Aircon recommendations

TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 14 2025, 04:47 PM, updated 10 months ago

2,537 posts

Hello, I'm looking to buy a 1.5 HP inverter aircon, i've been using daikin for all my other aircons in the house, but wanted something more budget friendly which at the same time doesn't compromise quality. I don't mind china brand, please recommend me some brands to consider, thank you!

P/S - My room is 240 sq ft in total, will 1.5 HP suffice to cool the entire room ?

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Feb 14 2025, 04:56 PM
Zack Styler
post Feb 14 2025, 04:51 PM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

Haier for me..
Autocountstick
post Feb 14 2025, 04:52 PM

664 posts

midea
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 14 2025, 04:57 PM

2,537 posts

Keep the recommendations coming, appreciate it. Also is 1.5 HP enough to cool a 240 sq ft room ?
GOPI56
post Feb 14 2025, 05:07 PM

1,494 posts

Wrong thread;

Normally they discuss about air conditioners at this thread:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3602667/+13080
a_dot_el
post Feb 14 2025, 05:16 PM

193 posts

You want budget, then no air quality.

You want air quality, then no budget.

Choose one.

Sharp Plasmacluster and Daikin Streamer is good for air quality. Have both in my house.
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 14 2025, 05:17 PM

2,537 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Feb 14 2025, 05:07 PM)
Wrong thread;

Normally they discuss about air conditioners at this thread:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3602667/+13080
Thanks for the heads up, will post there.
ShadowR1
post Feb 14 2025, 07:32 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,880 posts

My room 16' x 26'.
2hp cukup sejuk.

Daikin non inverter, install n years ago.

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Feb 14 2025, 07:33 PM
knwong
post Feb 14 2025, 08:28 PM

3,559 posts

My friend who works in Daikin, they did a test buying all those cheap chinese brands. All of them doesn't achieve the cooling effect as their brochure claim

So just stick to Daikin for quality.
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 14 2025, 09:16 PM

2,537 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Feb 14 2025, 08:28 PM)
My friend who works in Daikin, they did a test buying all those cheap chinese brands. All of them doesn't achieve the cooling effect as their brochure claim

Any comments about Mitsubishi ? Are their aircon any good ?
brkli
post Feb 14 2025, 09:22 PM

592 posts

panasonic.
kswee
post Feb 14 2025, 09:36 PM

577 posts

Midea, haier & Hisense for budget friendly quality also good .
Parts easily available and affordable.
Most highrise using this.
stormer.lyn
post Feb 14 2025, 09:52 PM

1,132 posts

Do you think Daikin achieves the cooling effect as their claims? Just like how car manufacturers claim their own fuel consumption figures?
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 14 2025, 10:31 PM

2,537 posts

Any comments about Mitsubishi aircon ?
Neptern
post Feb 14 2025, 10:57 PM

518 posts

Mitsubishi and Panasonic recommended by my aircon man. Using Mitsubishi myself so far so good but i only use it when needed.
Avangelice
post Feb 14 2025, 11:17 PM

5,272 posts

Fuck daikin. Purchase one inverter back in 2019 then 2021 board rosak say cost 800 to fix. That time my infant baru keluar I changed to another daikin inverter then in 2024 same thing happened. Dylan changed to Panasonic
NoobHacker
post Feb 14 2025, 11:41 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Feb 14 2025, 10:31 PM)
mitsubishi dem good. 24yrs ago got recond one from singapore, 2HP, still working today without gas refill, pretty insane. but we rarely use that aircond, not on daily basis.

then during mco got 3x 1.5HP in rooms, very quiet blower and its cold if needed. i use 26c auto and it can reach 26.0 on my xiaomi temperature sensor. very precise.

btw, whats the sun condition of your room, is your room landed or condo?

my hometown bricks tend to absorb the heat but my condo here wont. my hometown aircond tend work much harder than condo here.

