List of Good Chinese Restaurants in Klang Valley

TSryder_78
post Feb 11 2025, 11:31 AM, updated 3w ago

2,017 posts

This forum looks pretty quiet. Nothing much to do today so thought of creating this thread on some good Chinese restaurants that serve great food or service. I don't go around trying many new restaurants and will usually stick to good ones which not only serve great food but service and ambiance as well, all at an affordable down-to-earth value prices. Please feel free to add your own as well if you found any Chinese restaurants that are worth the visit. Some of the restaurants that we have tried as follows.

1. Restaurant Gold Dragon City

This restaurant is our favourite and takes the no. 1 spot for best quality food, service and value. Serves rice and dishes and also noodles. It's an old-school Chinese restaurant located in PJ, air-conditioned in a 2-storey shop lot. The food is not only delicious but the service and ambiance are great, air-conditioned, large round tables for a seating of 10, clean environment. The charges for most dishes are very reasonable too. We usually go there during the weekends, packed. They take table bookings in advance but last-minute bookings are available subject to cancelled bookings. Hot water is provided if requested for washing of plates, cups and utensils. Wet towels in packets are provided and will be charged unless they are returned and not used. Ground nuts and other small plates of starters will be served at a charge, also can be returned if customers don't want them.

Food : 9/10
Ambiance (overall cleanliness, air-conditioned, quality of utensils etc.) : 9/10
Service : 8.5/10
Value : 7/10

Some photos showing the food below although there are many other dishes available

Edit (23.02.2025)
I've had dinner at this restaurant at least once in every month for the past 5 years. The food is mostly great depending on the chef, and great value as the dishes were decently priced and the portions were huge.

However, the good news stopped recently when we had dinner yesterday and got a shocked when the bill came. The price of the fish was increased and went up by more than double. We can still accept if they raise the price by maybe RM5 a plate but this was excessive, from RM40 a plate to RM90. We didn't look at the menu before ordering as we are familiar with the prices having ordered the dishes for years. The reason or excuse that was given is they used a different type of fish. The fish tasted the same and they shouldn't have just charged more than double and say the type of fish is different as we had ordered this fish many times throughout the years and it's the same fish, and they now don't use the same fish to cook anymore?

I am not sure what other dishes will see a price increase after this. I'm not against price increases but increasing the price by more than double is ridiculous. Say if a dish is priced at RM40, if it is increased to RM45 or maybe up to RM50, it's still acceptable but to RM90 which is more than 2X is not right.

This would likely be my last time visiting this restaurant. Yesterday on Saturday, only the ground floor is open while the first floor was closed. I presume the first batch of old regular diners who came last week had got a shock with the price increases which resulted in reduced customers. The bill of the dish which shows the price increase is attached here for reference.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Feb 23 2025, 03:55 PM
TSryder_78
post Feb 11 2025, 11:33 AM

2,017 posts

The rest of the restaurants are in no particular order of preference. All are good.

2. Big Tree Lin Kee Steamed Fish

We mostly had lunch here couple of times several years ago. Serves rice and dishes. It's an open-air restaurant, no air-conditioner, located outdoors. Ambiance was OK as the environment was not hot although there is no air-cond since there are fans and portable air-conditioners if I'm not mistaken, and also it's located below a big tree hence the name of the restaurant "Big Tree Lin Kee". Although it's famous for steam fish, there are other types of dishes available as well.

Food : 9.0/10
Ambiance (overall cleanliness, air-conditioned, quality of utensils etc.) : 7.5/10
Service : 7.5/10

That's all for now. I have few more recommendations of restaurants which serve good soup noodles with fish and seafood. Will post some other time as it takes some time and effort.
tangtang22
post Feb 11 2025, 03:15 PM

213 posts

The MSG in this place also very gooding!
TSryder_78
post Feb 14 2025, 12:13 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(tangtang22 @ Feb 11 2025, 03:15 PM)
The MSG in this place also very gooding!
Yes, ajinomoto are mostly used in most restaurants.

Anyway, here is another update on a restaurant which I tried yesterday.

3. New Mun Kee Steam Fish Head

Located near Taman OUG at Old Klang road, I got to know about this restaurant after receiving Youtube Videos circulating via Whatsapp sent by friends and family members. First time trying this and it's got an approval for excellent fresh fish where the meat is not only tender and fresh but great soy sauce and most importantly the price is very decent and affordable. There are two types of fish, the fish head is cheaper but based on the guy taking the order, we picked the whole Tilapia fish which he recommended. Excellent. The price is slightly higher than the fish head but it tastes very good. Everyone around the table who sampled the fish has nothing but good praises on the quality of the fish.

Apart from fish, we ordered salted egg fried chicken, braised beancurd with crab meat, pork trotter with ginger and vinegar and sweet potato leaves. All are very reasonably priced.

