News M4 Macbook Air starting at RM 4,499

TSBaconateer
post Mar 5 2025, 11:11 PM, updated 9 months ago

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Even cheaper thn M3 which costs RM4,999.

New colour and webcam.

https://www.apple.com/my/newsroom/2025/03/a...sky-blue-color/

it is actually more like silver with blue tinge

This post has been edited by Baconateer: Mar 6 2025, 01:21 PM
poweredbydiscuz
post Mar 5 2025, 11:13 PM

3,836 posts

Noice
BL98
post Mar 5 2025, 11:55 PM

743 posts

still no USB -A and HDMI ports.

2025 and storage only starting at 256gb?
OldSchoolJoke
post Mar 6 2025, 12:01 AM

289 posts

suddenly mbp sounds cheap RM7k for lowest spec
last time M1 i bought RM8.8k cry.gif
jackal1950
post Mar 6 2025, 12:05 AM

572 posts

This post has been edited by jackal1950: Mar 6 2025, 12:06 AM
WinkyJr
post Mar 6 2025, 12:31 AM

433 posts

mcm affordable
pisces88
post Mar 6 2025, 01:06 AM

3,970 posts

damn. didnt expect lower than m3
yvliew
post Mar 6 2025, 01:19 AM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

compare to windows laptop co pilot + with snapdragon.. ini cheappppp
icycokes
post Mar 6 2025, 01:22 AM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

very good deal. feel sad for my 2024 m3 macbook air. paid so much to upgrade to 16gb but now 16gb is the base. damn you apple

grab it.
DogeGamingPRO
post Mar 6 2025, 01:23 AM

169 posts

veli gud plais
GHBZDK
post Mar 6 2025, 01:23 AM

173 posts

hurry up with the tandem oled mbp la
nelienuxe_sara
post Mar 6 2025, 03:52 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

ew sampah spec
billylks
post Mar 6 2025, 04:07 AM

180 posts

Wadafug screen tambah 1" already tambah RM1K. What kind of pricing is that?

Also why storage so small wan.

Another note, the memory is unified memory, probably the bus width from memory to GPU is not as big as dedicated GPU memory, so this is not very good for AI liao.

bengang15
post Mar 6 2025, 07:25 AM

421 posts

Very good deal indeed for those who want to try out macbook.

This post has been edited by bengang15: Mar 6 2025, 07:26 AM
11c
post Mar 6 2025, 07:48 AM

141 posts

wanna buy 1 but what is the purpose ah ?

potatolala
post Mar 6 2025, 08:14 AM

141 posts

Very good le

Probably can fetch it for 4k in a month or two

Iphone 16e already got discount
awol
post Mar 6 2025, 08:18 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(11c @ Mar 6 2025, 07:48 AM)
wanna buy 1 but what is the purpose ah ?
to display in starbuck probably
piscesguy
post Mar 6 2025, 08:20 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Mar 6 2025, 08:18 AM)
need to buy sky blue colour. biggrin.gif
11c
post Mar 6 2025, 08:23 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Mar 6 2025, 08:18 AM)
bye.gif

i dont have a personnal laptop, was thinking to get one, and see macbook macam cheap
awol
post Mar 6 2025, 08:58 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Mar 6 2025, 08:20 AM)
need to buy sky blue colour.  biggrin.gif
whistling.gif

QUOTE(11c @ Mar 6 2025, 08:23 AM)
bye.gif

i dont have a personnal laptop, was thinking to get one, and see macbook macam cheap
yeah, now MBA is a good for value. go for it.
iSean
post Mar 6 2025, 09:00 AM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Mar 5 2025, 11:11 PM)

New colour and webcam.

hngghhhhh

this feature is great for tutors!
11c
post Mar 6 2025, 09:01 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Mar 6 2025, 08:58 AM)
whistling.gif
yeah, now MBA is a good for value. go for it.
can do everything laptop can do?
KcX35
post Mar 6 2025, 09:05 AM

ㄨㄨ
2,364 posts

dam nice spec and price.. compared to previous gen.. totally worth grabbing
sinkiebaru
post Mar 6 2025, 09:07 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 5 2025, 11:55 PM)

For an entry level laptop it is ok. USB-A is being phased out.

If you want more features, Apple wants you to either upgrade the storage or buy the Pro.
dman
post Mar 6 2025, 09:15 AM

540 posts

Nais, the 256gb version started at lower price seems fair.