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Feb 14 2025, 11:45 PM
empire
post Feb 15 2025, 12:25 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Feb 14 2025, 10:31 PM)
Damn good air con! I using this now in my condo. far superior to all air con brands I used before. It is shocking that very few people realise just how good Mitsubishi air con is

Blofeld
post Feb 15 2025, 12:38 AM

4,700 posts

u want slightly cheaper but same quality, go for Acson (same factory production but under different management)

cheaper a bit more but still ok quality, go for Panasonic
Iceman74
post Feb 15 2025, 01:04 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Feb 14 2025, 04:57 PM)
Keep the recommendations coming, appreciate it. Also is 1.5 HP enough to cool a 240 sq ft room ?
Very hard to determine enough or not.

Does your room near heat sources like below roof top, got a lot window or facing west.
Anyway, me prefer overcapacity as nowadays getting hotter.
Your size is similar to mine, I go for 2hp. Midea inverter. So far OK.
Previously using Panasonic 1.5hp, underpowered cos my room got a lot windows and roof above.
Take a lot time to cool the room and maintain the temperature.
olak329
post Feb 15 2025, 01:20 AM

109 posts

i was considering daikin and panasonic before realize their app experience is no great.

i ended up buying 1HP LG Artcool series, which comes with 200 ewallet rebate(tng) until end of feb.

should get it installed later today
Shanks747
post Feb 15 2025, 03:27 AM

198 posts

midea
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 15 2025, 09:37 AM

2,537 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 15 2025, 12:25 AM)
Damn good air con! I using this now in my condo. far superior to all air con brands I used before. It is shocking that very few people realise just how good Mitsubishi air con is
QUOTE(Neptern @ Feb 14 2025, 10:57 PM)
Mitsubishi and Panasonic recommended by my aircon man. Using Mitsubishi myself so far so good but i only use it when needed.
Thanks for the comments, seems like I'm going to go with Mitsubishi aircon, will be my first time trying so let's hope I won't get disappointed. tongue.gif

QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Feb 14 2025, 11:41 PM)
mitsubishi dem good. 24yrs ago got recond one from singapore, 2HP, still working today without gas refill, pretty insane. but we rarely use that aircond, not on daily basis.

then during mco got 3x 1.5HP in rooms, very quiet blower and its cold if needed. i use 26c auto and it can reach 26.0 on my xiaomi temperature sensor. very precise.

btw, whats the sun condition of your room, is your room landed or condo?

my hometown bricks tend to absorb the heat but my condo here wont. my hometown aircond tend work much harder than condo here.
Thanks for the feedback. My room is landed, it's almost a rectangle shape, at the end of it is a 8 x 8 full height fixed glass windows with a door to exit on the side, that's the only source of sunlight that will be coming in, but also it may not have sunlight at all as it's facing the back, which is a forest.
lj0000
post Feb 15 2025, 09:42 AM

2,200 posts

QUOTE(olak329 @ Feb 15 2025, 01:20 AM)
i was considering daikin and panasonic before realize their app experience is no great.

i ended up buying 1HP LG Artcool series, which comes with 200 ewallet rebate(tng) until end of feb.

should get it installed later today
Oh the rebate is back
touristking
post Feb 15 2025, 10:25 AM

5,828 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Feb 14 2025, 03:57 PM)
Mitsubishi Heavy Industry or Mitsubishi Electric?

Neptern
post Feb 15 2025, 10:28 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 15 2025, 10:25 AM)
Mitsubishi Heavy Industry or Mitsubishi Electric?
Mitsubishi Electric. Their aircon features are very minimal.
touristking
post Feb 15 2025, 10:31 AM

5,828 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Feb 15 2025, 03:28 AM)
Mitsubishi Electric. Their aircon features are very minimal.
One useful feature would be able to control via WiFi.
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 15 2025, 10:36 AM

2,537 posts

So far many seems to be recommending Mitsubishi aircon, reliable and quiet according to them.

I'm using Daikin so far so good but I'd like a change of taste, other than Mitsubishi, is panasonic aircon worth looking at ?
zuozi
post Feb 15 2025, 10:49 AM

1,263 posts

If you DIY person and don't bother the brand can try midea inverter series only 2 screw u can remove everything self service indoor servicing without need call Aircon guy at all.

