thailand trip

TSdeejay_krish
post Mar 10 2025, 12:20 PM, updated 10 months ago

You're Just Another Part Of Me
1,021 posts

Hi guys, id be going to Phuket for 4 days and maxis data plan isnt that attractive with the tiny data limit everyday and it costs 30 plus. So i was thinking to get esim AIS Thailand prepaid. The thing is, where would be the best place to get the esim? I heard theres quite a number of websites offering good prices with good datas. Any to recommend?
Yaowarat
post Mar 10 2025, 12:42 PM

88 posts

Just get AIS in any 7E in thailand or Shopee , the on top package 20GB for 15 Days is around 100baht sometime even cheaper depends on the app showing flash sales. The cheapest i got is 20GB 7 Days for 30Baht.
If you go Thai every year i suggest you can keep the number by just top up 20 baht x 12 time you can extend the validity by 12 months so you can just use the credit when you arrive Thailand and keep the same number.
Voopoo
post Mar 10 2025, 12:45 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Yaowarat @ Mar 10 2025, 12:42 PM)
Just get AIS in any 7E in thailand or Shopee , the on top package 20GB for 15 Days is around 100baht sometime even cheaper depends on the app showing flash sales. The cheapest i got is 20GB 7 Days for 30Baht.
If you go Thai every year i suggest you can keep the number by just top up 20 baht x 12 time you can extend the validity by 12 months so you can just use the credit when you arrive Thailand and keep the same number.
how do i do that? need to go to their telco to apply for a line? i've searched that those tourism card can't do that.
Yaowarat
post Mar 10 2025, 12:46 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Voopoo @ Mar 10 2025, 12:45 PM)
how do i do that? need to go to their telco to apply for a line? i've searched that those tourism card can't do that.
Just buy the prepaid simpack in any of their 7E , or telco shop. Just the sim and topup .
cempedaklife
post Mar 10 2025, 12:51 PM

Master Decoy
4,358 posts

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Mar 10 2025, 12:20 PM)
Hi guys, id be going to Phuket for 4 days and maxis data plan isnt that attractive with the tiny data limit everyday and it costs 30 plus. So i was thinking to get esim AIS Thailand prepaid. The thing is, where would be the best place to get the esim? I heard theres quite a number of websites offering good prices with good datas. Any to recommend?
Shopee. Just did it on last Dec for the first time.
Went hatyai.

Abit of learning and anxiety to make it work but all 3 of us got it right. And it’s half price of what maxis roaming would be.

From now on I think this is the way to go went travelling. Especially Thailand.

Not sure if this is cheapest or best. Go check review.
I took 1GB only thinking it’s enough. It is. At least for me. Travel time I don’t stream movie etc outside. I just need it for GPS mainly. And use socmed like normal.

https://my.shp.ee/VVpvZsS

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Mar 10 2025, 12:54 PM
patienceGNR
post Mar 10 2025, 12:54 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

Airport good enough.

But worth mentioning, I went to Thailand pre MCO, I kept the number to date. It's only 12 baht to maintain 180 days. Or 20 baht. Thereabout. Cheap af

This post has been edited by patienceGNR: Mar 10 2025, 12:55 PM
qsub
post Mar 10 2025, 01:06 PM

110 posts

I bought from shope but no luck, cant use. Maybe kena scam, end up buy from thai telco. Cheap and good.
guailow83
post Mar 10 2025, 01:29 PM

579 posts

can try klook?

james2306
post Mar 10 2025, 01:41 PM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,119 posts

Wah so coincidence im about to leave for Phuket in 2 days, and ive just spent some time researching this too.

Got a few options from my experience, ive used all these methods in the past. Depends on your needs.

My main line is Hotlink 70, which comes with Roam Like Home feature, which is only for DATA. So my Hotlink data pool of like 3++GB i can use it in TH like im in Msia. Plus point, is that AstroGO (to watch epl) works when u are using this data. Astro blocks it if u use local WIFI or Thai SIM data.

In Jan25 i went to Bkk for like 6 days. I had to be able to be contacted by normal calls for work, so i had no choice, i just depended on Hotlink.
Good stable fast 5G data and i did receive some work calls which was charged separately, so i was billed an extra like RM 45 for this.

All my other holiday trips, when i dont need to be contacted by normal calls, i just do this.

1 day b4 i leave, buy this https://www.agoda.com/activities/detail?act...YR&cityId=16056

Look for this 【❗Limited time offer】Activate eSIM before June 30, 2025, the 10-day 50GB plan will be upgraded from high-speed 50GB to high-speed unlimited data!

So now tomorrow im just gonna buy this, activate it on my phone at home. Then turn the sim off.
When i get on the plane, turn off my Hotlink sim. Once i land, turn on the Thai eSIM and you will be good to go.

I used this method like 3-4 times for my TH trips last year. The data is solid, stable and fast. I can stream twitch/youtube/netflix etc without issue during my travels and transits, only astroGO wont work sad.gif
I think some trips the data was better than the hotels wifi's so some trips i ended using like 60-70GB of data thru Hotspot. So i know it really is unlimited.