Food : 9.5/10 (for the fish only, others all around 8.5)
Ambiance (overall cleanliness, air-conditioned, quality of utensils etc.) : 7.5/10
Service : 8.0/10
Value : 9.5/10 (for the fish also, very cheap for the quality)

By the way, this photo of the fish below is the actual fish we ordered, not taken from other websites. It's very nice, priced only at RM55 which is great value in our book. Other restaurants such as the no. 1 spot above Gold Dragon City may have charged RM100+ to RM200 or more for a plate of this similar dish as they charge based on the weight of the fish.

Actual photo of the fish we had. Only RM55 for this, really great value!! If fish head it will be around RM40-45 from what I understand.

The open-air restaurant below.

I won't post other food that the restaurant offers this time. Can check out on Google reviews (on Google Maps) as there are many photos posted by other reviewers.

I would have to say, if anyone wants to experience the best quality steam fish, do give this restaurant a try. You will likely be more impressed than disappointed.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Feb 14 2025, 12:55 PM
TSryder_78
post Feb 23 2025, 04:08 PM

2,017 posts

An update.

Big Tree Lin Kee Steamed fish is now the no. 1 spot for best quality steam fish ahead of New Mun Kee Steam Fish head. The meat of the fish is more tender and soft, and most importantly the price is very affordable. The quality of fish is so good that we went there for lunch two times last week, and today we went there for the 3rd time. The actual photo of the steam fish we had is as below.

As for the review of Gold Dragon City restaurant in the first post of this thread, I've added an edit below the review. In summary, it has been dislodged from the first spot after we visited yesterday. Details are included in the edit of the first post above.
nauticat99
post Feb 24 2025, 08:24 AM

587 posts

What kind of fish is served?. I am very scared to eat pond reared fishes such as tilapia and soong yee.
TSryder_78
post Feb 24 2025, 11:32 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Feb 24 2025, 08:24 AM)
What kind of fish is served?. I am very scared to eat pond reared fishes such as tilapia and soong yee.
We now only go for "Wan Yu". We have had tilapia and song Yu and these fishes have more fine bones, and the meat is not as tender.
nihility
post Apr 5 2025, 10:23 PM

1,595 posts

Perlama Seafood @ Port Klang
Address: 6, Jalan Tangki, Pelabuhan Selatan, 42000 Pelabuhan Klang, Selangor

Waze or Google Map will be able to direct you to the location accurately. I was there for the seafood porridge few times. Food price average around RM 30~40/pax depending on the food you order but it was reasonably price in my opinion. Weekend will be crowded, suggest to go during weekdays.

Food : 9.0/10 (seafood porridge, you can try to add the mud crab as option)
Ambiance (overall cleanliness, naturally ventilated / fan, quality of utensils etc.) : 7.5/10 - bonus on the riverbank sunset view.
Value : 8.0/10

Seafood Porridge - their signature / must order dish.

Riverbank sunset view

Stir fried malabar spinach

Choi Pu Toufu

Shop front view.
TSryder_78
post Apr 7 2025, 07:20 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Apr 5 2025, 10:23 PM)
Perlama Seafood @ Port Klang
Address: 6, Jalan Tangki, Pelabuhan Selatan, 42000 Pelabuhan Klang, Selangor

Waze or Google Map will be able to direct you to the location accurately. I was there for the seafood porridge few times. Food price average around RM 30~40/pax depending on the food you order but it was reasonably price in my opinion. Weekend will be crowded, suggest to go during weekdays.

Food : 9.0/10 (seafood porridge, you can try to add the mud crab as option)
Ambiance (overall cleanliness, naturally ventilated / fan, quality of utensils etc.) : 7.5/10 - bonus on the riverbank sunset view.
Value : 8.0/10

Seafood Porridge - their signature / must order dish.

Riverbank sunset view

Stir fried malabar spinach

Choi Pu Toufu

Shop front view.
Nice. We are originally from Klang, moved to KL about 8 years ago. Didn't know that are so many good restaurants in Klang which we haven't explored.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Apr 7 2025, 08:22 AM
nihility
post Apr 8 2025, 03:56 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Apr 7 2025, 07:20 AM)
Nice. We are originally from Klang, moved to KL about 8 years ago. Didn't know that are so many good restaurants in Klang which we haven't explored.
Then you must be the Hokkien descendant? But your ancestor tombs were at Ipoh, Ipoh usually Cantonese or Hakka.

Yes, Klang not about BKT only. A lot to explore. Surprisingly, I found the mud crab price here the most reasonable compared to the other areas.
TSryder_78
post Apr 9 2025, 07:41 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Apr 8 2025, 03:56 PM)
Then you must be the Hokkien descendant? But your ancestor tombs were at Ipoh, Ipoh usually Cantonese or Hakka.