Majority brand still mostly Conventional or some newest one wants to remove self service literally have to remove whole indoor unit or need physical trick.

And is important the outdoor compressor come with rubber feet remember to install or alternative go tyre shop ask if any old tyre tube take whole piece usually free cut roughly the size fit another layer to compressor feet to reduce further vibration .

This post has been edited by zuozi: Feb 15 2025, 10:49 AM
Neptern
post Feb 15 2025, 11:02 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 15 2025, 10:31 AM)
One useful feature would be able to control via WiFi.
Mitsubishi air cond do not have that. As i said, their aircond is very feature minimal which could be a selling point.

Panasonic i heard better to buy their more expensive models as they use better parts. Not sure how true is that.
cms
post Feb 15 2025, 12:41 PM

760 posts

Panasonic or daikin lo…maintenance repair quick and fast.

Daikin strong blower, panasonic more quiet.

TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 15 2025, 01:05 PM

2,537 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Feb 15 2025, 11:02 AM)
Mitsubishi air cond do not have that. As i said, their aircond is very feature minimal which could be a selling point.

Panasonic i heard better to buy their more expensive models as they use better parts. Not sure how true is that.
Oh mitsubishi doesn't have wifi feature that can turn on off from the phone ? Any of their models have ? Because this is important for me.
jibpek
post Feb 15 2025, 01:07 PM

706 posts

240 sqft kicik 1hp sufficient
NoobHacker
post Feb 15 2025, 01:50 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Feb 15 2025, 01:05 PM)
Oh mitsubishi doesn't have wifi feature that can turn on off from the phone ? Any of their models have ? Because this is important for me.
no. mitsu is very old fashioned. quiet, robust and precise, no more than that.

facing a forest.. doesn't sound like you need super power aircond. i think 1.5HP is fine, still have extra juice for extreme weathers like 36c. but mitsu automatic mode really bring the room to the target temperature precisely.

are you the kind that use 26c-ish or frequently 18c?

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Feb 15 2025, 02:09 PM
azbro
post Feb 15 2025, 02:47 PM

4,403 posts

For Aircon, either you buy top model or chepo model

Like me, I buy diekin, of course spare parts many, but do you know how much it cost to repair? And those Aircon man are experts at telling you to change this and that until repair cost can buy a new Midea Aircon already.
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 15 2025, 03:07 PM

2,537 posts

QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Feb 15 2025, 01:50 PM)
no. mitsu is very old fashioned. quiet, robust and precise, no more than that.

facing a forest.. doesn't sound like you need super power aircond. i think 1.5HP is fine, still have extra juice for extreme weathers like 36c. but mitsu automatic mode really bring the room to the target temperature precisely.

are you the kind that use 26c-ish or frequently 18c?
Ok, will most likely go with 1.5 HP, my aircon guy also say 1.5 should be more than enough for my room. I'm the type that always put the temperature on 26, minimum 25 above, i never go below, unless it's very hot, so you think for mitsubishi aircon, going auto mode is best suit for me ?

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Feb 15 2025, 03:08 PM
NoobHacker
post Feb 15 2025, 04:06 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Feb 15 2025, 03:07 PM)
Ok, will most likely go with 1.5 HP, my aircon guy also say 1.5 should be more than enough for my room. I'm the type that always put the temperature on 26, minimum 25 above, i never go below, unless it's very hot, so you think for mitsubishi aircon, going auto mode is best suit for me ?
yes i've heard some other brands tend to get crazy cold even set to 26c. if u dont mind the lack of wifi capability i would recommend mitsubishi's.
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 15 2025, 04:09 PM

2,537 posts

QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Feb 15 2025, 04:06 PM)
yes i've heard some other brands tend to get crazy cold even set to 26c. if u dont mind the lack of wifi capability i would recommend mitsubishi's.
For 1.5 HP, is there any models you can recommend for mitsubishi's ?
NoobHacker
post Feb 15 2025, 05:05 PM