Better alternatives for slim and light laptop and build quality are much better than windows laptop.

marfccy
post Mar 6 2025, 09:16 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

TBH this pricing is damn good, most other laptops out there on mid range are already on this price

the only drawback now is that puny 256GB storage, which for most people no issue. but still an issue for those enthusiasts
art6969
post Mar 6 2025, 09:21 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Mar 6 2025, 09:00 AM)
hngghhhhh

this feature is great for tutors!
after all online exam will require of this
awol
post Mar 6 2025, 09:25 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(11c @ Mar 6 2025, 09:01 AM)
can do everything laptop can do?
except high end game, its just another computer/laptop.
i myself using macOS just for photo gallery.
BL98
post Mar 6 2025, 10:44 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Mar 6 2025, 09:25 AM)
except high end game, its just another computer/laptop.
i myself using macOS just for photo gallery.
so difficult to use mac photo viewer. Have to click on the photo to see the photo. cannot "next" the photo like in windows.
awol
post Mar 6 2025, 11:15 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 6 2025, 10:44 AM)
so difficult to use mac photo viewer. Have to click on the photo to see the photo. cannot "next" the photo like in windows.
press space bar to view, can use arrow key to go to next.
what im using in macOS is Apple Photos app. sort by gallery and flawlessly playback 4K60 HEVC videos.
in windows, need to buy HEVC codec for native playback.
Thebestscammer
post Mar 6 2025, 11:29 AM

311 posts

i kinda lost the ability to tell the difference in specs already when it came to the m series chip
need to see someone compile the table for me
but i realize after trying to use it as a daily driver there is some issue that really fk with me alot
in the end back to windows but also very dulan with windows policy
cant win
jusohbt
post Mar 6 2025, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(billylks @ Mar 6 2025, 04:07 AM)
Wadafug screen tambah 1" already tambah RM1K. What kind of pricing is that?

Also why storage so small wan.

Another note, the memory is unified memory, probably the bus width from memory to GPU is not as big as dedicated GPU memory, so this is not very good for AI liao.
You choose MacBook AIR to do your AI???

MacBook Air is for casual usage, web surfing, email, spreadsheet, word, presentation and also maybe a lite video editing... the video editing part no Windows laptop can match it unless for very highend version.

This post has been edited by jusohbt: Mar 6 2025, 11:38 AM
jonthebaptist
post Mar 6 2025, 11:39 AM

1,036 posts

Can't even fully expand the window to fit whole screen with one click, have to drag and slide.

What cave man shit is that? And people still buying this trash?
SUSM4A1
post Mar 6 2025, 11:39 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(jusohbt @ Mar 6 2025, 11:38 AM)

MacBook Air is for casual usage, web surfing, email, spreadsheet, word, presentation and also maybe a lite video editing...  the video editing part no Windows laptop can match it unless for very highend version.
is like buy myvi

expect to run as GTR
Mixxomon
post Mar 6 2025, 11:42 AM

126 posts

With these pricing, I might finally switch to Apple laptops.
The constant bloatware and Windows update in Windows laptop pissing me off.
TSBaconateer
post Mar 6 2025, 12:03 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Mar 6 2025, 11:29 AM)
i kinda lost the ability to tell the difference in specs already when it came to the m series chip
need to see someone compile the table for me
but i realize after trying to use it as a daily driver there is some issue that really fk with me alot
in the end back to windows but also very dulan with windows policy
cant win
what i like the most about Macbook is the speakers and screen quality

even the webcam is miles better thn many windows laptop out there

but MacOS takes a long time to get used to
Gargamel_gibson
post Mar 6 2025, 12:04 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Mar 6 2025, 12:03 PM)
what i like the most about Macbook is the speakers and screen quality

even the webcam is miles better thn many windows laptop out there

but MacOS takes a long time to get used to
Speaker alone is worth it. So much better than the rest. And battery life
SUSifourtos
post Mar 6 2025, 12:07 PM

2,256 posts

Gg...
tifosi
post Mar 6 2025, 12:10 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

No point to show off d, no one go Setarbuck nowadays
billylks
post Mar 6 2025, 12:25 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(jusohbt @ Mar 6 2025, 11:38 AM)

MacBook Air is for casual usage, web surfing, email, spreadsheet, word, presentation and also maybe a lite video editing...  the video editing part no Windows laptop can match it unless for very highend version.
Gila lah so many CPU and GPU cores just for casual usage. Ini machiem using felali for grab. Apple fans memang kaya.