Yes, Klang not about BKT only. A lot to explore. Surprisingly, I found the mud crab price here the most reasonable compared to the other areas.
Yes, you guessed right, I'm Hokkien. Parents and grandparents from Ipoh, a mix of Cantonese and Hokkien.

Yes, a lot of good (and cheap) food in Klang. After moving to KL, we slowly start to notice many good restaurants in Klang Valley also. I am not so good when it comes to knowing good places or restaurants which serve good food but my brother-in-law is much better in this regard. Apart from city centre, there are many nice eateries in Kepong and Bandar Sri Manjalara area also, mostly Chinese area so there are many Chinese restaurants there, in fact too many to choose from you don't know which one to go to. Some in shophouses, some in make-do tents just beside the road along the pathway. Some cheap great ABC, ice kacang etc. served at down-to-earth prices of RM5 or 6 only if I'm not mistaken.
nihility
post Apr 10 2025, 06:29 PM

1,595 posts

巴生潮州炒粥 Restoran Bubur Goreng @ Taman Berkeley, Klang

Address: 32 34, Lorong Lang, Taman Berkeley, 41150 Klang, Selangor

I was there for the Indonesian mud crab (big, big size, around 800g per crab). The last I had was around RM 130/kg. Bubur goreng & fried lala bihun are quite good, but I try to minimize them due to calorie control (carbs & fat).

Food : 9.0/10 ( baked crab, steam crab with egg 👍👍).
Ambiance (overall cleanliness, naturally ventilated / fan, quality of utensils etc.) : 5.5/10 ~ sorry coz it was just too hot, floor was a bit oily & toilet was ( if possible, don't use the toilet)
Value : 8.0/10 for the mud crab.

Bubur goreng, fried lala bihun & baked crab.

1.6kg for 2 crabs ! Go for the biggest size, won't go wrong.

The steam with egg cooking variant - very nice. The claw size of the crab.

The baked cooking variant - signature.

The green chili paste in the photo was superb !
TSryder_78
post Apr 14 2025, 03:56 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Apr 10 2025, 06:29 PM)
巴生潮州炒粥 Restoran Bubur Goreng @ Taman Berkeley, Klang

Address: 32 34, Lorong Lang, Taman Berkeley, 41150 Klang, Selangor

I was there for the Indonesian mud crab (big, big size, around 800g per crab). The last I had was around RM 130/kg. Bubur goreng & fried lala bihun are quite good, but I try to minimize them due to calorie control (carbs & fat).

Food : 9.0/10 ( baked crab, steam crab with egg 👍👍).
Ambiance (overall cleanliness, naturally ventilated / fan, quality of utensils etc.) : 5.5/10 ~ sorry coz it was just too hot, floor was a bit oily & toilet was ( if possible, don't use the toilet)
Value : 8.0/10 for the mud crab.

Bubur goreng, fried lala bihun & baked crab.

1.6kg for 2 crabs ! Go for the biggest size, won't go wrong.

The steam with egg cooking variant - very nice. The claw size of the crab.

The baked cooking variant - signature.

The green chili paste in the photo was superb !
At first look, that plate with yau char kwai looks like satay sauce instead of fried porridge. Interesting food!
SuperTuhan
post Apr 20 2025, 08:09 AM

277 posts

I let u Google for review

The very good I tasted so far

ZK restaurant pudu
New Ong Lai chow kit
Lau Heong Curry fish head bandar baru sentul
Hei lai ton Serdang

Sometimes bad sometimes good
Sek Yuen
Siew siew
Pik Wah
Copper mansion pj
Hei lai ton pudu
TSryder_78
post Nov 1 2025, 11:06 AM

2,017 posts

I recently tried this restaurant in PJ called Ribs King. Location here : https://maps.app.goo.gl/UtLGoRneBD5vV8Tt8

It serves common Chinese dishes, rice, noodles and western. The food is above average in quality and VERY AFFORDABLE at down-to-earth prices. They offer free drinks and soup so for people who want to save some money by not ordering drinks and want to enjoy good quality food, here it is. The place is also clean and air-conditioned with a nice environment. Recommended.

This plate of fish and chips with big portion of fish (2 pieces) I ordered only costs ~RM20. The rest of the dishes are very decently priced.

Clueless07
post Nov 10 2025, 11:48 AM

1,366 posts

TS so free ka, put detailed review here.
Actually give reference in goggle maps would have a lot of details and photo ba. Perhaps give ur personal take will do.

yes- been to Golden Dragon a few years back. Food is good, tasty and price reasonable. Just that it is super pack ( testament of the good food and price), but the main down side is too noise, like eating in pasar. noise insulation is poor. Good place to dine, but not for catch up/bonding.