1,753 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Feb 15 2025, 04:09 PM)
For 1.5 HP, is there any models you can recommend for mitsubishi's ?
if im not wrong my model is MSYJS13VF, if u r the 26c person its very recommended to get inverter version so the compressor outside no need to turn on and off.
k!nex
post Feb 15 2025, 05:10 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

If you feel that Daikin is expensive then buy Acson. They come from the same factory in Sg Buloh , but cheaper.

empire
post Feb 16 2025, 08:23 PM

2,549 posts

why must use wifi the air con? you havent heard of air con remote control?
kucingfight
post Feb 16 2025, 08:35 PM

5,784 posts

I would jus go for Hisense inverter. Cheapest 1hp I saw is rm720, 1.5hp if not mistaken 820+
callmecool
post Feb 16 2025, 10:02 PM

255 posts

Either Panasonic or Haier
GamersFamilia
post Feb 17 2025, 03:38 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

Daikin
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 17 2025, 05:16 PM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 16 2025, 08:23 PM)
why must use wifi the air con?  you havent heard of air con remote control?
To turn on the aircon before you reach home.

And to turn off the aircon in case someone forgot to turn it off before went out.
ayamxxx
post Feb 18 2025, 09:03 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Feb 14 2025, 04:47 PM)
Hello, I'm looking to buy a 1.5 HP inverter aircon, i've been using daikin for all my other aircons in the house, but wanted something more budget friendly which at the same time doesn't compromise quality. I don't mind china brand, please recommend me some brands to consider, thank you!

P/S - My room is 240 sq ft in total, will 1.5 HP suffice to cool the entire room ?
Bought Hisense Inverter 5 start AC, 1.5hp for my bedroom. Even set 27C and full fan speed, it cold, colder than my previous old 1.5hp non inverter set at 24C. Price is cheap, and able to save on my tnb bill
ayamxxx
post Feb 18 2025, 09:05 AM

4,043 posts

my other house with Mitsubishi Inverter 1.0hp for a smaller main bedroom. 1 thing weird about this AC brand, first 10 minutes its kinda syn around for temperature but no air blow, after than only the fan blast.
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 18 2025, 09:31 AM

2,537 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 18 2025, 09:03 AM)
Bought Hisense Inverter 5 start AC, 1.5hp for my bedroom. Even set 27C and full fan speed, it cold, colder than my previous old 1.5hp non inverter set at 24C. Price is cheap, and able to save on my tnb bill
Is hisense quality reliable ? Other than the generic stuff, would it work efficiently consistently ?
ayamxxx
post Feb 18 2025, 09:48 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Feb 18 2025, 09:31 AM)
Is hisense quality reliable ? Other than the generic stuff, would it work efficiently consistently ?
already 1 year old, no issue. but for its performance (to cool my room), it works great. I do cleaning the AC DIY, by spray the water to the coil using spray water bottles.
SUSwilliamtan2020
post Feb 19 2025, 02:29 PM

24 posts

My latest was Panasonic (2023) and it was the worst yet. Noisy and contoller was not sensitive. Need to press press and press again.
TSSotsotzaii
post Feb 19 2025, 05:13 PM

2,537 posts

QUOTE(williamtan2020 @ Feb 19 2025, 02:29 PM)
My latest was Panasonic (2023) and it was the worst yet. Noisy and contoller was not sensitive. Need to press press and press again.
My aircon guy just today recommend me to go for Panasonic, rather than Daikin or mitsubishi, according to him mitsubishi is falling back, not following with the times, and Daikin is well normal, he say panasonic is good, after seeing ur comments, I might need more convincing to go for Panasonic

anyone can chip in on panasonic aircon ?
jeff10012003
post Feb 19 2025, 06:50 PM

Format Complete
2,117 posts

whatever you do avoid samsung at all cost.
i'm used 1.5HP Samsung Inverter and forever regretting my purchase. During installation discover faulty unit twice then only after Samsung Tech come and change the board in the compressor only then it works, which unfortunately is a known issue.
Midea is cheap but I previously using non-inverter model so I cannot say for sure. but my experience on the brand previously it won't work that good in the long run.
So far Daikin, Hisense is serving me good.
Pip_X
post Feb 21 2025, 04:38 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

