DBKL Crematorium ‘1,200% increase too steep’

desmond2020
post Mar 4 2025, 02:04 PM

910 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 4 2025, 01:02 PM)
100 is not the funeral
100 is JUST the cremation itself....JUST turning your body into dust...literally just that

1300 is reasonable? rclxub.gif
that is about the price other cremation service provider charged

i am talking about those non for profit type
Ayambetul
post Mar 4 2025, 02:07 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 4 2025, 01:02 PM)
100 is not the funeral
100 is JUST the cremation itself....JUST turning your body into dust...literally just that

1300 is reasonable? rclxub.gif
U need to consider the cremation facilities cost and services to pack your ashes.

U can cremate with 100 only? Possible lower if u do it backyard of your house like open burning trashes.

This post has been edited by Ayambetul: Mar 4 2025, 02:07 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Mar 4 2025, 02:09 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Mar 4 2025, 01:58 PM)
don't want kana jizya?

lu kasi potong lu punya 2", convert to islam and on top of that, can enjoice ASB, housing discount 7%, easy access to IPTA & gomen jobs, etc.

I gave you a practical solution, up to you to decide.  nod.gif

oh wai-
Is that a threat due to your illusional beliefs or what?

Other people owe you a living and subsidy for your way of living convenience?
MishimaZ
post Mar 4 2025, 02:10 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(youngblood29us @ Mar 4 2025, 11:20 AM)
Bangsa C like to scam their own ppl..who came up with this kinda idea? Mati also all kind of fancy package..now dying is serious business..I think Chinese has the most expensive funeral services..To die at least need >20k..think Malay and Indian funeral did not change much in the last 30 years..price increased but process did not change much..
Although this crematory services more like the public sector issue, like food, dying as a Chinese really portrays our price raising culture.

QUOTE(cheryee @ Mar 4 2025, 01:24 PM)
Xiao En got this type of burial @ tanam ashes without tombstone. RM2,800 sahaja
Other option than Xiao En would be scattering ashes after cremation at Klang River at around half the price.

iamSUSUman
post Mar 4 2025, 02:11 PM

it's a community facility
RM100 is too cheap and RM1000-1300 is too steep
maybe meet in between.. this facily is not meant to be profit making or compete against private sector. 200-300 below what private sector charge seems reasonable.

seems like every gov dept is ramping up on fees collection.
JonSpark
post Mar 4 2025, 02:12 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

Already pledge organ for donation after death, and signed remaining (brain & nerve) goes to some research for UMMC
romuluz777
post Mar 4 2025, 02:14 PM

2,219 posts

QUOTE(youngblood29us @ Mar 4 2025, 12:20 PM)
Bangsa C like to scam their own ppl..who came up with this kinda idea? Mati also all kind of fancy package..now dying is serious business..I think Chinese has the most expensive funeral services..To die at least need >20k..think Malay and Indian funeral did not change much in the last 30 years..price increased but process did not change much..
Chinese Buddhist and Taoist funerals cost the most, and drag on for few days, costing double digit thousands excluding the cost of the plots or columbarium niches.

MR_alien
post Mar 4 2025, 02:15 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(Stigonboard @ Mar 4 2025, 01:46 PM)
Muslim practise wakaf (donation) for land burial
So the cemetery land you see is wakaf by some other muslim. Some also wakaf the hearse and the grave digger salary etc

We also pay ‘khairat’ kematian fund where the collection fund from the community pays for the burial process

All this due to muslim practise of not monetising death into an industry

Maybe other nons can adopt this practise also
it's not so much about the money
it's every bit about the land

when land is getting scarcer that even living person is hard to live...they want a free piece of land for burial from gov
this is happening all around the world, here will be soon

which is why others moved on to cremation, they understand what the problem is and they came out with a solution
which is to step outside of tradition

QUOTE(Ayambetul @ Mar 4 2025, 02:07 PM)
U need to consider the cremation facilities cost and services to pack your ashes.
U can cremate with 100 only? Possible lower if u do it backyard of your house like open burning trashes.
u need to read the whole news bro
it's DBKL...subsidized
it's already mention there, at RM1.3k...it's more expensive than private crematoriums

so if you're more expensive than private...thn where did they get the numbers from? laugh.gif

it's the same like saying KKM is more expensive than Gleneagles laugh.gif
cheryee
post Mar 4 2025, 06:21 PM

7,049 posts

QUOTE(MishimaZ @ Mar 4 2025, 02:10 PM)
Other option than Xiao En would be scattering ashes after cremation at Klang River at around half the price.
Not interested on this option. I sudah booked Xiao En Tower of Light as my eternal resting place. Whole family is there so easier for my son to pray in the future.
killeralta
post Mar 4 2025, 06:25 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Mar 4 2025, 02:14 PM)
Chinese Buddhist and Taoist funerals cost the most, and drag on for few days, costing double digit thousands excluding the cost of the plots or columbarium niches.
Taoist funerals from Nirvana, A better casket also need top up around 25-30K
@@@@@@@@@@
post Mar 4 2025, 06:39 PM

If RM1300 feels expensive, i have a cheaper suggestion. Use own car, send to any nearby beaches / resorts, dump into the sea.
vearn29
post Mar 4 2025, 06:40 PM

25 posts

betul2 yodo
GagalLand
post Mar 4 2025, 06:47 PM

237 posts

Tak kan RM100 40 years ago

Now also RM100 kan?

