soooo many dota players out there today, if it would get announced to participate in wcg 08 people would for real see it as a real esport!

<Virtus|NS> DotA became a mega popular game now, just look at mym.pride #8 cup. 350+ teams signed up and its just w/o prizes, rly 400 dollars for 1st place its nothing So im rly dont understand, why dota still not at WCG, and not even in voting of WCG 2008, or all think games like Tetris more popular, interesting and cybersportive than DotA? ~~

<SK|Drayich> "DotA is a huge game now, everyone knows about it and the competetive scene have also gone big, just a few steps behind the other big games and WCG is definently a valid next step"

Thx to
www.dotasg.com
www.gosugamers.net
www.dota-league.com
www.indota.de
and all the other pages//ppl who yxsupport this vote

----------

lets everyone together help promote dota to more competetive gaming!!!
xenogears86
post Nov 11 2007, 12:05 AM

70 posts

wow u did ur homework tongue.gif
Coner32
post Nov 11 2007, 12:10 AM

119 posts

Strongly Support~! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
oRoXoRo
post Nov 11 2007, 04:39 AM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

lol...we will see how it goes.
Aoshi_88
post Nov 11 2007, 08:55 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

QUOTE(Flizzardo @ Nov 10 2007, 10:57 PM)
sorry if posted in wrong section anyway

source http://forums.dota-allstars.com/index.php?...pic=184533&st=0

taken from there

Most of u already know what the World Cyber Games is, for the other people its easy to understand, WCG is simply the biggest Esports event in the world.
http://www.worldcybergames.com/6th/inside/...C_structure.asp
If i say big, i mean BIG, about 1 300 000 participants from 75 countries have fought in 12 titels for honor, glory, money and of course busty-Korean-twin-groupies this year.

Imo 12 games are not enough and i would like to see one more game next year, DOTA for example... But dota is not even in the official vote, how can we became a part of this mega esports event? Well we will need to prove us as a strong and LAAARGE community and show the WCG bosses that our game and our community is worth it to be part of this amazing tournament. For that all of u will need to spend some time to write a mail to ICM, the company behind the WCG.

If we want to see DOTA at next year wcg we will need to fight for this lovely game, cuz there is no big gaming company behind dota like Valve, Blizzard or EA, the ONE AND ONLY thing what makes DOTA interesting for the ICM is how big our community is and how many people gonna see the commercials of the WCG-main sponsors. And cmon look at this forum? More then 500 000 members(slow as hell^^), WE ARE BIG FFS! Now u just need to spend 5 mins to write an mail @ ICM, not that difficult isn it?
Visit http://www.worldcybergames.com/icm/eng_contact.html go to WCG Tournament and tell WCG why we are the best and should be a part of the World Cyber Games. And explain why we should be nominated afterwards and take part in the already running vote.

We need to be a part of the WCG main vote, cuz there is no USA WCG and we have no opportunity to be a part of the Europe WCG, cuz there are no votings.
WE NEED to fight for the WCG main event.
Besides nice games and replays to watch everyone of YOU will have the chance to participate in the national qualifiers with your clan or funteam. The finals will be played offline that makes the games more exciting and will show US a new way to bring the gameplay to perfection. For example a hook guess how amazing it comes when you can evade it in the last millisecond. And that is possible when you play LAN and what is better than playing on a LAN and taking part in a big tournament?

And one big point for the World Cyber Games is that every country can have some spots and smaller countries with not so well-known Clans which have not suche a big chance to take in the Playoffs in MyM Prime Defending for example can take part in the LAN-finals of the WCG.
Some useful content for ur emails(pls don’t copy &paste it) use your own words

BIG COMMUNITY(fast growing)
http://forums.dota-allstars.com/index.php?act=idx 550 000 members

http://www.dota-league.com/ 84 000 members
and of course all the other big fanpages//leagues u know
MANY PRIZE MONEY TOURNEYS
http://asian.worldcybergames.com/index.php...uncement/search

http://web.dreamhack.se/index.php?language=en§ion=1

http://archive.dreamhack.se/dhw06/en.97.html

http://www.dreamhack.se/dhs07/web.dreamhac...rnaments_prizes

http://www.cyberfight.org/site/asuscup/
INNOVATIVE GAMEPLAY
Dota is something realy unique if it comes to gameplay, it’s a BIG plus nowdays, cuz the most games are nearly the same except better graphics.
THE WILL TO FIGHT FOR THE WCG and HUGE SELFCONFIDENTCE
Tell the wcg to put us to the RTS rooster( no one rly knows what dota is rts? Rpg? Fps?), against all the blizzart rts games(wc3 scbw sc2) and tell them that we are self confindent enough to fight them