Fucuk Daikin.
Beli 3 rosak 2.
Fucuk!
ayamxxx
post Feb 21 2025, 04:45 PM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Feb 21 2025, 04:38 PM)
Fucuk Daikin.
Beli 3 rosak 2.
Fucuk!
ape rosak? at this rates, I rather buy Midea or Hisense for AC cz reliable
GamersFamilia
post Feb 21 2025, 06:31 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Feb 21 2025, 04:38 PM)
Fucuk Daikin.
Beli 3 rosak 2.
Fucuk!
Really, got 2 unit daikin, until now both works perfectly
ZeneticX
post Feb 21 2025, 06:52 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Mitsubishi Electric. The most reliable and trusted brand in Singapore

Rmb its not the same as MHI (Mitsubishi Heavy Industries). They make aircond as well

But if you really limited in budget, can go for Midea. At least amongst all China brands it is the most common. Spare parts shouldn't be an issue

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 21 2025, 06:55 PM
kswee
post Feb 21 2025, 07:04 PM

577 posts

I got extra 2 midea wifi kit , plan to let go cheap cheap.
SourLemons
post Feb 21 2025, 11:20 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 16 2025, 08:23 PM)
why must use wifi the air con?  you havent heard of air con remote control?
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Feb 17 2025, 05:16 PM)
To turn on the aircon before you reach home.

And to turn off the aircon in case someone forgot to turn it off before went out.
https://my.shp.ee/kLQe9Ys
marvinben
post Feb 22 2025, 08:09 AM

249 posts

Look for Hisense 1.5hp or Midea 1.5hp. Go for inverter since gahmen will subsidize some for you. Best feature for inverter would be the ability to keep temperature stable. (Conventional AC use On-Off cycle to maintain temperature, inverter use a curve to ramp up or down your compressor instead).
netflix2019
post Feb 22 2025, 11:28 AM

413 posts

personal experience just go with Panasonic.

Best remote control. All model use the same. Highly customizable with good timer system which is easiest to set up and use.

The hardware unit also is one of the most durable i ever seen. I have the combination of ME/Daikin/Acson in my house. Panasonic is the second most used unit in my home, daily use. Never had bullshit dust collected causing all the common leaking / no cold issue.

Mitsubishi giving me the most headache, replaced a few parts already. And multiple leaking.
ayamxxx
post Feb 22 2025, 11:52 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(marvinben @ Feb 22 2025, 08:09 AM)
Look for Hisense 1.5hp or Midea 1.5hp. Go for inverter since gahmen will subsidize some for you. Best feature for inverter would be the ability to keep temperature stable. (Conventional AC use On-Off cycle to maintain temperature, inverter use a curve to ramp up or down your compressor instead).
Similar feedback for both brand. Both inverter AC. Cool quickly and never had issues. Survey around shopee, many part can be purchase if any issues
empire
post Feb 22 2025, 12:32 PM

2,549 posts

Inverters are not as cold as nons. If for a small room then no difference but for bigger rooms there will be a difference. I know la....I used both before.
stormer.lyn
post Feb 22 2025, 01:09 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 22 2025, 12:32 PM)
Inverters are not as cold as nons. If for a small room then no difference but for bigger rooms there will be a difference. I know la....I used both before.
Well, that's how it is supposed to work isn't it? When the room hits the set temperature, let's say 24°C, then the inverter a/cond can output 23°C air to maintain the set temperature and save power.
The non-inverter a/cond in the same situation will sense when the room becomes 25°C then hit full power and produce 16°C air to cool the room back down, and only stop once the internal hysteresis determines that the set temperature can be met. So if you stand in front of an inverter a/cond the air feels less cold.

*Note : all temperature figures stated are for discussion and example purposes only.
marvinben
post Feb 22 2025, 01:47 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 22 2025, 12:32 PM)
I can confirm your findings, inverter saves power right from you first turn the AC on, the ramp up time is very slow. It will calculate target temperature VS room temperature and slowly ramp cooling power, usually it only run the compressor full tilt for a few minutes then ramp down to slowly cools the room. Inverters perform best when sized appropriately for the room.