Also like I previously mentioned, unified memory will slow down GPU a bit due to smaller bus, so video editing will be affected too. As how slow or how fast then need to wait for benchmark lor.
terradrive
post Mar 6 2025, 12:29 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Mar 6 2025, 11:15 AM)
press space bar to view, can use arrow key to go to next.
what im using in macOS is Apple Photos app. sort by gallery and flawlessly playback 4K60 HEVC videos.
in windows, need to buy HEVC codec for native playback.
i'm on windows 10 and from microsoft store app there's actually two options for the HEVC that time, paid and free but basically same thing and both from microsoft. The free one is hidden and harder to find but i'm on that now lol

dunno if it is still available.
awol
post Mar 6 2025, 12:38 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 6 2025, 12:29 PM)
i'm on windows 10 and from microsoft store app there's actually two options for the HEVC that time, paid and free but basically same thing and both from microsoft. The free one is hidden and harder to find but i'm on that now lol

dunno if it is still available.
kindly guide me to the free one please sweat.gif

edit: the free one is AV1?

This post has been edited by awol: Mar 6 2025, 12:41 PM
submergedx
post Mar 6 2025, 12:43 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Mar 6 2025, 12:25 PM)
Gila lah so many  CPU and GPU cores just for casual usage. Ini machiem using felali for grab. Apple fans memang kaya.

Also like I previously mentioned, unified memory will slow down GPU a bit due to smaller bus, so video editing will be affected too. As how slow or how fast then need to wait for benchmark lor.
FYI

mac users dont care about smaller bus, benchmark, 1-5secs video editing difference.
Apple users are not spec geeks, because it just works.
thxxht
post Mar 6 2025, 12:45 PM

368 posts

but can it game?

anyway, this is a win for apple
poweredbydiscuz
post Mar 6 2025, 12:45 PM

3,836 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Mar 6 2025, 11:39 AM)
Can't even fully expand the window to fit whole screen with one click, have to drag and slide.

There's a setting to enable double click anywhere on the title bar to fully expand the window. Same like Windows.
bengang15
post Mar 6 2025, 12:50 PM

421 posts

Gila lah so many  CPU and GPU cores just for casual usage. Ini machiem using felali for grab. Apple fans memang kaya.

What do you intend to do with your laptop?

I am using yhe 1st gen M1 macbook. Bought 2020/21. That time the price was also 4k plus. This price for M4 is really good.

I still have a 2015 macbook 12 in. Still can power on/ screen looks great. Only problem is the battery. Other than that still strong
terradrive
post Mar 6 2025, 12:55 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Mar 6 2025, 12:38 PM)
kindly guide me to the free one please  sweat.gif

i just did a search on net and saw the free HEVC was pulled from microsofr store in july 2023. they know the loophole...
awol
post Mar 6 2025, 12:57 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 6 2025, 12:55 PM)
i just did a search on net and saw the free HEVC was pulled from microsofr store in july 2023. they know the loophole...
oh well, will keep macOS as my gallery machine then.
terradrive
post Mar 6 2025, 01:02 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Mar 6 2025, 12:45 PM)
but can it game?

anyway, this is a win for apple
You can use crossover (preferred method) or parallel to play windows games.

But for crossover you'll need to buy those games from games store like steam, not sure about xbox game pass games.

For parallel it's running windows so it can play alot of windows games but at horrible fps for heavy games.

For me last time I just use parsec to stream my game from my desktop gaming pc and it can work through internet, but that will have some input lag.
emefbiemef
post Mar 6 2025, 01:16 PM

112 posts

thank god for education store
MyProLife
post Mar 6 2025, 01:53 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 6 2025, 12:55 PM)
it was hidden from searching, but not pulled completely

this hevc "from device manufacturer" is meant for OEM to preinstalled on prebuild/laptops only. for those which not preinstalled the only other way is to sideload the msix package from somewhere like RG-adguard
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 6 2025, 02:04 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,310 posts

even M1 mcbook still running very well.

awol
post Mar 6 2025, 02:20 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Mar 6 2025, 01:53 PM)
it was hidden from searching, but not pulled completely

this hevc "from device manufacturer" is meant for OEM to preinstalled on prebuild/laptops only. for those which not preinstalled the only other way is to sideload the msix package from somewhere like RG-adguard
i see. some OEM did pay the HEVC license to be include in their laptop eh?