The truth is, there are always 4 rts games at the WCG and we just need to beat one of the underground 2000ppl community rts games(cc3 aoe coh wic ee), to make it short, some good games but without community, no opponents for DOTA.
http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont...01122_Water.jpg
http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont..._0593_Water.jpg
http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont.../0126_Water.jpg
http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont.../0322_Water.jpg
http://wis.worldcybergames.com/upload/cont.../0523_Water.jpg
http://media.planetlan.com/gallery/GF06DE_...ch/IMG_3015.JPG
Why should dota be a part of the World Cyber Games 2008.
<Virtus|NS> DotA become mega popular game now, just look at mym.pride #8 cup. 350+ teams signed up and its just w/o prizes, rly 400 dollars for 1st place its nothing  So im rly dont understand, why dota still not at WCG, and not even in voting of WCG 2008, or all think games like Tetris more popular, intresting and cybersportive then DotA? ~~

<SK|Loda> Well I'd say dota should be a part of the world cyber games because of its widespread community and gamers. There are soooo many dota players out there today, if it would get announced to participate in wcg 08 people would for real see it as a real esport!
<Virtus|NS> DotA became a mega popular game now, just look at mym.pride #8 cup. 350+ teams signed up and its just w/o prizes, rly 400 dollars for 1st place its nothing So im rly dont understand, why dota still not at WCG, and not even in voting of WCG 2008, or all think games like Tetris more popular, interesting and cybersportive than DotA? ~~
<SK|Drayich> "DotA is a huge game now, everyone knows about it and the competetive scene have also gone big, just a few steps behind the other big games and WCG is definently a valid next step"
Thx to
www.dotasg.com
www.gosugamers.net
www.dota-league.com
www.indota.de
and all the other pages//ppl who yxsupport this vote
----------

lets everyone together help promote dota to more competetive gaming!!!
I'd refute on several points:

1. It is NOT a game in it's own right. It's just a MAP played using the War3 engine.

2. It is wrong to equate any other game to DoTA. Believe me when i tell you that DoTA has elements of role-playing in it. But neither does it qualify as a strategy game. It's an MMOG IMHO though there may be objections from others. So where does it go in WCG? Oddball?

3. Innovative? While DoTA may have had minor changes or variations in the map, it is still... ONE map. I don't fancy having teams fighting over ONE MAP they are all extremely familiar with

4. DoTA rips off UT's sound effects. Copyright issues are bound to happen. All up to the developer and publisher of UT whether they take notice or not.
skzisghost
post Nov 11 2007, 09:33 PM

267 posts

must support !!make dota go wcg !
2shae
post Nov 12 2007, 02:57 AM

dota boringlaaaaa.......same old same old....
oRoXoRo
post Nov 12 2007, 05:12 AM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

What are the requirements for the game to become official for WCG gamelist?
If u ask me, the innovation part of dota is even thou its the same old map but still there are a lot of strategies. Even all the teams keep on fighting the same old map but there is no the "same old trick" to win it.
Dota is competitive enough for wcg but about others(the sound,w3 map) i do agree with mr. blue hippo.
darks3ng
post Nov 12 2007, 09:30 AM

I am a CS player, STARCRAFT PLAYER, WC3 player, i think all these game are strategic, all my teammate quit CS bcoz they like dota, i hate dota so much, to prove dota an easy game, i play and own it to my teammate, and let them see "dota is an easy game"

BUT, i cant quit dota now, bcoz i love it too much now, IT IS STRATEGIC THAN ANY GAME I have ever, sorry to say that

I dun like to flame but dota-haters pls go to other thread pls, leaving comments like "DOTA IS NOT QUALIFY AS STRATEGY GAME", silly, everyone know. U dunno much about dota, that all

MOREOVER: Here some reason why dota is not in WCG, because dota actually WC3: dota if we listed in WCG, we cannot have WC3: Dota and WC3: TFT in the same time, we only can have either one

baowen
post Nov 12 2007, 10:07 AM

1,048 posts

why can't having two game listed in WCG as WC3 ? haha
that just a rule they set, it can change when it needs.
As we know.. MYM #8 having 350++ team joining, it prove that Dota should be listed as WCG'08 game. Just to see the ICM want let More then 1 WC3 listed in WCG'08 or not.