Recently my house and bedroom got flooded and move to my brothers room upstairs with Conventional AC. Wife complained the room is too cold and temperature fluctuation too much. Even wifey who knows nothing of inverter vs non inverter can notice the difference in comfort.

ayamxxx
post Feb 22 2025, 02:13 PM

4,043 posts

Me different feeling, the 1.5hp inverter give better cooling for my room than previously non inverter 1.5hp. Maybe the old AC is too old.
GamersFamilia
post Feb 22 2025, 06:21 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

In my case non inverter daikin 1.0hp aircond
Set to 24 on medium speed, the temperature just nice, but sometimes set to 23
Nowdays the weather kindda hot, cannot tahan
tolaktakjatuh
post Feb 22 2025, 06:22 PM

Huehuehue
653 posts

I bought Hisense 1.5Hp inverter 5star replacing an old Panasonic 1.0Hp non inverter from 13 years ago.

It cools slower than the panasonic, but i can sleep better with the hisense one. i guess becoz inverter. Tak cucuk hidung. Electric bill also cheaper with same usage pattern.
empire
post Feb 22 2025, 09:27 PM

2,549 posts

Malaysia sometimes have horrific heat wave that comes from hell.... and that's when I really regretted buying the Inverter. Really regret. On paper yes la.... save electric ( a bit only) but in reality once the heat wave comes...you will wish you bought the non inverter
ZeneticX
post Feb 23 2025, 01:43 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 22 2025, 09:27 PM)
Malaysia sometimes have horrific heat wave that comes from hell.... and that's when I really regretted buying the Inverter. Really regret. On paper yes la.... save electric ( a bit only) but in reality once the heat wave comes...you will wish you bought the non inverter
Inverter real benefit is when you turn on for long hours, set at 23 - 25c range, and the HP is appropriate for the room / area size. The faster it can reach the target temp, the sooner the inverter kicks in, the more energy you save. That's why generally its more suitable for bedroom or study / office room.

If you like to set below 20c, your aircond HP is underspec-ed for the room, or you want to turn on for awhile then turn off (< 3 hours), it kind of defeat the purpose of inverter already

For large areas like living room, can still consider go for non inverter

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 23 2025, 01:48 AM
touristking
post Feb 23 2025, 06:58 AM

5,828 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 22 2025, 02:27 PM)
You have a incomplete understanding of how inverter saving money.

Let me give you 2 extreme examples to illustrate you lack of understanding.

If you put a 1HP invertor and a 1HP non-invertor aircond in a huge community hall. You will NOT save money and you will find the hall not cool. Reason is because BOTH are NEVER able to reach the set temperature and RUNNING AT FULL POWER. In fact, at FULL POWER, a non-invertor may even use a bit MORE electricity (or slightly worst)

Now, if you put a 2 HP invertor vs a 2 HP non-Invertor in a bedroom, I can guarantee you will save money with the invertor

This is why, for Invertor, it is always a good idea to go a bit bigger. Personally, if a room need a 13000 BTU non-invertor, I will put a 18000 inverter instead. Cool much faster and saving ~40% money.

This post has been edited by touristking: Feb 23 2025, 07:17 AM
andrekua2
post Feb 23 2025, 12:29 PM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 22 2025, 09:27 PM)
There is absolutely no difference between an inverter and non inverter when it comes to cooling capacity. The difference nowadays is with R32 consuming a lot less power but at the cost of slightly less cool air. If you really want those ice cool wind, get a R410a unit but prepare to pay twice the electricity.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 23 2025, 01:43 AM)
Inverter real benefit is when you turn on for long hours, set at 23 - 25c range, and the HP is appropriate for the room / area size. The faster it can reach the target temp, the sooner the inverter kicks in, the more energy you save. That's why generally its more suitable for bedroom or study / office room.