HumanExtinction
post Mar 6 2025, 02:28 PM

364 posts

The only problem is 256gb storage, if it starts at 512gb then will definitely sell like hotcakes
billylks
post Mar 6 2025, 03:26 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Mar 6 2025, 02:28 PM)
The only problem is 256gb storage, if it starts at 512gb then will definitely sell like hotcakes
I wonder if it is possible to add extra sdd like usual windows notebook?
MyProLife
post Mar 6 2025, 03:33 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Mar 6 2025, 02:20 PM)
i see. some OEM did pay the HEVC license to be include in their laptop eh?
yes. hevc licence is paid for by oems. microsoft didnt want to pay for such license thats why provide heve extension as paid (rm4)
MyProLife
post Mar 6 2025, 03:34 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Mar 6 2025, 03:26 PM)
only via external drive (tb4/usb4 external ssd for best results). because ram and ssd are soldered on board/package
soonwai
post Mar 6 2025, 03:49 PM

11,459 posts

This one better.
HP Snapdragon X Elite 16/1000 RM5997
https://www.harveynorman.com.my/computing/c...-pc-laptop.html
GagalLand
post Mar 6 2025, 03:52 PM

239 posts

Price ok but screen too small and can't ise windows

This post has been edited by GagalLand: Mar 6 2025, 03:53 PM
dawnreaver
post Mar 6 2025, 03:53 PM

661 posts

15 just nice to post process all those nude portraits...oh wai-
HumanExtinction
post Mar 6 2025, 03:54 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Mar 6 2025, 03:26 PM)
Mac not possible to manually add ram or storage for a long time already, these things cost next to nothing for apple and yet they charged rm800 for 512gb storage, greedy fucks. Same thing applies to iPhone and iPad too.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Mar 6 2025, 03:55 PM
brkli
post Mar 6 2025, 03:58 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Mar 6 2025, 12:31 AM)
mcm affordable
yup.. ccp brand like xiaomi or huawei laptop, simply also 3K-5k now, spec is better, but not that much also.. top up a bit can get mac already, why not..
brkli
post Mar 6 2025, 04:01 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Mar 6 2025, 03:54 PM)
Mac not possible to manually add ram or storage for a long time already, these things cost next to nothing for apple and yet they charged rm800 for 512gb storage, greedy fucks. Same thing applies to iPhone and iPad too.
windows laptop nowadays the ram also soldered in already, just left ssd is expandable only now..

This post has been edited by brkli: Mar 6 2025, 04:01 PM
awol
post Mar 6 2025, 04:06 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Mar 6 2025, 03:33 PM)
yes. hevc licence is paid for by oems. microsoft didnt want to pay for such license thats why provide heve extension as paid (rm4)
last time HEVC is a "new" codec. now become common already.
still weird need to pay for it.

QUOTE(brkli @ Mar 6 2025, 04:01 PM)
windows laptop nowadays the ram also soldered in already, just left ssd is expandable only now..
just received new laptop from company. lucky the ram is not soldered.
later this year will upgrade myself to 64GB.
Gargamel_gibson
post Mar 6 2025, 04:22 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Mar 6 2025, 04:01 PM)
Windows laptop, thin and light category is same price or more expensive as MacBook. Only cheapo plastic Lenovo is 2.5k, full metal is same price as Mac. Might as well buy Apple.
BL98
post Mar 6 2025, 04:48 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Mar 6 2025, 12:50 PM)
What do you intend to do with your laptop?

I am using yhe 1st gen M1 macbook. Bought 2020/21. That time the price was also 4k plus. This price for M4 is really good.

I still have a 2015 macbook 12 in. Still can power on/ screen looks great. Only problem is the battery.  Other than that still strong
now can get M1 mac air for 2300 brand new
absorb-d
post Mar 6 2025, 04:51 PM

1,115 posts

like better value then their phones tbh
billylks
post Mar 6 2025, 05:11 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Mar 6 2025, 03:34 PM)
only via external drive (tb4/usb4 external ssd for best results). because ram and ssd are soldered on board/package
MacBook doesn't have M.2 expansion slot ka?
MyProLife
post Mar 6 2025, 05:15 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Mar 6 2025, 05:11 PM)
no ever since before switchover to M series
billylks
post Mar 6 2025, 05:22 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Mar 6 2025, 05:15 PM)
no ever since before switchover to M series
Dafuq. Macam ini pun boleh ka.
soonwai
post Mar 6 2025, 05:50 PM