I believe you can save even further if you go to 7e and get a sim and do all that topup things and stuff (the 7e staff will help you do this)

But i think for like less than RM20 on agoda and you can do it all yourself from your house is a pretty good deal.

Oh and this is only if your phone can support eSIM..if you cant use eSIM, do the 7e method.
Dont buy at airport, the prices are inflated for tourists.. like 300-500 baht vs less than 200 bath at 7e

This post has been edited by james2306: Mar 10 2025, 01:45 PM
kevintth
post Mar 10 2025, 01:46 PM

1,618 posts

shopee shopee shopee pee ~ is the best place to get your esim...

look for Jtravel seller
incubus69
post Mar 10 2025, 01:53 PM

179 posts

use telco only. nonit sakit kepala tukar sim here and there hehe

GamersFamilia
post Mar 10 2025, 01:58 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,852 posts

I've been to chiang mai and bangkok, just use my digi
😘🔥
blmse92
post Mar 10 2025, 02:26 PM

603 posts

yes roaming under hotlink/maxis is expensive but at least i don't need to change sim card. Yes e-sim is available but didn't use before. normally i use subs roaming under local telco and on roaming only.
Avangelice
post Mar 10 2025, 02:36 PM

5,274 posts

I travel to Thailand annually and honestly I rather just pay for roaming under maxis. True it's expensive but I rather want to just activate and go plus I know there won't be any problems.

E Sim from shoppee requires you to tinker around your data options in your phone and you need to order prior days before departure. Making sure you get it from the seller and blah blah.

When you hit 40,you rather pay for convenience
gashout
post Mar 10 2025, 02:50 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Shopee cheap and fast
pysh
post Mar 10 2025, 02:56 PM

382 posts

right after you landed at the airport, immediately at the exit, there's so many booths for you to choose
Tokik Siwok
post Mar 10 2025, 03:06 PM

312 posts

shopee je la

rm20 7 days
nebula87
post Mar 10 2025, 03:11 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

Why not just use your Telco's roaming package?

E.g. Hotlink postpaid only charge RM20 (tax not included) for 7 days Thailand roaming with 10gb of data (no voice included).

This post has been edited by nebula87: Mar 10 2025, 03:11 PM
GamersFamilia
post Mar 10 2025, 04:09 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,852 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Mar 10 2025, 03:11 PM)
Why not just use your Telco's roaming package?

E.g. Hotlink postpaid only charge RM20 (tax not included) for 7 days Thailand roaming with 10gb of data (no voice included).
True
Me myself travel to chiang mai and bangkok use roaming, it's kindda hassle to get local simcard only for short period of time 🙄🔥
cempedaklife
post Mar 10 2025, 04:30 PM

Master Decoy
4,358 posts

QUOTE(james2306 @ Mar 10 2025, 01:41 PM)
Wah so coincidence im about to leave for Phuket in 2 days, and ive just spent some time researching this too.

Got a few options from my experience, ive used all these methods in the past. Depends on your needs.

My main line is Hotlink 70, which comes with Roam Like Home feature, which is only for DATA. So my Hotlink data pool of like 3++GB i can use it in TH like im in Msia. Plus point, is that AstroGO (to watch epl) works when u are using this data. Astro blocks it if u use local WIFI or Thai SIM data.

In Jan25 i went to Bkk for like 6 days. I had to be able to be contacted by normal calls for work, so i had no choice, i just depended on Hotlink.
Good stable fast 5G data and i did receive some work calls which was charged separately, so i was billed an extra like RM 45 for this.

All my other holiday trips, when i dont need to be contacted by normal calls, i just do this.

1 day b4 i leave, buy this https://www.agoda.com/activities/detail?act...YR&cityId=16056

Look for this 【❗Limited time offer】Activate eSIM before June 30, 2025, the 10-day 50GB plan will be upgraded from high-speed 50GB to high-speed unlimited data!

So now tomorrow im just gonna buy this, activate it on my phone at home. Then turn the sim off.
When i get on the plane, turn off my Hotlink sim. Once i land, turn on the Thai eSIM and you will be good to go.

I used this method like 3-4 times for my TH trips last year. The data is solid, stable and fast. I can stream twitch/youtube/netflix etc without issue during my travels and transits, only astroGO wont work sad.gif
I think some trips the data was better than the hotels wifi's so some trips i ended using like 60-70GB of data thru Hotspot. So i know it really is unlimited.

I believe you can save even further if you go to 7e and get a sim and do all that topup things and stuff (the 7e staff will help you do this)

But i think for like less than RM20 on agoda and you can do it all yourself from your house is a pretty good deal.

Oh and this is only if your phone can support eSIM..if you cant use eSIM, do the 7e method.
Dont buy at airport, the prices are inflated for tourists.. like 300-500 baht vs less than 200 bath at 7e
Wah. The agoda one is a better deal than the shopee. Thanks.

0.0176sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:06 PM