Maybe 1 major reason that Dota didn't get listed up because of the time constraint, it take at least an hour to complete one game. But if you compare with other game... they only take 20~30min smile.gif this is major reason why DotA can't get listed, not about strategy or MMO thinggy smile.gif
chapree
post Nov 12 2007, 12:11 PM

I used to stuff for LYN Editorial and troll at LYN Forums
2,046 posts

No no no you guys...the reason why it's not in the list is because Koreans can't win in DotA. BUWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH! ph34r.gif

Ok, a bit serious.

DotA is more than capable to be included in WCG. I maybe hate DotARDs with all my heart (well, even DotA players themselves hate DotARDs), but the game got potential and popular. More and more pro eSports team are building their own DotA team. If this doesn't indicate the popularity, I don't know what else woh.

It maybe big in South East Asia, China and gaining good momentum in Europe but remember, organizers also have a lot of other factor to consider. The sponsors have some say as well. nod.gif

This post has been edited by chapree: Nov 12 2007, 12:11 PM
krellian69
post Nov 12 2007, 12:33 PM

69 posts

I think we should smack some sense into Blizzard and ask them to endorse DoTA in WCG 2008.

Yes, DoTA is just a map and not a game per se. But by the way some see it, I believe, you can compare like how CS is to Half-Life back in earlier WCGs (Back then known as World Cyber Challenge back 2000, changed to WCG in 2001)

Valve recognized the potential Counter-Strike represented back even during the beta stages. And then it turned retail under the support(or greed, as they bought the IP of CS) of Valve, perhaps IMHO one of the most successful story of modders turned game developer.

Most games that are designed with certain level of complexity, IMHO, are strategic/tactical in nature regardless of it's genre(well maybe except for O2Jam eh?)

just my honest 2 cents. tongue.gif

post Nov 12 2007, 01:48 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

hm..i do not support Dota be part of the game in WCG 2008, DoTA is made based on War Craft 3 Frozen Throne. I know DoTA is famous, however, its still based on War Craft 3, not an original war craft 3 game.
krellian69
post Nov 12 2007, 02:17 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Nov 12 2007, 01:48 PM)
hm..i do not support Dota be part of the game in WCG 2008, DoTA is made based on War Craft 3 Frozen Throne. I know DoTA is famous, however, its still based on War Craft 3, not an original war craft 3 game.
Refer to my above post, like I said; while it is not game itself. It is well planned, backed, and supported map by it's current creator. Reviewing what I said though, CS was already retail by the time it was held in WCG 2001. I guess this makes hope for DoTA to be in WCG 2008 fizzles hmm.gif

Importance for a game to be in WCG is competition, when it is famous with over 350+ participating teams; IMO, it's a very good sign that DoTA should be a viable entrant in the voting list. I'm guessing Koreans' don't really like DoTA huh? doh.gif

Talks about DoTA distract me from my studies rclxub.gif ahhh!

xenogears86
post Nov 12 2007, 06:16 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(krellian69 @ Nov 12 2007, 02:17 PM)
Talks about DoTA distract me from my studies  rclxub.gif ahhh!
haha u dota until no life le.. study evening, dota at night..enough lo rclxms.gif
rjc.rj
post Nov 12 2007, 07:01 PM

45 posts

dota nid alot strategy wan le...
before the game hero drafting
the very beggining of da game when da clock shows 0.00 for warding or mayb early ganking..
to early game ganking or staying in lane or bs-ing
to 5 v 5 epic btl..like starter or da 1 hu stay bhind
to taking down towers
to taking down rax
to go to tournaments -.- sit teksi or train or drive
to observing other team strat
to throning
to roshaning

lol spam too much @@ dats enuf haha...too complicated for my simple mind

and

GOOD luck those whose taking SPM

This post has been edited by rjc.rj: Nov 12 2007, 08:54 PM
oRoXoRo
post Nov 12 2007, 07:12 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

oh , actually there are so many supporters for dota. So did u all send the email to ICM?
krellian69
post Nov 13 2007, 11:22 AM

69 posts

nay, I can't write Korean.
Aoshi_88
post Nov 13 2007, 05:25 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

Not until all cybercafes have original War3 and 100% of DoTArds have original War3 in Malaysia will i even consider DoTA to be included in WCG. That's the sad truth of it.

I can bet you 95% of all DoTA players do not even own original War3.
darks3ng
post Nov 13 2007, 07:17 PM

it was 99% in malaysia.... i mean i m tired to see paulyan win every year, but didnt suspect anyone beating him too, lol

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:51 AM