11,459 posts

Apple SG pre-order start tomorrow 9am. MY and other ASEAN countries nothing yet except ID still showing M3.
soonwai
post Mar 6 2025, 05:53 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Mar 6 2025, 05:11 PM)
Never had m.2 except for the Mac Pro. m.2-ish got for older MacBooks, still needs an adapter.
neohkor
post Mar 6 2025, 06:38 PM

Seriously recommend it for anyone in search of a personal/work laptop. Especially those who wants a light device with good performance without plugging in.
bengang15
post Mar 6 2025, 06:42 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 6 2025, 04:48 PM)
Brand new or second hand?

Good for kids I supposed.
BL98
post Mar 7 2025, 02:42 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Mar 6 2025, 06:42 PM)
Brand new or second hand?

Good for kids I supposed.
brand new. saw 3.3 lazada selling
izart
post Mar 7 2025, 06:23 AM

137 posts

Smaller bus or not, video editing on a macbook air (m chip versions) is smoother than most of Windows laptop/dekstop especially if you use Final Cut Pro.

Mac is always about software optimization instead of hardware.
cempedaklife
post Mar 7 2025, 06:28 AM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

Macam yes. Maybe first time jump to MacBook.
Zaryl
post Mar 7 2025, 06:40 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,710 posts

Macbook Air M4 looks tempting but I already got Mac Mini M2 Pro base model at home.

i am mostly using iPad Pro M1 12.9 5G as main workhorse since its first launch back in July 2021.
I appreciate the 5G capability on iPad Pro since I am mostly away from office most of the time.
Have replaced the battery last year at Switch at RM910. Instead of battery replacement, they gave me a new refurb unit instead. Noice.

It's doable although running spreadsheets/word can be quite a chore LEL
xortz
post Mar 7 2025, 09:32 AM

1,534 posts

any idea how much used Macbook Air 14" M2 512GB will be ?

Thinking of to upgrade to M4..
poooky
post Mar 7 2025, 09:37 AM

844 posts

Stick with windows more bang for buck. everything you thinking of doing on mac ady can be done on windows these days.

if wan buy, just buy aapl. No point getting mac unless you too much money, want claim tax, or need to develop ios apps. see the amount of copium from ppl who defend 8gb ram and how they upgrade every 2-3 years ady know the cope.
submergedx
post Mar 7 2025, 10:01 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(xortz @ Mar 7 2025, 09:32 AM)
any idea how much used Macbook Air 14" M2 512GB will be ?

Thinking of to upgrade to M4..
Hearsay trade in programe at Apple.com/my are very high value, paring with used price at the market.
Can check and see.
projectnew
post Mar 7 2025, 10:50 AM

185 posts

I heard the new MBA made is made in Malaysia leh..
soonwai
post Mar 7 2025, 03:17 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Mar 7 2025, 09:37 AM)
Stick with windows more bang for buck. everything you thinking of doing on mac ady can be done on windows these days.

if wan buy, just buy aapl. No point getting mac unless you too much money, want claim tax, or need to develop ios apps. see the amount of copium from ppl who defend 8gb ram and how they upgrade every 2-3 years ady know the cope.
Yeah, I've got 12400f+6600 XT. Lately have started using it a lot more.
soonwai
post Mar 7 2025, 03:27 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 6 2025, 04:48 PM)
Very good deal. mbam1 still very good. Wife and I both using mbam1. My excuse/reason to get the m4 is bcos I plan to pass the m1 to my kid. Main PC is macminim1. Secondary is 12400f (for games.)

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 7 2025, 03:30 PM
asphiroth
post Mar 7 2025, 04:16 PM

200 posts

when msia store gonna sell this?
soonwai
post Mar 7 2025, 04:19 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(asphiroth @ Mar 7 2025, 04:16 PM)
when msia store gonna sell this?
I think 12/3.
Gargamel_gibson
post Mar 7 2025, 04:21 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(projectnew @ Mar 7 2025, 10:50 AM)
Possible. Mac Mini already made in Malaysia.
Gargamel_gibson
post Mar 7 2025, 04:24 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 7 2025, 03:27 PM)
Very good deal. mbam1 still very good. Wife and I both using mbam1. My excuse/reason to get the m4 is bcos I plan to pass the m1 to my kid. Main PC is macminim1. Secondary is 12400f (for games.)
M1 still going strong. Battery still 90% health. No reason at all to upgrade, just want to take advantage of high used price for M1 and sell off first.
soonwai
post Mar 7 2025, 04:27 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(projectnew @ Mar 7 2025, 10:50 AM)
Many years ago, my Mac LCIII and Quadra 650, both Made in Malaysia. Likom (Lion Komputer) in Melaka. Mac mini M1 also, I think.
BL98
post Mar 7 2025, 06:00 PM