If you like to set below 20c, your aircond HP is underspec-ed for the room, or you want to turn on for awhile then turn off (< 3 hours), it kind of defeat the purpose of inverter already

For large areas like living room, can still consider go for non inverter
Doubt you get much saving <25C unless you live in condo.
ZeneticX
post Feb 23 2025, 06:31 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 23 2025, 12:29 PM)
There is absolutely no difference between an inverter and non inverter when it comes to cooling capacity. The difference nowadays is with R32 consuming a lot less power but at the cost of slightly less cool air. If you really want those ice cool wind, get a R410a unit but prepare to pay twice the electricity.
It should apply to any space as long your aircond hp not underspec'ed, some even recommend to overspec the hp.

23 - 24c is usually the recommended temp for energy efficiency no matter inverter or non inverter. You can also set higher since higher temp = aircond able to reach the target faster = inverter kicks in faster = more savings. But then again some will say what's the point of aircond if you set such temperature
andrekua2
post Feb 23 2025, 07:38 PM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 23 2025, 06:31 PM)
It should apply to any space as long your aircond hp not underspec'ed, some even recommend to overspec the hp.

23 - 24c is usually the recommended temp for energy efficiency no matter inverter or non inverter. You can also set higher since higher temp = aircond able to reach the target faster = inverter kicks in faster = more savings. But then again some will say what's the point of aircond if you set such temperature
25-26C is the temp manufacturer used to do their energy efficiency test thus I stay with this temp for both my AC. I don't believe 23-24C is efficient because I tried 25C for my LG 1hp and it used almost 30% more power than when I set mine to 26C.
ZeneticX
post Feb 23 2025, 08:31 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 23 2025, 07:38 PM)
25-26C is the temp manufacturer used to do their energy efficiency test thus I stay with this temp for both my AC. I don't believe 23-24C is efficient because I tried 25C for my LG 1hp and it used almost 30% more power than when I set mine to 26C.
Fair enough but then like i said, when you recommend most people to set this temp range, they will go like "har? Cold enough? Buy aircond for what?". So I usually recommend them to just set 23 - 24 if they are not ok with anything more, at least still better than those who set below 23c. Personally i always set to 24, increase to 25 on cooler days
pisces88
post Feb 23 2025, 11:40 PM

3,968 posts

bought inverter 1.0 for tenant. rm700+ for hisense. so far so good.
ayamxxx
post Feb 24 2025, 08:54 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Feb 23 2025, 11:40 PM)
bought inverter 1.0 for tenant. rm700+ for hisense. so far so good.
Dont worry, it work great. best bang for money
ayamxxx
post Feb 24 2025, 09:02 AM

4,043 posts

By the way, yesterday I bought AC spray at Mr Diy, opened up all AC at my kampung house, sprayed this liquid to the coil and blower, and cleaned the filter net with foam b4 install back all together.
All noted massive cooling feedback than previously, as I noted too many dust, collected at the blower area.
GamersFamilia
post Mar 5 2025, 05:20 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 24 2025, 09:02 AM)
By the way, yesterday I bought AC spray at Mr Diy, opened up all AC at my kampung house, sprayed this liquid to the coil and blower, and cleaned the filter net with foam b4 install back all together.
All noted massive cooling feedback than previously, as I noted too many dust, collected at the blower area.
Previously i did the same thing, then everything works perfectly
Then i did a full service 2 months after that, the aircond guy asked me did you use those aircond spray cleaner, i said yes and why... He told me the dirt from the front been pushed backwards which makes clean job harder.. I just ignored him since i dont know bout aircond stuff, all i know clean the filter once in every 2 weeks 🤔🔥
kamfoo
post Mar 5 2025, 06:43 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 23 2025, 12:29 PM)
Shop got sell R410a Aircon?
andrekua2
post Mar 5 2025, 06:49 PM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ Mar 5 2025, 06:43 PM)
Shop got sell R410a Aircon?
Not much choice. Sure got leftover somewhere. But prepare for no spare parts in case failure.
ayamxxx
post Mar 5 2025, 07:10 PM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 5 2025, 05:20 PM)
Then i did a full service 2 months after that, the aircond guy asked me did you use those aircond spray cleaner, i said yes and why... He told me the dirt from the front been pushed backwards which makes clean job harder.. I just ignored him since i dont know bout aircond stuff, all i know clean the filter once in every 2 weeks 🤔🔥
Other way around, u can spray it using hand spray. The water u spray will flow through the drain pipe below the coil.
Using chemical will "eating" the dust hence it look much cleaner.
Gargamel_gibson
post Mar 5 2025, 07:52 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 5 2025, 05:20 PM)
This one bs. Only spray once maybe, but spray regularly there's really not much need to call for service. The spray will become watery and bring the dirt to the drain pipe, with the condensation over time will help also.