QUOTE(Srbn @ Mar 4 2025, 10:40 AM)
jibai Madonni
Stigonboard
post Mar 4 2025, 06:52 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Mar 4 2025, 01:54 PM)
Which means you're implying that Nons should adopt your faith style to enjoy the same cheaper burial costs?

That's an act coercion on others.

You are enjoying cheap at the expense of others subsidizing yours so you tell them if you want cheap as well follow my way?
It just a good practise, why so triggered?

The Khairat Kematian is like insurance. You contribute to a fund where once you dead the community will use the money to settle your burial at low cost and avoid your family members to foot the problem. Most of the work in the burial ground is voluntary which lower down the cost. Most important thing it is not monetised.

Maybe the concept helping others and the community is alien to you
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Mar 4 2025, 06:52 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(@@@@@@@@@@ @ Mar 4 2025, 06:39 PM)
If RM1300 feels expensive, i have a cheaper suggestion. Use own car, send to any nearby beaches / resorts, dump into the sea.
Next suitable and sensible method throw ashes into the sea.

But please find a more nicer place do it. Not off the shores of port Klang. laugh.gif

Can't they do it at a more beautiful serene and quiet beach.
Stigonboard
post Mar 4 2025, 07:00 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 4 2025, 02:15 PM)
it's not so much about the money
it's every bit about the land

when land is getting scarcer that even living person is hard to live...they want a free piece of land for burial from gov
this is happening all around the world, here will be soon

which is why others moved on to cremation, they understand what the problem is and they came out with a solution
which is to step outside of tradition
u need to read the whole news bro
it's DBKL...subsidized
it's already mention there, at RM1.3k...it's more expensive than private crematoriums

so if you're more expensive than private...thn where did they get the numbers from? laugh.gif

it's the same like saying KKM is more expensive than Gleneagles laugh.gif
There is plenty of lands in the wakaf list. Some muslims prefer to wakaf their land once they dead instead of their family members fighting for it lol

For cremation maybe can adopt the same khairat concept also where ppl can contribute at least rm500 for lifetime each and the pool collected money will be use to lower down the cost of cremation further.

Some khairat also only take rm30-40 per month. I consider it like an insurance.

amboi_asamboi
post Mar 4 2025, 07:52 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Stigonboard @ Mar 4 2025, 06:52 PM)
It just a good practise, why so triggered?

The Khairat Kematian is like insurance. You contribute to a fund where once you dead the community will use the money to settle your burial at low cost and avoid your family members to foot the problem. Most of the work in the burial ground is voluntary which lower down the cost. Most important thing it is not monetised.

Maybe the concept helping others and the community is alien to you
Chinese has become 1) materialistic 2) individualistic

Materialistic in the sense that semua nak grand nak bagus nak jaga muka: alphard hearse, big flower boards with electronics, big funeral with a lot of people, then kasi makan sedap2 buffet style, bakar mercedes, bakar maid, bakar driver, bakar banglo, bakar duit berkepuk2, emas, perak, keranda cantik shiny mahogany etc

Tombstone kena besar, kena check fengshui, check zodiac, check bazi etc. sembahyang 3 hari 3 malam, pastu sembahyang seratus hari, setahun, etc.

Individualistic in the sense that ko pandai2 la kumpul duit ko, ko mati aku kasi sampul putih rm30 sumbangan ikhlas. Ko pi la cari nirvana cari apa2 kedai pastu ko bayar jer.

It is a cultural thing, nak grand & nak muka. Those gangster ah long yg baru mati kat JB aritu buat grand funeral pun org boleh envy & rasa “wah so nice the funeral” tapi masa hidup jadi penyangak. Money is everything.

smallbug
post Mar 4 2025, 07:55 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Mar 4 2025, 06:52 PM)
Next suitable and sensible method throw ashes into the sea.

But please find a more nicer place do it. Not off the shores of port Klang. laugh.gif

Can't they do it at a more beautiful serene and quiet beach.
PD devil.gif
ihm11
post Mar 4 2025, 07:55 PM

62 posts

Kenot RIP
p4n6
post Mar 4 2025, 08:09 PM

5,974 posts

Bersangka baik: Promote healthy lifestyle, dont die no need to pay …

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0176sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:22 PM