743 posts

macmini M4 also quite gooding
SourLemons
post Mar 7 2025, 06:15 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Mar 6 2025, 11:39 AM)

user problem lol topkek dono how to expand window in macos
SourLemons
post Mar 7 2025, 06:16 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 7 2025, 06:00 PM)
bought m4 mac mini base model for casual use, best purchase everrr
soonwai
post Mar 7 2025, 06:21 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 7 2025, 06:00 PM)
That'll have to wait until M5. Had to choose between upgrading the air or the mini.
BL98
post Mar 7 2025, 06:27 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 7 2025, 06:21 PM)
That'll have to wait until M5. Had to choose between upgrading the air or the mini.
better wait for M5. M5 will definitely be better than M4
jonthebaptist
post Mar 7 2025, 06:32 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Mar 6 2025, 12:45 PM)
There's a setting to enable double click anywhere on the title bar to fully expand the window. Same like Windows.
QUOTE(SourLemons @ Mar 7 2025, 06:15 PM)
it's cave man shit, in windows you have dedicated maximize/minimize button

we living in age of AI now, not caveman era
soonwai
post Mar 7 2025, 06:32 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(SourLemons @ Mar 7 2025, 06:15 PM)
aiya, you ar... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 7 2025, 06:33 PM
soonwai
post Mar 7 2025, 06:44 PM

11,459 posts

Search the net. This is the one that I'm using. Got it in February 2024.
Microsoft.HEVCVideoExtension_2.1.451.0_neutral

I think latest is 2.1.1162.0.

update: latest is 2.2.33.0.

Singular one is better cos the plural one doesn't/didn't work in Win Media Player.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 7 2025, 06:54 PM
SourLemons
post Mar 7 2025, 08:37 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Mar 7 2025, 06:32 PM)
it's cave man shit, in windows you have dedicated maximize/minimize button

we living in age of AI now, not caveman era
sohai detected rolleyes.gif
awol
post Mar 8 2025, 10:57 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 7 2025, 06:44 PM)
Search the net. This is the one that I'm using. Got it in February 2024.
Microsoft.HEVCVideoExtension_2.1.451.0_neutral

I think latest is 2.1.1162.0.

update: latest is 2.2.33.0.

Singular one is better cos the plural one doesn't/didn't work in Win Media Player.
found it after the explanation previously but did not install yet.
soonwai
post Apr 8 2025, 06:16 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 7 2025, 04:19 PM)
I think 12/3.
Late by one month. Today can order already. Earliest delivery is 11/4. TRX pickup 16/4.
Raddus
post Apr 8 2025, 06:18 PM

239 posts

Tariff will change price or not
Syie9^_^
post Apr 8 2025, 06:19 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Mar 6 2025, 12:41 AM)

New colour and webcam.

it is actually more like silver with blue tinge
even better 2399. You wait.
icon_idea.gif
soonwai
post Apr 8 2025, 09:30 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Apr 8 2025, 06:19 PM)
even better 2399. You wait.
icon_idea.gif
I think no more Apple lor in 374 yrs.
SourLemons
post Apr 8 2025, 09:33 PM

223 posts

highly recommend, lagi recommend if u no need portability - go for m4 mac mini base model , best bang for buck
KenM
post Apr 8 2025, 09:37 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 5 2025, 10:55 PM)

apple way of making $$.. add RAM, increase hardisk storage…
soonwai
post Apr 8 2025, 09:42 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(SourLemons @ Apr 8 2025, 09:33 PM)
highly recommend, lagi recommend if u no need portability - go for m4 mac mini base model , best bang for buck
Mac mini really worth it. Currently using M1, next year upgrade to M5. This year is MBA upgrade.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 8 2025, 09:43 PM
and85rew
post Apr 8 2025, 10:40 PM