Most important thing is blower, when it is dusty then you feel air weak. Shortcut is spray foam directly on blower but like that very messy. Learn to take apart and wash blower is better, more work but not difficult. Once a year enough, even less if you use air purifier regularly.
GamersFamilia
post Mar 5 2025, 08:17 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 5 2025, 07:10 PM)
Other way around, u can spray it using hand spray. The water u spray will flow through the drain pipe below the coil.
Using chemical will "eating" the dust hence it look much cleaner.
Noted 😊🔥
ayamxxx
post Mar 5 2025, 08:20 PM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Mar 5 2025, 07:52 PM)
This one bs. Only spray once maybe, but spray regularly there's really not much need to call for service. The spray will become watery and bring the dirt to the drain pipe, with the condensation over time will help also.

Most important thing is blower, when it is dusty then you feel air weak. Shortcut is spray foam directly on blower but like that very messy. Learn to take apart and wash blower is better, more work but not difficult. Once a year enough, even less if you use air purifier regularly.
Suggest u the plastic cover from shopee. Thats will make sure the water dont fall down except at the plastic area only. Yes agree with u, the dust alway stuck more at the blower. I end up satisfied after spray water to the blower using hand spray. After cleaning, the intensity of the fan blowing air are good as day 1.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Mar 5 2025, 08:20 PM
GamersFamilia
post Mar 5 2025, 08:24 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Mar 5 2025, 07:52 PM)

Well i did use air purifier inside my bedroom when ever turn on the aircond
Ive seen there is aircond spray plus include the blue canvas for aircond cleaning, i guess use the blue canvas will make it easy for me to spray the blower, so all the dirt will get into the blue canvas without messing the place
ayamxxx
post Mar 5 2025, 08:35 PM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 5 2025, 08:24 PM)
Ive seen there is aircond spray plus include the blue canvas for aircond cleaning, i guess use the blue canvas will make it easy for me to spray the blower, so all the dirt will get into the blue canvas without messing the place
Yes it is recommended to use those canvas.
GamersFamilia
post Mar 5 2025, 08:38 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 5 2025, 08:35 PM)
Yes it is recommended to use those canvas.
Ok i will make an order for it tomorrow 😎🔥
ayamxxx
post Mar 5 2025, 09:39 PM

4,043 posts

For TS
MasBoleh!
post Mar 5 2025, 10:52 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 24 2025, 09:02 AM)
What type of foam is that?
VeeJay
post Mar 5 2025, 11:25 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 5 2025, 08:24 PM)
Once you get the cleaning canvas, you can use water gun or home water hose, to spray the blower drum to clean, hence you dont need to remove the drum. Some AC, its very difficult to remove, takes a longer time and need to be careful not to break plastic holders or the motor holders. Water gun makes life easier. Or next time when you purchase a new AC, do get those that can easily DIY models, like midea, hisense, etc
GamersFamilia
post Mar 5 2025, 11:31 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 5 2025, 11:25 PM)
Once you get the cleaning canvas, you can use water gun or home water hose, to spray the blower drum to clean, hence you dont need to remove the drum. Some AC, its very difficult to remove, takes a longer time and need to be careful not to break plastic holders or the motor holders. Water gun makes life easier. Or next time when you purchase a new AC, do get those that can easily DIY models, like midea, hisense, etc
Water hose will do, Currently use daikin 😎🔥
So far my aircond less problematic since bought it but midea always in my wishlist 🤔🔥

0.0258sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:57 AM