Alevels subject combination

TSLizz0_0 P
post Mar 24 2025, 10:31 PM, updated 9 months ago

Probation
22 posts

Hi im currently deciding to study alevels at sunway. I want to study med in the future, but not 100% sure so i wanna keep my options open. Should i choose bio+chem+phy or bio+chem+math or all 4 of them. I worry i will struggle with 4 subjects, and its more expensive. I dont think i will study engineering related course so shld i take physics?
Just Visiting By
post Mar 27 2025, 11:51 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Lizz0_0 @ Mar 24 2025, 10:31 PM)
Hi im currently deciding to study alevels at sunway. I want to study med in the future, but not 100% sure so i wanna keep my options open. Should i choose bio+chem+phy or bio+chem+math or all 4 of them. I worry i will struggle with 4 subjects, and its more expensive. I dont think i will study engineering related course so shld i take physics?
If you're quite certain you won't go for engineering then I don't see the benefits of taking physics.

Btw plenty of people went for engineering at university despite not taking physics for A-Level/STPM. Most universities don't list Physics as a compulsory subject for admission to engineering classes, although it certainly isn't a smart option as you'll have a very steep learning curve to go. Many of my friends who studied Biology in STPM but failed to get their desired courses from UPU and were offered engineering instead, accepted and are working in engineering industries now.

Not saying is a good option, just saying it isn't a dead end....

If your preference leans strongly towards Biology, just stick to Bio+Chem+Maths.
iSean
post Mar 28 2025, 03:58 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(Lizz0_0 @ Mar 24 2025, 10:31 PM)
Depends what you plan to do in life.
Personally I did 4 subjects - Physics Chemistry Biology Math... I did not fair well. Due to bad life choices, bad sequences of events in my family financials.

SPM you get A+/A/A- doesn't means you would fair well in A-Levels.
I wouldn't recommend taking either Math or Physics, if your Add Maths aren't strong.

Because Cambridge A-Level will wreck you hard. Compared to the easier Australian Year 12 (WACE/SACE/HSC) Exams.

If you feel your aren't ready AS Exams, please delay it rather than to take it at mid of your second semester. Or drop one subject after A-levels, if you cant handle it.

Exams is like RM 1.5k per subject during my era. If your family financials is not a concern, you can just go sit for your AS or A2 when you're ready.

If you take 9709 Maths, if there an option to choose between Mechanics or Statistics 2. Go for Statistics 2 it would make more sense compared to Mechanics.

Also do understand you need 3-4 A/A* to even apply for UM's UPU MBBS Program, and you can get your tuition fees <RM 20k for 5 years!
So work hard, and play hard, hopefully your A-level results pays off.

If you feel A-Level is too hard, can move back to STPM as Private Candidate, spam through the past year papers, and get Private Tuition for STPM Pengajian Am.

I feel recently STPM papers has been "watered" down until anyone can score sweat.gif Because STPM's Semester Patching is much easier. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 28 2025, 04:02 PM
Police4896
post Apr 3 2025, 11:19 PM

134 posts

it really depends on where exactly u plan to go. most uk universities accept 3 a levels, but if u want a name brand uk uni i think having the 4th subject would help, but i think they look at ur 3 best subjects. i think most of them decide by grades first, then personal statement. the only other case i know is singaporean unis, where they only look at your grades, and i think the bare minimum is 2a* 2a for a generic not very popular major (i think CS requires 4a*, so take that as a baseline). keep in mind that medicine is THE hardest major subject to get into, even harder than CS, doesnt matter which uni, all the same.

for me, having taken phys/math/fmath/chem, it really is not that hard. math and fmath is mostly a matter of being good at moving symbols around and applying formulas, not much thinking required (as in proving theorems and whatnot). physics is mostly ok, just need understanding and trying to apply ur knowledge, only basic math required. chem is mostly just memorization.
basically, if u r dead set on medicine, prepare to spend a few months just grinding past year papers, and very possibly get rejected.

This post has been edited by Police4896: Apr 3 2025, 11:37 PM

0.0136sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:23 AM