Red Devil
877 posts

m3 owners will cry
BL98
post Apr 9 2025, 10:41 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 8 2025, 09:42 PM)
Mac mini really worth it. Currently using M1, next year upgrade to M5. This year is MBA upgrade.
only if MacOS is as easy to use as windows.
poweredbydiscuz
post Apr 9 2025, 10:43 AM

3,836 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Apr 9 2025, 10:41 AM)
only if MacOS is as easy to use as windows.
Will get used to it eventually.
kenny B
post Apr 9 2025, 10:47 AM

846 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Mar 7 2025, 10:01 AM)
Hearsay trade in programe at Apple.com/my are very high value, paring with used price at the market.
Can check and see.
my 2016 mbp worthless, so now acting as paperweight
bought m4 mbp now feels like i couldve bought 3 mba instead
jagjag
post Apr 9 2025, 10:49 AM

537 posts

Noob in IT ppl here. Can the based spec good for gaming ??
karazure
post Apr 9 2025, 10:50 AM

70 posts

unker no apple fan but agree macbook is their best invention.
TSBaconateer
post Apr 9 2025, 10:51 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Apr 9 2025, 10:49 AM)
What kind of gaming?

AAA games? Is playable, but wont give u same experience like PC

Indie games? Definitely.
BL98
post Apr 9 2025, 10:52 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Apr 9 2025, 10:43 AM)
not sure is it just me, but Macbook air M1 screen is very weird to look at. always feels blurry to see after looking at the screen for 10 minutes.

other windows laptop no issue, only macbook air
jagjag
post Apr 9 2025, 11:11 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Apr 9 2025, 10:51 AM)
What kind of gaming?

AAA games? Is playable, but wont give u same experience like PC

Indie games? Definitely.
its my kids, as i said im not sure. Its those shooting game ? Most likely those trendy games currently play by most of the teenager
TSBaconateer
post Apr 9 2025, 11:17 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Apr 9 2025, 11:11 AM)
its my kids, as i said im not sure. Its those shooting game ? Most likely those trendy games currently play by most of the teenager
just get a windows gaming laptop if just purely for gaming.
jagjag
post Apr 9 2025, 11:37 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Apr 9 2025, 11:17 AM)
just get a windows gaming laptop if just purely for gaming.
OK noted I see the price range almost similar so maybe this Macbook can do the same but it is smaller n thinner. And lighter too...can oso bring to Starbuck to show show...haha
TSBaconateer
post Apr 9 2025, 11:52 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Apr 9 2025, 11:37 AM)
OK noted I see the price range almost similar so maybe this Macbook can do the same but it is smaller n thinner. And lighter too...can oso bring to Starbuck to show show...haha
Gaming on macbook still subpar
submergedx
post Apr 9 2025, 01:39 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(kenny B @ Apr 9 2025, 10:47 AM)
Im planning to have either one this year. Can have more details regarding this?
Eyeing both M4 models in 16inch.

kenny B
post Apr 9 2025, 01:41 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Apr 9 2025, 01:39 PM)
Im planning to have either one this year. Can have more details regarding this?
Eyeing both M4 models in 16inch.
feels like i don't need that much power because my desktop is powerful too

if want to run AI stuffs, it's not that great you might as well use cloud for that with the money saved

This post has been edited by kenny B: Apr 9 2025, 01:42 PM
walkmanphone
post Apr 9 2025, 01:59 PM

47 posts

once cuba macbook for work, never gone back, even my m1 air still decent, intuitive to use even without mouse, never worry about battery, its just reliable. Not sure about Windows laptop nowadays, other than gaming, my experience with them not great, sometimes blue screen and the frequent updates are unnecessary and take so long which i cant tolerant for work purpose
submergedx
post Apr 9 2025, 02:12 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(kenny B @ Apr 9 2025, 01:41 PM)
feels like i don't need that much power because my desktop is powerful too

if want to run AI stuffs, it's not that great you might as well use cloud for that with the money saved
I think Mchips are generally can run everything smoothly. Even their FCPX are optimized with the chip can run very fast even with Air model.