Rib king is at Seapark right- yes- good price. Ko lo yuk rice was like RM 13, come with a herbal tea. Agree it is clean.
walk down abit - then can do Fluff for dessert

How about Yan Wo- does TS fancy it?
i regular at Seksyen 17....good taste decent price. just need to climb the stairs.
the one in USJ 18... macam sangkut gao gao... can never see the light already.
TSryder_78
post Nov 10 2025, 01:02 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Nov 10 2025, 11:48 AM)
TS so free ka, put detailed review here.
Actually give reference in goggle maps would have a lot of details and photo ba. Perhaps give ur personal take will do.
yes- been to Golden Dragon a few years back. Food is good, tasty and price reasonable. Just that it is super pack ( testament of the good food and price), but the main down side is too noise, like eating in pasar. noise insulation is poor. Good place to dine, but not for catch up/bonding.

Rib king is at Seapark right- yes- good price. Ko lo yuk rice was like RM 13, come with a herbal tea. Agree it is clean.
walk down abit - then can do Fluff for dessert
How about Yan Wo- does TS fancy it?
i regular at Seksyen 17....good taste decent price. just need to climb the stairs.
the one in USJ 18... macam sangkut gao gao... can never see the light already.
Yes, will post when free. biggrin.gif but looking at this Food forum it's pretty quiet and dead, so I won't be posting much anymore. Anyway there are too many restaurants in Klang Valley or elsewhere to list down here, so what I included in this thread is just a very small fraction of what that is out there. Too many eateries and too little space and time.

I don't go to Gold Dragon City restaurant anymore as mentioned earlier in this thread. Ribs King, yes I still go there occasionally once or twice a month until some of the family members get sick of it then we'll try somewhere else. Yan Wo, are you referring to this Yan Wo Seafood restaurant? https://maps.app.goo.gl/VA79Dpe13aX8bPk46 I haven't tried it but will do that sometime since you have recommended it. Menu looks a bit high class and price is also more premium. tongue.gif

Clueless07
post Nov 10 2025, 02:03 PM

1,366 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Nov 10 2025, 01:02 PM)
Yes, will post when free.  biggrin.gif  but looking at this Food forum it's pretty quiet and dead, so I won't be posting much anymore. Anyway there are too many restaurants in Klang  Valley or elsewhere to list down here, so what I included in this thread is just a very small fraction of what that is out there. Too many eateries and too little space and time.

I don't go to Gold Dragon City restaurant anymore as mentioned earlier in this thread. Ribs King, yes I still go there occasionally once or twice a month until some of the family members get sick of it then we'll try somewhere else. Yan Wo, are you referring to this Yan Wo Seafood restaurant? https://maps.app.goo.gl/VA79Dpe13aX8bPk46 I haven't tried it but will do that sometime since you have recommended it. Menu looks a bit high class and price is also more premium.  tongue.gif
well- yeah, many youtubers doing food review.so not people will read food blogs.

Price is ok la, not cheapest- but comfy and good service

wanna permium price ? try SweetInn Damansara Kim
nihility
post Nov 11 2025, 03:44 PM

1,595 posts

Come, I sedekah a bit photos.

Restoran Tai Soon Curry House – Roast Goose
438, Jalan Taiping, Kampung Baru Sungai Buloh,
40160 Shah Alam, Selangor

This place only opens on weekdays.

Food: 7.5/10 (sometimes good, sometimes just okay)
Ambience: 6.5/10 – sorry, a bit hot
Service: 8.0/10
Value: 7.0/10

Roasted goose - 1/2 bird.

Paku salad

Pork collar (avoid this if you’re afraid of fatty cuts)

Stuffed tofu

Stir-fried bitter gourd with pumpkin

The roasted goose was costly, while the other dishes were priced within the normal range. This round, the damage was around RM 320++ for 4 pax — roughly RM 80 per person.

This post has been edited by nihility: Nov 11 2025, 03:44 PM
nihility
post Nov 11 2025, 05:32 PM

1,595 posts

Soon Wah Seafood Restaurant 鱼雅鱼炉
68, Jalan Angsa, Taman Berkeley,
41150 Klang, Selangor

These are some food photos collected over time.

Food: 9.0/10 (so far never disappointed me)
Ambience: 7.0/10 – a bit crowded inside; the experience using the shop’s toilet might give you agoraphobia…
Service: 8.0/10
Value: 8.5/10

Their signature watermelon pork ribs – looks similar to the one at New Paris, SS2 PJ, but the ribs here are on another level.

Their signature fish pot – like a steamboat-style bowl with vegetables, yam, and fish fillet or fish head (usually I go for grouper).

Claypot water spinach.

Stir-fried asparagus with snow pear – this one was very nice.

Steamed clams – okay la; Boston Klang’s version tastes way better.

Beancurd with minced pork – also okay; maybe too many places serve this dish.

The shop front

The price is usually around RM 30–40 per pax.

0.0178sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:37 PM