So i guess the only difference now are the looks.
1. MiniLED
2. Fan for the body
3. HDMI, SD Card ports
Gargamel_gibson
post Apr 9 2025, 02:13 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(walkmanphone @ Apr 9 2025, 01:59 PM)
once cuba macbook for work, never gone back, even my m1 air still decent, intuitive to use even without mouse, never worry about battery, its just reliable. Not sure about Windows laptop nowadays, other than gaming, my experience with them not great, sometimes blue screen and the frequent updates are unnecessary and take so long which i cant tolerant for work purpose
Ask around who still using 2020 windows laptop? M1 still very strong in battery too until now
soonwai
post Apr 9 2025, 02:52 PM

11,459 posts

mbp 13" 2016 can trade in for RM450 on Apple website if can still turn on.

iSean
post Apr 9 2025, 02:54 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

can give me this paper weight, i use it as display relic laugh.gif

This post has been edited by iSean: Apr 9 2025, 02:54 PM
soonwai
post Apr 9 2025, 02:54 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Apr 9 2025, 10:49 AM)
For gaming, better you buy x86 Windows laptop or preferably desktop.
soonwai
post Apr 9 2025, 02:55 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Apr 9 2025, 10:52 AM)
not sure is it just me, but Macbook air M1 screen is very weird to look at. always feels blurry to see after looking at the screen for 10 minutes.

other windows laptop no issue, only macbook air
soonwai
post Apr 9 2025, 03:01 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Apr 9 2025, 02:13 PM)
Ask around who still using 2020 windows laptop? M1 still very strong in battery too until now
I'm still using my Lenovo Y720-15IKB laptop (7700HQ/GTX1060.) Forgot what year it is. But now using as desktop since battery bloated and had to be removed.
kenny B
post Apr 9 2025, 04:00 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 9 2025, 02:52 PM)
mbp 13" 2016 can trade in for RM450 on Apple website if can still turn on.
screen problem. missed the exchange deadline to replace it. so prolly worthless as trade in.
maybe leave it to run some compute task 24/7
cempedaklife
post Apr 9 2025, 04:35 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Apr 9 2025, 11:11 AM)
if gaming go back windows for value for money la.
if kids, if they don't value mac, no point also.
if they value mac and mau gaming, expect your wallet to vomit blood. even then also maybe not up to spec.
if go windows for hardcore gaming, also wallet vomit blood.

so either you know your shit, or they know their shit.
but the bill might end up as a surprise to you, if their expectation is high laugh.gif
jagjag
post Apr 9 2025, 05:36 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Apr 9 2025, 04:35 PM)
if they value mac and mau gaming, expect your wallet to vomit blood. even then also maybe not up to spec.

but the bill might end up as a surprise to you, if their expectation is high  laugh.gif
haha..very wise words...
Raddus
post Apr 9 2025, 05:51 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Apr 9 2025, 04:35 PM)

but the bill might end up as a surprise to you, if their expectation is high  laugh.gif
now days kids play pc game?

i tot all only know play mobile game
qsub
post Apr 9 2025, 05:56 PM

110 posts

Macbook battery life better then window lappy.

soonwai
post Apr 9 2025, 06:20 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(qsub @ Apr 9 2025, 05:56 PM)
Macbook battery life better then window lappy.
Not any more. New X Elite and Intel Lunar Lake can outlast M3 or M4 MacBook Airs.
ahwai
post Apr 9 2025, 06:58 PM

449 posts

Im using m1 macbook since 2020 still as good as new when first bought
poooky
post May 10 2025, 09:44 AM

844 posts

16/256 enough long term? unker need to maintain 100 browser tabs while juggle xcode, cursor, yotube, imovie, whatsapp, tg, google sheet and genshin.
LegendLee
post May 10 2025, 10:43 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ May 10 2025, 09:44 AM)
16/256 enough long term? unker need to maintain 100 browser tabs while juggle xcode, cursor, yotube, imovie, whatsapp, tg, google sheet and genshin.
If that’s your use case, you need more ram.
Also, Genshin doesn’t run on Mac OS.
poooky
post May 10 2025, 11:04 AM

844 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ May 10 2025, 10:43 AM)
If that’s your use case, you need more ram.
Also, Genshin doesn’t run on Mac OS.
Very expensive. Will see if can snag an M2 or M3 during sales.
LegendLee
post May 10 2025, 11:08 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ May 10 2025, 11:04 AM)
Very expensive. Will see if can snag an M2 or M3 during sales.
I’m still happy with my late 2020 Intel 27” iMac.
Still working well so far, hope it can last me a few more years.

I would imagine apple silicon Macs will last even longer.
M2/M3 Macs would still be relevant until 2030.

0.0601sec    1.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:03 AM